Occidental Caribe

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    J

    We had a great time

    Reviewed by Janis on Feb 19, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    The beach is amazing as always in Punta Cana. The layout of hotel is excellent espeically if you stay in the 3340 area. Walk down the stairs or tak elevator and right at pool. Very short walk to beach. The beach snake bar is open until 5 am which is fantastic. The pizza parlour above the beach snack bar is a must. Personalized pizzas while overlooking the ocean. Every where you go in the evening there is entertainment, not just in one location. This makes it a very lively resort. People have said the people serving are not friendly. This was not the case, they were very friendly if you were. Even without a tip. This could easily be a 5 star if the updated the bathroom ( if functions just fine) and upgraded the buffet with a little more options or making sure they are cooking enough at one time. For example, shrimp on the grill. Chef would put about 15 on, and would be gone in 4 people. So you had to wait in a line, for next batch to be cooked. I have been to Rui and Grand Bahia several times in Punta Cana, and can say I would return to Occidental Caribe over them just based on layout of resort

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 12010 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-3.5

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great Hotel. Lots of echo in the hallways, Belliherent people late at night.ht. Be

    Reviewed by Explore56144777121() on Jun 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I loved the size of the hotel, clean and elegant. Clean Beach, clean rooms, I felt safe there. The truth is, people over drinking from early to late, made it difficult to sleep after 10 pm.. You hear yelling, slamming doors, children inside their rooms temper tantrum. Overall a great place that offers many activities for all ages, Great Restaurants, Great Buffet!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-4

    Occidental Caribe

    Reviewed by Meander68180895016() on Jun 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The hotel needs fans - it was very hot in the lobby - theater. The hotel needs to improve the night entertainment. There is hardly nothing to do in the property at night. It gets boring. The club also needs fans.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3

    Great vacation with a few areas to work on

    Reviewed by Voyager39294432443() on Jun 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Overall, the resort is worth every penny. The staff are amazing as are most Domincan people. The resort is mostly clean and the location is great. The service in the main buffet needs improvement as does the selection of food available. The room we were in had moderate ac and no sound separation. We could hear every word being spoken in the room next door and were kept awake one night until 4 am. The reception staff did however change rooms for us without issue. We enjoyed our stay and would return.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-5

    Great time with Family! Need to improve food service.

    Reviewed by carlosm708(Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic) on Jun 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We had a group of 18 persons during this trip, our 4th as a group. The hotel is great, the beach, the pool area, it allowed us to be able to share time with each other without no one getting in anyone's way. I must say that the food was not as good as in previous times. It was great to see some of the employees that in the past have taken great care of us. Wish that they take a look at food service.

    Incredible place

    Reviewed by Andres L() on Jun 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Staff are amazing, rooms big and clean and beyond comfortable. Pools are big and clean, the staff work so hard to make your stay as good as it can be. Easily one of the best hotels I've been to, drinks are amazing

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX