Occidental Caribe

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    J

    We had a great time

    Reviewed by Janis on Feb 19, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    The beach is amazing as always in Punta Cana. The layout of hotel is excellent espeically if you stay in the 3340 area. Walk down the stairs or tak elevator and right at pool. Very short walk to beach. The beach snake bar is open until 5 am which is fantastic. The pizza parlour above the beach snack bar is a must. Personalized pizzas while overlooking the ocean. Every where you go in the evening there is entertainment, not just in one location. This makes it a very lively resort. People have said the people serving are not friendly. This was not the case, they were very friendly if you were. Even without a tip. This could easily be a 5 star if the updated the bathroom ( if functions just fine) and upgraded the buffet with a little more options or making sure they are cooking enough at one time. For example, shrimp on the grill. Chef would put about 15 on, and would be gone in 4 people. So you had to wait in a line, for next batch to be cooked. I have been to Rui and Grand Bahia several times in Punta Cana, and can say I would return to Occidental Caribe over them just based on layout of resort

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 11178 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-3.5

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Good hotel but nothing great

    Reviewed by edgardog45(Calgary, Canada) on Feb 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Overall good experience. Not a friendly face or a smile at reception desk. They will try to charge you for anything. Be aware that wi fi is not included and it costs $45 per week for one user. Food from the buffet was always cold. Great access to the beach and nice kids pool. There is no wall insulation so expect your neighbor to be heard clearly even if they are having a conversation with a normal voice tone. Also, building 3 (most of the ocean front rooms) has its hallways facing all the exhaust fans from the restaurants and you can smell food at all times.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-3

    Just fine thanks.

    Reviewed by NewfieOO7(Ottawa, Canada) on Feb 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    First off, 3 quick shout outs... Casandra at check-in. Thanks for all your help. You were amazing. (If you have an issue, see this lady!) Ruth at the main lobby bar. The best and friendliest service ever! You always made my day. xo Luis at the buffet. An omelette with a smile and a fist pump every morning to start my day. Awesome! So, overall I’d have to say I enjoyed my stay at Occidental Caribe. There were a few minor issues (a couple of dour faces and a few attitudes) but the good FAR outweighed the bad. The beach and pools were great with LOTS of lounge chairs...never a problem to find one. The food was good and for the most part lots of it. No problem to find something to eat at anytime. The one problem we (and others) had was with the service at the a la carte French restaurant. Sad, very sad. You should never have to ask for a glass of wine...it should always be offered. That and the fact that the whole wait staff just disappeared for a whole half hour. I kid you not! Nobody to be seen. The other a la carte restaurants we tried were great...thanks go out to Alexander the Great at the Japanese one and to Mr Lookie Lookie at the Italian one. Drinks were good and the beer was always cold. Service was fast and pleasant (again with only one or two exceptions). But for the size of Occidental Caribe that’s impressive! The room was always cleaned on time and it was well done. The shampoo container was missing on arrival but customer service CALLED US and asked if everything was ok? We mentioned this issue and it was fixed within 15 minutes. Kudos!!! And one other great thing I did notice everywhere I went...the public washrooms were always spotless. They were constantly cleaned and resupplied. Top marks for that with all the people coming and going. Yes, I’ll say that overall it was a fine stay at Occidental Caribe! Thank you for a very nice week!

    Wonderful staff, older furniture in room but clean!

    Reviewed by Cruiser117117() on Feb 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    This was a wonderful location for the beach. Not so crowded. The hall noise carries into the room. Towels and clothes for the room were not restocked. We had to ask repeatedly. The bars and restaurants are wonderful with superb service!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-4

    OK...

    Reviewed by Christina Q(Dallas, Texas) on Feb 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    If you have never been to other All Inclusive properties, then you might find the hotel ok. If you have visited other all inclusive properties (or any good hotel for that matter) then you would find it well below average. First, the good things: The beach is awesome, beautiful water and views. I found they had enough lawn chairs for the beach goers. The bar and snack bar near the beach are convenient and the bartenders/servers are good. We did get a massage at the spa and the service was really good. One great thing that the hotel has going is the staff. I found everyone to be very helpful, fun and nice to us, so that is definitely a good thing. Now the bad things: - The rooms need to be renovated ASAP. Shower/tub looks dirty along with the tile in the restrooms. The in room furniture is old, and our dresser drawers were broken. The bed seemed to have the middle support broken so there was a hole in the middle of it. Walls and ceiling are in need of a fresh coat of paint. - When we checked in, the in room mini bar was not stocked, we did not have bottled water (at the reception they told us they provide a bottle daily), and there were not enough towels. I called in the reception and asked for what I needed. We went to the pool and to eat and were gone for a few hours. When we came back, we still had not had anything delivered. Called again, and they told me they would send someone asap. Nothing happened. I even asked at the reception that same night to see if they could help, they called in what we needed and we still didnt receive anything. The only way I got bottled water was the next morning when I caught the housekeeping lady in the hallway and asked for a bottle and she gave me one. I also asked her for additional facial towels and she told me we were only allowed 2 per stay. -Buffet is ok, but there are major issues with basic food safety and handling, especially in the grill/made to order stations. The variety in the buffet is basic and I found that items were almost always out. Overall I think the hotel needs more staff in order to keep up with the service at a facility so big. Lots of potential, but unfortunately, unless they at least renovate the rooms, I would not return to this particular hotel, especially when there are so many other options around.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-3

    Great for the price

    Reviewed by Flyer53339682950() on Feb 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The beach was amazing! Staff was attentive, and the food was good. Recommend getting reservations to eat as soon as you get there. Whale watching was a great excursion and successful! Highly recommend for the price.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX