Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 10377 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Excelent!!

    Reviewed by Sterlingjcd() on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Excelent hotel, service and very good food!... i recomend this hotel.. A+++ the animation team is good, the drinks are Ok, just more vehicles for transportation... the water in the pool is so hot but ok... i recomend Rosa from the amimation team..

    Horrible resort

    Reviewed by Rndelacr() on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    The pictures online show beautiful, spacious rooms. I rented a jr suite and it was like a regular Room. The deluxe room I rented only had one bed even though I selected 2 beds, when I got here the staff told me it depends on availability. How do I select a deluxe room with two beds and when I check in they tell me it depends on availability. When I got To my junior suite, the ac was not working properly and the room smelled like mold. I notified the front desk 2x and they submitted a ticket. After a 3 night stay, the room is not any cooler and the smell of mold is still present. The bathroom has a jacuzzi with a half glass door, so needless to say the floor always Gets wet when you take a shower. The staff act like you are imposing on their time especially the restaurant Hostesses. I would not recommend this hotel, nor ever consider staying here again.

    Dont waste your money

    Reviewed by Wander818832(United Kingdom) on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    We are currently here and the service is terrible. The complex is about 2 miles round and you are expected to ride around in a dangerous rickety train that's always packed. We have a pram, so with a tired 2 year old its impossible. There is numerous shuttle cars going around which we managed to use once however these are for designated for Travel Club members only, you can stand in the road to try and use one but they will just dangerously drive around you at speed. There are a few restaurants to use, Bamboo was probably the worst restaurant, I'm not picky with food but the pork tasted like dog food. Getting served at most bars is painful, staff dont smile and need alot of training and basic service skills. Non motorised watersport kit is really old, they basically want to sell you experiences and a rip off price. The windsurfing kit looked like it was from the mid 90s and apparently for the weeks I've been here the largers sails are in for repair so only had 3m trainer sails. The place isnt clean with numerous tiles missing in most pools, people smoke in the pools (usually locals) and have no care for hygiene. On weekends the hotel is over run with locals that seem to have an aim of getting as loud and drunk as they can. Its a shame as the infrastructure is here, just massively let down by everythin else. Also use the safe in your room which I'm sure they can override, we had makeup and piriton taken. (Piriton in a local shop was $35 USD).

    Comprehensive Review?

    Reviewed by Josh W() on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I traveled in early August with my girlfriend and stayed at Grand Palladium Punta Cana. The resort is huge because there are 4 of them connected with one another (one of which is not accessible to the other three since its more expensive and private?). Bavaro, Punta Cana, and Palace are all accessible regardless of which one you stay in. Room 7.7/10 The room itself was quite nice. We stayed at in a Deluxe room and it was neat and tidy. It gives off a nice welcoming vibe and we had no major problems with the room service or cleaning. There are three main complaints I have which all either didn't affect us that much or were quite minor. Firstly, the power turned off a couple of times (most of which were late at night). There were some small areas where you could see that they might have cut corners during construction i.e the toilet panel is very loose and the rods that hold hand towels fall off. Finally, the shower had no sliding door to separate itself from the washroom so water would go on the ground. The room is very nice if you go as a couple but it is almost impossible to function while with family. The shower has a sliding window that connects to the room which is almost completely translucent. There is little privacy. Beach 6.8/10 The beach was full of seaweed when we went. This was enough to bring down the experience of the 'perfect beach' I was looking for. Besides this, there was always huts available to set up for the day and the water color/sand was ideal (white sand and turquoise water). There were several different bars as well as a snack bar available right on the shore. It was not the most amazing beach but it visually looks like there is a lot of potential. Pools 7.8/10 We visited most of the pools within the resort. We found that the pool near Behique and the one near Poseidon lacked shade and were very crowded. If you visit the pool and exclusively go to the Adult only pool in Palace or the Pool in Punta Cana close to the beach you will have a great time. The adult pool is open late and has a swim-up bar. The Punta Cana pool has hammocks in the middle with decent shade and another swim-up bar. Food 8/10 The food itself was quite good. The buffet had quite a large selection (especially Las Toros) and it tasted not bad. It wasn't particularly special but in comparison to many of the other resorts I have been to it was higher up. The real star is the selection of a la carte restaurants. We went to Indian, Italian, Steakhouse, Mexican, and Spanish. Indian was by far the best one we went to. The food had different textures and tastes that was refreshing from the buffet food. Mid-range places were the Mexican, Spanish, and Steakhouse. All of them were quite good and provided a large selection of new things to try. DO NOT GO TO THE ITALIAN RESTARAUNT. It was horrible; the pasta was bland and the pizza was undercooked (which makes no sense since the buffets serve better pasta and pizza). I would recommend the Japanese place but we were unable to go to it. Keep in mind that the only reservation needed is for the Japanese a la carte. All the others are just walk in so it is hard to get a table if you show up later on in the day. Another thing to mention is that Behique has very weird times and is inconsistant in when they open/close. Overall Service 6/10 The service was completely hit or miss. NOTE THAT THERE ARE A LOT OF SPANISH SPEAKERS. There is a large population of people that speak Spanish staying at the resort. I understand that the national language is Spanish but this is more than I have ever seen while staying at a resort. Since I am only able to speak English it was very difficult to communicate with others or staff. Some staff spoke exceptional English or were very patient in trying to understand what was being requested. Most of the bartenders were all funny and made it a fun time. Although this a lot were just brutal. There was a handful of rude staff that didn't even try to understand what you were saying or gave additude while fulfilling a request. Shout out to the guest service desk, Jenifher in particular, who was able to order something from a pharmacy (she was a complete lifesaver and was super helpful in recommending what to do). Nightlife 8.5/10 Most things close at midnight but a couple is open later. At night you can go to the Adult Pool which is open late and gives a very chill relaxing vibe (yes the bar is also open). Other than that the main place to go is the disco. There are always a lot of people at the disco with good music playing. The bartenders are really nice and make up good special drinks. There is also the 24/7 sports bar right beside it that has simple food and once again nice bartenders. I WOULD 100% RECOMMEND GOING TO COCO BONGO. It is an excursion that is downtown Punta Cana. Its basically a club meets broadway meets Circus Soleil. They pick you up around 8-9pm and you return at 3-4am. The show is in sets and it is open-bar. Overall Activities N/A We didn't participate that much in many of the activities but there seemed to be a lot of them available. There were activity stations that taught dance lessons and much more beside each pool. There was also a theatre, an assortment of water sports, casino, 'Black and White Club" (I think that was the name) and many other things. The best thing was the foam parties that happen at the pools. It is super crowded but there is good energy. Misc There is a huge care center for kids to go to. Shuttle services ran all the time. I personally didn't like the trams that much but considering the size of the resort, it was needed. If you stay in Punta Cana you are able to walk anywhere on the resort within 15-20 minutes which is not too bad. Reservations at the Japanese place needs to be made quite early in the day. There is also always live music in the lobby in the evening. Overall the stay was quite good. I might be biased as this was the first vacation with my girlfriend and I generally kept a positive outlook towards the entire thing.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-4

    Dont bother spending your money here

    Reviewed by Rex W() on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Been here 5 days....room phone doesn't work and still not fixed after asking 3 times. Restaurants in evening...only the steakhouse so far any good. Too many guests and now a massive wedding party just arrived. Asked 3 times today for more drinks for room including water as have 2 kids and no water. Complained as was about to get a trolley and walk into a bar and stock it myself when order eventually arrived. More to folllow........

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX