BlueBay Grand Esmeralda

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    M

    BUYER BEWARE...this resort is NOT AS ADVERTISED! 4 Star Rating does not hold true! Will not be returning & will not recommend.

    Reviewed by Megs on Jul 09, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: May 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    This was our fourth consecutive trip to Riviera Maya and our first visit to Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda, for reference we have stayed at a different resort each visit & this was by far our worst experience. We were booked June 13-June 21, but checked out early on June 15. Check-in process was ok...we paid the 7 day sanitation tax & second device wifi connection fee for the duration we were booked to stay. Wifi was not reliable at all. I must mention we checked out of this hotel prior to our departure date & was not offered even a partial refund for the additional fees we paid upon arrival - not that I minded much as they were minimal & it was our decision to leave...but it could have been a nice gesture on the hotels behalf. In my opinion this is a run down resort in need of major upgrading. We were assigned Building 1 - COBA - Room 1111. AC barely worked and TV had issues (we did show an employee to have fixed but no one came back to look at it first or last). Other room issues include but not limited to: Bugs in room (flies), electrical socket in bathroom fell into wall & rust fell out when I plugged in my hairdryer, no main light bulb over bed, fan shook to the point I was concerned it would fall, SMELLED OF SEWAGE - ACTUALLY NAUSEATING (this was an issue beyond our room). Light in hallway to room flickered like a strobe light. Room location posed issue of concierge desk facing our patio & trolleys & foot traffic back & forth all day long. Beach is not even worth mentioning - just disgusting. Mexican a la carte was not very good but buffets were ok. I can continue on but 2000 words were literally not enough!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    C

    We enjoyed our time and most of the staff went above and beyond!

    Reviewed by Cassie on Mar 23, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    Front desk staff majority of them were very rude and not friendly. All other staff were amazing!! Especially Ivan at the swing bar. Lots of seaweed at the beach but down further there was none even though staff were cleaning it up everyday. Someone also broke into our safe but luckily we didn?t keep our money in it. Coffee and cream were awful. We enjoyed the quiet and relaxing atmosphere. We loved how big it was and that we had to walk. We also enjoyed the greenery and the animals!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    No 5 star - more like a 2

    Reviewed by SJ on Mar 09, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    The service is terrible - no waiters at pool or bar, they wash there cups in a tub of dirty water and give to you, wifi barely works and you have to pay for more than one device, bldg 8 - warm water and no water pressure, tourism fee charged at time of arrival even though it was not mentioned when you pay all inclusive, my room has only been cleaned once in 7 days and that?s only because I made him come in when I saw him in hallway, only restaurant that is good is the oriental one. We ate at the Mexican one last night and all got diarrhea. A couple of us have sore throats probably from them not cleaning cups properly. Now I know why I see people drinking out of there own cups. Some of the waiters in restaurants and bars look like they hate there jobs and are not very friendly. Even tipping big doesn?t get you good service. Only 2 channels in English on tv. No plugins barely in the double bed garden view room... only one to plug in 2 cells phones at same time and of course across from the beds. Beds are not the greatest and overall feel of room is not that clean. You have to get up by 7:00am to put towels down at pool or you will not have a spot all day. Would definitely not recommend this resort and the beach is covered in seaweed.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    K

    It was not a nightmare but for the dolar we paid i guess we could get more elsewhere

    Reviewed by Kudamundi on Feb 28, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Resort Staff is the only good thing about this resort. First room we got was not even close what we paid for, but the second one was somehow decent. There is few stores inside the resorts but dont even think shoping there, just way too expensive. Playa del Carmen is close to the resort and you can find good deals if you are willing to negotiate. The way these guys are dealing with mosquitos is just beyond imagination. Second day in resort we tought our building is on fire, there was smoke everywhere, when we asked what's going on they said this is how they r killin them...Definitely going back to Playa del Carmen, but not likely to the Blue Bay, unless attracted with some crazy price package

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    C

    2.5 star at best.....would not recommend. Food & service just ok, harassed to buy timeshare right in the resort is unacceptable.

    Reviewed by Carol on Feb 21, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    As we stepped out of the shuttle from the airport we were met & welcomed by Enrique which we thought as great but we quickly realized he was really trying to sell us what we think was a timeshare although still not exactly sure what he was selling. We know he was selling something because he invited us to a VIP breakfast the next morning and kept telling us to be sure to bring the credit card we used to book our trip with us. We said we would think about attending but when we didn?t attend the breakfast presentation, they called our room numerous times and even sent someone to our room to get us to attend. This kind of harassment is totally unacceptable and shouldn?t be allowed in the resort. We were in building 3, our room smelled like mold/mildew, it was dark and wasn't very clean. The toilet plugged & overflowed but when I called they were fairly quick to come and fix & clean up. Had one day that it rained most of the day and the there was lots of flooding on the main floor where our room was, even had flooding in our room. They tried to manage flooding by laying towels everywhere trying to stop the water but it wasn?t very effective. We had to use our towels to keep from slipping just getting from the bed to the bathroom as the tile floors were extremely slippery. Food was mediocre, only good ala cartes were Italian, French, oriental & steak although the second time we went there the steak was awful. Service in the restaurants was just ok. The beach looked ok but there was a lot of seaweed and the water looked pretty dirty so we didn?t swim or hang out on the beach but that?s not the fault of the resort. We spent most of our time around the pool and enjoyed the sun which is why we took a winter vacation. At best this is a 2.5 star resort not a 4.5 as advertised. Wouldn?t recommend this resort to anyone.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    w

    Worse resprt I have ever stayed at.

    Reviewed by wookie on Oct 24, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: October 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    This place was a total night mare. When we arrived we found out that the main pool had been shut down for repairs. As well as the snack bar was being renovated as well and there were only two A La Cart restaurents open each night. Constraction ran from 7AM to 6PM everyday. As well the remaing pools also have tons of broken tiles and people cutting there feet on them as they are sharp as a knife. So needless to say for health reasons no pool was usable.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    Y

    Best food, customer service and nightlife I?ve experienced in this region! Going back yearly!

    Reviewed by Yvette on Sep 30, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    Hands down the best all-inclusive resort I?ve experienced in this area; and I?ve been to a lot! The staff are over the top amazing, the food is beyond delicious - fresh and an abundance of variety. The Black and White lounge is open 24 hours as well, they have a nightly beach party with full bar and DJ down at the beach from 11 pm -1 am every night.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    K

    Spend a little more money and go elsewhere.

    Reviewed by KM on Apr 23, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Friends

    My friend and I booked a 5 night stay and although most of the staff were very friendly and polite, I would not go back to this resort. It is advertised as a 4* - it is NOT. Arrived in the evening, tired, hungry and eager to start our vacation. Mr Roberto needlessly kept us at the desk in order to pressure us into going to a "free breakfast" orientation. FREE breakfast?! when we had paid for all inclusive!! This man would not take no for an answer. He made such a pest of himself we dreaded going anywhere close to the lobby and chance running into him. I speak spanish, there was no chance for misunderstanding we were not interested in their vacation packages (same thing as timeshares). Although Mr Roberto was adamant it is completely different and got offended I would mention "timeshares". Like I said we were there for 5 nights, we wanted to enjoy every minute of this vacation, not be pressured into buying future vacations that may or may not happen. The beach is horrible. Pools are ok. The service at the beach was inconsistent. The food was alright (I am not a picky eater), especially the steakhouse. There is a bikini shop, a general store, a jewelry store and a soap store. The prices are outrageous ($9us for a bag of chips - no, not kidding). There is a travelling market that goes around the various resorts, wait for that instead. They come around every 2 wks and you can bargain with them. Prices on Playa del Carmen's 5th Ave are not much better. Don't book tours through the hotel, too expensive. Perfecto (yes that is his real name) with alltournative is fantastic. We did the Coba tour with him and he went above and beyond to make it enjoyable for us. I was very diappointed in this resort.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    L

    they did indeed do their very best to accommodate us.

    Reviewed by Lolly on Apr 12, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Food was excellent ,staff was friendly and resort was very clean ,definitely going back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    J

    An aging resort in desperate need of a little TLC. Better choices out there.

    Reviewed by JM2018 on Feb 26, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Our group of nine stayed in Building #7 Feb 9-23, 2018 and all have a similar opinion this is a 3-3.5 star resort. The general infrastructure appears dated, neglected, and forgettable. The standard rooms are smaller in size with simple decor and smaller TV?s with few English channels. The shower is nice though could have used additional cleaning. The building design amplifies sound and a regular conversation from neighboring rooms is easily heard. From cleaning carts and ice machines to late night arrivers, the rooms are the loudest we?ve experienced anywhere. The A/C worked, the thermostat did not. A common issue with all three rooms. The butchered vehicle they use as a tram is convienent for beach and restaurant access and travels at twice walking speed. Often, the golf carts used as service and concierge vehicles were noticed travelling too fast considering all roads used are shared with guests and staff who are walking. This was a concern of ours with younger children and the inconvenience to stop and step off the narrow roads making room for the frequent traffic. Service is hit/miss in the restaurants and pool/beach area. The same with the food; expect decent food choices and flavours. The Valentines fillet and shrimp special at the Mexican restaurant was absolutely great and exeeded all expectations, but is not a regular item. We will not be return guests to the Blue Bay. Unless a discounted price is too tempting, keep looking.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 11822 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-3.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Family Vacation 2019

    Reviewed by El_Pit_Bull72(El Paso, Texas) on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Well what can I say...this place is great! The accommodations are good but you need to double check that your services are working properly. Our sink was clogged. However, the staff is very attentive and as soon as I reported the issue, it was fixed. Need to plan early during the day with the concierge your dinner plans since restaurants require reservations for dinner. Overall a great place to stay!

    Fantastic stay

    Reviewed by Christopher P() on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Fantastic stay!! The resort was great with amazing food and lots of entertainment and life. The service was also fantastic! Marcos May was our concierge and was very helpful with all our questions and needs. Would highly recommend and would definitely return in the future!

    Mix feelings

    Reviewed by Dama10(Concord, Canada) on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Just came back from a week at this resort. To be honest we are mixed feelings about this resort . Let’s start from the positive : this resort is very well kept. Extremely clean and the staff is amazing . Everyone of them are nice and ready to help . The food is good and many choices for all meals . The rooms are clean and the bathrooms large and comfortable . Always hot water , never had a problem in this sense . The pools are beautiful . They are big and well kept . Entertainment at the pool is good . These people try to keep everybody busy . There are kayaks there to use but my kids tried to use them and have been very much discouraged ( the people working there told them there is an alligator in the water, and the day after was a shark !!!??at that point we gave up) . Let’s talk about the negative now . This is a big resort . To go from the lobby to the rooms it takes about 10 minutes walking .the reviews I read asked there are golf carts going around , but , in 7 days in the resort we managed to use these carts all together 2 times ! They maybe have two or three carts, all pretty old and the drivers never stop to pick you up . One time we ask one of them to stop and he just ignored us completely . This cart had at least 10 sits available and the driver just ignored us and kept going . So the kids tried to jump on when he slowed down because of people were walking in front of the cart and the driver got angry at them and pulled out a little block notes and asked for our room number because I wanted to report us for trying to jump on the cart !!??????! He took the time for all the show and to Kick the kids ( 9 and 13) out of the cart , but he didn’t bother to stop when we called him . The best part ? 10 meter later he stopped for a couple that called him in Spanish ! Really disappointed ! So din’t Count on the carts to move around the resort especially if you don’t speak Spanish !??! The beach... just doesn’t exist . The water is horrible . Never managed to swim there . There is a nice lagoon at 10 minutes walking from the resort but you have to be lucky no to meet the people from the resort closer to the lagoon otherwise they won’t allow you to use the only bridge that take you there and you have to swim through the reaver that separate the lagoon from the rest of the beach . They forced me to swim my kids through the river and kept denying me to use the bridge . They say it’s their property . I wouldn’t bother with the restaurant booking . It’s just the same food you can find at the buffet . Stores there are extremely expensive . Way cheaper to buy your souvenirs Outside . The blue pool with the tiles is kind of dangerous. I saw a number of people with cuts in their feet because those tiles are Brocken . So we avoided that pool completely Overall we had a good vacation . Worth the money we spent . But there is a lot of room for improvement .

    Great hotel

    Reviewed by Iandjforfarangus(Forfar, United Kingdom) on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Just returned from a stay at the Bluebay what a great hotel this is. I found the beach area far better than the smaller pool area the swing bar was a great place to get refreshments just located off the beach. The drinks were amazing the frozen cocktails exceptional. All the staff were very friendly and helpful as well as respectful. The WiFi was very poor and I just could not stay connected and very early on in the holiday the connection just would not work, on arrival you are given a tiny piece of paper with a WiFi code if you lose this code do not expect to get reconnected although this was frustrating I was on holiday and did not really need to be always looking at my phone. This one negative I found was the lack of a quiet bar area in the evening to sit and drink and relax. There is only one area that gets very loud and busy in the evening the plastic chairs were uncomfortable and I found myself peeling myself off every evening. This is of course my personal preference and many guests had a great time in this area.

    Wonderful but with some cons

    Reviewed by anb0real(Montreal, Canada) on Jul 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    As soon as we arrived, I noticed how kind and warm the employees were! Everybody was very nice and their service was great. The place is absolutely gorgeous: the variety of wildlife is fascinating. It’s perfect for those who love exotic animals and plants. The food was deliciously fresh and well prepared, the menu was plenty of choices and we had the opportunity to be served by amazing persons, especially Edgar from the French restaurant as well as Francisco Camacho from the buffet next to the lobby: they were extremely kind and thoughtful. The shows were amazing and very entertaining. One thing we did not like were the rooms. They were old and ugly and they definitely need a refresh. Also, the beach was not very nice and there was a lot of seaweed but if you walk a little bit, you will find nicer areas. In fact, these are the only reasons why I am rating this hotel a 4 star because other than that, I had a fantastic week there.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX