Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    B

    We LOVE Grand Bahia Principe Tulum. The staff at the swim up bar always friendly and the waiters at the Internation Buffet were great.

    Reviewed by Barbie on Nov 27, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    This was our 3rd trip to Grand Bahia Principe Tulum and we will be back again next October with family to celebrate our 40th Wedding Anniversary. We Love Westjet and whenever possible we fly with them. The Resort was very busy this time but the service was still excellent. The location is excellent as you are close to sightseeing tours or perhaps a shopping trip into Playa Del Carmen..For the most part the staff was great, however, we didn't find the people on the reception desk to be very friendly..got more help from the fellows at the front that help unload your baggage. We were able to accomplish what we set out to do getting things arranged for next October and having an enjoyable vacation once again at the resort. Next year will be vacation Number 4 to this resort.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    We are going back. Loved it

    Reviewed by Mona on Sep 30, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    The staff were amazing. From the cart drivers, to the wait staff to the room cleaners. The staff at check in were fantastic and very helpful

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    B

    This resort is awesome..staff went beyond what you'd expect to accomodate your requests. Best place in our view to stay in the Tulum area.

    Reviewed by Barbie on Jan 28, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    We LOVE the Grand Bahia Principe Resorts and have stayed at GBP Tulum 3 times and plan to go back again this October and again next October. Great location, the staff are very friendly and willing to help in any way they can. Lot of variety as far as food and beverages are concerned. Great location to go exploring ..Like I said we just love it there. Would hightly recommend it for family, friends or just two people. GREAT is all I can Say

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Home away from home

    Reviewed by Shanzsato on Sep 21, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    This resort is my home away from home. My whole family has been many times including my wedding in the Tulum Gazebo. Amazing staff and some of the friendliest people I have ever met. Before coming here we were the type of people who always tried new places and never went to the same place twice. Since our first trip here in 2009 we have not gone anywhere else and now are planning out 16th trip.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    C

    Families will love it here!

    Reviewed by ChristineK on Jun 22, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2017

    Trip Type: Single

    This property has so much for families! I loved how clean it was, loved the pool and beach! Lots of watersports! Close to Tulum!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    Y

    If your looking for a nice resort, KEEP LOOKING. This is not for you!

    Reviewed by Yellowdukk on Feb 09, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    It all started within the first 30 minutes after arriving. We checked into the hotel and immediately went to guest services to book our A La Cart dinners. We did our research and decided beforehand what we wanted, but to our surprise there were no decent reservation times available anytime during our entire stay. We could have booked for a 10pm dinner but who wants to eat that late! We had to settle for whatever was left, which wasn't much. note: there were never more then 50% of the tables used when we walked by We soon learned that certain travel companies allow pre booking of meals but WestJet wasn't one of them. It just went downhill from there. 2 hours later we were settled into our room. Not by choice, but to find a room that didn't have 2 twin 4 post beds or a hole in the ceiling and water all over the floor. Front desk were little to no help in resolving this issue and persisted to try and make us stay in these rooms for a few days and then move. Not happening! Finally off to bed but to only be awaken at 2am with a room at 13 degrees. The A/C was broken and wouldn't shut off. We decided to just turn the unit off and on as needed for the week instead of moving again. Lets just say that this was just the start of our horrible holiday. It didn't get any better throughout the week but we did make the best of it. It's a safe bet that we will never be back to this resort.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    K

    not impressed!

    Reviewed by KelliHeikel on Apr 14, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Went for my best friends wedding, paid for an upgrade to a larger room to accommodate my small child. Only to find out that this is a scam and there actually is no upgrade and all 30 people that came with us had the exact same room and didn't need to pay. I notified the hotel staff and they simply said that yes we paid for it and everyone that was with us must have been upgraded for free. Then they told me to speak with the rep on site. He basically told me you pay for what you get and too bad.... The hotel staff were not friendly, rooms need many upgrades, lights not working, mold in the room and an awful smell. Some days we did not get towels even though we tipped everyday. We also did not get face cloths and always running out of toilet paper. We were there for 10 days and we were unable to book an a la carte which was included in our price. Eating at the buffet for 10 days became very tiresome as it was always the same food, it would have been nice to eat something different. By the last few days, my baby wouldn't eat anything and looking at the buffet literally made my stomach turn. I would like to mention that my best friend's wedding was absolutely gorgeous. The service was amazing, the food was great...I was very impressed by that as I am planning my own wedding at this time. Ceasar was fantastic and the service at the wedding was superb. This service would have been nice to have more than just one day. Also Jordan in the buffet was the best server there and we enjoyed him very much. The grounds of the hotel were well kept and beautiful. I absolutely love westjet but this trip has left a sour taste in my mouth and this make me very sad.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 14368 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Major theft problem!!

    Reviewed by Jjcnj(Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom) on Mar 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Visited the hotel for a 2 week holiday from 24/02/19-10/03/19. We were put in room 1723, Lovely room overall with a partial sea view. Placed our money of US dollars, English pounds & Mexican pesos and our passports, visas and return flight information in the safe. The safe was then locked with the only key the hotel state they have. We were told if we were to loose the key we would have to pay $50 to get it open. On the 28/02/19 I went in the safe to find £240 had been stolen. I reported this to reception, and our room was checked by The manager and 2 security guards. A report was made to Thomas Cook who couldn’t care less. Advised to let the hotel do their investigation which they stated it usually takes 48 hours and then we could proceed from there and decide whether we would want the police to be called in. After some deliberation, I went with the manager to the police station which took 3 hours and was an experience in itself. Dreading going to the room every day, my fear happened again. Safe key firmly in my possession at all times, on Friday 08/03/19 when I went in the safe to get some money out, I found even more money taken out of the safe, $550 & £110. I rang reception where they again came with 2 security guards, the manager and the assistant manager. This time I asked them to ring the police straight away. I explained the money had been there Friday am but not Friday pm. I explained it must have been either the maid or the person who fills the mini bar. On Saturday I had to go to the police station again to complete another report. I advised management I wanted this sorted this time, they said they would look into the situation. Reported again to Thomas Cook on Sunday which was the day we’re coming home. The holiday was very stressful. In total I had £350 English and $550 stolen. Disgusting as to why people are still being allowed to go to this hotel.

    Cheap and poor service

    Reviewed by Rachael G(Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania) on Mar 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We scheduled to go to Grand Bahia Principle Tulum for my 30th birthday, we were looking to relax on what looked like a beautiful beach, and pool. Pro's -great selection of food at buffet -the last night a la carte dinner at mexican place was best meal con's -Pools are not heated -There is only 1 bartender per pool bar, always a line, and drinks were very weak, even when asked to be strong. -Check in was awful, -Room didn't have hot water -room very outdated -room service not included -a la cart dinners were frustrating to get to (if in tulum compared to other place)

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-2

    Service

    Service-1

    Most relaxing trip ever!!!

    Reviewed by vleclair(St. Albert, Canada) on Mar 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My husband and I booked this trip to relax and get away from the cold. Unfortunately by the time the bus dropped us off from the airport to the hotel (3 hours after landing...worst part), it was 3 am. We were exhausted and didn’t get such a warm welcome when we arrived. We were taken to our room which was a bit disappointing (double beds pushed together). The next morning after chatting with the front desk, they were able to move us to a better room. Had a great time regardless of these few issues. We absolutely loved this hotel. Staff were great. Lots of variety with the food. Beach and pools were great. Loved that we could visit the sister hotels for a change of pace. Will definitely come back to this hotel.

    Hate this hotel

    Reviewed by acalsal() on Mar 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Don’t let this hotel fool you. It’s beautiful when you walk in, but the food is absolutely disgusting, the service is horrible, they are understaffed, the rooms our outdated, and the hotel is inconsiderate of guest requests. My group had multiple mishaps with this hotel. All in all the service is what is giving this review a 1 Star. I recommend you spend your money elsewhere. Absolutely horrible... I am so disappointed.

    AMAZING resort! Beautiful location, wonderful staff & great vacation!

    Reviewed by juleschacha() on Mar 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Ladies trip of a lifetime? beautiful grounds, beach & staff! 3 sisters with 3 daughters...6 ladies had the time of their lives!! Staff was beyond amazing & made our time there so fun! The great energy of all staff, joyful souls that exude happiness was contagious! Such hard working staff to bring the best of service to us. It was fun to interact with them on a daily basis & consider them friends...I feel my life was enriched by this vacation & the staff had so much to do with that! We had opportunities to relax, enjoy the beautiful grounds but if we were ever feeling energized to play, there were always opportunities! The entertainment team has a great energy about them, they enjoy what they do & they enjoy their team...it's refreshing to see. By having this great energy, you all energized us & made every experience fun & fulfilling. I was sad to say goodbye but am grateful for the time I had that enriched my soul ?. When you get a chance to engage with great people like we did, a part of our heart is left behind with them & our hearts are filled with the love they shared with us! The resort itself was wonderful as well, beautiful grounds & kept up well, tending to every detail. Rooms were spacious, clean & staff accommodating (bringing us extra bottles of water). Multiple options for whatever you enjoy, active pool vs quiet pool, sanding beach lounge vs poolside, theater entertainment, lounge white room with live music/dancing, fun interaction in games. Food was wonderful with a great variety & friendly service, fresh & clean, attention to detail & wonderful staff again, make to order eggs. The dinning staff were cheerful & very attentive always. Great specialty coffee made with flaming entertainment, our Lady was our favorite (sorry I forgot her name) but my Aunt Judy was your biggest fan??. Again the entertainment line up is amazing with activities for everyone, I personally enjoyed ocean front yoga with Ernesto & Pamela which was both peaceful & invigorating! Water aerobics with Ernesto, Alberto, Moises & Javier...the energy these guys have is so fun, they encourage & have a great time with it! Arturo was the newest member while we were there & it was great to see how well he fit it! Keeping the activities & entertainment running smoothly while still engaging with guests joyfully, it's a true talent & testament to his great character! We had great laughs on stage while my sister & I tried to "follow the leader" with Michael Jackson moves, si senor, etc. Watching the video when I got home was even more hilarious, everyone on stage was getting a good laugh (loved to see Ernesto, Arturo, & Alberto enjoying ??). In conclusion, I am above & beyond excited to recommend the Grand Bahai Principe Tulum for anyone...doesn't matter if it's a romantic getaway, ladies or guys getaway, family vacation or even a solo vacation...it's accommodating to all! We even had the luxury of visiting the other 3 resorts in the cluster which was fun to explore but Tulum was definitely our home & spent majority of our time there...as we were beyond fulfilled there alone. We did one excursion to Tulum ruins & Rio Secreto which was a fun adventure, otherwise exploring our own beach & resorts was plenty entertaining. I wish many blessings to all we came in contact with there, even the guests, it was so fun to meet so many from all over (but majority from Canada??). With special blessings to those who took time to engage with us, thank you & you truly are a blessing to many...your in the right place as you have exuded joy & happiness...your beautiful beyond measure & you will always be in our hearts? Arturo - you jumped right in on your first day, so natural, this is your place! Great joyful spirit & led people well...multitasking with a smile & always took time to say hello. Thanks for the slow dance, it made my night? Alberto - all around amazing: dancing, water aerobics, thanks for encouraging me to do yoga & doing it with me??, your joyful greetings every time we saw you...especially for mi Tia Judy, you were great! Ernesto - all around amazing,: yoga, water aerobics, escorting me from the stage- true gentleman ?? Pamela - amazing yoga instructor & ray of sunshine? Jonathon - great energy, dancing & smiles Juan Javier - fun dance with Tia Judy, water aerobics & energy Uilses- amazing bartender (the primas ? you) Luis - great joyful bartender Alexis - thanks for the agua ?? keeping us hydrated Fredrico & Pedro @ la gran tortuga Bexai - beautiful dinning greeter Wonderful dinning room specialty coffee woman & waitress, sorry I forgot your name but you were wonderful. So many more, the staff make this place amazing! I'm hoping to come back real soon...if the stars align?...with all my love, Julie

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX