Panama Jack Resorts Playa del Carmen

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Riviera Maya
    5. Panama Jack Resorts Playa del Carmen
    6. Panama Jack Resorts Playa del Carmen review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    S

    Ripped Off

    Reviewed by Snb1979 on Apr 28, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    The only thing this resort has going for it, is it's location. There is NO BEACH, don't let the advertised pictures fool you! The snack hut is literally 5 steps from the pool bar, and if you take a step backwards you'll fall off the sand hill. Nothing but giant smelly sand bags. The buffet food is decent quality, but zero selection. We ate off the resort more than we ate on the resort, and when you pay what this place charges...that's just unacceptable. Their evening entertainment consists of a very amateur 30 minute "show" followed by much to loud music in the tiny lobby bar area. I was so excited to go to this resort, and now I feel like I was ripped off.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    We loved our stay, best staff!

    Reviewed by SK Traveller on Apr 28, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    By far, some of the best staff around. Resort is fantastic! Not large and location is so convenient to 5th Ave. shopping in Playa del Carmen. Not the place for you if the beach is your priority as some of it has been worn away by the waves and storms. Can't wait to go back though!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 11957 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great Resort

    Reviewed by LosKlinkos() on Aug 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed at the Panama Jack Resort for two weeks in august 2019. We came here as a couple looking for a relaxing holiday with the opportunity to go out in the evening. Service was excellent and polite. We enjoyed the activities at the pool with Eder and Carlos! (Zumba and dancing was a lot of fun) and the wine tasting with the hotels sommelier. There were amazing thematic dinners regularly at the Pool with delicious food and great decoration. 5/5 well deserved points.

    Below our Expectations!!!

    Reviewed by Bchgir() on Aug 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    We were very disappointed with our trip to P.J. first if all, the beach is rocky, covered with seaweed and smells terrible throughout the resort area. The beach is public, so you have a ton of locals drinking, smoking on the beach. The food is budget and there are only three options of hamburger, hotdog or nachos by the pool. There is very little to do for kids and the shows are lack luster. We had good experiences at the restaurants for dinner. The service was amazing and the food was good, however there are only a few options for dinner at the resort. The breakfast buffet is not great, however we opted for room service and we liked that. Lots of police/ military activity at night. One night we saw ten police vehicles by the resort. I would NOT recommend this resort at all!

    Great entertainment

    Reviewed by Daniel H() on Aug 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Lots of fun activity’s by the pool. Eder who runs the activities does a great job of keeping everyone entertained. Great location by the water. Perfect weather every day. No clouds and the sun is always shining.

    Vacation

    Reviewed by Jengo M() on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Panama Jack resorts in Playa Del Carmen was everything I anticipated and more. The food was delicious and the drinks were plentiful. The staff was so helpful and accommodating! There were a lot of activities to do there. They had a pool party, performances every night and so much more! The location is also great! It’s walking distance from 5th Avenue, Cozumel ferry and colectivos. Definitely will return!

    Amazing!

    Reviewed by pnbennettx(Martinsburg, West Virginia) on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My husband and I chose Panama Jack for our honeymoon trip. The staff, the food & the entertainment were awesome! We had so much fun every single day which is exactly what we needed! Terrific, care-free, FUN! We are fairly introverted people, but the sports and entertainment staff, Cecelia & Eder really pulled us in and we took part in the water aerobics and pool volleyball! We really felt like we had known them for years. They were so inviting and fun! They even came and sat with us during down time and spoke with me about where we come from, our fur-babies and so on! What a great place!!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX