Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    T

    Worth every penny

    Reviewed by Tony on Jan 24, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: September 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    This is our second visit to this Iberostar complex but our first time at the Grand Paradiso. Firstly, the drive up and walk-in was great but the check-in was a disorganized, which made for a rather disappointing start. However the facilities just make you relax by their design. The walk to your room is in an AC environment, which makes you feel relaxed right away. The ceilings are tall and the hallways wide and well-lit at all times of the day. Great atmosphere. The room was equally great. The rooms had a great selection of snacks and drinks. The cleaning services were great for the duration of our stay. Please be sure to tip them with their name and a thank you letter! I did have an issue with switch placement in the room, their brightly lit alarm/radio clock, and the lack of plugs by the nightstand but good beds and they don't turn off the AC in your room. Leave the room cool, to a cool hallway, and come back to where it was.... just a huge relief after a "tough" day at the pool. The pools were great, very clean and peaceful. In fact my wife and I went to go see where we were staying before... and It was like going down 3 stars in our minds. The most important part of the stay was the food and the alcohol. The restaurants were decent and the Surf & Turf buffet was amazing; you can either get off the menu or go to the buffet table. Please be aware, their water at the restaurants taste different because its filtered not bottled. This facility has real alcohol! This makes a huge difference the next day after relaxing day.... basically tastes better, digests better, and doesn't annoy you for the rest of the trip. At the other hotel in this facility we visited in our last stay, we stopped drinking because it didn't feel good. We felt relaxed the whole time, just wonderful! Pool time is 7am to 7pm. FYI the coupons they offer as incentive to book this are useless, see attached photos.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    K

    Over Promised and Under Delivered with Average Service.

    Reviewed by Kenneth R on Jan 25, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Upon checking in we where led to our room. Once the door was open, a terrible musty, moldy odour greeted us. I asked the host if we could be moved to another room. They declined requesting to clean the room while we waited after a long day of travel. About 90 minutes later they said the room was ready. The smell was still evident along with cleaning solutions. We again requested a move and again it was denied. With no other choice, we decided to stay the evening in the room in hopes of speaking with a manager the next morning. No luck. The second day the bath tub had only cold water and the drain had plugged. We where asked to stay out of the room the entire afternoon while they took the taps apart and replaced them along with the drain plug. The odour was still high. Next morning the electricity quit to the room. Called the front desk and several hours later a repair person showed up. He opened the panel in the closet, gave it a good bang with everything coming back on. The air conditioner would only go down to 22c and we cooked with the high humidity. Was told it was computer controlled. On the third day, I approached the manager at the main counter and asked if we could be moved. This gentleman was not in a pleasant mood as I was third in line with other guests requesting a move. By the time he got to me, his mood had deteriorated that I left. I later found out that the occupancy rate the week of Jan 15-22nd 2016 was just over 50% and felt they could have accommodated our request to move. This was not an inexpensive resort. After considering our experience, this resort is over-priced for an average experience. Noted I did not mention the quality of the food. It too was average considering our experience at other upscale resorts. The beach area is excellent as is the pool area, hot tubs and indoor pool area. The servers have a wonderful attitude when bringing meals to your table. Management was the surprise in the little attention to guests needs. Regards, Ken

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 7116 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Exceeded expectations!

    Reviewed by Susan4Travel() on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was our first trip to the Yucatan Peninsula, our first all-inclusive and our first visit to an Iberostar property. The property is exceptionally beautiful, it is like what I would think a palace to look like. We stayed at one of the oceanfront rooms and that was roomy and beautiful, also very quiet. The staff was everywhere to make you feel welcome as well as to be there should you need anything at all. We had a concierge named Daniel who was so accommodating and helpful. I'm usually not one to ask for anything and my husband doesn't ever like anyone to go out of their way. All we had to do was to mention that something would be nice and it was done, from a bottle of tequila, to prosecco on ice..twice! If we were running late for a shuttle Daniel would grab a golf cart and get us there in time while radioing ahead to expect us. The other staff was just as helpful. There were shows in the theater every night that also were very entertaining. The performers were very talented and we had a great time. Most of the meals were delicious with just about anything you could think of to eat. The only disappointment I had was all the seaweed in the ocean and conditions making ocean swimming a bit of a drawback, the red swimming flag was up most of the time, however that was not the fault of Iberostar! Someone at the property said that June and July the ocean is much more calm and swimmable. Also, precaution, if you get a card under your door for going to get a welcome package, be advised that you will be asked to meet with someone about becoming a member. My husband was far too polite and could not say no to the nice lady we were talking with and we ended up going to a 1 1/2 hour talk that turned into a 3 hour talk. We also had never heard one of these presentations and were a bit curious but not interested. We did say we were not interested from the beginning but they said to please just listen and our minds would be changed. Most of the people we spoke with were very nice and accepting of our "no thank you" answer, except for the last person named Ivan. Do yourself a favor if you are not wanting to buy a membership, just say no to the first person you meet with and walk away and don't feel bad about it! Even with that experience, we had a terrific vacation and would not hesitate to go back, bringing friends or family.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Just us 3

    Reviewed by Mercedes E(New York City, New York) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My daughter informed us about Iberostar resorts and we then started staying at Iberostar resorts ourselves (husband and I) for our vacations. This April, my mom, daughter and I decided to take a trip to Riviera Maya, Iberostar Grand Paraiso. I’ve stayed here with my husband last year and we had a fab time. The food is superb offering variety for all and the staff is top notch. The rooms are very comfortable and the views of the property itself are breath taking! This resort is for adult families, friends and couples. The only con I would say is that they don’t offer as many pool entertainment activities as the other Iberostars specifically in Punta Cana, where as this is more for relaxation. The staff made us feel like family here and some even recognized me from last year which made us feel special. They are treated us like star and went over and beyond to accommodate my 91yr old mother! We have to give recognition to the following staff members who showed us outstanding service every moment..every day: Asael-Bell boy who should be promoted to Manager since he is so dedicated to customer service, Mario Velasquez-head waiter who catered to our every needs, Maya-pool bar waitress, Asael-our waiter who is awesome and kind, Aaron and Salin from the star team, Humberto-towel concierge, Mirna-towel concierge, Lucero-main lobby bar waitress, Alejandro-mixologist bartender, Augustin-waiter, Sergio- waiter, Jonaton- pool bar waiter,Humberto& Alberto- pool bartenders, Sergio-front concierge, Angelica-Iberostar Maya concierge, Fernando-towel concierge, Orlando- star-team, Carlos- star entertainment who is phenomenal, and Consuelo-pool waitress. Our vacation is memorable because of all the above Iberostar team!!! Thank you kindly.... you will all be sincerely missed.

    Excellent experience

    Reviewed by AndreaCantu(Monterrey, Mexico) on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I thought four days at the hotel was going to be enough...... moreover.. I though I was gonna be bored without any plans schedule of leaving the hotel. I WAS FAR FROM THE TRUTH... what a great experience we had... they have activities all day long, great shows... and attentive staff... the food was also really good. Next time I will stay more than a week... that's for sure. I want to give special thanks to the animators staff: Aaron, Oscar, Cesar and Julio which were really amazing and fun people.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Good experience except...

    Reviewed by Voyager43583698905(Racine, Wisconsin) on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This was our first stay at the Grand, we had always stayed at the Maya which is a step down. It was very classy and exquisite but I was disappointed about a couple things. The lobby area which includes the bar and some of the restaurants was not air conditioned or it was set at a high temperature. It felt like it was 80 plus degrees which is uncomfortable for me. I’d like to be able to enjoy a/c besides the time I’m in my room. The other issue I had was on numerous occasions I waited a long time to get a drink at the pool bar. I feel like i spent too much of my vacation waiting for someone to wait on me at the pool. It was very frustrating. Aside from those two issues the resort was wonderful. It’s a beautiful resort with wonderful staff and the food was awesome. We had a great week and plan on going back next year.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-4

    A week isn't long enough!

    Reviewed by mayaluvr(Leamington, Canada) on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Just returned and have to say this was one great trip. All and I mean all of the staff go out of their way to make sure that your every need was attended to. The food is out of this world. We found the Italian restaurant was our favorite. The buffets were the best we have been to at a resort with both top notch quality and quantity. Everything was very clean everywhere. Our butler Victor was continually asking us what he could do for us and if we needed anything. We spent most of our time at the tranquillity pool for rest and relaxation.We were in building 72 and slept like babies every night in a very comfortable king bed. We will return again to this wonderful paradise.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX