Royal Hideaway Playacar

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    V

    Not clean

    Reviewed by Viv on Jan 03, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Very unpleasant in terms of being unclean

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    V

    Unclean.

    Reviewed by Vivien on Dec 31, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    This hotel was filthy. Stained sheets. Carpet gone grey from lack of cleaning. Tub plug was rusted completely through. Both phones weren?t working. The bed skirt looked like it had never been washed it was so discoloured. We found many areas of the hotel to be very poorly maintained. I would never return. WestJet located another hotel to move to however it did increase our cost significantly

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6290 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great honeymoon!

    Reviewed by LauraG0810(Fort Collins, Colorado) on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We have had a wonderful honeymoon at Royal Hideaway! We had great service at all the restaurants and bars, but I want to especially point out Angel Garcia from the Ventanas Mediterranean restaurant for making our last dinner here phenomenal! He had amazing suggestions for across our meal and delicious drink pairings! Our concierge, Michelle Gómez was also so kind and helpful in planning our excursions and making our honeymoon special!

    Excellent service

    Reviewed by gasparek15(Burlington, Canada) on Aug 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I give 5 stars for the best services. Beautiful resort and nice clean big room. But I have to say the food was the worst in Mexico we ever try. We had excellent service at the beach! Genaro Ek is number one !! He is a great worker! Royal Hideaway should be so proud to had Genaro . He is working so hard making everyone happy! And he is doing this so great . We traveling a lot, but we had first time service like this. Oscar was helpful a lot. He was every time for us when we needed him. We got everything what we ask him was no problem! Thank you a lot! You had wonderful service and beautiful resort ! Great staff!!!

    Excellent service

    Reviewed by Inspiration678884() on Aug 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    First time visiting and would definitely go back if the opportunity is given. From the arrival to departure everyone went above and beyond our expectations. Food is great and drinks are good, right by the beach we loved The Deck restaurant overseeing the beach, very beautiful and secluded. ( had to edit my first post)

    Luxury Service!!

    Reviewed by cbruecker(Fresno, California) on Aug 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Recently came home from a week stay at Royal Hideaway and let me tell you we were pampered and treated like royalty!! From the moment we stepped onto the property everyone was going above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed. Carlos the bellboy at the front was amazing! He was very attentive and answered every question we pestered him with. Heading down to the pool and beachside was a breeze and so relaxing, yes previous reviews are correct in saying that the pool spots do get taken VERY early. So keep that in mind. Javier at the pool was our best friend every day down there. He made sure we had a fresh drink and anything else we could possibly need. Even passing out a few snacks to us when we must have looked hungry! He went above and beyond when he heard it was our anniversary and took it upon himself to arrange a private dinner for us. Where else will you find someone like that?! I do recommend mentioning to the hotel if you are celebrating anything, as they will accommodate you! The dinner that was arranged for us at The Grill was extraordinary! The manager, Oscar, took care of us that night and let me tell you it was a meal we will never forget. Thank you to both Javier and Oscar for arranging that for us! As previously mentioned in many reviews, do make all your dinner reservations when you get there. If you are there for a short amount of time, maybe skip Palazzo. Just my opinion. We had amazing meals every night and that one just didn’t hit the mark. All in all we can’t wait to return to the Royal Hideaway, I believe we found our vacation home!

    Needs perfection.

    Reviewed by Denis L(New York) on Aug 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We arrived at the hotel and were met with delight by an charming and welcoming bellman. The bellman escorted us into the very beautiful reception area. There were two large desks with NO guests being served. The people working these desks - who appeared to be doing something unrelated to welcoming any guests - motioned for someone to escort us over to sofas in a nearby sitting area. Both of these desks, I repeat had NO GUESTS. Whatever these people were doing, it was not related to serving guests who had just spent the last 10 hours in two airplanes and a van which drove us to the hotel. One day, the mini bar is restocked; the next three days, no one comes to do this. I asked three times for a daily newspaper (one is asked if one would like a daily newspaper delivered upon arrival). There are three telephones in every room. Two do not work. At all. When checking in, you are told to see the concierge in your villa in order to make dinner arrangements and to handle any problems which may arise during your stay. ALL restaurants require reservations. When we checked in at 4 pm on a Wednesday, there was no concierge on duty. The same went for Thursday, Friday and Saturday. On Sunday, we met a young man who said he was our new concierge. When I asked him why we had previously not had a concierge, he informed me that he was off the day before. When I inquired about the lack of a concierge on Wednesday, Thursday and Friday, he was unable to provide any explanation. Even more annoying than NOT having a concierge available, was the fact that there was NO SIGN at the concierge’s station indicating where a guest might find assistance. Rather than this, a framed sign offered spa services (I didn’t NEED spa services; I needed to make dinner reservations.). The Royal Hideaway is a breathtakingly beautiful property. The grounds are well kept. One restaurant is more visually appealing than the next. The lobby is amazing.The staff is hardworking, delightful and charming. BUT, THERE IS NO ONE IN CHARGE. NO ONE. No one oversees what the staff is doing. Leadership begins at the top, and there is no top here. It is an utter shame.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX