DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Hotel Circle

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    R

    My mom called this hotel the slumlord

    Reviewed by Ruth Radetzky on Sep 17, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: September 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    The service was apathetic, our first initial room smelled of acetone and backed onto the freeway which was very loud. The lamps and curtains were extremely dirty and the bathtub was rusty. We requested a room change and were up all night due to paper thin walls and noisy neighbours. The curtains were ripped with huge holes. The location was less than ideal

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 867 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Outdated but comfortable

    Reviewed by champton85(Atlanta, Georgia) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The hotel itself is rather outdated. The hot water is lacking at all hours, there is noticeable wear and tear on the property, and the bathroom area is in need of a major touch up. The walls are thin, as well—so keep this in mind if booking a room that adjoins. I was next to a screaming child my first night here for most of the night and after a long cross country flight, this is the last thing you want. The hotel didn’t really do anything to address this after I called since they were sold out and the front desk personnel this morning didn’t really say anything at all when I asked if they were checking out. In addition, EVERYTHING is charged here. Parking ($24), breakfast ($18), and WiFi—the code they gave me did not work and the number on the sheet with the code was closed—so I paid ($12) for that. For those of us who work hard—even when on a business trip, that’s a lot of money. The bed was comfy though—and having a balcony was a great addition to the room. Overall though, there are better values up and down the street and in San Diego. I would not stay here again, and would advise travelers that while comfortable, the value for your money could be better spent and seen elsewhere, and I’ve most definitely had better stays than here.

    lack of service

    Reviewed by Connector04147616128() on Mar 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    heater is not working. Try to call for repair, wait for 2 hours and no one show up. Lack of service and not professional. The only thing I can think about is good location for this hotel. I will still recommend to others due to the location only.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-1

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-2

    Worst Beds Ever!!

    Reviewed by Paradise63289348112(Gilbert, Arizona) on Mar 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Very disappointment in Doubletree Hilton. Normally Doubletrees are nice, this one was not so much. There was no bell captain to assist with luggage upon arrival, cookies were hard as a rock. The beds was BAD to say the least.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-2

    Hopelessly Disappointing - Falling Apart and Nasty

    Reviewed by RileyPA(Concord, North Carolina) on Mar 05, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    I have stayed at dozens and dozens of Hilton brand hotels... and oh, at all price points. This hotel's rooms were the most dilapidated, beat-up, and untended to that I have ever seen. Our first room was #704, - the list of non-working stuff is incredible- the refrigerator didn't work, nor did the fan in the bathroom, the safe or the air conditioner. The rug was beat up and the smell was dank and hideous... likely due to the lack of air circulation. That was just a few of the issues. There was rust and peeling wallpaper... A new room was requested after the 1st day, and we moved two doors down to room 706. The positives - if you can consider it that - the room definitely smelled better. The fan, refrigerator, air, and safe all worked - but, the room was falling g apart, and the there were nasty stains on the walls, bed skirts, and disgusting looking rust in the bathroom. The carpet had stains everywhere. I inquired at the front desk about the age and conditions of the hotel, and was told it was remodeled last year - I beg to differ. When you arrive, you will learn there is a $75 per night security deposit. This deposit is in addition to the normal cost of the room. I made issue of this, as we were staying for 6 days - therefore, they allowed me to pay a portion. For 6 nights this hotel cost over $900, and that's with a company discount. It definitely was not even close to being worth the cost. I'm was so disappointed, and would have changed hotels - but, of course - they have a 'no cancellation fee.' This hotel is awful, the ceiling is falling apart in the main lobby, and the rooms are disgusting. The only good part is the staff was friendly, although it was a bit difficult to communicate with cleaning staff at times. Take a look at the photos, they speak for themselves, and then find a different hotel. Ten photos is the limit, but I have many more, sadly. I hope this information helps, and happy travels.

    San Diego Excellence

    Reviewed by Jet36573094669(Surprise, Arizona) on Mar 03, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Excellent Customer Service!! I really felt very welcomed, and the Check-in and Check-out processes were a breeze.... The Front Office and Housekeeping Staffs were very helpful, kind, and professional, too!!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX