Blau Varadero Hotel

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    L

    4 star better tan most 5 star resorts, especially the food.

    Reviewed by Lawrence (Larry) on Jul 12, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2018

    Trip Type: Single

    This was my fifth trip to the Blau and when entering the lobby was greeted like family. As with the other trips I had no problems with anything. i was gifted with a 7 year old bottle of Havana Club as a thank you for returning.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    A very relaxing resort with tai chi and a wonderful beach!

    Reviewed by LM on Jun 22, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    I was impressed with this hotel and think its a great value for an adults only!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    L

    Third time going back next year.

    Reviewed by Larry on Oct 13, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2017

    Trip Type: Single

    Was there in May, and went back. very little hurricane damage. Got 30 feet inside the resort, then staff started coming up and saying "good to see you again". I take a second suitcase full of kids clothes and toilrtries that is no charge for humanitarian reasons. Execllent staff and facilities. Food good for Cuba, ala carte is 5 star.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    Excellent resort.

    Reviewed by Larry on Sep 13, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Single

    This was my second trip to Blau and it was as good as the first time. Actually, even better (went adult only). As A returning guest I was invited to a managers special dine evening. Lots of staff remembered me, something that never happened else where.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    W

    Would not recommend it at all to anyone

    Reviewed by Wolly on Aug 21, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: June 2016

    Trip Type: Single

    Sorry for sounding all negative but......out of 7 days stay at this hotel my door key did not work at all and it was a big hassle to switch room's at 3 am..... and don't get me started on aircondition, showers and toilets that you have to flash 5 times to make it work..... the pool area was not to bad it was ok....except lack of drink choices. Beach was the only thing that was some what good.... in other words I would not recommend this resort to anyone

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 7894 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Holiday

    Reviewed by F6617VPjuliej(Harrietsham, United Kingdom) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Very nice hotel, so much to do, lots of activities & on the beach. We had front view so not overlooking beach or there pools, so a little disappointed even though view not bad. Room cleaned every day but they only change sheets if you ask. Good selection of buffet food. Would of liked option of using the restaurants more, as only allowed twice per visit. The restaurant food & service was much better than the buffet staff. Overall relaxing & good holiday but would not go back.

    SERVICE WITH A SMILE

    Reviewed by JamesB11019(Halifax Region, Canada) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We have our ninth visit booked because of the excellent service and great beach. It’s not by luck that this “Cuban” 4-star is consistently “Traveller Ranked” and “Best Value” rated by TripAdvisor members in the top five of 73 Varadero resorts. Special mentions to David, Rosie, Ernesto, Ismaryis, Norberto, Lovio (singing waiter), Raidel (beach grill), Agdiel (Obama), Mesa (Enrique Iglesias), Anisley and Dany at the Palma Real, all the front desk staff, Ulysses (Bruce Willis), security and all the helpful bellmen. The food is varied and often is delicious, especially if you get some freshly cooked fish, chicken or pork at the cook station grills and choose veggies wisely. Also, there is a carvery featured most evenings offering roasted pig, turkey, fish and beef. There are talented musicians around the resort with a classical quartet during dinner at the Palma Real a-la-carte restaurant, authentic Cuban at the Grill Las Adelfas and a great variety of flute, violin, guitar, sax and piano at the main lounge venues. Also, there are evening cabaret shows and the weekly Aqua Show at the pool or hit the Chill Out lounge for a quieter time. We enjoy the quiet of the beautiful beach and the palapas and loungers are plentiful. You can walk the beach for miles, and it is gorgeous with the white sand and turquoise water. A focal point of the resort, the pool is nicely lit and is treated at night and cleaned every morning and offers a bar, BBQ hut and the animation team action.

    Excellent staff and service

    Reviewed by eyetravel123(Leicester, United Kingdom) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed at the Blau for the first time for 7 nights in early March. I have to say that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, mainly due to the fact that the service levels in the hotel are exceptional. Nearly every staff member, no matter what role they have, will ensure they do everything to make sure you are happy and comfortable during your stay. Check in seemed to be quite rushed. I felt they should’ve taken a little more time to explain the hotel to us and what options we had for food etc. We were given a great room - superior sea view. The view was lovely and worth the upgrade (although we hadn’t paid extra for a sea view we were lucky to be given it). The room was a good size with a large bed and bathroom, a sofa, fridge (which was stocked with water daily, beer and coke) and a decent size balcony. A couple of English channels on the tv showing movies etc. There are vines hanging down in the main atrium. These look great but they attract birds which seem to go crazy around sunrise and sunset. Annoying at 5:30am when they were waking us up. The food in the hotel was generally of a good standard. Lots of options at the buffet breakfast and lunch. You could also get lunch at the beach bar which had made to order pizza and sandwiches. Drinks were always flowing at the numerous bars at the hotel, and in the restaurants, and the waiting staff were happy to serve drinks to your table so you didn’t have to keep going to the bar. The Buffet dinner again was a decent standard with plenty of options (including a vegetarian section with a few options) but it did get a bit repetitive after a while. You get a voucher to go to each of the two a la carte restaurants, though you can request more vouchers which they will provide subject to availability. The international restaurant was a more ‘fine dining’ style, and the food was again decent, with a great string band. We also quite enjoyed the Italian restaurant. The pool area is great and we generally didn’t have a problem finding sun beds. If anything the water in the pool was a bit too cold. The beach is just amazing with white sand and crystal clear water. One of the best we’ve been on. You can hire a beach cabana for 10 cucs from reception. We did this once and it was definitely worth it. You can also hire a complimentary pedal boat, canoe or catamaran from the beach which is a good benefit to have. The entertainment team at the hotel were very active. Unfortunately they often struggled to get enough players for certain activities like water polo. Beach volleyball in the morning was always popular and enjoyable. We enjoyed the shows in the evening and if that’s your sort of thing they’re worth a watch. They have 3 pool tables and 2 table tennis tables. Apparently they have a disco in the beach bar from 11pm-1am but we didn’t go. The fellow guests we met were mainly all very friendly. You can buy Wi-fi cards which last one hour each for 1 cuc. You can only connect from the lobby area and piano bar. There is a local bus called the Varadero beach tour, which operates from the bus stop on the main road and comes around every half hour. For 5 cucs you get unlimited travel on the bus for that day. It takes about 25 mins to get into Varadero town - mainly restaurants, market stalls and shops around here. Overall a brilliant stay at the Blau and we wouldn’t hesitate to visit again!

    Dennis Lisa

    Reviewed by lisal0uc() on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Fantastic hotel had an amazing two weeks weather fantastic beach best I've ever been too and kept immaculate the staff are amazing can't do enough for you alexander on the grill bar was a star food was awesome and was always so friendly genette our waitress at breakfast in the restaurant lovely lady and service was fantastic room was great clean and lovely oceon view couldn't fault anything sauna and massage well worth a visit entertainment staff were great fantastic shows animation was great elvis very pleasant gent always checking everything was OK and always something going on with the team keep up the good work will definitely be back thanks again everybody ???

    Wonderful, 2nd Cuba vacation,1st at Blau

    Reviewed by tonypdickinson(Keighley, United Kingdom) on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Cubans excel at customer service, and the hotel staff were very much on top form in that aspect. Always a smile and it doesn't take long for them to work out and remember your drink when you enter their area. Food was okay, and you couldn't want for choice. Really nice and chilled atmosphere and some really brilliant people. I would love to continue coming back, every couple of years.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX