Blau Varadero Hotel

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    L

    4 star better tan most 5 star resorts, especially the food.

    Reviewed by Lawrence (Larry) on Jul 12, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2018

    Trip Type: Single

    This was my fifth trip to the Blau and when entering the lobby was greeted like family. As with the other trips I had no problems with anything. i was gifted with a 7 year old bottle of Havana Club as a thank you for returning.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    A very relaxing resort with tai chi and a wonderful beach!

    Reviewed by LM on Jun 22, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    I was impressed with this hotel and think its a great value for an adults only!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    L

    Third time going back next year.

    Reviewed by Larry on Oct 13, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2017

    Trip Type: Single

    Was there in May, and went back. very little hurricane damage. Got 30 feet inside the resort, then staff started coming up and saying "good to see you again". I take a second suitcase full of kids clothes and toilrtries that is no charge for humanitarian reasons. Execllent staff and facilities. Food good for Cuba, ala carte is 5 star.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    Excellent resort.

    Reviewed by Larry on Sep 13, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Single

    This was my second trip to Blau and it was as good as the first time. Actually, even better (went adult only). As A returning guest I was invited to a managers special dine evening. Lots of staff remembered me, something that never happened else where.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    W

    Would not recommend it at all to anyone

    Reviewed by Wolly on Aug 21, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: June 2016

    Trip Type: Single

    Sorry for sounding all negative but......out of 7 days stay at this hotel my door key did not work at all and it was a big hassle to switch room's at 3 am..... and don't get me started on aircondition, showers and toilets that you have to flash 5 times to make it work..... the pool area was not to bad it was ok....except lack of drink choices. Beach was the only thing that was some what good.... in other words I would not recommend this resort to anyone

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 8121 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great choice for Varadero

    Reviewed by BlakelyAviva() on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We stayed @ this resort for 1 week at the end of July 2019 and found the reviews/experiences of other guests similar to ours! Overall very happy, would recommend. ***If your wanting to do a day trip into HAVANAH please read last part of review** POOL -Big, no deeper than 4.5 feet (estimate) -very clean -Beach house always had fresh towels to exchange (during open hours) -lots of lounge chairs. The ones in the shade closest to the pool were occupied first. But more shaded areas available further back -volleyball net always up. Scheduled game times if you wanted to play with a bigger group -music always playing -Almost all scheduled resort activities took place in or in front of the pool (aqua fitness, tai chi, dance/drink competitions, “disco” @ night) -public washroom & outdoor showers very close by BEACH -Absolutely gorgeous, the main reason why we chose Varadero! -Stunning white sand, very minimal seaweed washed onshore (only on 1 windy day) -kept very clean -tons of lounge chairs available & hut/umbrellas for shade -a few cabanas available for rent. (Not sure how much) -beach bar. Only cocktails available, no beer -volleyball net -scuba diving INDOOR BARS (Piano bar/downstairs) -Very hardworking staff -Cocktails were very strong & sugary -no mohitos the whole week we were there (they had run out of mint) -live music almost every night at one or both bars -downstairs bar fills up @ night, so get a table before it gets busy if you want one DINING HALL (Breakfast/Dinner) -indoors, very large -go as soon as it opens if you want a more chill environment. At peak times it gets super busy -Very hardworking, king staff -kept extremely clean, no bugs. But some flies FOOD IN GENERAL: For Cuban food, this resort was pretty good. Some dishes were more flavourful than others (Shrimp/fish) some were lacking (beef). They didn’t have anything catered to gluten free diets. WATER: -The fridge is restocked once a day with 2L of bottled water -can purchase bottled water for 2 CUC @ store in hotel -Everyone was drinking the tap water @ dinner (bottled water not served) so we did too -only 1 out of the 4 of us got stomach sick for a day or two but it could have been from the food -Hotel guests were not worried about the water at all BREAKFAST FOOD: If you eat healthier this is not the best meal for options -Chefs made fresh eggs/omelettes, pancakes & crepes -Tons of fresh fruit: mango, watermelon, papaya, pineapple, passion fruit -Assorted meat & cheese platters -different cereals & milk -bacon (not flavourful) TONS of unhealthier food options: -deep fried breakfast foods, different kinds of bread, deserts (cakes, jello, cookies etc) LUNCH (Poolside dining) THE BEST meal for variety/flavour. -Rice, beans, beef, chicken, lamb, cauliflower, potatoes, pasta salad, fruit, avocado -Pasta bar (not super flavourful) -cucumber & lettus were pretty much the only raw vegetables -deserts DINNER -Very similar to lunch 24 HOUR SNACK BAR -hard time finding it since it’s not in the hotel. -Just before you hit the beach it’s located with the 24h bar -they served chicken & cheese sandwiches and some fruit (did not try sandwiches) -between meals there were also 2 other snack bars open during the day by the pool -1st served fresh cut fruit & smoothies -2nd served burgers & French fries (both not very flavourful) WIFI -1 CUC/ hour -purchased @ reception where they give you a card with code -wifi only works in the lobby. It is extremely slow -works best right outside the piano bar -ONLY APP that worked for us the whole time was Facebook messenger ROOMS: -Rooms were cleaned very well & fridge restocked every day (2 beer, 2 cola, 1 2L filtered water). Lots of fresh towels -No bugs in the room or food -great air conditioning -Very spacious bathroom. Good lighting, great water pressure -Working Safe -2 double beds were hard/could feel springs -queen bed was hard but couldn’t feel springs -pillows were average -Could Hear loud entertainment @ night starting @8pm -Loud chirping birds in the morning -couldn’t hear any noise from other hotel guests MAINTENANCE -Resort is older but well maintained -Gardens, dining areas, lobby kept very clean -all public bathrooms were working & cleaned every hour -4 elevators in the hotel. Pretty slow, 1 was almost always not working ENTERTAINMENT -The entertainment staff were very engaging, always trying to involve guests in activities -Water aerobics, tai chi, target practice, drinking/dance competitions, Spanish lessons, salsa lessons, karaoke. -Night entertainment was very engaging. Magic shows, performances SECURITY -Hotel & resort felt very safe -there were always security guards walking around the grounds especially @ night HOTEL GUESTS -75% were most likely 30- 60+ years old -25% most likely 25-30 -guests weren’t rowdy/loud in rooms -live music/entertainment went on until 12-1am -if your looking for a wild party resort with a ton of people aged 21-30 this probably isn’t the resort for that (at least while we were there) **Currency exchange @ the hotel is 0.10 more than at the airport. **Day trip to Havana arranged by the hotel was awesome! 40 CUC /person. We had Douglas as our translator & Fernando S. from 8am- 5pm ish. Douglas is from Havana and extremely knowledgeable about Cuba’s history. He fluently speaks Spanish, English, and Italian. The car was cramped with the 6 of us all together but had great air conditioning! Fernando S. was a fun Spanish speaking taxi driver who could communicate with some English phrases/ words.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-4

    Beautiful, we didn't want to leave.

    Reviewed by JoJo D() on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Myself and my husband spent a week at the Blau for my 40th birthday. We loved every minute, yes there are birds everywhere but I found this charming. The beach is the most beautiful beach I've ever seen and I'd reccomend hiring a cabana where the service is brilliant (they bring you rum punch as you sunbathe) all of the staff were friendly and couldn't do enough for you. I'm a vegan and although the food did get a tad repetitive I never went hungry and the staff were happy to advise and help me. I have a sensitive stomach and I wasnt unwell once. Bring a thermos cup with you for drinks around the pool as the small plastic cups only last a second. The room was clean and serviced daily with clean towels. We will definitely be back.

    Great staff and beach

    Reviewed by Darth_Amador(Los Angeles, California) on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I really enjoyed my stay here. Staff was nice and the rooms were in excellent shape. The only things I would advise people booking here are the following: While the hotel will accept American Credit cards for booking purposes, they will not be able to charge your card once you get to the location. You will have to pay with local currency or a credit card outside not issued in the US. Also the food, like in most Cuba is limited due to the embargo, so don't expect to much. Other than that good hotel with nice staff and beach

    Lovely hotel with great access to beach

    Reviewed by Geri M(Bristol, United Kingdom) on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We stayed in the Blau Varadero for 10 days after our tour of Havana. It's about a two hour drive from Havana. On arrival the hotel looks very impressive with glass elevators and indoor vines trailing from the ceiling to the floor. Our first room was very dated and tired, and in much need of renovation. After a chat with our Virgin rep he managed to move us to a renovated room which was much brighter and fresher. The room was air conditioned and had a huge comfy bed. However although I think our mattress was brand new, there was no mattress protector, just a sheet. The main buffet restaurant was air conditioned and great - a fantastic range of foods, and table staff were always friendly and helpful. There was entertainment every night, with a show in the main theatre area and then live music in the bars that ranged from string quartets to piano to guitar duos. The hallways and bars are not air-conditioned, and as such were extremely hot, so quite uncomfortable to sit in for a long while. We visited in August and it was above 30 degrees every day. We couldn't sit and watch a whole show as we were always dripping with sweat! The pool area was lovely with plenty of sun loungers, however, there were no parasols, just canopies, which were quite inadequate a giving shade. We were lucky and managed to find sun loungers in the shade most days but this is not guaranteed. The pool bar staff were very friendly and helpful. Lunch was not served in the air conditioned restaurant, but outside in the grill, and although covered was terribly hot and uncomfortable for eating. When you spend all day in the sun, it would have been good to have air conditioned respite elsewhere. The atmosphere was great though, with live Caribbean/Cuban music performed throughout. There was also a lovely A La Carte restaurant, La Palma Real, which served delicious food and was air conditioned. Access to the beach was fantastic, only a 3 minute walk through the trees. The beach was the most beautiful we've ever seen/swam in. All in all, a great experience.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Few days to unwind

    Reviewed by HellomynameisJoanie(Barcelona, Spain) on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We added a few days here after a tour round Cuba . Rooms clean , food plentiful if sometimes tasteless . Staff were lovely. However I feel more information could have been supplied on checkin . Reception always seemed to be understaffed . We were only here for 3 nights so a little more guidance would have been appreciated .

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX