Blau Varadero Hotel

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 8261 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Not what it once was

    Reviewed by lizdee1548EA() on Dec 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Stayed at this hotel 2016, 2018 and 2019, but won't be staying again. The standard of the hotel has deteriorated. During our first stay we spoke to many returning guests who couldn't rate the hotel high enough. but this year we spoke to returning guests again, who like ourselves have noticed the decline in every area. The reception staff greet you in a most unprofessional manner, along with a miserable face ..... not what a paying guest would expect! The toilets both indoors and outdoors smell terribly and are not maintained often, in fact, take your toilet roll from your room with you to the beach or pool, because these are not replaced throughout the day. The walls in our room were clearly mouldy, with a plug socket falling off the wall because it was so damp, and even then we had to beg for another room. The food this year was nowhere near as good as it was 3 years ago, another huge decline in standards. We were sick to death of seeing cold pasta and rice dishes scattered everywhere with bits of chopped veg to make them look appetising, but all in all the food choice is minimal and very very bland!! The pool is clean but has many pieces of broken tiles on the bottom. The jaccuzzie wasn't working every day for some reason. There is also now a big Eastern European guest divide around the pool, the beach, the dining rooms and the bars which can be a little intimidating, especially when one night there was a fight at the beach bar ....... the hotel is not as friendly as it once was. The beach is beautiful and you can always get a sunbed. This hotel is shabby, dirty and in a lot of areas is unkempt. All in all the hotels' standards continue to deteriorate under the new management and the holiday does not reflect the price charged. The sun is free wherever we go, please remember it doesn't have to be at the Blau Hotel.

    nice place but not top notch

    Reviewed by Jessica S() on Dec 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    This is an older hotel so dont expect modern and beautiful. The best thing at this hotel is the beach and staff. Staff in the buffet area and beach bar were so friendly and nice. This is all inclusive but they make weird rules for the only restaurant- you have to have reservations but its always booked and no one is there! Buffet food was average, nothing exceptional. The beach and pool are beautiful. We spent our time at the beach.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Not impressed at all

    Reviewed by 219marlav(Ottawa, Canada) on Dec 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    I stayed at the Blau in 2015 and this hotel was amazing back then. I believe most of the trip advisor reviews refer to back then. However, we went back this year as we had great memories of the place, and what a disappointment. The hotel looks run down, which is normal as it is now over 14 years old. But that’s not what bothered us. The hotel smells bad everywhere you walk, it smells like mold, and bathroom smell in certain areas near the bathrooms in the lobby and bar area. They could do a better job at cleaning the bathrooms. The staff at the reception are not the nicest. Since the moment we stepped in, we didn’t feel as welcome as we are used to in other hotels or even the same hotel 4 years ago. There is no wifi in the hotel. Note, this isn’t because it’s Cuba. We have stayed in other hotels in Varadero like Melia Internacional where there was wifi 24/7 free of charge provided by the hotel. The food is awful and I mean it. Let me say first that we are by no means picky when it comes to food. I love Cuban food and I understand the struggle the country is going through. But the buffet at the Blau is very sad. There’s nothing!!! I had a very hard time finding what to fill my plate with. Food looks disgusting, plates are dirty. When you walk into the buffet, all tables are dirty and staff doesn’t even bother to clean them or to find a seat for you. Please note, I am not exaggerating. Even the snack bar only offers ham and cheese sandwiches. When I went in 2015, they offered many other choices. Not anymore. No one cleans your room. We didn’t even get our beds made. The rooms are a bit depressing, even the ones that have been renovated, specially the bathrooms are old. Toilets don’t flush well. Entertainment at night is depressing. There’s very little entertainment and the bit of it isn’t good. Staff isn’t as nice as they used to be. The bartenders at the beach bar and the main bar are good. But that’s about it. Reception, restaurants, maids... they look like they don’t want to work. I called the salon that is open until 7pm asking if they had a spot for a blow dry, and they almost laughed at me and said that the hairdresser left at 5pm. It’s ok that they don’t have availability, it is more the way they said it. Wake up early to get a seat at the beach. Palapas are just a few. They have some cabanas for rent (not included). That’s normal in most hotels. But at least other hotels have more free palapas for shade. The pool is beautiful and clean, but no swim up bar or shade at all. That was something we remember from last time. But it was a small detail compared to the great service and experience the hotel used to offer. But now it all adds up, as anywhere you look, there is something that isn’t good. All in all, the hotel is not a top hotel in Varadero anymore. It used to be and we used to love the Blau, but it is not anymore. Don’t spend the money you have worked so hard for in this hotel. If you do, you will remember this review. I am not exaggerating at all. Other hotels we have been recently and recommend are the Melia Internacional (amazing!!), Royalton Hicacos (not as good as the Melia, but much better than the Blau).

    Fantastic , Friendly resort

    Reviewed by davework415(Northampton, United Kingdom) on Nov 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Stayed in the Blau for a week (after 4 days in Havana) in August 2019. What a wonderful experience it was. The beach is truly the most wonderful beach I have ever seen , the rooms were fine (take the sea view , high up , was amazing) The food isn't going to trouble the michelin guide , but it's fresh and tasty . What made the holiday extra special was the wonderful staff who were so friendly all the time. The staff at the beach bear / restaurant were in partcular just wonderful. A fantastic place where i have no doubt we will be returning to at some point in the future.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Best holiday

    Reviewed by Gemskis21() on Nov 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    What a holiday, I have never written a review before today (one for my air bnb in Havana and now this one) this is because the people are so friendly and welcoming. I have been to a lot of the Caribbean, but this was the best hotel I’ve stayed at. As you know 5 star in the Caribbean is 3 star everywhere else, but not this place, it’s clean and stylish throughout. The staff, especially the entertainment staff, make you feel welcome, remember your name and are happy all day. As brits we tip at the end for a good service so we know they weren’t doing it because we paid them to, special shout out to Patricia,Yasser, Yamilka and the other guys we didn’t get the names of. Go to lunch with the staff, a. They have to eat with guests at lunch and b. You can listen to their stories. In Cuba certain things are on ration or very expensive, so when you can please leave toiletries, pain killers etc for the staff. Thank you for an amazing holiday, the hotel owners should be proud of the bar, restaurant, reception, cleaning and entertainment staff, all were exceptional.