Roc Arenas Doradas

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    J

    This place is Awesome.... No shirt, No shoes and Excellent Service!

    Reviewed by Janine Baxter on Mar 03, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    We had a group of 9 so the initial check in, sorting out rooms, safes and exchanging money was a bit trying. Probably because of language barriers but always double check and confirm exchange rate and monies returned. If you need anything, extra- water, toilet paper or towels etc ..talk to your maid directly - they are very willing and can make it happen! Front lobby bartenders and the coffee barristas made our trip. Mulatas are to die for -hot or cold. Friendly and attentive always with a smile. It is an all inclusive so the younger crowd liked to indulge, they were rowdy and having fun, some older people did not seem impressed but we had no problem... it is everyone's vacation. Good times and let loose! Definitely try the Italian restaurant across from coffee bar it was the best food there with 5 courses and good music. The free shuttle to Varedero was convenient for shopping and The Beatles bar rocks. Sadly, my only complaint was the beach, littered with cigarette butts and cups. Not any fault of the resort or staff, just guests being ignorant. We did the katamarand -make sure it's hot and not windy, the Havana day tour -a cooler temps best, comfortable shoes are a must, lots of walking and don't go on a Sunday, and the Jeep tour was great. We would definitely do it all again. Special thanks to Roly, Annens and Maria, you are good people.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    Great family experience!

    Reviewed by Luv2trvl on Jan 24, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    This was our first Westjet Vacations experience and also our first visit to Cuba and the Arenas Doradas resort. Although this resort is listed as a 3.5 star, I picked this resort because of my budget and most of all the reviews. My family and I were SO PLEASANTLY surprised by this resort. Proximity from the airport - A! You just want to start your vacation. You don't want to have to travel another 45 - 1 hour after getting off the plane. The WS transfer from the airport was so convenient. Well organized by WS. It's a guided tour along the way. Staff were great! The resort itself - A! Come with an open mind and you'll find the value. Rooms were spacious and clean - A! We brought our two kids age 7 & 3. Lots of activities for them. Mini club and its staff were so awesome. Kids pool - great! Lots of food options for them. Food was decent. Just get creative with condiments. The coffee bar - A+!!! It's Starbucks on Cuban coffee. We stayed in Block 5 and it was such a great room. Ground floor - easy access. Quiet AC. Spacious Room. Love the Villa Style resort so that you don't have to keep waiting for an elevator to get to your room. Beach access was so easy and beautiful! WS staff meets you the following day to help you plan your stay and confirm your return to the airport. Honestly, such great value! Thank you WS. Always a loyal customer.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    H

    Perfect

    Reviewed by Hogie on Apr 03, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    The hotel was great. The staff was very accommodating. We would go back in a heart beat. When we first got there the first 2 days were a bit overcast so we went to Varadero the first day then Havana the 2nd. After that the days were beautiful. Town of Varadero fun to walk around. Havana tour was great to learn about the history of Cuba. We would recommend this hotel. Special thanks to Rocio at the front desk who kept her composure even when customers around her are sometimes rude & hi to Jesus at the pool bar. He makes everyone feel very welcomed. We found the food at the buffet good. Good selection, no complaints. We celebrated our 40th anniversary while there. For our anniversary supper we took in the international al a carte, it was perfect. Thanks again Paul & Sandra

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Westjet shouldn't be offering this resort.

    Reviewed by Scott on Feb 02, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    First of all let me say that our stay was ruined by weather. It was cool and rainy and windy most days of the two weeks we were there from Jan 16-30 2016. The water and beach were truly beautiful but it was a rare occasion to see people braving the often impressive waves. Beach walking was the only way to be close to the water but it was depressing to see people in sweaters and heavy jackets trying to enjoy a walk. It wasn’t that bad every day but the wind was relentless. What I can blame the resort for is the very frustrating time we had in the buffet restaurant. The coffee machine rarely worked properly and the famous Cuban coffee we so looked forward to never happened. Coffee cups were usually absent. We resorted to soup bowls for coffee, until they also were all gone. We had to scrounge up our own glasses, silverware etc on a daily basis. Sometimes we just couldn’t find any. The frustration level rose daily. The staff were overworked and barely had time for a smile. I realize that Cuba doesn’t have access to food we take for granted, but at least it could be hot! The bread and toast were great. The breakfasts were good if you went for fresh cooked eggs. Bacon was nearly raw. If you don’t like cigarette or cigar smoke, stay away from Cuba. Because of the inclement weather most people gathered in the one big bar/lobby area, but unless you went outside to look for a table cool , it was way too smoky for non-smokers. Our room:…..in bldg. 500, top floor…nice sound of waves, very close to beach. No hot water, ever. Water barely trickled out of the sink tap. Very old ugly room. Bathtub was so gross I took pictures to prove it to people. After a week of cold showers I asked for a different room. Got one in 100 bldg. Right close to lobby and ‘mess hall’. It was beautiful in comparison! Like a Mexican 5 star! It was recently renovated. Then evening came and we found out why it was available. We were the closest to the night club and the show stage.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3811 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-3.5

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Won't be back

    Reviewed by Chewy555(Fort McMurray, Canada) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Very beautiful beach great pool. Food was poor quality and staff not very friendly. Internet not reliable. Had to have the room sprayed for mosquitoes almost daily. Huge gap around the door so mosquitoes came in at will. Hotel staff considered that normal and had no will to fix it.

    Amazing 10 days!!

    Reviewed by Daigle P(Moncton, Canada) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Our 3rd visit at Roc Arenas Doradas from march 28 to april 7 ,2019 was amazing! First off a big thank you goes to Merlieys and Osleydis ,Yoly and Santos at front desk and customer service.They listen and are very accomodating. Also to Yas for making sure we were well looked after! Special mention to lobby bar Pepe Lisandra and Maylidys for making great drinks! As well as pool bar Daisy,Rapul,Fidel And Lisette...and a shout out to snackbar cook and to Jesus such sweet men! To our bellhop Ariel thank you for being so kind ..also buffet peeps Rudy,Yuliana,Lilianna,Islay Miguel great team they do a great job and work hard! The pasta cook Alexander great service and cook Orelvis awsome cook! Also to the new chef Patrick that flew in from Germany 3 days in out trip....the food changed drastically after your arrival and was very good! Thank you! Shout out as well to Roxanne and Leo for accomodating us at the International a la carte service was awsome.and last but not least to the entertainment team you are the best! Yas is a great asset to this resort great guy alot of fun and very kind! Thank you Yas for the huge welcome when we got there ! As well as Yuya she is a doll alot of energy these 2 have and makes our time there amazing. A shout out as well to Yaneibys and Elizabeth always keeping the kids happy and are very good with them. This Resort is amazing and the people make it that way....thank you everyone love you all!

    Excellent Resort

    Reviewed by Terri-Lynn H() on Apr 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    No complaints!! 1st time in Cuba but wont be my last !! Wilm stay at Roc Arenas Dordadas every time ! Clean rooms , great food , excellent & helpful staff , beautiful grounds , fun staff to get everyone involved ! It was magical !! Dream come true

    Great vacation at ROC Arenas Doradas!

    Reviewed by MartinR_Ottawa(Ottawa, Canada) on Apr 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was about my 10th time at ROC Arenas Doradas and it was, once again, amazing. My girlfriend and I were there during mid-April 2019 and stayed in room 1117 and it started off great right from the start at the Reception, thank you Yoli. Our housekeeper took great care of us all week. GROUNDS: Well maintained grounds and beautiful landscaping, improved lighting on grounds at night. The gardeners/groundskeepers Joel and Fidel always wave and say hi. Plenty of lounge chairs around the pool and some have beach umbrellas. The pool was nice, repairs were done recently to replace missing/broken tiles. FOOD: We went to the Italian restaurant and the International (Natura), food and service were amazing. Rosana and Leo at the Natura deserve a mention! Buffet: we really liked the food, there was variety, always something we liked. Just be careful at the grill for fish or omelettes, sometimes they don't let the food long enough so just ask for well done and it will be great! The staff were really nice, attentive and always happy to see us. Snack bar: If you can't find something you like at the buffet, snack bar is a good choice as well, can't say enough about their club sandwich! Thank you Jesus and Arelys for the service. The overnight snack bar has limited choices but their ham & cheese toasted sandwiches are pretty good! BARS: Beach bar is beautiful, Eduardo and Dayana will serve you with a smile. Lobby bar staff is great too. When it got busy at the lobby bar, we went to the disco (which is a beautiful place, too bad very few people go) and Daniel at the disco bar made us the best drinks! Pool bar is where we spent the most time so thank you Raulito and Daisy for taking good care of us. BEACH: Loved it COFFEE BAR: OUT OF THIS WORLD, they make excellent coffee. Maria is the sweetest and Niurys is just great. ANIMATION I only participated in one or two activities and had lots of fun. Yas and Yula seem to really enjoy what they are doing. Over the years, I keep seeing improvements at Arenas Doradas. I love that they have a free shuttle to go Varadero. One big improvement, in my opinion, is that there are more non-smoking areas (lobby and beach bar especially) and on a few occasions, they even enforced it (very politely). Some smokers are respectful and go outside and use ashtrays, but you'll always have those who flick their cigarettes anywhere, including the pool. Nothing better than walking around the pool and having to avoid stepping on cigarette butts. Sadly the only negative parts are other clients who cannot be bothered to pick up after themselves or understand that they are not the only people there.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Great return vacation

    Reviewed by lindadS2821RD(Sarnia, Canada) on Apr 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We first visited here 4 years ago with friends and had a good vacation. This time was even better! The food was very good, plenty of choice in all locations. We had lunch at the beach ranchon every day, great choices from the bbq. Loved the Cuba day on Friday, lots of fun. We had a suite because we were three adults and the rooms were wonderful, housekeeping was excellent. I only have reserved feelings about 2 things here, one is the bell in the lobby bar that they ring after getting a tip, the other is that this is the one and only place we have stayed in Cuba that provides only water in the minibar, every other hotel we have been to provides pop and beer, just a couple a day. Certainly makes an impression on clients because I’ve seen it mentioned before on trip advisor. That aside we had absolutely no complaints at all, great service usually with smiles from the majority of staff. The animation team on the beach were very good, encouraging you to join in but leaving you when you said no, very professional! Check in and check out were both a breeze and anytime I went to the desk I was greeted with a smile from helpful staff. I like the idea of paying for the safe on arrival, preferred paying up front. The two à la cart restaurants that we loved were the Italian and the Natura(not sure of the spelling) service was fabulous and food was amazing! The biggest change that for me and the best, is that there are so many non smoking areas and even on the beach there’s a smoking area. My daughter smokes and she didn’t mind ( and we loved) that there’s no smoking in the lobby, but lots of seating, tables etc in places for smokers.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX