Hotel Club Kawama

2.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 2 and 3 stars. 2 star - Budget accommodation with limited facilities and services. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    M

    It is our cottage in Cuba.

    Reviewed by Mike Down on Oct 17, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Have been there 17 times. Cheapest sun vacation available. There are a couple cheaper but not as good as Kawama. Many people complain that to in summer but I find less bugs and rude guests in winter. Take bug screen for lower legs during evenings. Check out videos on you tube.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    M

    Would only go on a vacation package deal.

    Reviewed by Marzena Feuchtwanger on Sep 22, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: August 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Excellent access to beach, but pool was a green pool of algae the whole time we were there. Not the cleanest, staff were friendly but at times didn't seem to want to help. Entertainment was very minimal, food was ok. West Jet vacation staff wasnt always on time to answer questions.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    A

    budget vacation to the max!!

    Reviewed by Andrew on Feb 03, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    This is hotel is fine if you're looking for a cheap budget vacation. We booked a standard room which was ok, nothing special at all. everything in the room was working fine, beds could have been better. power outlets in room are 110V for charging electronics so adapter is not required. Pool and area was descent, beach is great. The food however was awful, I did find some things to eat on the buffet that were acceptable at best. There are plenty of places to eat outside of hotel within walking distance and even more if you take the double decker bus for 5 pesos, this gets you on and off the bus as much as you like for the entire day. I would return to kawama based on the price alone. We booked 5 days for $520 All inclusive, I doubt you could find anything cheaper anywhere to warm you're feet for a few days, heck you can barely fly anywhere for that price. Don't expect glamour at this hotel, take it for what it is and enjoy your time away.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    F

    Wonderful in every way!

    Reviewed by Fiona on Mar 25, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    Wonderful and better than we expected for what we paid. Food was great, pool a little cool but the beach was amazing. Service was excellent, drinks were great, room standard but clean. Right mix of fun and quiet. Superior room really worth it and bring a pillow. Nice walk into town. Coffee in lobby much better than in restaurant. Will definitely return and highly recommend this place as affordable and wonderful.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    D

    We love Kawama. The do everything they can to accommodate.

    Reviewed by Dmae on Mar 23, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    We love this place. Been there five years and plans of going back. Staff are friendly and very accommodating. Food isnt like home but it is very adquate. Staff remember us from year to year. Its our home away from home. What more can I say?

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    V

    We had an emergency in the middle of the night with our granddaughter and they bent over backwards to help.

    Reviewed by Victor on Mar 19, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    Great holiday! Room 3*, very comfortable beds, shower was ?? and the air-con was perfect...and normally I dislike air-conditioning. Beach is nearly 1 kilometre long and facilities 5*, food and services 4*. I will definitely return there.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 2150 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-2.5

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Love Kawama

    Reviewed by Rebecca D() on Apr 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Loved it here...the beach, the staff, the animation crew, servers, cooks, everyone was fabulous....lots of fun, sun , laughter, and love . Will go back for sure !! Had the best vacation ever both times I was there. Absolutely amazing ??

    Club Kawama

    Reviewed by 1976Shellley() on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    My family just got back from staying at Club Kwama from April 8-12, 2019. Overall it was a good week. The weather was great, and the beach was amazing. I have added a list with things we liked about the resort and things that could have been better. Positive about Club Kwama and Varadero • The beach was amazing- white sand no rocks in the water, lots of opportunity for shade • The staff were nice, helpful, personable and a responded to concerns with our room promptly • The beach BBQ had good food- hamburgers, hotdogs, cheese sandwhiches, tuna sandwiches, chicken, pork chop etc • The weather was great the week we were there • Evening entertainment was good • The pool was good. Yes only one pool out of 3 were open. The one open was the largest pool • On night we ate at a restaurant in Varadero beside Club Kwama called “Kiki’s the food was awesome- we had pizza, shrimp cocktail, and cokes. Our bill was 28.00 cuban money for a family of 3. Highly suggest trying • There was always work been down on the resort- maintaining the property and doing repairs • The day trip into Havanna was fun and good Things that could have been improved • Yes the resort and rooms were somewhat run down but this resort was built in 1930 and is the oldest resort in Varadera Cuba. We are relaxed people, so this did not phase us. • The food and buffet were OK. Cuba is not known for having the greatest food. • If you have children, the rooms around the pool area were noisy at night. Music went to 11pm • The “Alacarte” restaurnats were also Ok. We preferred the Italian Restaurant

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Club Kawama

    Reviewed by Coralrubycherry(Saint John, Canada) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    When you go to Cuba, you should always go with an open mind. This is a third world country and as such the luxuries of Canada we leave behind. No matter if you stay in a two star or a five star the food is basically the same, learning to try new things and always bring with you condiments from home such as ketchup,Soya sauce, plum sauce, ranch sauce etc. Club Kawama Is perfectly located near downtown Varadero. You can easily walk to the market, catch the double Decker bus, eat at KIKIs or visit Al Capone’s House. The Beach is super clean and lots of huts to lay under and chairs to lay on Security Is present everywhere on the resort Food is eatable.... take advantage of the cook on the grill to prepare the food to your liking instead of complaining that it’s not cooked enough for you Lots of fresh fruit available and fresh made breads. Wifi is accessible Pool is clean, every morning there was someone cleaning the pool. Ladies take a day and do the Aquasize.... haha your welcome ! Visit Fernando at the Beach Bar, order a Mama no Papa.....you’ll thank me! Take advantage of the a la cartes that are offered. And don’t hesitate to ask questions !! Rooms are ok..... all your going to do is sleep there Their not Canadian Standards by any means But they are clean. Water pressure is so-so,There is toliet paper, towels, safe, hot water, TV, mini fridge in the rooms. Safe use is $20peso Side note : make sure not to track sand into the room... sand fleas are tiny tiny tiny and will eat u alive ! Bring with you Shampoo/conditioner Afterbite Aloe Vera-afterburn care IB Prophen Towel for the pool/ Beach or pay a $10 peso deposit and use one of theirs.... which are limited. You can buy bottled water from the bar for a peso when you run out in your room. For a week bring atleast 2 bottles of sunscreen per person..... it gets HOT even when it’s cloudy. Tip Ideas: hats/sun glasses/deodorant/tooth brushes Tylenol/ first aid items /Personal hygiene items etc Remember the gardeners that keep the grounds clean.... they love and appreciate work gloves ! Take advantage of the free 30 min catamaran And water boats and kayaks Carlos will look right after you!! Also this resort offers catamaran with snorkeling inc to a reef for 25peso. Well worth it ! Visit Jenny at the Club house to get your hair braided.... saves time daily and humidity there is NOT your friend ! When leaving the resort remember to bring your toliet paper and hand sanitizer with you !!! Double Decker Bus is $5 peso and u can get on and off of it all day and travels 23km one way and can be caught every 15 minutes.

    Awesome

    Reviewed by Marcus W() on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Love this place ! Third visit and will be back for sure . Best people , great food , personality of the resort and the staff will keep us going back . Kawama and it’s charm make for an amazing experience

    Old but fun

    Reviewed by Doreen W() on Apr 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Stayed here for three days. Mostly older buildings in need of repair. Our room was not great but clean. Grounds are vast but in need of TLC. Pool is great, service is good and beach is spectacular. Very relaxed place. Very enjoyable. Great place to go and just relax.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX