Iberostar Selection Varadero

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    S

    I wish I could have stayed longer.

    Reviewed by Susan Finlay on Jan 24, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Friends

    All I can say is that it was perfect and I would love to come back. If only we could put in an order for ideal weather. However, on days we could not enjoy the beach we signed on for excursion trips that were excellent. I worked in the hospitality industry in Canada for 26 years and wish all our staff were as completely accommodating as the staff we encountered at Iberostar Varadero. The food was varied and delicious and the grounds immaculate with almost no indication of damage from hurricane Irma.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    N

    I am definitely coming back with my family next year!

    Reviewed by Nina R. on Jul 03, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    While travelling throughout Cuba last month, I stayed at a hotel two doors down and it was not as nice. We ended up going to the Iberostar Varadero by fluke when our previous accommodation arrangements fell through. What a lucky break! This hotel was so much better in terms of the hotel itself: very clean and very nice and more updated. The beds were softer, there were more pillows; squishy nice huggable pillows. The staff were amazing and they were super attentive unlike the first hotel we ended up at where I felt I almost had to go behind the scenes and get a glass of water or a cup of coffee myself . Some people say that the food at Cuban hotels is not good... MYTH BUSTER: It's not the Cuban food, it's YOUR HOTEL'S FOOD. The Iberostar Varadero had a selection of fresh, colourful fruits and and salads, more international dishes to choose from and the food looked good and fresh not like it had been sitting there for a couple of hours . THE FOOD WAS VERY GOOD!!!! The beach was one of the best beaches I have ever visited and I come from a country in the Caribbean so that's saying something! . The pool was nice, didn't try the hot tub though. In terms of Amenities, they were good. They have a pharmacy onsite as well as medical attention should you need it during your stay. There is also a nice store on the premises as well as a separate unit where you can purchase tobacco and liquour. You can also buy books in various languages should you run out of literature. THE KIDS AREA!!!! I didn't bring my kids with me on this trip since they wouldn't have survived the 12-plus hour days of roadtripping but the kids' area at this hotel is beautiful! I know they are gonna love it. I am definitely coming back with my family next year!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to friends

    Reviewed by Sonia on Mar 26, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    We enjoyed our stay, were very satisfied with our room and the food was great. Very good selection in buffet and staff were very good. Grounds are well kept. Pool was very clean and a pleasure to swim in.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    R

    I'll be back for sure

    Reviewed by Riss on Apr 27, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2014

    Trip Type: Wedding

    Loved this. So much fun.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 7986 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Fantastic Resort

    Reviewed by Robin B() on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I had the privilege od visiting this resort with my mom who has been going there for the last 4 years. Upon arrival the staff is friendly. The resort is clean and the food was excellent. Remy took amazing care of us in the buffet she was always smiling and always has a table ready for us. Went to the soa for a massage very reasonable prices and the service was top knotch. Our maid was great...i always looked forward to going back to the room to see the little notes and the new towel designs she left us everyday. The entertainment staff is what made my trip. Chocolate was always smiling and soooo energetic and kind. You could tell she loved her job. She made me want to get involved. John was ai positive and kind. Ally in the bar was fantastic she always remembered what you liked. The beach is beautiful and there are lots of activities..from snorkeling to sailing. I cannot thank the staff enough for making my trip so amazing. I am already planning my next trip with my kids.

    Iberostar Varadero Resort

    Reviewed by gdecicco(Toronto, Canada) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    2nd Time There And Wont Be The Last... This will always be our yearly Cuba vacation spot. Highly recommend this resort for couples and families. The Resort: Very Clean, Rooms Very Clean, Well Maintained Grounds, Beach Beautiful and Clean Soft Sand, Staff Very Friendly and Helpful, 30 minutes from Airport Honorable Mention: Thank you to Maria, Resort Manager, for her hospitality. Iris at front desk for always being so gracious and helpful. Yaima and Margarita for always having our table saved, and decorated, for our buffet breakfast and lunch and the amazing service and friendliness... Yara and Johany for having our dinner table reserved and beautifully decorated every night at the buffet... above expectation service Our Amazing Maid Dayane, she greeted us on our first day the second we stepped on our floor, she went out of her way everyday to say Hi with a beautiful smile !! Take care, TIP, your wait staff as they all work hard at making sure you have a great service Money: ( Canadian currency) Avoid changing your Canadian money at the hotel. The exchange rate is 33%. For every CDN dollar you will only get $0.67 CUC !!! Change it at the bank if you need to in Varadero. My suggestion... bring a whole bunch of CDN $5 bills and tip with that. No loonies and toonies are accepted as they can not change the coins. Tipping: Please tip the service staff. Even $1 CUC makes a big difference for them. Their average monthly pay is only $18 CUC !!! So Tip Tip Tip ... Tip the beach person every day... and your chairs will be reserved for you everyday Tip the wait staff in the same area at the buffet, and your table will be reserved and you will get that personal service ? Food : OMG !!! IT IS AMAZING.... breakfast, lunch or dinner... you will eat like kings and queens. Kid friendly food choices. The Al A Carte restaurants are Amazing... please tip the wait staff there !!! Buffet is vegan friendly, vegetarian friendly as well. I cant list all the food group choices as there are too many and all delicious !!! Warning... you will gain 5-10 lbs ???????? Notes: - plenty of pool chairs and beach chairs - swimming pool is huge and very very clean, very big baby pool as well - great entertainment and shows every night, for kids as well - great variety of alcohol choices, premium as well included - spa and gym on grounds - WiFi cards available at $1 cuc an hour Highly Recommend This Resort.... See You Soon

    The other Cuba

    Reviewed by Páll S(South Region, Iceland) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Having travelled to the south and west of Cuba and experienced (to a small degree) the lives of ordinary Cubans, comin to this tourist Cuba was a bit of a cutural shock. This might as well have been Tenerife. We stayed at this 5 star hotel for just over two days, which was quite enough. We had already stayed at places like it - nothing new. Of course, as you might imagine, this is a place for relaxation, sun, sand and sea, very good for people in need for such luxury, but my mind dwelt the whole time on the "real" Cuba. An unforgettable experience.

    5*++++++++

    Reviewed by Fiona M(Portlethen, Scotland, United Kingdom) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    What can I say apart from amazing, the hotel is beautiful, the grounds are constantly being worked on to keep them looking good. The star friends were brilliant always ready to give a smile or a conversation, JD and Arthur were my favourite. The restaurants were all delicious always something for everyone, we were there for 2 weeks so we got to use the bookable restaurants 6 times all were amazing, our favourite was the Japanese we went there 3 times, Javier was our chef twice he was awesome always made a show out of the cooking. The entertainment was out of this world it was like sitting in vagas they were that good especially the Rock show that was our favourite. This was our 1st time and I don’t think it will be our last I loved it.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Best Resort Ever!

    Reviewed by Kathy B(St. Jacobs, Canada) on Apr 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Going back every year (6th time) speaks for itself. this place is top notch and we wont go anywhere else in Varadero! Super Clean, Fun activities for all ages, Food this year was even better than last year. VERY HIGHLY RECOMMEND

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX