Meliá Las Americas

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    S

    We enjoyed our 10 year anniversary here, the beach made this place worth it!

    Reviewed by Shaun Guthrie on Feb 18, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    First before I even start on a review of this hotel, you really need to have the proper expectations set when coming to Cuba. This is my second time to Cuba and one must realize that if you are looking for 5 star food or 5 star resorts, this is not the country for you. You are coming to Cuba for the culture, the beautiful sandy beaches and the warm weather and for most of us Canadians, to escape the frozen tundra. We choose the Melia Las Americas resort based on the previous reviews with Tripadvisor as well my in-laws stayed at a Melia property (Melia Varadero) two years ago and they had nothing but good things to say. This resort however is an Adults only and that also appealed to us when looking for a place to stay. Our arrival was welcomed with a beverage which was great after the 45-minute bus ride however the lady behind the desk really didn?t make us feel welcome. We were offered an upgrade which another person happily showed us our original room and the upgraded room. We choose the upgraded room as they bed was an actual king and not two doubles pushed together. The bed still wasn?t like you?d expect back home, quite firm and this is pretty typical of resorts in the Caribbean. The balcony was massive (however mostly unused) and the room was a decent size as well. It was worth the few additional dollars (however could have been explained a bit better on what ?dollars? we were talking about). The room and overall areas are a bit dated as you?ll read in other reviews and to be honest you?ll find that at many of these hotels. They were built 20-30 years ago and while we saw one new hotel currently being built, there hasn?t been much in the way of newer hotels. So just be prepared for that. I suppose once more American dollars start flowing here post embargo, that will change. Even though the hotel is rated as a 5 star, it really isn?t but that?s just the way it is in Cuba and for our purpose it was fine and we enjoyed the room and hotel general area

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    a great place for beach and pools and golf vacation

    Reviewed by Luanna on Jun 05, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    We really enjoyed staying at Melia Las Americas. The hotel is in a great location on the beach with a golf course within walking distance. We golfed twice and would take our clubs the next time we go. The staff was great. Maria Isabel was our maid and she was very efficient and helpful. One of the highlights of our stay was talking to Roberto, the hotel ambassador. He took us through the mansion next to the golf course and gave us a wonderful lesson on the history of Cuba. We are fussy eaters and were concerned about the food, but we made out fine . We enjoyed the specialty restaurants. Mercedes at breakfast did a wonderful job making us feel welcome. We would go back here.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6428 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Pretty good for Cuba

    Reviewed by Foze2018(Canada) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Check in was not good for the Level because they gave us a filthy bungalow. After two more rooms we settled for an ocean view room. It was dated and not that clean. The food for the week was good but we were glad we had the Level restaurant for all of our breakfasts and lunches. The more you tip the better service you get! Nelson saved us a palapas everyday in the private beach area. Marlon was excellent in the limoncello restaurant. The lobby has old and had dirty furniture. It really needs to be replaced ASAP. The beach is beautiful!!!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-2

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-3

    Pleasently suprised

    Reviewed by kuervers03(Lloydminster, Canada) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Travelled with another couple both in are 30s. Both booked into level garden suites Check in: arrived at 3am check in was quick. late check out and courtesy room was helpful with at 1am pick up Room: very spacious large rain shower bed more comfy than usual. Rain shower and glass blocks that let natural light in which is nice when your using shower but not so much when your trying to sleep in.  FOOD  Food was very good. Cook station with wide selection of meats along with pasta station. Only gripe was poor fruit selection/quality no salsa and lettuce seem to run out often Service  Restaurants service was impeccable but bar was inconsistent. Drink service in the selected locations was also inconsistent made mistake of not bringing bubba mug Entertainment Most of it was top notch with great singing and instruments  Live music always good in lobby Golf course is beautiful and was prepared to pay for cart/clubs  No night club but cheap clubs minutes away

    Pleasantly Surprised

    Reviewed by Doug S(Brooklin, Canada) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I went Melia Las Americas with my wife and two sisters for a well-deserved vacation and to celebrate our 30th anniversary. It was both my sisters first time in Cuba, and our second time. We had stayed further up at the Paradisus Princesa Del Mar back in 2014 and loved it, but our friends who went with us then have since been back and advised us not to go there as it was not at all the same, so we gave this a try. Both my sisters loved it here, as did my wife and I. We prefer the Melia over the Del Mar by a long shot and we will be going back here next year. The resort is around 25 years old, but well maintained. The rooms are a bit dated (hence the 4 star rating) but they served our need completely. Food was very good, and the buffet was excellent, this coming from someone who avoids buffets. A HUGE Shout out to “Castro” who looked after us every day in the buffet, he's such a nice man and truly enjoys his job and meeting new people. All the staff that worked there were friendly and helpful. We met several people who have been going to this resort for many years and keep coming back because of the consistency of the food, staff and service they receive.

    THE WORST PREMIUM SERVICE!!!!! DON´T STAY AT MELIA LAS AMERICAS w/ THE LEVEL PREMIUM SERVICES

    Reviewed by Alexandre A() on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I had a bad experience with the Level services on Meliá Las Americas Varadero. First of all, the restaurant Il Lomoncello is terrible. On the breakfast I have ordered smoked salmon sandwich and it came with one smal slice. Furthermore, there were just one, ONE, kind of juice, the papaya. Which was horrible. The room isn´t the same as the pictures of the website and my bathroom flooded. Because of that, I put my towels on the floor and I ordered two more to take a shower on my check out morning. The concierge Efran didn´t get the towels for me and I compleined that later. After that, he took the towels and when he delivered it, he mentioned to me: -"Don´t Leave with these towels. Let the inside the room". Of course he thought I was a potential thief of towels. It constrained me and my girlfriend a Lot. For sure, The Level slogan should be: Pay more and get less. Terrible.

    nice golf course

    Reviewed by Jean M(Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    The golf course is very nice. The lobby is huge and inviting, at first glance, but very noisy. The big comfy looking sofas are filthy. Our room was the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in; 2 SINGLE beds shoved together. (we asked for 2 beds, and we got them). The view from our little balcony was of a stretch of brown roof. The food was the worst I've had in a cuban all inclusive. And of course the Sunwing departure scheduled for 9 pm was delayed 5 hours.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX