Meliá Las Americas

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    S

    We enjoyed our 10 year anniversary here, the beach made this place worth it!

    Reviewed by Shaun Guthrie on Feb 18, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    First before I even start on a review of this hotel, you really need to have the proper expectations set when coming to Cuba. This is my second time to Cuba and one must realize that if you are looking for 5 star food or 5 star resorts, this is not the country for you. You are coming to Cuba for the culture, the beautiful sandy beaches and the warm weather and for most of us Canadians, to escape the frozen tundra. We choose the Melia Las Americas resort based on the previous reviews with Tripadvisor as well my in-laws stayed at a Melia property (Melia Varadero) two years ago and they had nothing but good things to say. This resort however is an Adults only and that also appealed to us when looking for a place to stay. Our arrival was welcomed with a beverage which was great after the 45-minute bus ride however the lady behind the desk really didn?t make us feel welcome. We were offered an upgrade which another person happily showed us our original room and the upgraded room. We choose the upgraded room as they bed was an actual king and not two doubles pushed together. The bed still wasn?t like you?d expect back home, quite firm and this is pretty typical of resorts in the Caribbean. The balcony was massive (however mostly unused) and the room was a decent size as well. It was worth the few additional dollars (however could have been explained a bit better on what ?dollars? we were talking about). The room and overall areas are a bit dated as you?ll read in other reviews and to be honest you?ll find that at many of these hotels. They were built 20-30 years ago and while we saw one new hotel currently being built, there hasn?t been much in the way of newer hotels. So just be prepared for that. I suppose once more American dollars start flowing here post embargo, that will change. Even though the hotel is rated as a 5 star, it really isn?t but that?s just the way it is in Cuba and for our purpose it was fine and we enjoyed the room and hotel general area

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    a great place for beach and pools and golf vacation

    Reviewed by Luanna on Jun 05, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    We really enjoyed staying at Melia Las Americas. The hotel is in a great location on the beach with a golf course within walking distance. We golfed twice and would take our clubs the next time we go. The staff was great. Maria Isabel was our maid and she was very efficient and helpful. One of the highlights of our stay was talking to Roberto, the hotel ambassador. He took us through the mansion next to the golf course and gave us a wonderful lesson on the history of Cuba. We are fussy eaters and were concerned about the food, but we made out fine . We enjoyed the specialty restaurants. Mercedes at breakfast did a wonderful job making us feel welcome. We would go back here.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6642 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great service

    Reviewed by Kimsun1(Montreal, Canada) on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This hotel has undoubtedly been the best in every way. We were impressed with the quality of its facilities, service, food and kindness of the employees. We have already booked our next stay at this outstanding resort.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Amazing Trip!!!

    Reviewed by SammisTati(Dallas, Texas) on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We have travelled to different hotels in Cuba and I have to say that Melia Las Americas surpasses all other hotels. This Resort has staffs who strive to satisfy any request. The food is very good, with good restaurants, great swimming pools and a clean and well maintained beach. In general, excellent maintenance and clean. My score would be 10 points for this hotel.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Very good

    Reviewed by DanDan002(Dallas, Texas) on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The best Resort, all the food was delicious, the attention of all employees was great. Since we entered the reception we were treated with very respect, the service in the bar and excellent restaurant. The attention in the pool was the best, always very pleasant. Next year we returned.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Relaxing holiday!

    Reviewed by lydiatoronto() on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We spent almost two weeks at Melia Las Americas resort at the beginning of August 2019. After vacationing at a number of adults-only resorts in Cuba and the Caribbean over the years, we chose this lovely resort and this was our fourth time visiting. The main draw for us is the beautiful beach and the unique layout, with the beach being easily accessible from almost all corners of this small and compact resort. As we have been coming to MLA for four summers in a row now and have not yet posted a review, we would like to share a few observations. The hotel staff work very hard and, in comparison to some previous experiences, we noticed that the level of customer service at the reception desk and the buffet restaurant has increased. The resort is well maintained and clean; the staff friendly and personable. Our stay was very enjoyable and pleasant. This is the first time we needed to use the medical services and we were very pleased with how efficient, helpful and friendly the hotel doctor and the nurses were. The beach designated for hotel guests is located next to a public beach, which allows the general public to access the part of the beach frequented by hotel guests. This is addressed in some of the other reviews and the management explained to us that beaches in general are not owned by hotels. Although this is true, at the majority of hotels we've stayed at in Cuba in the past, the beaches could not be accessed by the general public, unless they were to walk across the hotel grounds or come to the beach by boat. On the afternoons when a security guard (who is usually stationed at the part of the hotel beach located in front of the small pool, to the right of the Mediterranean restaurant) was not present, we observed the general public using beach beds and umbrellas in this area, as well as the showers in front of the small pool. Also, guests staying at a nearby hotel also used this part of the MLA beach. Some guards are more vigilant, explaining to these guests that the beds are designated for MLA guests and redirecting them back to their hotel, while some are less vigilant. As guests from these other hotels have similar bracelets and identical blue beach towels as some MLA guests, it is confusing for the guards, and they cannot always tell who is actually staying at a different hotel. However, there were families with teenagers, whose bracelets clearly indicated the name of a different hotel, using the beds and umbrellas designated for MLA guests, with the guard’s consent. This part of the beach also seems to be designated for hotel employees who are on their day off and who bring their families and friends. In speaking with other guests, we heard comments that, when choosing an adults-only hotel of the MLA category, they did not anticipate they would be sharing the beach with non-hotel guests. In our opinion, this may be the reason why this part of the beach is becoming less frequented by MLA guests, who seem to gravitate more toward the part of the beach in front of the main building and the big pool. Even those whose rooms were next to this part of the beach, including ourselves, seemed to move to the other part of the beach after a few days. We also noticed that non-hotel guests often enter the ocean carrying beer and soft drink cans, but emerge back without them. Almost every day we fished out cans from the ocean floor and observed other MLA guests doing the same. The beer and soft drink brands are not the ones provided by MLA for the mini bars in the rooms. It is very unfortunate that non-hotel guests, who are using the beach, choose to litter in the ocean instead of using the blue recycling bins and garbage containers provided by MLA and prominently displayed on the beach. Maybe a large sign reminding swimmers not to throw their cans into the ocean would be helpful? There are also a few sweet cats that can usually be found in the area in front of the lobby. As animal lovers, our first impulse was to feed them as much as possible, similar to what many other guests do. After staying at MLA a few times, we started to realize that we were not necessarily doing the cats a favour by feeding them. We noticed that they sometimes try to hunt and that they may be better of fending for themselves and not having their hunting instincts interfered with. We are not sure whether the hotel employees also look after them to some extent, because one of the cats who appeared injured was taken by one of the gardeners, much to the anguish of some guests. However, the cat appeared again the following day and it seemed that her injured eye was cleaned a bit. We also know that in some resorts in Cuba there are signs asking guests not to feed the cats, so there must be a rationale for this request. The majority of guests seem to genuinely enjoy having these cats around and we hope that they will continue to be there.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Even More Beautiful Second Time Around

    Reviewed by Maria B() on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We had the most wonderful and relaxing time at this beautiful resort. We enjoyed it even more than last August. The food was amazing last year, but this year it was over the top! Thank you Chef Gennaro for your delectable cuisine! Meraviglioso! Auguri! Thanks to the wonderful staff for their impeccable service! Melia Las Américas and Chef Gennaro...see you next year!??

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX