Varadero

Average ratings from our guests:

Adventure

Rated4.0 out of 5

Beach.

Rated4.5 out of 5

Golf

Rated4.0 out of 5

Snorkeling/Diving

Rated4.0 out of 5

Romance

Rated4.0 out of 5

Spa/Wellness

Rated4.0 out of 5

Food/Restaurants

Rated3.5 out of 5

Nightlife

Rated3.5 out of 5

Culture/History

Rated4.5 out of 5

C

Amazing vacation

Reviewed by Canadamaus on Apr 09, 2019

Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

Would recommend

Travel date: April 2019

Trip Type: Couple

We just returned home from our 10 day trip to Paradisus Varadero, Royal service. Best experience ever! Highly recommend

This traveller's ratings:

Beach.

Rated5 out of 5

Snorkeling/Diving

Rated5 out of 5

Romance

Rated5 out of 5

Spa/Wellness

Rated5 out of 5

Food/Restaurants

Rated5 out of 5

K

Difficult to do a 1 line summary of this experience !

Reviewed by KJ KELLY on Mar 08, 2019

Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

Would not recommend

Travel date: February 2019

Trip Type: Couple

Reservation Feb21 -28. Booking type RS JR Suite. Online rating for Paradisus Princessa Del 4-5. OUR EXXPERIENCE BASED IN 2/21-28 STAY RATING SHOULD BE 3-3.5! Negatives include :Quality of food service including quality of preparation and availability 3.5 at best! /Excepting some older experienced staff overall rating of staff service levels 3.5/ Resort needs some maintenance/ upgrading ....RS experience did not live up to expectations !Checked in 2/21 assigned basic std. room , requested change and was moved 2/22 to JR SUITE on hill side ...older rooms need upgrades but great ocean views. This was 4th stay at this resort ,very disappointed , doubt we would return again. Seems new management / ownership have pressure to reduce operating costs at the expense of customer service ! Some Positives: Javiar a great customer service person in lobby bar and Marleni wonderful cs in Hill Top Pool Bar . Great Beach,BUT , need more than this to justify a $ 6000 get away .

This traveller's ratings:

Adventure

Rated3 out of 5

Beach.

Rated5 out of 5

Food/Restaurants

Rated3 out of 5

E

Varadero Cuba was a spectacular experience!

Reviewed by Eric B on Jul 18, 2018

Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

Would recommend

Travel date: July 2018

Trip Type: Couple

This was our first visit to Cuba and our first experience with an all inclusive resort. We stayed at the Ocean Varadero El Patriarca. Our West Jet rep was awesome! From the moment we stepped out of the airport, to the narrated bus ride to the resort (about 30-40 minutes, with a couple of drop-offs at other resorts), to the orientation and excursion bookings the next day, Norberto was fabulous! El Patriarca was also a very good experience. We had a small issue in our room (water leaking from the ceiling) on the first night. They thought they had fixed the problem, but the next night it started up again, and we were moved that evening to a new room, as well as followed up with the next day by guest services to make sure that everything was good in our new room. The entire staff were extremely friendly, from front desk to bellhops to housekeeping, wait staff, bar staff, to the grounds keepers! Everyone seemed genuinely friendly, helpful and good-natured. The excursions were also very good. We did the Historic Havana tour (all day, including the 2 hour drive each way) and saw, and learned, so much about Cuba's history and culture. Again, our tour guide was amazing! We also did a day excursion to Cayo Blanco by catamaran. As first time snorkelers the experience was awesome. The crew of the Drakar (our boat) were so much fun and also worked very hard to ensure an excellent day. The only complaint would be how crowded the back of the boat gets when 40+ people are trying to snorkel within a few feet of one another. A short swim away from the boat, however, made for a very different experience (I'm the only person who saw the reef shark swim past a couple dozen feet away from us!) The only real negative thing about this trip was the food, and it wasn't so much negative as it was mediocre. We were told by friends to expect the food to be fairly bland, and it was. What made it mediocre, however, was the inconsistency... descriptions didn't always match what you got.

This traveller's ratings:

Beach.

Rated5 out of 5

Snorkeling/Diving

Rated5 out of 5

Romance

Rated4 out of 5

Food/Restaurants

Rated3 out of 5

Nightlife

Rated5 out of 5

Culture/History

Rated5 out of 5

G

Memorable experience

Reviewed by Gerri on Jun 29, 2018

Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

Would recommend

Travel date: June 2018

Trip Type: Large group

I came to Cuba with an open mind and have left with some fantastic memories. From the moment we arrived in Varadero, we were welcomed with warm smiles and excellent service. Beautiful beaches with powdery white soft sand . The area is safe and getting around is easy and very affordable.

This traveller's ratings:

Adventure

Rated5 out of 5

Beach.

Rated5 out of 5

Golf

Rated5 out of 5

Food/Restaurants

Rated5 out of 5

Culture/History

Rated5 out of 5

M

Historic Havana and Family Friendly, Relaxing, Welcoming Varadero

Reviewed by MH on Jun 26, 2018

Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

Would recommend

Travel date: June 2018

Trip Type: Friends

Varadero, Cuba is an exciting destination for a quick getaway or a length of stay. The Cuban people are so hospitable - it is their welcoming spirit and generosity that truly made the vacation memorable. The country has so much history to be experienced that learning and seeing this history and culture makes one understand the hardships the people may have but they celebrate their rich culture and independence. A day excursion into Havana is a must. Since one day is not nearly enough time to live this vibrant, culturally rich city WestJet Vacations has found the perfect mix to spend three days at a breakfast only city hotel in Havana (Book the Iberostar Parque Central or the classic National!) and 4 days at a Varadero all inclusive beach resort. Getting out to explore Old and New Havana; watching the sunset along the Malecon; dancing the night away to Cuban music in the warm Caribbean evening breezes; or, sipping a mojito at Hemingway's favourite pub will be sure to create memories to be cherished.

This traveller's ratings:

Adventure

Rated4 out of 5

Beach.

Rated5 out of 5

Golf

Rated4 out of 5

Snorkeling/Diving

Rated5 out of 5

Romance

Rated4 out of 5

Spa/Wellness

Rated4 out of 5

Food/Restaurants

Rated4 out of 5

Nightlife

Rated3 out of 5

Culture/History

Rated5 out of 5

G

Havana a must see !

Reviewed by Gerri on Jun 26, 2018

Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

Would recommend

Travel date: May 2018

Trip Type: Large group

Fantastic experience overall. Cubans are warm and friendly and the county is beautiful. Old American cars everywhere, its like you step back in time. Great cultural experience. Value for money.

This traveller's ratings:

Adventure

Rated5 out of 5

Beach.

Rated5 out of 5

Food/Restaurants

Rated5 out of 5

Culture/History

Rated5 out of 5

M

Veradero is the place to be for the beach, as well to find your self imersed in history.

Reviewed by Marie on Jun 23, 2018

Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

Would recommend

Travel date: May 2018

Trip Type: Family

I really enjoyed Varadero. The beaches are beautiful. The water is a clear turquoise color. The sand is very soft and white, making for breath taking views of the ocean. I did not have to walk very far to find sea shells on the beach, as they were scattered every two steps. The sunrise spectacular in the morning, as well as the sunsets in the evening. If you like the beaches, I would strongly recommend Varadero. The water was very warm and relaxing. I enjoyed the food finding a vast selection of foods, carefully prepared ranging from artisan pastries, vegan and non vegan options. Great for family's, as well as a romantic get away for couples. It is very rich in culture, so if you love history you will not have to look to far to find it. The people were warm and welcoming, made me feel safe and at home. I plan on returning to this destination very soon.

This traveller's ratings:

Adventure

Rated5 out of 5

Beach.

Rated5 out of 5

Golf

Rated5 out of 5

Snorkeling/Diving

Rated5 out of 5

Spa/Wellness

Rated3 out of 5

Food/Restaurants

Rated5 out of 5

Nightlife

Rated5 out of 5

Culture/History

Rated5 out of 5

L

Varadero is great for all types of travellers and have fantastic beaches and friendly staff!

Reviewed by LM on Jun 22, 2018

Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

Would recommend

Travel date: May 2018

Trip Type: Large group

I was pleasantly surprised and would go back again. Varadero is more of beach destination but it also have a small town with bars and entertainment and markets. The beaches are amazing!Havana is definitely an historic city and must be explored!

This traveller's ratings:

Adventure

Rated4 out of 5

Beach.

Rated5 out of 5

Snorkeling/Diving

Rated4 out of 5

Romance

Rated4 out of 5

Food/Restaurants

Rated3 out of 5

Nightlife

Rated4 out of 5

Culture/History

Rated4 out of 5

C

There are two reasons you want to come here: Beach and the Cuban people!

Reviewed by CarnasisCalgary on Jun 22, 2018

Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

Would recommend

Travel date: June 2018

Trip Type: Large group

There is a lot to see and do, but nothing more important than the beach!

This traveller's ratings:

Adventure

Rated4 out of 5

Beach.

Rated5 out of 5

Golf

Rated3 out of 5

Snorkeling/Diving

Rated3 out of 5

Romance

Rated4 out of 5

Spa/Wellness

Rated4 out of 5

Food/Restaurants

Rated3 out of 5

Nightlife

Rated2 out of 5

Culture/History

Rated5 out of 5

k

Havana is a must!

Reviewed by kr on Jun 20, 2018

Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

Would recommend

Travel date: May 2018

Trip Type: Friends

The beaches are beautiful! A trip to Varadero would not be complete without, at least a day trip to Havana. WestJet Vacations offers a split stay and I would definitely recommend staying a few days in Havana. The city has very interesting history, architecture and sites to take in. Its safe, friendly and fun to explore.

This traveller's ratings:

Adventure

Rated4 out of 5

Beach.

Rated5 out of 5

Romance

Rated4 out of 5

Spa/Wellness

Rated3 out of 5

Food/Restaurants

Rated4 out of 5

Culture/History

Rated4 out of 5

Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
Please give us your feedback
.

Write a destination review

*Required fields

Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

How was this destination for:

Example: What did you think about {destination-name}? Was it relaxing? What was the weather like? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

We will not post reviews that include:

  • Mentions of specific travel companies
  • Profanity and inflammatory comments
  • HTML or URLs
  • Pricing information

Example: "Cayo Coco was a very kid-friendly spot." 140 characters max
Would you recommend {destination-name} to a friend?

Add photos/videos:
*You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

XXXX

 files attached

Clear all files

    This is the name that will be attached to your review.

    Our submission policy:

    XXXX