Sandals Royal Barbados

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 1776 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    A glorious 21 days at Sandals Royal Barbados

    Reviewed by endlessvacation(Connecticut) on Oct 25, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My husband and I just returned from 3 wonderful weeks where we were pampered beyond belief ! We were upgraded to a fabulous room with a gorgeous view. From the very first day we enjoyed everything. The restaurants were all open and the food was delicious. The staff was attentive, very friendly, and so personable. The beach was beautiful with “walk right in warm” crystal clear water. It was so nice to have the staff approach us throughout every day with a smile and a friendly greeting. Special thanks to managers Ramel and Patrick, Tamon, Dominique, and Makeeba, Sade, and Ackhil. We also cannot say enough about the cleanliness of this resort. Sandals went above and beyond to make us feel safe. Do not be afraid to travel to Barbados. Strict protocols mean safety for everyone. We cannot wait to return.

    Still waiting for a reply to email sent 6 months ago!

    Reviewed by Chipmunk457(Essex) on Oct 25, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Note: My 1 star reflects the poor customer service in the UK and not the actual resort. The resort was 5* We visited Sandals Royal Barbados in Nov/Dec 2019 for our honeymoon and had an amazing time. We enjoyed it so much that we decided to book a trip whilst on site for Easter 2021 at Sandals Royal Caribbean. We started to count down the days and then COVID-19 happened… In light of the pandemic we decided to cancel our trip and as instructed on their website emailed the amendments team on 5 May 2020. It is now almost November 2020 and we still have not had a response. During this time, we changed our minds and decided that we would not cancel, and instead move our booking to Grande St Lucian in December 2021. I wanted to do this today and called the phone line and was told by an advisor that he could not amend my booking, and yet again, instructed me to email the amendments team. He informed me that they were currently working on bookings in November & December 2020, so I said by this logic I could expect to get a reply to my email in February 2021 (10 months after my initial email)! He then replied, ‘no, you should expect a reply by January 2021 at the latest’. I added that the deal and room I wanted may not be available by this point and he did not respond. This whole experience has left us feeling very deflated and unless we get a reply in the next few days, we will opt for a cancellation instead and book elsewhere. After such a fantastic honeymoon last year and the 5-star service we received on site, we are so shocked to be treated this way. After reading reviews on Trust Pilot it seems many others have been treated the same. Sandals have the capability to amend bookings (they’ve done it for us before) but are instead choosing to be difficult in the hope that people won’t cancel, and they can keep hold of deposits. But, by being difficult, they’re putting off customers like myself who wish to vacation with them again but are unable to change their booking – not exactly 5-star customer service.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Fantastic Vacation

    Reviewed by V4807NVjamesm() on Oct 24, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This is our first time to Barbados. Of course, COVID had us concerned coming down but the island is very careful. We had to get a test within 3 days of leaving the US. Honestly, that was the biggest hassle as the labs at home wanted more time than 3 days due to the serge in cases at home. The resort helped us through the airport and customs and we sailed right through. Barbados requires a test after you arrive and we chose to spend the money and do it at the resort, instead of going to Public Health. Heard both good and bad about both so either way seems to come out about the same. Our butlers, Ron, Akio and Shakeel were fantastic!!! They made our vacation absolutely fantastic and much more than we ever expected. They anticipated our needs and made sure we had what we wanted or needed. Cannot say enough great things about these three and how they made our vacation so special. The helped us celebrate an anniversary with a special meal in our Villa and decorating it. Also decorated our table at the restaurant one night for dinner. Special touches that we didn't expect or ask for but very much appreciated. We had a Rondavol Villa, which means it comes with a private pool and patio. We very much enjoyed the spacious Villa and its amenities, but especially the pool . We spent time at both large facility pools and enjoyed them both but the peace and privacy of our own pool is also very relaxing. The food at all the restaurants was exceptional. Of course, Butch's and the French resturant were both fantastic but I also want to give a shout out to Bombay. Really enjoyed the Indian food. Even with COVID going on, we felt Sandals went out of their way to keep us safe as did the Ministry of Health for Barbados. Very few cases here and everyone here wants to keep it that way. Feel much more protected from COVID here than at home.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    This experience was among the very best. Let me tell you why...

    Reviewed by issacdc(Memphis, Tennessee) on Oct 22, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I’ve experienced some of the best hotels from Bellagio, the Continental, and the Waldorf; to excellent hotels in Dubai and castles in Africa....this experience has been among the best if not arguably. - covid prep and cleanliness has been impeccable - service: every single employee and staff on the entire campus speaks to you and is prepared to stop and converse with you to make you feel welcome - restaurant and quality of food is absolutely delightful. And they will give you whatever you desire, how much you desire. All you have to do is ask. - The staff practically doesn’t know the word “No.” - The Butler service goes beyond the call of duty to assure your satisfaction. - Weather in October was absolutely perfect despite outside sources urging not to go during raining seasons. - You don’t have to leave campus for anything if you do not desire to leave. I recommend Butlers: Arlene, Abigail (AB), and Shonika

    Butler Service and Exceptional Covid Preparation

    Reviewed by issacdeseanc() on Oct 22, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Arlene and Abigail (who I call AB). They were some of the butlers at our service. Because of their service, we are returning to sandals barbados. From the beginning at the airport to the ending, we’ve been cared for, protected, and treated like royalty. You should consider this location for sandals. It’s extremely clean and safe. Service is impeccable. Ask for this butler service.