Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Cancun
    5. Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
    6. Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    L

    We very impressed. Very happy we choose the Dreams Sands.

    Reviewed by Lily on Mar 28, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    We loved our stay at the Dreams Sands Cancun. No wristbands need. No towel cards to worry about. Room was fine. Beds were very comfortable. Min bar was restocked daily with beer, bottled water and soft drinks. No dinner reservations were required. Never waited more than 20 minutes for dinner. Would go to the bar for a drink and our table would be ready when we returned. The food was well prepared and presented. And all the food was edible. We are not buffet fans and only ate there upon our arrival at the resort at 2 pm as our room was not ready. The rest of our meals were at the a la carte restaurants or the Barefoot Beach grill poolside. The Coco Cafe was open 24/7 and offered pastries, hot and cold specialty coffees, cupcakes and ice cream. The cafe also had an over night buffet for late night snacks. The pools were fine except the infinity pool was not heated and did not warm up until later in the afternoon. Fantastic swim up bar in the larger heated pool. Great beach with white sand. The ocean water was only three feet deep for several yards and the water was crystal clear. We loved our stay at the Dreams Sands Cancun. Smaller resort and everything is nice and close. Great location and close to the bus stop. Staff very friendly and always went above and beyond. Never seen such friendly, hard working staff. We made sure we tipped the staff for their great service.. We try a different place each year but would not hesitate to return. Almost called my travel agent to extend our stay as the week went by way too fast.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Armando Vega and Mauricio Barradas in the Preferred Lounge truly love their jobs and it shows !!!

    Reviewed by Shari Stashko on Mar 15, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    My husband and I have travelled to All Inclusive resorts for the last 15 years, but never have we returned to the same resort twice. We may be re-thinking this logic. The beach has been the best we have ever been on. The sand is like while powder and soft. We visited every restaurant they had on site, and each place offered very tasty foods (and I am a picky eater). The staff around the pools and beach were alreadys ready to help and there with a smile. But what made our trip the most memerable was when we stopped into the Preferred Lounge. Armando Vega (bartender) and Mauricio Barradas (concerige) were two of the best respresentatives of the whole resort. They are so friendly and open and I would advise any person looking for a relaxing vacation to go find these two men!!! They made our good vacation, exceptional vacation and I totally will be recommending my family / friends / or anyone thinking on taking a vacation to go to this resort. You will not be disappointed!!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    T

    Avoid this hotel

    Reviewed by T Roberts on Dec 22, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    For the most part our week at the Sands fell short of being a 4 or 5 star hotel. The rooms were date and there was some construction going on that was not mentioned on the hotel web site. Our room was located right next door to the construction so all we heard was hammering from first thing in the morning to late in the afternoon. We were eventually given another room only to listen to kids roller blading up and down the halls. In addition the room frig was not restocked each day. Every couple of days we had to phone down and have some come up and restock it. Also people were allowed to smoke in non smoking area's and were even served drinks by hotel employees. We have stayed at other resorts in the cancun area which were much nicer and 30% cheaper. The one thing that the Sands has going for it was the beach area which was nice and the waiters in the restraunts were very good. In summery check around before you book here. I will not be back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    T

    Will not be back

    Reviewed by T Roberts on Dec 16, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    For the most part our week at the Sands fell short of being a 4 or 5 star hotel. The rooms were date and there was some construction going on that was not mentioned on the hotel web site. Our room was located right next door to the construction so all we heard was hammering from first thing in the morning to late in the afternoon. We were eventually given another room only to listen to kids roller blading up and down the halls. In addition the room frig was not restocked each day. Every couple of days we had to phone down and have some come up and restock it. Also people were allowed to smoke in non smoking area's and were even served drinks by hotel employees. We have stayed at other resorts in the cancun area which were much nicer and 30% cheaper. The one thing that the Sands has going for it was the beach area which was nice and the waiters in the restraunts were very good. In summery check around before you book here. I will not be back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 7422 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Amazing staff

    Reviewed by Justinemarie3() on Aug 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We came to Dreams Sands to celebrate my moms 50th birthday. The staff went out of their way on several occasions to make sure to celebrate my mom. Sandra helped plan a surprise sunset dinner on the beach for my mom. It was truly one of the best meals of my life. My mom was so surprised she even cried. All of our servers were amazing remembering our names and where we were from, not to mention all the food was delicious. Eduardo Rojas and Edwin were always there to help us on the beach with anything we needed. They went above and beyond to make my family feel welcomed and special. They even made a birthday card for my mom on our last day. The beach is beautiful as well. Overall Dreams Sands was a great place to stay and I hope to be back soon!

    Absolutely amazing!

    Reviewed by 24jennr(Brick, New Jersey) on Aug 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We went to the Dreams for the 1st time at the beginning of August. It is absolutely perfect without one negative thing to say about the food and hospitality. Everything we ate was delicious and all of the employees were amazing and helpful. I Have stayed in many other hotels in Cancun but this is by far my favorite. It's a great place for kids and families alike. Please visit the spa and see Miguel or David. Wonderful experience. We will return next year for sure!

    "Welcome home"

    Reviewed by anthonyfrench(Owego, New York) on Aug 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    we visit dream sands 2 to 3 times a year. We have visited 9 other cancun resorts but this is our fav. When we arive they greet us with,"welcime home"! they make it feel like home ..only better. they have wonderful service. David from the spa leaves 'no stone un turned'. He makes us fell like his top priority. David not only makes up our room with special touches, he and his staff, make a special spot on the beach just for us, He is awesome and the spa is amazing. Jeorge shows us up to our room personally and makes sure to remind us about our 'Preferred perks', totally worth the up grade. Jeorge is also a detail man. The resturants are all wonderful. We go to a different one each night. Humberto and alberto at the,' World cafe, make breakfast and lunch a pleasure. We were greeted by Marcelino and her warm smile at Waves and Sands resturant and Abraham was our awsome waiter. We are impressed always by the person who never lets our water glass run dry at Portifino. The water is crystal clear and calm. the beach is 100 yards form the lobby and the wait staf on the beach is attentive. the resort is clean and the grounds are kept very well. we cant wait to go!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Great Resort

    Reviewed by shakiraC_12(Brooklyn, New York) on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was my second time visiting this resort. This is a smaller resort but we still had a great time. We had the Preferred Club access which included private check in/ check out, seperate area on the beach etc. Armando Vega in the preferred club is amazing! This was our second year there and he still remembered us. He makes any drink you want, and is very attentive. Last year the beach was clear but this time around there was a lot of seaweed in the water ( I did see workers trying to clean it up). They added a Restaurant called Gaucho Grill which was great. I would like to see more entertainment at night like other Dreams Resorts.

    Honeymoon

    Reviewed by Amy P() on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We are extremely sad to be leaving Cancun today after spending 10 wonderful days in the dream sands cancun hotel. The service was exceptional from start to finish. The hotel boasts 7 restaurants from around the world, all of which have amazing and delicious food. The world cafe buffet staff are beyond helpful and accommodating, special thanks to Irving, for doing a “lovely jubbly” job in looking after us throughout our stay. Jorge helped on many occasions with our bags, room information and general hotel info! The spa is outstanding, we enjoyed a couple deep tissue message that made as way more relaxed, as well as enjoying the hydrotherapy circuit, including the steam room, sauna, jacuzzi and hot tubs! We will miss this place and can’t wait to visit again! Thank you for having us!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX