Panama Jack Resorts Cancun

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Cancun
    5. Panama Jack Resorts Cancun
    6. Panama Jack Resorts Cancun review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    J

    Great spot for a family with excellent food

    Reviewed by James on Jan 27, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    Great location, the staff were amazing and the food was phenomenal. Our kids had a great time with the water park even if the water was a little chilly compared to the pools. We loved that is was close to a lot of nice shopping/activity spots. We will return.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 9971 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Search out Ruben at the Ventanas Restaurant

    Reviewed by meticulousgeek() on May 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My family took a trip to Cancun in April of 2019. The Panama Jack Resort in Cancun is very family friendly with plenty of entertainment and amenities. We have plenty of memorable moments from our recent vacation. On your visit, search out a waiter named Ruben. Ruben was super friendly and provided us with exceptional service on every visit to Ventanas. Search out Ruben at the Ventanas restaurant for the best waiter on resort!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Best trip!!

    Reviewed by Hannasali() on May 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The Our Lady of Guadalupe catholic chapel is one of the main reason I really love this resort. my family and I been there few times we love this resort. The resort is very clean the service and the staff are extremely wonderful.The entertainments and the shows are awesome! The activities during the day at the pool and beach are so much fun and all the entertainers we’re so nice friendly my favorite one was Benji!!! Anyone looking for a family oriented resort should definitely look into Panama Jacks. Panama Jack’s Cancun is the place to be. You will love it!

    Destination Wedding at Panama Jack

    Reviewed by Jenny_G_Travels(Toronto, Canada) on May 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The Our Lady of Guadalupe chapel is a Catholic Ceremony and the main reason why I picked the resort. And the view of course... it was just breathtaking! For us who travels a lot, it is an obvious choice we picked a destination wedding, though we would like to include the traditional wedding rites being a Catholic, this resort tick those boxes. Let me give a review of this resort starting from the planning to the actual wedding. Communication between me and my coordinator Christy is mostly email, I find it quite frustrating sometimes but Christy is polite. She eventually gave her WhatsApp number and it was easier for me to get in touch with her. A month before the wedding I was introduced to another person who is the on-site Coordinator. We almost didn’t have the Catholic Ceremony because of a missing document, it was settled eventually on the day of the wedding. The package itself is great, but be careful with the add-ons. Any additional services other than the package is expensive. I had my photo/video upgraded, decor, fresh flowers and DJ added. Also, expect to pay $500 USD for outside vendor so couples wouldn’t have any choice but to pick the resort’s exclusive vendors. On the wedding day, I had my hair and make-up done at the resort’s salon/spa, the lady did a good job with my make up specially my hair - it was too windy that day. Getting ready photo and video session, the photographer took most of the time with the groom, so by the time it was my turn, I felt like I was rushed and said “it’s ok to be late” because I’m the bride (which I find too unprofessional). The actual ceremony - I got goose bumps when the violinist starts playing the procession song, It was the highlight of the ceremony and it was amazing! The officiating priest has a sense of humour and speaks fluent English. The decor/flowers by surprise were great, kudos to Raul (RY Events) for that. So the flowers from the ceremony was brought to the reception which became the centrepieces. On the reception, the Mexican Trio played some popular Spanish songs and my guests loved it! The DJ played some good songs too and the lighting was great (not sure if it’s DJ Doremixx or the other guy). The dinner they served at the wedding was small portions. Some of my guests got a bit hungry after the party (none of the buffet or restaurant in the resort were open after 11pm but just a small snack bar with some nachos and fruits). Turn down service was great and the romantic dinner for the newly wed was impressive! My biggest disappointment here was Romanza for my wedding photos/videos, I felt like the editing for the video was rushed and the photos were average (after paying a chunk of money I wasn’t impressed) the only positive was the photo album itself and that’s it. For me, it is far from a dream wedding but the overall experience was great. My guests until now talks about how fun and amazing my wedding and vacation was. About the resort itself, it’s a small family resort with some great food and drinks. My favourite was the Italian, Mexican and grill house (behind the Italian). I also like Panama Jack Cafe and the barista there was great. Also the Ventana’s buffet with Gener our server who took care of us during our 10 days stay. The Jr Suite ocean view rooms were ok and entertainment was average. I’d give this resort a 4-star overall

    Experience

    Reviewed by Rachel S() on May 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Panama Jack was a great resort with a lot of fun. The entertainment group especially made the trip great. Jorge, Jonathon, Lucy, Rodger, and the rest provided activities with a lot of energy. Everyone was intrigued on what they were doing. They each were so nice and thoughtful it made the day very fun whether hanging out at the pool or beach. I highly recommend taking the trip to this resort.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Great Family Resort

    Reviewed by jkersman01() on May 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This is our second stay at Panama Jack Cancun. Stayed from 5/4 - 5/11. Family of 4 (35, 35, 9, 6). We also stayed with 2 other relatives. We booked the Presidential Suite with connecting Jr. Oceanfront Suite. Let's start with pros and cons- Pros- -Great kids area. Two water slides that even the adults had fun (quick note on one of these later though). There is a pirate ship splash park area for the younger (probably 5 and under) to enjoy. There is also a "kids" pool - not labeled as a kids pool but mostly only kids and families use it (another note on this later). -Great value. It was surprisingly very affordable for the Presidential Suite and connecting room. Compared to this type of accommodation at other resorts, fantastic! Almost 2k square feet with a wrap around porch, floor to ceiling windows in the living room, dining room, and bedroom. This isn't the Ritz, so don't expect that. You definitely get what you pay for and then a little more here. Could the rooms use some updating? Sure, but again, for the price paid, good value. -Clean. Staff constantly working to clean, tidy up, and organize all aspects of the resort . For example, I witnessed on one occasion a gentleman taking 5 minutes to ensure a row of about 5 pool chairs was properly cleaned and aligned (I thought he was going to pull out a ruler and straight-edge). -Evening entertainment. Loved the Urban show (dancing squad from Mexico's Got Talent - our favorite show by far), 1001 Nights Show (Arabian act), Mexican show (traditional Mexican dance and an awesome lasso "guy", and Pirate show (some dancing, generally entertaining, and some acrobatics/circus type of stuff. While the Mayan show was what you'd expect, be careful with kids (ritualistic sacrificing of a woman, a woman seducing a man, and a deer hunt). For adults, obviously you'll be fine. Just a warning if you have young kids- you're going to get a lot of questions and possibly some upset children. Lion King show was relatively boring- skip that one. -The people. By far the best aspect of this resort. We had many great interactions but felt like we should especially call out- --Alberto (waiter at Viaggio) the best waiter on the property. I'm telling you, if I ever were to open up a restaurant, he'd be the first person I'd call to get on board. On top over everything, he did a fantastic Mayan coffee. --Karina (hostess as Viaggio) she always greeted us so warmly every time and our kids loved her. --David (manager at Viaggio) he really runs a great spot. --Luis (chef at Viaggio) great dishes. I felt like the food at Viaggio was unique to the property and not just something they pull from the buffet. --Georgina and Laura (massage therapists)- they did a great job on a couples massage. --Camp Jack staff (Raquel, Ady, Ana, Maina, Dany and Marbel) like I said about Alberto, if I were to ever consider opening a daycare center, they'd be my first call. They were wonderful with the kids and as much fun as our children had at the pool/beach, they always wanted to know what crafts they had going on each day and made 1 or 2 visits each day. --Cesar (main pool waiter)- very attentive, and almost didn't take "no, I don't need anything at the moment" as an acceptable answer. --Miguel (waiter at Ventanas) he always made us feel so welcome, remembered our drinks, and even gave us a nice "safe travels" dessert or last day. Cons/Improvement Areas- -Not enough dining outside. Especially for lunch, we really would have loved the opportunity to eat by the pool/beach without having to "dry off" and go inside to one of the buffets. They did set up a hot dog cart, and a few other little things here and there, but that was it. Nothing you could rely on. That would be great if they would do a buffet line/cookout near Las Olas each day. -Bathroom floors. My son slipped a couple times, I slipped once. I can't believe that the bathroom flooring for the bathrooms by both pools are marble-like slickness. The staff try to dry these off often, but there's only so much they can do. I'm surprised someone hasn't seriously gotten injured. - "covered" slide in kids area. When we were there, they spent a couple days caulking the joints of the covered slide. When they finished (Thursday, I believe), I went down it, as well as my children, and it felt like it cut up my back. They must not have sanded down the joints. It made the slide unusable. Some other notes- -The Beach. It isn't fair to call this a con- the seaweed issue and rough surf. We had red flags each day we were there due to surf. The seaweed was very bad as well. Beach itself is gorgeous and staff do a great job trying to clean up the seaweed each day. Not a Panama Jack problem, but is starting to make us consider other beaches. We really enjoy the ocean, and couldn't swim at all. -Pool activities. The entertainment staff is great. But from 11-12, 2-3, and 4-5, I believe , the main pool is consumed by volleyball and water polo. Considering that really is the only pool option (unless you want to go to the quiet "kid" pool), you're stuck tucking up in a corner of the pool keeping an eye on the game so you don't get hit with a ball. You can decide whether this is a pro or con, depending on how you like to enjoy the pool. Overall, a great value resort. Generally, a great option for families and we love that the resort is a small resort yet has many of the "big" resort amenities. The people are just fantastic. Food is to be expected (nothing fantastic, but certainly edible, with Viaggio being the best by far) and evening entertainment was generally good. Beach bar and beach lounging is great, but if you're a beach swimmer, be warned of the seaweed situation and rough surf. This was our second trip (went a year ago), already saw improvements, and understand more are in the works. If it weren't for the beach situation, I'd tell you right now we'd be back for sure!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX