Sandos Cancun Lifestyle Resort

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Cancun
    5. Sandos Cancun Lifestyle Resort
    6. Sandos Cancun Lifestyle Resort review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    V

    Not a 5 star resort, 4 star at best.

    Reviewed by Vancouver on Jun 18, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: May 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Not a 5 star resort, 4 star at best. Would not return.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    D

    Staff were amazing, Westjet and hotel advertised amenities were disappointing.

    Reviewed by DW on Apr 03, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    I have to start by saying all the staff at this resort are amazing. We were disappointed with the resort and Westjet's promotion of this as their Exclusive Luxury Collection. After research we booked this resort because they had a tennis court, gym and water activities. When we arrived we discovered the tennis court was under renovation, which was not indicated anywhere on their website. Their only solution was we could go to their sister resort to play which would have cost us 50 dollars per cab ride there. The gym was nice and yoga class was particularly good with Adam. The resort claimed to know nothing about the Westjet exclusive deal and refused us the advertised free access to the spa facility. This was corrected after several phone calls and a few days of wrangling. The Westjet rep also promised to find a solution for us for tennis and we never heard back from them. This resort has a beautiful pool area and beach area and is small and quaint. The food was good. If you are an active person or have active teenagers this resort would not be a good choice. However, if you want a relaxing quiet holiday this would be a good fit.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    E

    We loved our stay, excellent service, very good food. Definitely will go back

    Reviewed by Ewa on Jul 11, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    Definitely

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 5374 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Excellent Sevice

    Reviewed by Lynn W() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Very Clean and comfortable rooms, very good food with lost of interesting restaurant choices. Entertainment both poolside and in the evening was very well done. While there is no sun around the pool after 3 pm there are plenty of places to continue enjoying the sun in the Sandos area on the beach next to the beautiful ocean. The spa was more than adequate, we enjoyed massages/facials along with great sauna experiences. My daughter had a great mani/pedicure in the spa as well. The gym was very adequate with plenty of machines. We took a few spin classes and did some water aerobics in the pool. There were lots of other activities that we didn't have time to do. This was my 4th visit to this Sandos location - once with my husband and 3 times with my 3 daughters and I will go again and again

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Couple Vacation

    Reviewed by Parfrances() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Beautiful resort, exceptional service, friendly staff and a great entertainment team. The resort is beautiful with the ocean from views and the three infinity pools leading to one another. The entertainment team had fun and engaging games and acitivities planned each day including trivia. We took an aqua fit class in the ocean with Viviana and we loved her. We also loved Vicky, Paola and Rodriguez from the entertainment team and our bartender Daniel who provided us with great service and remembered us from the first day he met us. Great experience overall.

    Enjoyed our visit

    Reviewed by Jill M() on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We enjoyed our visit to Sandos Cancun! There were a few glitches here and there but overall it was a good experience. It’s a quick drive from the airport, in the hotel zone in between the Ritz (2 doors down) and the JW Marriott (3 or 4 doors down in the other direction). The waves were too rough to stay in the water for long, but you can walk for miles down the beach and again, we have the same waves as the Ritz. ??Secrets the Vine is right next door, and its tower casts quite a shadow on the entire Sandos property starting at about 4 pm, so at this time of year the upper pools stayed pretty cold. The lower pool that got plenty of sun was warm and quite comfortable, and they were all beautiful. The first evening we arrived 2 out of 3 elevators were broken, but were all working within a day or so. We found the service to be good, and the best by far was Mariano Cabrera Mora on the beach. He took great care of us each day as we relaxed on the comfy day beds and when he found out it was my husband’s birthday, he brought special dessert and let the restaurants know. The food was good - we had good meals in the French, Italian and steak restaurants. We had breakfast by the pool each morning and it was lovely. I think if you set your expectations that you are on resort time, and that every meal is not necessarily going to be James Beard quality you will be just fine. Arturo waited on us in the French and Italian restaurants and was quite good, and Moises waited on us in the mornings and by the 3rd day knew our orders. My husband and I would have enjoyed having more shade at the beach; there are slatted roofs over the day beds and we got a lot more sun than we intended since the sun is still coming through. That’s on us, but just would be great to have more options! The day beds were really comfy, and there were plenty of extra pillows for everyone. Our room was lovely with marble tile. We asked for a king bed and got 2 queens but it wasn’t a big deal. Our hot water didn’t work in the shower initially but once we let them know it was promptly fixed. We had a view of the ocean, it was quiet and comfortable. We enjoyed drinks in the lounge and I even hopped on the piano for a little Rachmaninoff - Sandos, if you want a professional pianist I’m your lady! ?? Thank you for a wonderful week at the beach!

    Horrible food , old , no sun by pool after 3pm

    Reviewed by EDDIE6403(New York City, New York) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Beware , please read whole review, false advertisement, horrible food: beware .... The pictures on Expedia are old ( at least 10+ years old ) and I think the reviews are fake and paid for This is not a 4-star hotel ! I speak fluent Spanish and English and understand and speak other languages, so language was not a barrier for me or my wife. BEACH AREA : The cabanas on the beach are old and they don't have any swinging cabanas ( as advertised ) most of the cabanas are old and run down. the beach chairs are also old and run down and they have very few on the beach ( I counted maybe 15 ). Shade on the beach ( approximately 3pm) by adjacent tower ( SECRET HOTEL ) . Wait staff very limited on the beach 1 , 2 at most I had to drag beach chairs myself and there are no side tables to place your drinks however the staff are kind and pleasant ( please tip them ) POOL AREA : Rundown THE POOL was clean, however its aging and has rough edges important! there is a hotel ( SECRETS ) that has a high tower that will block the sun at the pool area and beach area approximately by 3 pm. The pool area becomes chilly and windy due to the SANDOS building and SECRETS building which create a wind tunnel. The DJ ( not a real DJ ) plays basic trance music from the 80's-90's while he is suffering the net from his laptop. No swim up bar, wait staff are limited and over worked due to lack of staffing however they are very kind and pleasant ( please tip them ) Food at beach area restaurant: BAD! Same menu never changes, they sever very little for presentation factor but that doesn’t help the bad food.The only thing that was ok / edible to eat was the pizza. Calamari was tiny over fried comes out cold and tasted as frozen ( not fresh ) a guest confused them for onion rings Buffalo wings , were not buffalo wings, they are cold BBQ wings ( very sweet to me ) They don’t have chicken or meat taco only fish tacos, but they have beef and chicken Quesadilla . When I asked the waiter just use the meat the quesadilla is made with and put it in a taco shell, his response, “ the quesadilla already come made “ ( no LIE ) Rice with fish: rice tasted like uncle bens bag rice , fish was under cook and no flavor Nachos chips: very small portion . chips were oily , guacamole tasted as if it came out of a bag ( not freshly made) has no beans or jalapenos . when you ask if they can add chicken, meat or beans the waiter said NO because that’s how they come out. And they don’t use real cheese , they use cheez whiz ! DRINKS : Good , top shelf tequila if you ask for it , while I was there they did not have top shelf Vodka For Mexican beer : they don’t have Corona or Modelo beer, but they have Dos XX’s and Tecate. Food buffet breakfast and lunch : BAD Buffet station had stale bread , unpleasant , unappetizing cold food. The wait staff don’t mention it but there is a menu if you want an omelet. seems as if they are instructed to not push the menu for this service. The best thing they have is the Nespresso machine , but you have to ask for it because the staff won’t mention it to you. Lunch Buffet station was also horrible looking and cold , they have menu ( they wont mention it ) for hamburgers . I ordered a Mexican burger they meat tasted more like ground sausage meat not Beef. The bread on the burger was a little old tasting A couple of days the kitchen tried to make Indian food which was under seasoned looked like mashed food . ROOMS: nothing as advertised Room was dated and aging but clean the sliding doors leading into the terrace were old and did not have a proper seal . The lack of seal caused a whistling sound at night from the high winds. This made it difficult to have a good night sleep . Bathrooms are dated and has stains from age. The terrace has old aluminum chairs and I wouldn’t lean against the terrace bars. Staff : The staff seem at times unsure what to say but very respectful and try to help. Lack of staff is evident , and the hotel seems they are trying to cut corners. The sense restaurant : Horrible The food tasted as old meat and again the kitchen tries to make the food seem fancy, but its neither fancy or edible. Wife and I spend money eating outside the hotel GYM : was ok for a basic work out SPA: did not use but it looks old and run down

    Cancun all-inclusive

    Reviewed by TonyJ123456() on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Great all-inclusive with lots of pool space and well-groomed beach. Animation - Rodrigos, Victoria, Viviana & Paulo did a great job with the day and night activities. Fun time with beach volleyball too.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX