Iberostar Daiquiri

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    C

    The service ruins the experience; NB: Abbreviated review due to limited characters

    Reviewed by Connie on Jan 11, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: August 2014

    Trip Type: Family

    The resort itself was nice and the food was tasty, we stayed in a Iberostar chain because my travel agent explained that they imported spices from Spain and therefore the food was well above that found elsewhere in Cuba. The staff were friendly, and the shows incredibly talented and entertaining note: the "dance bar" portion of the night always included the staff's children and teenagers bumping and grinding on the dance floor babies included, and no one dressed up , but with regards to service no one was jumping up to help and often just tried to get you to go talk to someone else rather then help. A quick example our credit card that we were told would work would not work. When I asked the front desk for advice they were unhelpful and uninterested when I asked them to call our Westjet travel agent they told me I had to call from my room so I would be billed for it. Explaining that I obviously had no money because the credit card issue was the reason I was calling got me the response "Well I'm not paying for it!" So I made the call from my room, and then asked how much I owed to make sure I saved the cash from the bit of money we had left, I was told $2.89. I was surprised it was such a small amount and clarified that translation was not messing up the amount. On checkout day they told me I owed $20.89, not the $2.89 the man had told me 2 days prior. When I told them I had no money left but $12 they refused to accept it and told me I would not be allowed to leave the resort or the island unless I paid. They THEN were able to call my Westjet agent on their phone no problem! He was kind enough sarcasm to suggest that I borrow money from other travelers or else I was out of luck and they would prevent me from leaving the resort. All of this while my two young sons stood beside me. Oh and the hotel was constantly out of things like towels, and only refilled the fridges in the rooms every other day.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4572 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great Stay

    Reviewed by notallwaundersrlost(barrie) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This resort has something fo everyone. There are lots of things to do around the pool and on the beach. The food is good and mostly freshly grilled which is great even if it can cause line ups. I will go for fresh hot food over the mainstays of the usual buffets. The grounds are great and always well taken care of. Definitely recommend this resort

    Just Right

    Reviewed by vovi(Sk. Canada) on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We sure got it right this time! The resort size, a la cartes, rooms, location, resort layout, option to order lobster to plan for a special meal, evening entertainment, beach activities, on-site shopping.... All was A+. Oh, and of course the staff which made it A++. Mom and Dad in their 80's found it easy to get around and really liked it here and wish they had found the place when they were younger. Hey, us 3 kids ARE younger and will be back with spouses next time. Thanks!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    A nice getaway

    Reviewed by Carrie-Ann M(Manitoba, Canada) on Mar 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I was there last week for a friend's wedding. The resort is just the right size, not too big, so all amenities are close by. I was in the Baracoa building, on the second floor. The room was clean, the ac worked well, and I had a great view from my balcony. I always received towel art of some sort and the fridge was always stocked. The beach was beautiful, white sand. There was always loungers available from what I could see. The pool was a pleasant surprise. The water was warm! When I stayed in Varadero the pool was ice cold and it seemed like few people actually spent much time in it. Here was the opposite, people actually enjoyed the pool area. There were activities for those that wanted to participate, or you could just relax and do your own thing. The lobby was nice and spacious with plenty of seating, but it did tend to fill up in the evenings right after supper. Wifi is available in the lobby and pool area for 1CUC for an hour. Be sure that when you purchase your cards that you have the desk person scratch the pin number for you because you will not be refunded or issued a new card if you don't scratch it properly and can't read the numbers. The food was good. There was always a variety so even the pickiest eater should be able to find something! The bread is absolutely amazing!!! Be sure to try a flaming banana at least once as well. Yes, there are lineups at times, but the staff cook your food quickly and efficiently. The only downside was the guests, they act as though they either haven't eaten in days or that they're afraid they'll never get to eat again! There was always plenty of food so no need to be in such a rush. If you're like me - a mosquito magnet - be sure to bring bug spray! The mosquitos and the no see ums got me and I spent the week itching from the bites. Finally, the staff, they are terrific! They are friendly, hard working and welcoming. If you need something, you just need to ask and they will try to help you. Unfortunately I didn't get a chance to learn everyone's names, but a big shoutout to Jacquiline, Janet and Becky at the lobby bar. These women are fantastic! The rest of the staff are just as wonderful. Treat them well and they will go above and beyond. Overall, I enjoyed my stay at the Daquiri, it was my first visit, but it probably won't be my last!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Great vacation

    Reviewed by cubateamo(Tillsonburg, Canada) on Mar 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We stayed Mar 3 - 10 our room was 4322 nice comfy king size bed partial ocean view air and tv worked fine shower was not quite hot but nice and warm ,a la cartes were all booked up even though when you walked by they were half empty but no worries the buffet was very good beautiful beach and nice for swimming the pool activities are fun I won a bottle of rum no crazy wait time to get a drink at the bars nice small resort so 5 minute max walk to beach or pool or lobby friendly staff is what makes this place stand out

    Fell in love with this special place

    Reviewed by 791chrissyt() on Mar 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We have only been to Cuba 2 other times however we think this was the best! My husband, our 18 year old son and myself were at the resort Feb 22 for 1 week. We decided to try this area of Cuba because of all the positive reviews and they were right. This trip was an early grad present for our son and it was his first time to Cuba. The building we had was called Barocoa superior room. We received the water and beer everyday in the room. We however did not get the welcome gift which as per air Canada booking stated a bottle of rum but honestly I didn't say a word because really why the rum was plentiful. The room overlooked the area facing the causeway which I would rather have had a beach view but we don't go to Cuba to spend time in the room so I didn't bother asking to move but next time I will be requesting an Oceanview. The beds are not very comfy and the pillows are flat. The food was great! We had plenty of choices from omelette for breakfast to a wide variety of meats, pasta and pizza for supper. The bar in the lobby was very good and the service was top notch! The one waitress ( I wish I could remember names ) and the waiter always had a table ready for us in the evening at the buffet. By the end of the week I was sad to say goodbye. The beach bar/restaurant was amazing. The one and only complaint I have is that they should have more then one bar in the evenings. We don't do the shows because I am an early riser to enjoy the sunrise and the day so can't comment on shows. The entertainment in the lobby in the evenings was very good though. I can't wait to return to this resort in May! Oh and btw The beach was amazing!! Look forward to seeing the employees again and hope they remember us!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX