Sol Cayo Coco

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    C

    Great vacation

    Reviewed by Christina on Feb 24, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    don't expect North American standards, and you will have a great time. It's all about the beach and the ocean here. We went for a kite surfing vacation and it exceeded our expectations. While not fancy, our room was clean and comfortable, we thought the food was fantastic, and the staff all try their hardest to make your stay enjoyable. Any deficiencies were dealt with in a timely manner. The kiting area has a rescue jet ski, and beach staff to help land and launch kites. Perfect place to learn; see Hans at the Kiteschool-very knowledgeable and willing to help out. We will be returning next year.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    Love this friendly hotel. Would return in a heartbeat.

    Reviewed by Lana C on Jan 30, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    This was our third trip to the Sol Cayo Coco. The hotel is older, but clean and comfortable. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. The food is great. Love the grill station and pasta bar. Have never had a bad meal there. Love the pool bar, especially at night when they have live music. The beach is fantastic. Lots of shade and the water is amazing. We would go back again, and again. Have not been disappointed in the 3 times we have been there.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4957 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Best vacation ever!!

    Reviewed by Rugbymomof4() on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We’ve been to Cuba many times, Varadero, Holguin, but Cayo Coco is by far our favourite! We all go to Cuba for the beaches and the sun, but by far, the people make our visits the best. The food at Sol is the best I’ve had in Cuba. The rooms are spacious and clean. The maids attentive to your needs and the resort is small and personal. The pool is clean and well kept and there are two beaches to choose from. There is always something to do thanks to the AMAZING animation team. Yiny, Roberto, Yarelis were wonderful, just to name a few. We loved it so much, we plan to go back next month! Do not hesitate to book Sol for your next vacation in the sun!

    Best beach in Cuba

    Reviewed by MOS4tripad() on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We (family of four, 2 adults and two children) travelled to the Sol during spring break. The resort was small so everything was within a convenient walking distance and the room was very comfortable. We upgraded to oceanview, which was nice. This is the first resort I’ve been to where they charge to use the safe and where the mini fridge doesn’t get stocked daily. We had to ask the cleaning lady for water and she always left some. We love the beach. The pool seemed okay but didn’t have a swim up bar. It was quite popular and there didn’t seem to be many chairs available around the pool. The beach was the best we have ever seen. There was plenty of space on the beach and beach chairs and palapas were always available, even when we got there late in the morning. We would come back for that alone. Moreover, there were two beaches to choose from and both were beautiful. One was shallower, one was deeper. The shallow beach was great for snorkelling. We travel to the Caribbean often and absolutely loved the beach. The only downside to the resort was the food. There was very little variety in the cooked food and salad options. While we always found something to eat, it was very repetitive. The grill, pasta, pizza and omelette/pancake stations were good and since the resort is small, there weren’t long line-ups for the omelette, pasta or grill stations. There were 2 à la carte restaurants and those also offered very little variety and weren’t great. When the resort used regular cheese on their pizzas, they were amazing. When we were there, they used processed cheese most of the time on the pizzas and omelettes which didn’t taste good and ruined the food. The beach grill was also very disappointing. Each time we went during the limited hours they were open, there was never any food ready and there didn’t seem to be any effort to prepare food. We were often sent to the pool snack bar, which also had limited choices. The beach bar had no beer on tap and had fewer drink choices than the lobby or pool bar but the beach bars sold bottles of Carlberg for 1 cuc each. If you stay at the Sol, you also have access to the TRYP, which is a 10 min stroll down the beach. The beach grill there was incredible and we went several times. If you love the beach, this is the place for you. If food is important for you, I would avoid this place.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-4

    Another visit to my Cuban home

    Reviewed by saraPeterborough(Peterborough) on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    For about the 18th time I stayed at Sol from Feb 6th to 13th, travelling alone I have seen this resort just get better and better over the years, especially with the food selections, the involved managers, especially Joaquim who is interested in finding out what you like and dont like during your stay. The resort is still recovering from Hurricane Irma in the fall of 2017 the biggest disappointment is that the shows at night down in the theatre are not available yet. Staff are still friendly and helpful and its nice to see some new faces who are in training presently. I think my husband and I have stayed on every floor over the years and all the rooms are very presentable for the time on spends in the room.They are always kept clean and supplied with the neccesities.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Small and cozy!

    Reviewed by sunlovers-20(Ottawa, Canada) on Mar 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This was our first time to Cayo Coco, but not to Cuba. Sol Cayo Coco is very small, and everything is very close together. This can be very good, but it can also have it’s problems. There is not much walking between the lobby, the bars, the restaurants, the rooms and the beach, but the noise level in the lobby entertainment and the pool activities can be heard throughout. The hotel is made up of two main wings spanning east and west from the lobby, bars and restaurant area and all have ocean views. Block 1 is to the west and consists of four sections of 3 floors with rooms in one section facing the pool and the others facing the quiet beach. Block 2 consists of 5 sections and starts over the restaurant, facing the pool and extends to the north in two sections with 3 and 4 floors each, one facing the pool (rooms 2101 – 2111). The other section (rooms 2112 – 2122) facing the mini-golf and another two-section building of 3 floors to the east also facing the mini-golf and beach. Our room 2114 was steps from the walkway to the beach and overlooked the beach bar and snack shack (where they have the beach party once a week). The hotel and customer service staff are amazing, very friendly, courteous and helpful. The buffet staff are very attentive and the chefs are wonderful, so accommodating and professional. The lobby bar staff are very busy but very courteous and friendly. We did not eat at the Saoco very often but when we did the staff was very good as well. In the evening this was the place to get away from the loud music and have a friendly drink. As seniors, the animation team just ignored and annoyed us. The air-conditioned buffet dining room is large with lots of variety of food to tempt anyone. There are two grill areas that will cook what you want, with the selection of beef, pork, chicken and fish at one and pastas or pizzas at the other. The steam counter had vegies and more cooked meat selections. There are cheeses and cold cut area as well as a salad area not to mention the dessert area. You can always find something to eat. There is an outdoor dinning area that was quieter and warmer. The pool area has a bar and a snack bar serving hot sandwiches, French fries, hamburgers and pizzas. Nice change from the buffet for lunch. Sometimes they stoked up the barbeque at the beach snack shack and served burgers and fries and on occasion they had a pork barbeque. The a la carte restaurant ‘Don Diego’ was very nice, a smaller dining room giving it a cozy feeling. There was a pianist playing relaxing tunes. The menu was varied and always had a good selection of entrees. The other a la carte, by the pool area, served Italian dishes. Take note, the servings are large and you may choose to share instead of separate meals. We nicknamed it ‘Don Corleones’. The rooms are the standard fare with 2 queen beds pushed together, two night tables, a day bed as a couch, a desk, small fridge and a suit case shelf. The sink area has one double power 120/220 plug available. The shower is large with a rain and a hand-held shower heads. In our case we were on the ground floor and had a small patio with 2 plastic chairs and a little table and a flowering hedge outside our railing. The patio door was a little hard to open and close but we managed. We could plainly see the damage the hurricane caused as there were so many tree stumps everywhere. Many new little palm trees have been planted and seem to be thriving. There is more work to do and they are working very hard to improve the resort. Will we return? When the theater is up and running so the lobby can go back to a place that is quiet and people can carry on a conversation, we will return. The loud music was our only complaint.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    trip of a lifetime

    Reviewed by Philippe R() on Mar 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    wow! from stepping out of the coach to departure time every day was awesome. Champagne and Cuban music on arrival, quick check in, suitcases delivered to room. Never seen so many happy helpful staff. Food-wise, there is a lot of choice for every meal. It is not michelin star, it is honest,local and tasty! Cannot fault buffet or dinning room staff. Room was well cleaned and tidied every day. Towel origami is real! A big thank you to all the staff for making our holiday special. The worst thing was having to leave.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX