Grand Park Royal Cozumel

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    J

    Bad, Bad, Bad worst vacation i ever had

    Reviewed by Julie Robertson on Jan 05, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Whether you call it the Grand Park Royal Cozumel or the Park Royal Cozumel...it is neither Grand or Royal. The pathways were uneven and rough with many dips and pitches. The food was always cold even though there was plenty of it...call me old fashion but I believe meat, potoatoes and vegtables should be hot not cold. The first room they put us in had two single beds when I had requested a king and a view of the propane tank and main road so all night all we heard was the traffic. Then after 3 days of trying to get the room fixed they put us in a room that had children running up and down the hall all night long as well as the radios of the staff echoed in the hall way at all hours we did not get a good nights sleep the whole time we were there. All inclusive it was not if you wanted to use the gym you had to pay a 6 usd user fee and you need a key card for EVERYTHING to turn on the lights in the room, get a towel at the beach and you could only get one towel per guest. Also the drinks were not mixed well they had too much alcohol in them and were too sweet. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    J

    Wonderful, would love to go again!

    Reviewed by Jen on Oct 25, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    Very very late review. My family and I went to this resort in 2014 as our first time to mexico. We had a great stay! The staff were very warm and welcoming, loved coming to staff already asking what to drink! The rooms were great spacious, clean, and everything you need. The private balcony was great so nice to wake up to that great ocean view and if you look close enough you can see playa del Carmen. The pools were breath taking! Specially the to oceanfront infinity pools loved watching the sunset. Oh and make sure you're balcony doors are always closed! Be had a very friendly gegos come in! The only flaw of this rst is the the beach, beautiful but wish it was bigger. And the rocks were bad for such a tiny beach. Food was great. Thank you park royal for making my family and I's first Trip to Mexico a memorable time! Can't wait to go back im January 2016

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    K

    Loved our stay ! Would go again !

    Reviewed by Katrina on Feb 25, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2014

    Trip Type: Family

    This resort is amazing ! It was so nice pulling in and being offered a drink while waiting to check in. I rate this resort about a 4.8 . This was my first time in mexico and I had no idea what to expect but this resort was everything I wanted. The infinity pools were just breath taking ! Sitting there watching the sun set and seeing all the cruise boats . The food was just average I mean nothing to special but it was great . The staff were also great also making you feel at home and making your stay special . The rooms are kept to date and always cleaned. I Would definitely recommend this resort for a couple or family . Thanks everyone for the amazing stay park royal Cozumel !

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 5434 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great vacation

    Reviewed by NorthStar11928668817() on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Great family vacation, staff was friendly, good location, food was good. Resort was close to ferry, great food with in walking distance, close to scuba, rental cars. Enjoyed our stay at Grand Park Royal Cozumel.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Best resort experience yet!

    Reviewed by Adventure66768610054() on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    April 6 to 20, 2019. Our first time to this resort, but will definitely be coming back! Staff were friendly and so helpful; room (8th floor) was excellent - loved the glass front elevator! Pools were clean and well maintained. Snorkeling right off the beach was an amazing experience every time! All 3 A la carte restaurants were excellent, and the buffet for breakfast and lunch was also great (didn't go there for dinner). Overall a truly wonderful time ??

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-1

    Location

    Location-1

    Rooms

    Rooms-1

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-1

    Awful food nice resort

    Reviewed by Sergio R() on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The resort has good installations and is well located but the food is awful. Only the breakfast is passable. Avoid the Italian restaurant it is the worst. The service is okay but not outstanding as in other Royal Holiday resorts.

    Great spring break family vacation

    Reviewed by Lisa T() on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Reception: Ricardo the concierge was very welcoming and warm as we arrived. Check in was relatively easy and they were able to arrange for us to have adjoining rooms. Of course there are the normal discussions of sitting through a presentation about their property and membership but not awful. Ivan at the check in was very pleasant and helpful! Room: one of our rooms had a window that looked out on the ocean, and our balconies looked mainly at the road and the cruise ship docks. This was inthe tower. If you’re looking for very quiet, this is not it, but again, not too bad. Looking at the cruise ship was pretty cool—we saw as many as 4 in one day there. One room had a huge king bed and the other had two queen beds. Comfortable and had all we needed. Only suggestion here is to maybe bring extra shampoo and conditioner because they don’t give you more during the week (nice for conservation purposes!) Also—the garbage bags are teeny for the cans so be careful throwing stuff out. For me, the mattresses were a bit too firm. The fridge is well stocked with soda, water, and beer and they restock daily. Pools: fantastic! It was never too crowded and each of the three pools (we only used 2 because one is for adults only and our kids are 13 and 14) has a bar. They serve just about anything there and our kids made good use of them with non-alcohol piña coladas and strawberry daiquiri frozen drinks. We all had fun with the pools and activities around them. Deck chairs were all taken every day with the hotel at 80% capacity. Activities: they do a great job with the activities here. We played beach volleyball, water aerobics, water polo, and some movie trivia. All of the guys who ran the activities were fun and enthusiastic. I wish I could remember all of their names, I can only remember Eduardo, but they all deserve some kudos for their work! Beach: The beach and swimming area are small and chairs were generally not available here but the water is clear and beautiful and snorkeling is fun. If you think you’ll want to go, they do offer free snorkel gear for one hour, but honestly it’s better to bring your own mask and snorkel because they run out of the rentals. You’ll definitely see lots of fish. Unfortunately this is because some people feed them (there’s a snack bar at this area). But if you get out into the larger area, it’s neat to see the urchins and other cool ocean life out there. We even saw an eel! Food: the food was good and plentiful. There are snack bars at each pool area with nachos and hot dogs and wings. The breakfast buffet was delicious. As was the buffet lunch. And the hours are good. Making reservations for the restaurants was easy (go to the buffet between 7am and 4pm and you can make 3 dinner reservations). For the regular restaurants, we liked the Mexican the best, then Italian, and then Caribbean. The view at the Caribbean restaurant was beautiful—looked over the infinity pool and the ocean. There is a buffet dinner too but we did not go there. We did frequent the Cafe Sole for gelato—many flavor options and very tasty! If you eat in town, we’d recommend The Mission. Very tasty and live music—marimba and mariachi. Presentation: always good to hear about what a resort membership means, and what other vacations are possible but I don’t know why we always trust them when they say it will only be an hour. We first heard 60 minutes, then the next morning it was 90 minutes, and then “90 minutes after breakfast” and then “90 minutes with this person and then another hour with me” and then two more people after that.... But Alejandro who was our initial person was very friendly and informative, as was his manager (a young woman whose name I unfortunately cannot remember). Javier, the third person we spoke with, was brusque and barely let us ask questions, nor would he give us time to even consider the offer for the remainder of our week there. And finally Victor was fine. We did not purchase a membership and flat out told them we would not do that on the spot and we still spent nearly 3 hours there. They gave us a free car rental day for our trip to Punta Sur as well as a round trip cab fare to Mr.Sanchos for horseback riding. Overall: we really enjoyed our time there and found everyone to be very friendly and accommodating. We want to especially recognize all of the waitstaff at the restaurants and the workers at the buffet—always very friendly and making good conversation while working very hard. The housekeeping staff, too, was great and our rooms were made up nicely each day—and the even gave us a cute little towel friend! Ricardo, Eduardo, and Ivan at the front desk and concierge are a great team up front to make guests feel welcome and important. And the activity staff does a great job making it all very fun!

    The Best View Ever!

    Reviewed by Bill C(Florida) on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    A beautiful full-service resort with all the bells and whistles. The property features 3 Specialty Resturants plus the buffet, a Coffee Shop (Free of Charge), Spa, 3 Pools, and 2 Hot Tubs. 2 of the pools are Infinity Pools and both overlook the Caribbean Sea. 1 of the Infinity Pools is for Adults only and the other is in the family area. The areas are divided by the Resort's Beach. The beach area not only is good for swimming and cooling off. It is great for snorkeling. The rock barrier creates a reef that is home to all types of tropical fish. The guest of the Grand Park Royal are the beneficiaries. The best thing about the Resort is view. The resort overlooks the Caribbean Sea. Even better is the morning site of Cruise Ships parking right in front of the resort. These elegant vessels arrive almost daily and dock right in front of the resort. If you are on the top floors you have a direct unobstructed view. Otherwise, both Infinity pools, the beach or the hot tubs give you a closeup view. If that were not enough the evening view is also amazing. The Western view from the resort gives Guest a view of the Caribbean Sunset. The resort also has nightly entertainment in the form of Las Vegas-style shows. The resort has shopping. There is a gift shop on property. Plus they have outside vendors on property daily. Conveniently a shopping Mall is next door that you can walk to through a gate on the property. This Mall has a verity of stores and restaurants and not just souvenirs. The resort has a great staff, lots of activities, good food, and great drinks!

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX