OHANA Waikiki East by Outrigger

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    H

    I would totally recommend this hotel!

    Reviewed by Heather on Jan 05, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2014

    Trip Type: Single

    I stayed two weeks over Christmas, and had a wonderful holiday! I was impressed by the cleanliness of the room, and the friendliness of the staff. The hotel is located within walking distance of the beach and all the sights. I have absolutely no complaints, my room was quiet and even though there is construction going on next door at present, it never bothered my rest. In fact it was interesting to watch! I liked the idea of using the room card to operate the elevators for safety. I will stay there again next visit for sure....

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 2144 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great Location but Old and Rundown

    Reviewed by psychprofessor(Starkville, Mississippi) on Apr 02, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    My wife and I, along with our tour group, spent four nights at this hotel. It's in a great location in Waikiki, a couple of blocks from the beach and from what my wife called the "main drag." The lobby was interesting, and I took several pictures of it. On the negative side, I thought the bathroom was poorly made. Also, I found that the water from the shower was either hot or hotter; I was unable to make it cooler. I found that the head end of the bed was lower than the foot end; it should be the opposite. There were three elevators when we arrived, but by the time we left the hotel two were out of order. Early in our stay, a maintenance person suggested that we take the service elevator, which we wound up doing because it opened a few feet from our room. The only problem with the service elevator was that it smelled bad. The room had a mini-fridge, but it was so well hidden that it took a day or two to find it. The room had a lanai, but we didn't use it because it faced in the wrong direction and was too sunny when we might have used it in the late afternoon. Overall, the location almost made up for any of the hotel's negatives.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-4

    Nice Waikiki view room and central location.

    Reviewed by AussieGlennB(Melbourne, Australia) on Mar 28, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I stayed 7 nights in a Waikiki View Room which was on the 16th Floor. The room was large, with a 2 seater sofa, it was clean and nicely presented. The bed was super comfy. I'd say the bathroom was compact, but functional. The room had a small balcony, and I had a nice city view, and also included ocean glimpses. The only negative was the walls are super thin, I could hear the activity in the room next door, doors banging, toilet flushing, and snoring, yuk. If you stay on the 15th floor and above you have access to an express lift, I had no problem at all with lift wait times. The hotel is at the budget end of the scale, and lacks facilities, no restaurant or bar. The pool is small and lacks any ambience, I didn't use it, The hotel is nicely positioned, central to Waikiki and a 5 minute walk to the beach. I arrived very early in the morning from my flight and I was given access to a small room with a shower to freshen up, they then held my bags until I returned later in the afternoon for check in. All the staff I met were very nice. The room cost me around $240 Australian dollars a night, (170 USD).

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Well located

    Reviewed by Bert U(West Kelowna, Canada) on Mar 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    It had been 5 years since being back to Waikiki...something we did annually for over 20 yrs running.....our regular hotel was bought and renamed and the prices seemed rather high....so we decided to try Ohana East..the room was basic (coffee machine and fridge only) and a good size with a sitting area, table,chairs and king bed....seemed recently refurbished.... It is around the corner from our previous hotel and is very well located...the restaurant at street level has changed...(and improved)...service was polite and satisfactory...the price seemed reasonable in till the service surcharge is added in ( in fine print).. A ploy that all the hotels have taken to apparently in our absence....the whole block across the street is closed and blocked off (kings market) and slated to be torn down....the grocery store nearby is still operating but with reduced hours ( and is also slated to be demolished soon)...One should be aware of the potential construction mess for the next few years...ie 2020 to 2022...generally speaking the hotel is 2 star and satisfactory but overpriced..

    ALOHA SPIRIT

    Reviewed by DJspurg() on Mar 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    From the time we got to the hotel we were welcomed with that aloha spirit! In my opinion it’s in the best location!! Rooms are fine, nothing special. But the location, and the employees make it worth it!

    Great stay

    Reviewed by mvici(North Vancouver, Canada) on Mar 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We recently stayed with our kids for just over one week. The hotel is in a great location - beach, restaurants and shops are very close. Nordstrom Rack, Ross Dress for Less, Starbucks and Cheesecake Factory within short walking distance. Public bus stop across the street. Not a super fancy hotel and a little old Hawaii but comfortable and convenient. We would stay here again. The pink line bus was quick and easy to use for free with our room card. Made it to Ala Moana Centre to the Target to get some cheap groceries. There are two arcades at the mall which was great for the kids on a rainy day. We were on the 5th floor. Balcony is very small and views are limited. At times you can hear traffic and street noise. Housekeeping was great. Pool was very cold and as a result we barely used it. Would be nice to have a better pool and poolside amenities. Thank goodness the beach was so close and beautiful. Beach towels are available in the room/at the front desk. Found a little library near the lobby - take a book/leave a book which was is a great idea just would've liked to have known about it at the start of the trip. Can't wait to go back.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX