Occidental Papagayo

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    T

    3*** at best!!! don't waste your money

    Reviewed by Traveler on Feb 16, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    This resort is not worth the money. In its day it may have been 4 star but not anymore. You have to wait in line for a half hour just to get to the buffet. The staff is doing a great job with the tools they have but the place is in need of a make over. The food is reheated from dinner to breakfast to lunch. The food is not bad but NOT 4-5 star. The whole place needs money bad. Deck chairs with worn out cloth, pealing paint, roof ties falling from the roof to Toilet paper holder falling off the wall in our room sliding door doesn't fully open. They all maybe small things but they should be charging 2 star rates for what they are offering. Go down the beach to Riu beach palace you will not be disappointed !! We booked with west jet travel, they are a great airline but they don't check up on the hotels they send you to. One last thing, when you get to the hotel they push hard to get you into a time share at the hotel. Looks like they are begging for cash to fix the place. This is the first revue I have done, so take my advice don't go, save your money!!!

    What to expect (based on 4541 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Expecting a lot more then what you really get.

    Reviewed by Fran A() on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    My family and I of 12 people were very disappointed on the first day. Another family member that was with us had been there 4 years ago and said it was nothing like what we experienced. Years ago there were monkeys and more staff to make it fun no problems with towel service. The first day they ran out of towels for the pool. We couldn't get any because we didn't have pool cards? They never gave us any cards. You only get 2 regular size towels and a hand towel in your room. I asked for 2 more towels I never got them. The hotel has all these different restaurants but we were told we couldn't get reservations for any of them just the buffet. ( mind you we had paid for premium status). My sister in law and I finally had enough and complained to Alex in the first club who was very understanding and tried to accommodate us for the restaurants. He did the best he could and we ate 2 times at Oriental 3 times Italian and 1 buffet and 1 Grill. There was hardly anyone people around. The point is that if you are paying top dollar then you should receive excellent service. The wi fi is really bad. I have to mention that all the staff is very courteous and the entire place is clean.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-2

    Occidental Papagayo

    Reviewed by dwbehm(Frisco, Texas) on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    consider renting a car, getting around the area is expensive. If you purchase WiFi realize the service is very spotty and slow. Schedule excursions before your arrival. The outside Lobby pool is relaxing, but it closes early 5p.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Not good

    Reviewed by mkathy28(Marlton, New Jersey) on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Incredibly poor. We went in low season there were every few people in the hotel which was nice but we still had to wait 30 mins in the buffet to eat even when the restaurant was empty. The fire alarm went off twice in our room for over any hour each time because of bad wiring. The included padding boarding and kayaking the guy in charge claimed they were closed for the day at 2 when he really just wanted a tip. The resort has a good location and is clean. But the workers and managers don’t seem to care about delivery good experience to visitors. They have what is needed to be a great place. But they just fail in so many different ways. The WiFi that cost extra is extremely bad and barely usable. The food isn’t bad and the place is clean.

    Honeymoon

    Reviewed by bamo94(East Brady, Pennsylvania) on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Check in was easy and fast but the receptionist went over everything very quickly and there was a lot of information that I missed, like how the a la cart dinner worked. We ate at the snack bar alot and the food was wonderful. They have more American food there like chicken wings and fries, pizza, hot dogs, burgers. It was all very good. We tried to get towels the first night to go to the pool and they ran out and told us to check back in 40 minutes so we did and they were still out and were closing in 15 minutes. The lady told us to go to the reception desk to get some so we did but when we got there we were told we would have to wait til the next day. I went back to our room and called guest service to complain so they had room service deliver some more room towels that we could use at the pool for the night. It was a big mess for the first night so after that we switched our towels out whenever we got the chance and didnt have a problem again. The room was very clean and the AC worked great in our room. The patio was comfortable and quiet. The bed was very very comfortable and the pillows were soft, it made sleeping very easy to do except for the noise the raccoons made outside the room. There is a big raccoon problem. You can not leave your door open even for a second because we almost had a raccoon in our room. Every time we tried to open the door they would come running up so we had to wait for them to leave before we were able to leave the room. The shower was very hot and clean. Both the pools were warm. The main pool was loud with music and pool volley ball but the wet bar pool was more quiet. The only thing I didnt like was that both pools closed at 7pm. Breakfast didnt taste the greatest but I found stuff to eat. We filled up at the lunch bar a couple hours before dinner because dinner choices werent the greatest. Alot of rice, veggies, beans etc. So we would just snack during dinner time at the buffet. It was a very good price for being all inclusive but if we go back to costa rica, I would not book this hotel again just because the activities were not clearly stated. The reception only gave us the activities for 2 of the 4 days we were there and wherein we book our snorkeling tour no tour guide showed up. We were told to meet at the pool at 11 and we arrived 15 mins early and stood around for 30 mins before we got fed up and left. You have to book activities 24 hours in advanced which I did and was very disappointed to have gone

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-4

    Occidental Papagayo In August

    Reviewed by briannelinton(Detroit, Michigan) on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    It was a wonderful trip with only one major bump in the experience during the check-in process. This resort is gorgeous with some incredible staff, even the buffet food is brag-worthy, let alone the restaurant. We had an amazing time every day; from excursions that the staff will help you choose if you wish, to our time in the pools and an AWESOME spa, to sitting on the central patio listening to a great saxophone player. We recommend this relaxing resort to families and couples.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX