Loreto Bay Golf Resort & Spa at Baja

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Loreto
    5. Loreto Bay Golf Resort & Spa at Baja
    6. Loreto Bay Golf Resort & Spa at Baja review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    D

    The stay at this resort was the worst one we have experienced in over 15 years of travelling. Should be rated at most at 2 stars!!!

    Reviewed by Di on Mar 17, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Friends

    This resort/hotel should NOT be classified as an all-inclusive. We were a group of 7. Our first issue started at the airport with a Transfer Company/WestJet rep who had not ordered a large enough vehicle to accommodate all the travellers - even though a couple were the last people to retrieve their luggage. Eventually the last travellers were taken to the resort. There was no orientation meeting set up for the next day with the rep for any of the travellers - we were left on our own to fend for ourselves. Communication was very limited. Our rooms were ok - clean upon arrival, but services deteriorated over the 7 days of our vacation. There was very little replacement of used towels & facecloths, or used shampoos etc. It took finding the cleaning cart and getting replacements. The view of the rooms did not make up for this lack of service. As for meals - we had booked as all-inclusive but 2 days in, as we tried to order some items of the menu, we were told we were NOT. After finally contacting our Transfer person and discussions with the hotel management, some of the restrictions were lifted. But one menu for lunch and one menu for supper for 7 days is totally inappropriate. As for the service, after our discussion with the management, the service we received was horrible. We were treated like we had been blacklisted! Unexcusable!!! As well, the amenities that were noted in the brochure were not available - sports bar, beach bar, 2 restaurants., beach activities. The resort did not have a lot of customers, so that should have been our first clue! We booked last September for a reasonable price - especially watching the prices increase over the later months. However, for the price we did pay ($3400 per couple) this resort classified as a 4 star is totally out of line! We have travelled as a group for 15 years and this resort is at the bottom of the list.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    S

    Staff was friendly and helpful

    Reviewed by Spike on Jul 09, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    Very pleasant. Beautiful golf course. I would go back again.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 549 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    2 very bad experiences: with the receptionists and their manager and with a waiter

    Reviewed by resan100() on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    The room and the location were ok but we were there in low season and we think in the bars and restaurants was less choice. The period we staid in the hotel we had a pretty good time and thought it was good but later we noticed that some employees are not honest and do not keep their promises. When we arrived in the hotel we booked and paid All Inclusive but after being one day in the hotel we think of the All Inclusive is very expensive for what we get so we went to the reception and asked if it is possible to cancel the All Inclusive or to get discount or so. The people at the reception had to ask the manager and the next morning they told us it was possible to cancel the All Inclusive for the remaining days. So they changed our bracelets and since then we paid all our drinks and food. The people at the reception and manager told us that the money will be returned to our Visa-card and that this can take about two weeks. We staid in the hotel in November and since December we sent a lot of e-mails but we still haven’t received the money and the hotel didn’t give a reaction on the most of the e-mails. The second very bad experience we had was with a waiter of the bar. We were in the restaurant near the swimmingpool and when we would order the waiter asked our roomnumber. They allways do but now he did’t understand the roomnumber and he was going to check something and when he came back he said there was no credit or so and shows us a keycard of a room and said he wanted to have ours to check something and after we gave him our keycard he came back and said it was ok and he returned a keycard and then we could order. After we had eaten and paid we go to our room. The keycard was not working so we went back to the waiter and than he run in the direction of the kitchen and took a keycard out of his own jacket. This card was ours and when we entered the room there was a telephone call. Someone only asked our roomnumber and than disconnected. We didn’t trust it and later that evening I saw that the zippers of our little backpack were not like we had left them and after checking I thought we did not miss anything and I thought my husband had used the zippers. Later that evening we heard someone walking in the corridor and then something touched or knocked on our door. When we looked through the peephole we didn’t see anyone. (The next evening happened the same, I heard someone with a walkie talkie or so and than noise on our door and nobody to see.) Because we didn’t trust it and think the waiter will do it also with other tourist we informed the lady at the reception when we were leaving the hotel. At that moment we thought nothing was stolen from us but when we arrived home and we checked our money we are sure we miss USD 20 en Euro 90. Because we didn’t used that wallet we haven’t noticed that there was stolen a part of our money.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-1

    Great place

    Reviewed by Bobbi789() on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Beautiful, peaceful surroundings. GREAT spa with talented massage therapists. Staff is friendly and personable providing amazing customer service. An abundance of good food, several restaurants to choose from and great entertainment with shows every night. The staff serving you poolside, etc., are the same ones in the night shows.

    A Very Nice Place

    Reviewed by blueskyonetwothree(Portola Valley, California) on Apr 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Loreto Bay is a wonderful, quiet place located 5-6 miles south of town. It is a beautiful hotel,with a nice beach and awesome views. As some have mentioned, the service is a little slow at times at the restaurant, but it should not deter anybody from going there. The rooms were very clean and when I was there the hotel was extremely quiet. The staff was great, the guests were laid back and low key. If you want a great place to just relax, this is a good fit. If you are going to stay there a few days and want to go to town, rent a car. Taxis are costly to town. There are a few restaurants close by and mini market with limited items. But a short drive to town and you can find everything. The hotel does take American $, but does not exchange. You have to go to town to hit an ATM. All very easy....

    Beautiful spot, mostly adequate service.

    Reviewed by Climber25907484233(Tacoma, Washington) on Apr 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Loretto bay is a beautiful spot. However the Service was a bit slow. Hit or miss on friendliness of staff. Breakfast was inconsistent. Pool bar opened at inconsistent times. But the beach and pool were nice and clean. Beautiful area.

    Loreto

    Reviewed by lfzarazua() on Apr 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I wouldn't call it excellent, it was just fine. I wish they had more activities at night(evening) fiesta night, sports night, etc. More variety of food would also help as there is only the restaurant by the pool from 12pm and on.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX