Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    m

    Enjoyed our stay will be back to the holiday inn resort

    Reviewed by moodylg on Dec 11, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    We booked this hotel knowing it is not a 5 star resort but were extremely pleased with our experience the rooms were standard the beds were comfortable and the room was clean. the food was good the a la carte restaurants were better then the buffet. the beaches is what we booked this place for and we were not disapointed at all. the staff cleaned them every morning and throughout the day if needed, the lougners were never in short supply with was great nothing worse then going to the beach and no where to sit. i did enjoy the adult only beach for much of the vacation. only down fall no night club or even anything close to that for the evening.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    J

    Great family resort!!

    Reviewed by Jac - Regina, SK. on Mar 15, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    Stayed at this resort Mar.1-12 with 2 girls aged 9 & 12. Our room could not have been better. We were on the ground floor right beside the pool, so the kids could come and go on their own without us. The room, the public spaces and the grounds were always immaculate. Food at the buffet was good and quite a bit of variety. Food in the Italian restaurant was fantastic. Super close to the airport and a small enough resort that you could see the ocean from every angle. Loved absolutely everything except for the guys that ran the watersports area. For 12 days in a row we would attempt to take out the pedal boats and the catamaran - but the guys working there had the same answer everyday "tomorrow mon". They just couldn't be bothered to get up and do anything. Other than that, no complaints. Great resort for families.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3246 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Solid Hotel, not for fussy people!

    Reviewed by Tom E() on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The hotel is definitely older, not like the contemporary luxe all inclusives that are so pervasive. It does have its charm and really is for families. The island right kff shore is awesome for sunbathing and snorkeling. There is zero concern for breaking waves so its great for kids to be in the water safely. The breakfast and lunch buffet is adequate and they have a good combination of local foods and a selection of more American choices. The restaurants for dinner are top notch, and its not difficult to reserve a table the day before you plan on eating there. Entertainment is varied and...interesting. Steel drum band, another night was a cultural dance event. Every day they have local vendors that sell tourist items safely. You can haggle a bit with them. The kids club is really good for 8 and under. My 12 year old son was ok with it, but the activities werent really for him. Overall, it was a solid 3+ experience and the kids loved it. Don't expect the Ritz and you wont be dissappointed.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    First Time in Jamaica

    Reviewed by Joseph P(Dublin, Ohio) on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My wife and I traveled with another couple and had a fabulous stay. We stayed in building 7 all adult building with an ocean view. The room was clean and fit our needs. There was endless food available from the buffet, barefoot bar, snack hut and the on site restaurants. I highly recommend the Jerk Hut, Jerk at Night and the Japanese restaurant(ask for Kirby). We had access Rosehall lounge on the second floor of building 7. The bartenders Jodi and Teejay were awesome and added to our vacation experience. Overall value and experience of the resort was awesome.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Electric Avenue Part 2.

    Reviewed by AlistairB554(Delta, Canada) on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I stayed at The Holiday Inn from April 13-20 after deciding to switch it from another WestJet All Inclusive Vacation at a 4.5 ?? Resort in Cayo Coco Cuba a few Months back i'm glad I came to HIMB instead of my original choice.I'd say this isn't as fancy as some of The other big Hotels in MB.This said I think it's a good Mid Level/size Resort with some very Friendly & helpful Staff.I wish I could maybe remember all the names still Denroy,Micah and cool Mixologist Kevin at The Main Lobby Bar they all made sure that I always had a few Red Stripe Barley Sandwiches=beers ?? to work on..ha!ha! I like the relax over all vibe of The HA.I could hang out at The Jerk Hut have a few brews and a bit of JC before listening to my music on my Balcony in Room 6302 in The Afternoon & then enjoy a delicious Ala Carte Meal at The Sorrento or The Caribbean Themed Restaurant The Terrace in The Evening.The post card picture setting of that Beach & Bay truly equals Paradise for me! Yah Mon it was a good mellow yellow Trip for me.It may well be a few years before I step foot back in Jamaica again but that Holiday Inn left me with some great photo's & golden memories=good times!

    Jammin in Jamaica

    Reviewed by deebeem007(Jacksonville Beach, Florida) on Apr 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Visited Jamaica for our anniversary and stayed at the Holiday Inn Sunspree resort. We liked that it was not far from the airport. Check in was fine, we roomed in the adult only building and that was great. The room was clean, renovated, and basic. The staff was courteous and professional. Entertainment was pleasant. The beach was wonderful. We enjoyed lounging by the pool. The food and drinks were ok nothing so special, although the jerk hut chicken was delicious I would have liked if they served a coleslaw to help cool down the spicy sauce. We would recommend this resort and this beautiful island to vacationers.

    A fantastic family holiday

    Reviewed by E9113SCcherylr(Jamaica) on Apr 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Check in was smooth and we were brought rum punch and juice over by waitresses during check in which was a nice touch. The room was fairly standard and basic but I had no intention of spending much time in the room other than sleeping and showering. The safe inside the room was annoying as often took 5-10 attempts to open and close it. The beds were very comfortable. Good sized pool with lots of friendly lifeguards on duty who interacted well with the kids. The beach is just a few steps away from the pool, it is lovely and the sea is warm. Lots of options to grab a snack throughout the day and the restaurant is open for a long time during breakfast,lunch and dinner service. Breakfast was always good with lots of choice. I only had lunch once in the main buffet restaurant as my kids preferred to get a hotdog, burger, fries or nachos by the pool most days. Dinner was fine, not always to my personal taste but we are out alot as we didn't want to just stay on the resort. My son loved the kids club and asked to go most days so I often dropped him for a couple of hours in the morning then picked him up and headed to the pool to cool down. This is a really family friendly resort and I plan to return next year. The WiFi is hit and miss in the rooms but works well in the lobby and by the pool. The staff work so hard and despite being so busy are extremely friendly and will always try and accommodate your requests. I was particularly grateful to the staff in the terrace restaurant who cooked fries for my son as he didn't like any of the options on the menu to go with his chicken. My only criticism which is not really the fault of the hotel, but could possibly be helped by more signage. Many children were being left unattended in the pool. On several occasions children who clearly had additional needs approached my family. On two occasions a young child kept stealing my son's ball in the pool and throwing it in the bushes or onto the beach which was very upsetting for my young son. There was no parent around so this continued to happen despite me politely asking the boy to leave my son alone. On another occasion a child who clearly had some communication problems continued to follow me around, wanting me to hold her hand and cuddle her in the pool. Obviously this isn't appropriate and because of the communication issues this continued for most of the afternoon, and at no point did a parent or carer come and find this child. My child has additional needs so I know the challenges these conditions present, however I think parents should be reminded that their children should not be left unattended in the pool. I really enjoyed my stay here, see you next year.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX