Tropicana Inn and Suites

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    J

    Fab location

    Reviewed by Jen on Jun 30, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    We have stayed at many of the more expensive, good neighbour hotels. This is one of our favourites. It's one of the closest hotels to the Disney gates, which makes it perfect for easy access (and walking if you have children). There isn't an actual restaurant onsite, but the Ihop is right next door. The Cove has all kinds of snacks, sandwiches, coffee bar etc. We even picked up some emergency meds for someone who ended up with heat stroke. Forgot suntan lotion? No problem, the Cove has you covered. Also, I love that they lobby well securely store our luggage when we check out. We check out luggage and spend the day playing at Disneyland until we need to head back to the airport. Some people complain that the pool is in the middle of the parking lot, but it's a great size, has a hot tub, and it's clean. We have yet to have a negative experience here.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    T

    Good hotel, clean, staff was good. Pool was cold but the kids didn't mind (it was December).

    Reviewed by Tourney on Mar 06, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    Location is great, right across from the entrance to Disney. We have stayed all over the area, one of the better hotels, and the best value for the short walk (especially if you have children)! This will be our hotel of choice from now on (and it is pretty hard to beat the price as well.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1280 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great location and budget option

    Reviewed by Joseph_Mama(Sherwood, Oregon) on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This was my first time staying here. I’ve stayed in a dozen hotels around Disneyland. This one is no frills, no breakfast, etc. But it is super close to the park, clean, good climate control, and quiet. (Except the garbage truck too early in the morning one morning.) What I want from my hotel is a place to shower and get a good night sleep. This hotel provided that. Good mattresses, pillows, etc. A nice plus was the chair in the room that folds out into a single bed. Linens for it were up in the closet. Very cool addition. We called maintenance once late at night for a toilet clog and they were there within minutes.

    It's For Disneyland Nerds

    Reviewed by DonJulioAnejo(Bay Area, CA) on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    A Disneyland nerd is a mouse-ears-wearing, rope-drop-arriving, stay-until-closing, turkey-leg-eating, social misfit Disneyland visitor who values sleep less than the experience at the park. So we stayed at the Tropicana for one night. The close proximity to the park is its greatest asset. The staff are nice and friendly--no complaints there. But there are issues with the Tropicana. We saw a cucareacha scurrying from the bathroom to under the bed. And it's a motel from the era when Walt was alive, when families drove to Disneyland in their Oldsmobile station wagons and gas was 36 cents a gallon. It's been updated to be sure, but the bones of the building are intact. That means cars are parked a mere four feet outside your room, and loud Disneyland nerds walk past your room as they finish their magical day. The pillows were these small, unsubstantial, gauze-like pockets of polyester fill. If you want to hang your outerwear, you hang it next to the toilet. Extra blanket? It's next to the toilet. Look--it's not bad, but it's not great either. If you're in Anaheim to ride It's a Small World and to dine at the Blue Bayou and you don't care about sleep, the Tropicana's for you.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Great location

    Reviewed by Takako C(Ventura, California) on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I stayed here with my family for 3 nights. Super short walk to Disneyland and California adventure, comfy beds, clean rooms, pool and a hot tub. We were all very satisfied. You can see fire works from the balcony too.

    Exceeded my expectations!

    Reviewed by 713whitneyn() on Aug 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The location is just awesome! After spending all day in the park, it was so nice to have such a short walk back to the room. It was a great value for what we received. The valet was very convenient and the attendants were friendly. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. There was a mini fridge, microwave, and coffee maker in the room. We didn’t get a chance to use the pool, but it also looked very clean and the area around it well maintained. We visited the convenience store onsite and they had everything extra you could possibly need there. The cashier was also super nice, even though the store was quite busy when we went because the park had just closed. Great customer service from everyone we interacted with and a really nice facility! I will definitely be a repeat customer!

    Close to Disneyland. But with a few quirks.

    Reviewed by ericnR1402WA(Mililani, Hawaii) on Aug 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The main selling point of this hotel is the proximity to Disneyland. Its practically across the street. When your exhausted from visiting the park all day and night, its nice to know that all you have to do is walk across the street and your back to your room. The room is nice enough, neatly kept. The staff are friendly. The downside of the room is that where the air conditioner is placed. I've been to hotels with this kind of set up and its always the same. The bed closest to it will be freezing. We managed to move the pull out chair/bed to somewhat block the cold air from blowing right at us. The parking was the most odd thing there. Almost half of the parking is reserved for the valet. The other half is open parking for the guests. When you check in, they make you pay $17.50 a day for the parking. The set up they have is you almost always have to use the valet even if you don't want to because there is nowhere to park it yourself. Of course you have to tip them, so essentially is $17.50 a day for parking plus tip to the valet. Even though your fully capable to do it yourself, but cant because of the reserved valet stalls taking up the parking spaces. I must say though, the valet drivers were very pleasant to deal with and worked hard. So my advice, after you check in, drive to your room, unload the bags and family, then drive around to find parking, if none, bring it back to the front and give it to the valet. Would I stay there again?. mmmm probably.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX