Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    C

    Would definitely stay again!

    Reviewed by Clare on Dec 15, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Service at this hotel was very good. All staff were courteous and very friendly. The cleanliness for me is a big deal and this hotel was great. Though they advertise themselves as a smoke free hotel, it's not really. There were people always smoking at different locations of the hotel and the pool area. The restaurant was very good value and the food was pretty decent with a vast selection for all tastes. This is a bonus $$ for families especially in the universal Disney area. They had all amenities at this hotel. The added value I could see that would add many stars for this hotel would be transportation to Disneyworld. You definitely have to rent a car. I would totally give this hotel a thumbs up and I would stay there again. Its location has great easy access to the highway to head to Disney or to beaches such as Coco Beach. All staff were super accommodating and helpful.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    For a value resort this is a very worthy of any budget and would recommend this resort to anyone.

    Reviewed by Lisa on May 01, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    Loved the reto vibe which is carried throughout the whole resort right into the rooms with the colors, toiletries to the vintage cars parked in the front. There are alot of onsite amenities such as several pools, slides, hot tub, lazy river, bowling alley and a fitness center. The diner is great for your quick meals for the family and lounge at night. Great benefit of the resort is the walking distance to Volcano Bay, being able to walk there but still have access to your room if you forgot anything. I will definately be going back to this resort.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    Loved the reto vibe, family suites were a perfect fit. Great amenities, diner and lounge. For a value resort this is worthy of any budget.

    Reviewed by Lisa on May 01, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    Great Location!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    A

    Great location, spacious rooms, amazing pool

    Reviewed by Alicia on Apr 27, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    I loved everything about this hotel. The family rooms are big and spacious, providing a separate bedroom area and living area with a door. Can sleep a family comfortably. I also loved the location of this hotel, as its only about a 5 minute walk to Volcano Bay. There is only a fast food restaurant and not a sit down. However, it is very easy to get to Universal with their bus system, and there are many restaurants at Universals City Walk. The pool is amazing here with a nice lazy river. The price point is great for what you get as well. I would highly recommend!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    K

    Great location!

    Reviewed by Kelly on Apr 26, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    Great location and a very fun hotel.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    D

    VOLCANO BAY WAS RIGHT BESIDE THE HOTEL!

    Reviewed by DI on Apr 24, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    This hotel was vibrantly colored, spectacular service, breakfast was phenomenal, front desk were really quick at checking us all in at 9pm at night.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    Location, location, location!

    Reviewed by LBW on Apr 24, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    I really liked the nostalgic charms of this hotel. All the decors were in the 50's & 60's including the cafeteria style dining. We were in the family room. It was spacious with a fridge and microwave. Very handy! Location was fantastic because it was a quick walk over to Volcano Bay water park. Close proximity to Universal studios. My only complaint, was it didn't have a full service restaurant. Will return to this hotel.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    E

    Would totally come back !!!

    Reviewed by Ena on Apr 24, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    This is a great value hotel - perfect for families on a budget. Great location ! 3 minutes walk from Volcano Bay - does not get better than this. It is clean and takes you back to a time when life was lots of fun with its 60's theme very well done. Staff wasvery accomodating. Icalled for bell hop service and was told that its not a service offered however here was someone with a luggage cart to our room to help us- thank you for going above.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    A

    Theres always something New to Look at! 50's Decor!

    Reviewed by ACSl8ter on Apr 24, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    This place was so great for what was paid for my trip here. The Family suite I was in, was huge, had a kitchen including plates and utensils. The Bay Diner was easy to grab a meal, the cost was fairly affordable as well. Theres a Starbucks in the main part of the hotel as well, which was kinda cool. Very retro, all the fabrics and decor of the 50's. Was like a blast from the past. The only things I would suggest could be better was the bath towels were the size of hand towels. They need to get larger towels as I had to use all 4 of the ones I had in my room for the one shower. The other thing I would suggest they do something about was the fan for the shower. It would be good to have a fan that works in the shower, I cant imagine the humidity would destroy the paint and it would be nice if sneaky stinky smells dont creep out from the seperate bathroom where theres no fan. Regardless of the two issues that could have made this trip better, Volcano Bay is RIGHT next door! No need to get on a transfer. So easy to get there. I really liked the idea of the magnet do not disturb signs as its frustrating when those signs blow away from your door. There was easy pick up to Universal or any of the Disney Parks. Overall, it was an amazing trip and stay. Those things were minor compared to the Wowness factor of how close Cabana was to Volcano Bay. The Decor was awesome, the bed very comfy and I dont think I saw one speck of dust there. Would Definetly be BACK!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    A

    I LOVE MY STAY . I DEFINITELY WILL COMEBACK . THE HOTEL HAS GREAT AMENITIES AND CLOSE TO VOLCANO BAY WITH EARLY ADMISSION TO IT

    Reviewed by ANAYAZELIN on Apr 24, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    A GREAT HOTEL . LOTS OF CHOICES FOR FOOD .HOTEL PERFECT FOR FAMILIES .

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 20363 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Comfortable, clean and amazing customer service!

    Reviewed by douglaswise1978(Packwood, Iowa) on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Great stay. We all slept wonderfully! It was very clean and had wonderful customer service. I went to the desk a total of 5 times with going to front, ticket, and luggage desk. Everyone was extremely helpful.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Great service, great fun.

    Reviewed by Templar00() on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    To be honest Cabana bay totally over exceeded my expectations. We, a family of four with two teenage boys!, booked a standard room. The room was clean, tidy and presentable and cleaned up every single day which after a hot and tiring day at the parks was a welcome relief. We always used the lazy river side pool which my boys absolutely loved and looked forward to getting back to, and a massive well done must go to the lifeguards who are constantly monitoring every section with due diligence. One moan would be that I wish the lazy river was actually lazy, to many racing and timing themselves around it, I'm getting older!!! I also loved the feel of the sand section around the pool, makes it feel un-pool like. Sadly on returning from a fantastic day at universal our room air conditioning had broke and soaked a section of our room, I didn't want to move as we were in a great section of the hotel, it's a very big complex. We trudged down to reception not looking forward to what we thought would be the struggle ahead to move. We explained to the girl behind the desk, so sorry that I forgot her name, and she was fantastic. Not only did we get to stay in the same section but we were moved to the room next door which really helped with moving our stuff. We also received a fifty dollar food token to apologise which was a much appreciated and decent thing to do. If you have a family and on a budget choose Cabana bay, it is fun, clean and decent. Well done to all at Cabana bay, especially reception, maintenance, the lifeguards and cleaning as you all helped in our stay and create life long happy memories.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Summer get away

    Reviewed by darwhalen() on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Just came back from a week at your resort, we are seasoned travelers to the area and have stayed at resorts all over the Orlando.The resort was great, pool was great, great food and lazy river also fun. Plenty of pool lounges and umbrellas available. We do know the summer brings daily storms so we know what to expect I do wish the resort had more things to do when the pool has to close. One bean bag toss for 25-30 kids just isn’t enough. Yes there is the bowling alley and arcade but that’s extra Money. I think you could add a few more “lighting time “ activities we would give this place a 5*!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Great hotel for kids!

    Reviewed by Noraneal(Bayonne, NJ) on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We were a family of 15- 8 adults and 7 kids. We loved this hotel. The pool was open until 11:00 with life guards. It was great to be able to cool off after coming back from the parks. My grandchildren loved the slide and the lazy river. Even after paying for Express Pass, this was still a cheaper option than the Lowe's hotels. The only reason I did not give it a five is the bus that brings you back and forth from Universal parks is too crowded. We did use the walkway one night to get home and that was a great option. I just wish the hotel was connected to the boats that go back to the parks.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Many disappointments.. lack of customer service

    Reviewed by angiei2014(Wisconsin) on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Taking the shuttle to City Walk, no one announces where you go or what you need to do. Of the 12 or so times we took the shuttle, only one driver announces you need to go upstairs through security to just get into City Walk. From City Walk you then use your park tickets for park entry. And good luck finding the shuttle when you return from City Walk. Our room lock battery failed twice during our week stay, this was more times than our room was cleaned. Nothing from the staff to offset the inconvenience of being locked out of our room. We returned from the parks around 3/4 pm only to find our room was not cleaned again that day. The crumbs left in the hallway from the previous guests were there all week. The express pass system creates a two-class system for park guests and a great disadvantage to those who didn’t spend enough to get one. Disney’s system is better and rewards all of their resort guests, not just the ones spending $1,000’s more. The meal plan was not signed very well at all. The child’s meal and snacks were not indicated on the menus. What counts as a snack seemed to be at the whim of the cashier. A fruit bowl at Today Cafe was a snack, but a fruit bowl at Volcano Bay was not. A $7.99 butter beer was a snack/beverage, butthe $7.49 bottle of pumpkin juice was not, makes no sense. The food was good at the parks, but using the meal plan was problematic. They gave us a meal card for each person, why not give us the option to just put it all on one card. Be prepared to carry lots of cards! Everything is a separate card, room key card, meal plan card, and a paper park ticket card! Real high tech ??

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-1

    Service

    Service-1

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX