Disney's Grand Floridian Resort and Spa

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 5259 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Wonderful hotel

    Reviewed by 531katrinar(Aventura, Florida) on Aug 18, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I love this hotel. We love to stay there around Christmas - with all the decorations and the giant Gingerbread House. Love their gift shop. The convenience of the monorail can’t be beat. It’s also so nice to watch fireworks from the hotel window or the courtyard. The staff is amazing. The cleaning staff arranged the kids toys on the bed into fairy tale scenes. Kids were mesmerized. Literally every little touch in this hotel adds to Disney Magic.

    Is One of my Favorite Hotels in the World, But---

    Reviewed by Robert D(Pinehurst, North Carolina) on Aug 09, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The Grand Floridian is one of those luxurious and charming hotels that immediately puts you into this uplifting frame of mind every time you see it or walk into the lobby. To me, at this place, you can feel or sense the magic of Disney. Our family has been staying there, or in the Villas next door, off and on over the past 24 years. Sadly, that wonderful experience I alluded to has now rapidly declined. Here's why. Once you book your stay, it is impossible to speak to a Front Desk Manager and Assistant General Manager by phone. I tried unsuccessfully several times. They are now insolated from outside callers. It seems you have to be on property in order to talk to someone within management. Making matters worse, in an apparent cost-making initiative ("Customer-last" approach), there is no longer a Concierge Desk to help guests navigate their way throughout their stay. Instead, the GF has contracted an off-site customer service staff without the same knowledge or situational awareness as we previously found with the Lobby Concierge Staff. Trust me, I received bad information from them prior to my stay. Oh yeah, the off-site Customer Services Supervisor won't pick up the phone or return calls. To make matters worse, the GF GM repositioned the in-house band from the 2nd floor to the area vacated by the Concierge or Customer Service area. Someone truly missed the "good idea cut-off point" by putting a loud, raucous Ragtime Band in the lobby area. Now, instead of soaking in the serene beauty of the GF lobby, having a place to quietly read a book or WDW brochures, privately talking to family members, or quietly awaiting your room to be ready after a long, tiring drive you are bombarded by the irritating, but well-intended and talented, band. General Manager, what were you thinking?! Let's reverse the process and restore some sanity. Only then, will the GF be that special resort our family loves so dearly.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-3

    Hidden Disney Theming Everywhere

    Reviewed by DisneyFamilyMadness(Tamworth, Australia) on Jul 20, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    'Grand Floridian' - Walt Disney World Super Deluxe Category - High around $600 usd a night (we used our Annual Pass and received 35% off) Transportation boat, monorail and bus. Currently they are building a walking path to the Magic Kingdom. We paid for a 'Garden View' but were upgraded to a Deluxe Water view Water View Room sleeps 5 - 2 Queen Beds and 1 Day Bed This is a huge resort! We have stayed here a couple of times in both regular rooms or DVC, and for a week on our last visit. Dining here you will find * Cítricos * Narcoossee's * Victoria & Albert's * Victoria & Albert's Dinner Queen Victoria Room * 1900 Park Fare -Supercalifragilistic Breakfast -Cinderella’s Happily Ever After Dinner -Wonderland Tea Party * Garden View Tea Room * Grand Floridian Cafe * Enchanted Rose * Gasparilla Island Grill * Beaches Pool Bar & Grill * Courtyard Pool Bar * Disney Resorts Private Dining Recreation * 2 Pools * Mad Hatter themed splash pad * Pool Side Cabanas Rentals * Speciality Cruises * Fishing * Basketball Courts * Resort Campfire Activities * Movie Under the Stars * Motorised Boat Rentals * Jogging paths * Daily Yoga Here you will find high end luxury all the way, hidden mickeys and Disney themed everything you just need to look. Beautifully themed gardens everywhere. There is a lot to see and do. Christmas time they have a huge Gingerbread house and Christmas Tree (anyone can come at night and have amazing pictures...with the best looking Santa you will ever see wearing lush robes). The beds are super soft, Disney Towel animals from Mousekeeping and room service. Every morning a basket is left at your door with clean linen. We leave $1 dollar per person to tip the Mousekeepers who are fabulous. Each building has its own name and fresh themed flowers in the lobby. The Quick Service food is 24 hours and faces the Magic Kingdom night time fireworks. Some people with wine and cheese making the most of a free option to watch and they also pipe in the music from Magic Kingdom. Recently the 3rd Bibbidi Bobbidi Boutique has opened here, you can see it in the pictures. It is only small with 4 chairs, however it does not have the noise :) If going here have breakfast or Dinner at 1900 Park Fare. We stayed here for Christmas back in 2014 in a 1 Bedroom Villa facing Magic Kingdom. This room sleeps 5, we did have 6 people, however children under 3 are not counted. This hotel we classify as 'super deluxe' it is simply amazing and high end all the way. Pros - It is on the monorail line, the Mad Hatter themed pool, many places to eat, free music entertainment in the main lobby, high end rooms at the villas, 1900 Park Fare Character Restaurant, boats to Magic Kingdom, Magic Kingdom fireworks from the boat dock, Christmas time they build a giant ginger bread house, Easter time deluxe art chocolate eggs, and you receive exceptional service. Tip ask for a high room when you check in online. Con - There is really only 1, the price :/ however if you steer clear of Christmas and peak times (when the rooms generally double in price) you can rent DVC Points that can make the price more bearable. If you are going to do a DVC Studio Villa you MUST book it 11 months out to get the cheaper price and availability they book out first, around $300 usd a night. #lovedisney #grandfloridian #takemymoney #disneyfamilymadness

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Nice stay, but some problems

    Reviewed by yonkerskid(yonkers new york) on Jul 13, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I've visited Disney World many times with my family, but I've only stayed at the Grand Floridian, in 2008, 2012, 2015 and 2019. My first two stays were in the main building club level, my 2015 stay was in Boca Chica (no club level) and my recent stay last August 2019, was in the Sugar Loaf Club level. The Grand Floridian has club levels in the main building and in the sugar loaf building which is right next to the main building but you have to walk outside to it. Forgive me if I flashback a little and this review is about my 2019 stay but the flashback is necessary to give my review context. In 2008 and 2012 when we stayed club level in main building, we were greeted off the magical express and taken straight to our rooms around 10:30 AM. All club level rooms I'm informed have priority housekeeping, so this did not surprise us. Our 2015 stay was a standard room with no concierge so there was a bit of a wait but no big deal. However for my 2019 vacation, I decided to take a splurge and try the Sugar Loaf club level, which we had been told was very nice. When we arrived at about 10 am we were greeted off the magical express bus and taken to the Sugar Loaf building. (We first asked if we could be upgraded to the main building, as occasionally if there are available rooms the Grand Floridian will upgrade guest, we were told the hotel was fully booked so it wasn't possible) After asking for the upgrade, which to be honest we didn't expect to get given the hustle and bustle of the August travel season, we were then told our room was not ready, which we were surprised at because as I mentioned earlier club level rooms have housekeeping priority. So we went to use the pool, which is great at the Grand Floridian and then we came back around 1:30 and were told the room still wasn't ready. Again we were puzzled. We then asked again at 3 and were told it still wasn't ready and that check in time wasn't till 4. We mentioned to the concierge in the building (one of the perks of club level other than the free food is the concierge in your building) that we had stayed at the Grand Floridian many times and never experienced this, and they said there was nothing they could do. We then asked to speak to the manager and we were told that would not be possible (this wasn't the concierge's fault, they even seemed frustrated by the slow service and I assume they were only instructed by the hotel not to let guests speak to administrative staff). Eventually we got our room and settled in. The next few days of our stay the housekeeping was equally as slow, we then began to realize that there was limited housekeeping staff (again being frequent guests we noticed this). It seems they tried to economize and the consequence being slow service. This is not what we expected at the Grand Floridian, the most expensive Disney hotel on any of their properties in the world and our room was 630 dollars a night (usually it's more but we got a sale). On the issue of the club level, it's great to have breakfast in the morning, especially if you have small children, afternoon snacks are provided, along with delicious appetizers in the evening, which are filling enough to serve as your dinner. The hotel was beautiful and two great pools that we always love. Monorail stop too, which is great for families. The concierge in our building were extremely friendly and great to have conversations with. I would come back, but I suggest they fix their issue with staff hopefully they did before COVID-19 shut them down and hopefully the service will be good when they reopen. If you get lucky you may be sitting next to a celebrity at the pool or in the lobby. I met Kevin Jonas and his family in the courtyard pool. Many celebrities stay here with family and even occasionally foreign royalty who are visiting. Grand Floridian is known for VIP guests, so you may get lucky.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-3

    Always Grand

    Reviewed by 899sandit(Fort Lauderdale, Florida) on Jun 29, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This is the hotel you stay in when you want to feel spoiled and have everything at your fingertips . Close to everything and wonderful food options . It’s gorgeous at Christmas too . I love having the monorail moments away to go back and forth . .