Excellence Punta Cana

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 17994 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Bait and Switch Booking

    Reviewed by 316mallorym() on Mar 27, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I stayed at this resort before several years ago and had a great experience. I liked it so much that we were planning to go again in May 2021. Their website allowed me to book, but I received an email about a week later that the Excellence Punta Cana will not be open until July 1st, 2021 and we've been moved to the Excellence El Carmen, a different resort in a different location on the island. The Excellence Punta Cana website is still taking reservations for before July 1st, when they report to be closed. Do not book here or you will be moved to another resort without any indication of what kind of room you will have. This is a total bait-and-switch scam.

    An awful experience before we even got there

    Reviewed by JohnJJJJJ(Denver, Colorado) on Mar 27, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    In late fall of 2020, I booked a week at this resort for April 2021. I received a generic email less than 2 weeks before my departure that stated they would not be opening until July 2021: "At Excellence Punta Cana, we are thrilled to let you know that we will reopen our doors and resume operations on July 1, 2021. We understand that this date affects your existing reservation, John. However, there is no need to worry! The sister resort, Excellence El Carmen, is located just five minutes away and can automatically accommodate you for your upcoming stay. All you need to do is update your stay information. To update your stay, contact Vacations by Excellence via our customer service portal, or call us at 1-417-520-5694." and also in the fine print: "An equivalent suite category will be assigned prior to arrival." No one at Vacations by Excellence even knew what was going on. They could not contact anyone at the actual hotels to confirm this change and told me to try to call the hotel myself. I was able to contact some kind of service member at Excellence Resorts and they said they will not help me and told me to call the Vacations by Excellence. No one actually knew what was going on and no one took any accountability. After 3 days, 5 different service reps, 0 call-backs or email replies, one person knew how to transfer my stay to Excellence El Carmen, but a comparable room was not even available and then they still couldn't contact the hotels to complete the transfer. I spent 8-10 hours on hold on the phone with various people just to get nowhere. In the end, I realized I didn't even want to deal with them any longer or Excellence El Carmen, which "modern" appearance reminds me of a prison, and I canceled and booked elsewhere. I understand that COVID-19 has disrupted everyone's lives and businesses, but we're one full year into this, so there is no longer an excuse for such disorganization and never an excuse for the lack of consideration for the customer.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-1

    Avoid this resort - financial scam!

    Reviewed by JMLMD(Columbia, South Carolina) on Nov 15, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I booked a room, which was cancelled by the hotel for COVID reasons (they delayed the date they were opening) - less than 24 hours after taking the payment out of m account. Very sketchy. When I called about the refund after days of trying to get someone to answer, they told me it would take at least 30 days for my refund. After 60 days with no refund, I had to file a credit card dispute to get the refund. This business practice guarantees I’ll never stay at an excellence-owned resort. Avoid this resort so you don’t get scammed too.

    THIS IS A SCAM

    Reviewed by gxggx(New York City, New York) on Oct 20, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Excellence contacted us to tell us they were moving our vacation and we could no longer go the week we had our flights booked for. They then proceeded to CHARGE MY CREDIT CARD even though when we booked it clearly stated we would not be charged until check in. I have now been on hold for over an hour. DO NOT BOOK WITH THIS COMPANY. It is a scam. I am livid. I will be contacting my credit card company to void these charges.

    Excellence is not a worthy description.

    Reviewed by yourrrs(london uk) on Oct 09, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Whilst I have had so many good experiences in the past in Mexico PM Excellence it is a bit stale. So thought we would try the Dominican for a change. Oh dear we wish we didnt. Rooms are not to standard, very cheap and not comfortable. We had a swim up Pool club suite. Nah, not in the same league. Staff are ok but thats it. Food was just again ok except for the Steakhouse which was really good. Only 3 choice of restaurants a night ?? And portions were on the snall side. Bars?? Again very poor and staff overworked so no smiles. Best part was the Excellence Club Restaurant overlooking the beach. Breakfast was in here everyday but after day 4 you’d of completed the whole menu. We had Lobster one night which was the size of your thumb. So we had room service as soon as we got back as we were starving. I think it is tired and wouldn't return We thought it was an ok 3-4 star hotel at best and the food at best 3 star. Not what you pay top Dollar at the Excellence