Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    S

    We will not be recommending our vacation to family or friends.

    Reviewed by Sfacey on Feb 24, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    My wife and I booked a trip to this location last minute after doing some research. We were completely underwhelmed by the resort and how we were treated once we arrived. After arriving, we were hearded into a room rather than checking in. Getting to the room 3 hours after expecting to, the room was unclean and the A/C was not working properly. We had maintenance in our room every day for a number of issues. The A/C was leaking, the toilet handle broke off the toilet, the shower was lined with mould etc. The grounds were well kept but the size was very overwhelming. With 3,000 people at the resort, it didn't feel like an intimate vacation. The food didn't vary from night to night, the entertainment was lacking and the overall communication with staff was difficult. I will not be recommending this resort or this experience I had with Westjet Vacations. Our luggage was returned damaged which we are currently sorting through, so overall a very poor vacation.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    S

    A week in paradise...We would go back in a heartbeat!!

    Reviewed by Sandy on Aug 01, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    We travelled as a couple for Easter Break and we were very impressed with this hotel! I e-mailed ahead of time to let them know it was the first time my husband and I travelled as a couple in the 27 years we were together. I also requested a specific room and a la carte preferences for our time there. We got the room of our choice and as a surprise, the hotel had an anniversary banner across our room door, balloons in our room, a fruit basket, a bottle of rum as well as t-shirts and slippers! It certainly was a most pleasant surprise! We also got our reservations as requested for the a la cartes. The hotel is massive but easy enough to get around on the shuttles that are constantly going by. The hotel was extremely busy during this time of year, but we didn't feel the service lacked because of it. There were many pools to swim in, but we preferred the beach. It was wonderful! Although there is quite a bit of seaweed in the water which washes ashore, the workers clean the beach daily so it wasn't a problem. As for the drinks, I've had better at other hotels but they were okay. The shows were good but we did find there was limited seating with such a huge crowd. It is important to note that the hotel share amenities with 5 of the Bahia Hotels that are connected on the property. You are distinguished by the colour of bracelet you wear. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. We would definitely go back!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    P

    Incredible

    Reviewed by Paul on May 23, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    Thank you to Westjet Vacations and especially Giselle at this hotel. Everything was great. Giselle was there to answer any questions we had. Food at buffet and restaurants was great. Excursions Scape Park and Bavaro Splash were awesome. Resort was exceptionally clean, no bugs, lots of everything great. The pools were great however the beach was the highlight. Thank you for the wonderful vacation.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    B

    EXCELLENT

    Reviewed by BIG JIM, Tbay on Jun 04, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Very nice BUT spoil yourself stay at the AMBAR adults only same price more options EXCELLENT TIME THERE

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    D

    Love the Bahia...feels like home when I'm there!

    Reviewed by Dartmouth on May 17, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2014

    Trip Type: Friends

    Been there four times and would not hesitate to go back. Very big complex but never felt overly crowded or had to wait in lines for anything. Lots of choice and variety with food so there is always something excellent to eat. I also trust the food which is one of the reasons I go back. Beach can be a bit crowded at times but I've always managed to find a good spot. Love that long beautiful beach...one of the few times I find I can sit for hours and do absolutely nothing. Rooms are okay...not in them much anyway...I am are on vacation so I am at the beach early in the morning.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    J

    this is not a 5 star resort but rather a 3.5 star at best... very disappointed and misleading :(

    Reviewed by JP on Feb 19, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    We booked this trip last minute and in hindsight, should have looked into each resort in a little more detail and asked a few more questions before deciding. For this trip however and consideration of the rating and a couple reviews on TripAdvisor; we booked our stay at the Bahia Principe Bavaro. Note: there are 3 main areas that make up the Bahia Principe in Punta Cana Luxury, Bavaro and Turquesa . First comment; don’t be fooled by the STAR ratings... Although the claim is that this is a 5 star resort, having traveled a few places in the Caribbean and elsewhere, we would not classify this as such. The Luxury area within might meet the 5 STAR rating, however we did not stay there so we are unable to comment on this part of the resort. Having hung out at both the Bavaro and Turquesa all week however, we would rate them no more than a 3.5 STAR. We will give a snapshot for those not wanting to read the lengthy details… 1. Beach is nice, people are relatively friendly and helpful 2. Rooms were good size and clean, service if required to rooms was very prompt 3. The Bavaro and Turquesa areas in our opinion are not for foodies of ANY level nor kid-less young people 20-45 looking for a fun and exciting group or couple trip either to party or relax ; most of the attendees were families or older couples that appeared not to vacation much 4. The food offerings were very mediocre at best, if you are a relatively healthy eater you’ll find the food limited and full of sugar, deep fried or processed which for us wasn’t the food of a 5 star rated resort. And nothing offered to dress it up…no hot sauce only tabasco which you had to ask for and limited variety of sauces, dips or toppings in any of the pool or beach areas. More of these were available at the large buffet…but who wants to travel all the way to the lobby when you’re at the beach… 5. This is a VERY large hotel with tonnes of people, many days it was more like a cattle drive

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    B

    Excellent

    Reviewed by Beach Couple on Jan 14, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    2ND time to this resort , great service and staff are so appeasing and so polite , hotel is so clean and modern ........ only issue we had was the WFI ....... connection is off and on but hey! who needs internet when you got the sun , beach and a drink ,, west jet was and is the best value to book thru and fly with

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 11454 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Dom Rep Shame

    Reviewed by Keith S() on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Arrived at the Hotel and was upgraded to the adult side, good start. Shown to our room and things went downhill from there. We asked for our room to be fumigated after my wife suffered from Mosquito bites, which we thought had come from outside but after talking to the rep it was more than likely they where in our room from the start. The air conditioning unit failed on the second day and leaked water onto the light switch. Maintenance did arrive promptly and repaired it. Food in the restaurants was mediocre to say the least and the lunch time buffet was dismal. Evening entertainment was poor and we often went round to the family side. Trying to get a drink at the minute bar on the adult side was an experience. It really helped if you could order in Spanish otherwise you were ignored, unlike the the family side were the staff were very helpful. The beach was small but clean and tidy. Outside the resort there are a few shops, bowling alley and a burger bar open after 10pm for late night snacks. Will not return, shame as the brochure looked spectacular.

    First time

    Reviewed by Kmac346() on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    This was my first trip to Punta Sana. My parents had stayed here 9 years ago with good experiences. Our room was not ready until after check in but staff were attentive to providing us with a second floor king room by the beach. They said we could keep our luggage In a room to wait but instead had to leave it in the lobby. They have an app for booking a la cartes which was convenient but they were booked very quickly. I definitely recommend contacting the resort and booking your a la cartes before you arrive. The rooms were very dated and we found cockroaches and hair. The bar was only restocked when we left a generous tip. The beds were uncomfortable. The bath room was very big a did a lovely Jacuzzi tub. Our toilet wouldn't flush sometimes, definitely in need of renovations. With it being s large resort, the trolley carts to get around were helpful . We only got to spend one day at the beach because it was way over crowded. The bars were not very accessible on the beach. We enjoyed the swim up bars in the pools. We found the pools between bavaro and Punta cana were quieter and easier to find chairs during the day. We enjoyed the music in the lobby every evening and having a waitress order your drinks from your table was very convienent. The food was good at the buffet. A little confusion behind what buffets or restaurants we could attend. I think further outline of this could help with the resort being so big. Overall, I would consider returning if the rooms were to be renovated.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    The absolute worst

    Reviewed by namastenomi(St. Ann's Bay, Jamaica) on Mar 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Went here for my birthday. The room was clean. The bell hops were friendly , the maid that cleaned our room was delightful. A man named Edgar in the main dining room was friendly. The salad at the Italian restaurant was great. The food at the Italian restaurant was the best of all the restaurants I tried. There is absolutely no information given about how things are done. You are given your key and turned loose on a gigantic property. Through dumb luck we found where to get towels. The guest services promised that my room would be decorated for my birthday it was not. Safe did not work in room. The food was not good, mislabeled mostly imported. We went to the BBQ grill which is an a la carte restaurant. Was first to get the steak. It looked like steak, smelled like steak but the texture was not steak it was jelly. Couldn’t eat it, it was that bad. At the Asian restaurant the salmon was left sitting out unrefrigerated and then it was over cooked. I didn’t try it because I was afraid. The chicken was ok. There is little effort into presenting the food in the buffets with flair and food is mislabeled. Not just once in a while but every meal 2-3 items this could be a problem for people with allergies or if they haven’t tried something. They had sushi with pink rice and yellow rice. Sandwiches for the American night was pink and green it was odd looking. The gala night in the buffet was good lots of shellfish. Chairs at the pool or beach? Good luck get up early if you want one. There are signs everywhere that you can’t reserve but people do and what is sadder they don’t show up at all. I saw it many days. The beach is greatly overcrowded. Tipping... it’s an all inclusive you may tip if you want but many people wouldn’t help you without a tip and there was even a tip jar on the lobby bar. If you want premium alcohol you have to pay I knew that going in and there is a price list. I was charged a different price every time and it took 15 minutes to get change because I didn’t have exact change. They had pina colada’s in pineapples on their Independence Day however the man wouldn’t let any of us have any we had to wait 3 minutes. They were all made. Didn’t see the logic in making us wait. Someone entered our room without knocking or announcing themselves. Don’t know why because when they saw us the quickly left. Expressed some concerns and got a call from the front but they had no one that spoke my language to help resolve the issue. My friend fell while there because there was no sign out up for wet floor two staff helped them up but nobody checked to see if they were ok. There was blood coming out of them that was visible. Time share hit up while waiting for the trolley a young lady bugged us about a time share. I’m on vacation I don’t want to be asked to attend a presentation. My partner went and they wanted 15,000 plus 595 a year. Plugs didn’t hold chargers very well, kept falling out or not charging. Very poorly lit rooms. Gift shops sell counterfeit purses which it is illegal to bring them into the U.S. They have vendors that come in two nights a week that are rude and harass you to look at their stuff. I would not recommend this hotel at all. I wouldn’t go back even if they paid me. It is grossly mismanaged with terrible food. After reading others review that stayed recently I see I wasn’t the only one that experienced disappointment on so many levels

    Unsafe Resort- Bad Customer Service

    Reviewed by Sue M(Dayton, Ohio) on Mar 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I have never given a bad review so I feel very strongly about this. This resort has some dangerous issues they need to resolve and some customer service issues they should address. I won't even discuss the poor quality of the food. I was injured due to what I believe to be negligence on the part of the resort. An area with almost no lighting and a sharp drop off that was not visible turned a walk back to my room into a nightmare! My vacation was ruined shortly after I arrived. I suffered a broken foot and they thought they were generous to lend me a wheelchair and put me in a ground floor room. NOTHING except the payment for their own on site clinic (paid only if I signed a liability waiver- so I refused) was offered to make up for the injury or ruined vacation and extra expenses I incurred at the hospital or the follow up once I returned home! Worse yet, this has happened to others and they have yet to fix the problem. I've tried to work with their Customer Service to no avail .STAY AWAY!!!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-3

    Honeymoon went wrong!

    Reviewed by Oksana S() on Mar 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    This is the first and the last time we stayed at this resort. ROOM: The room was big but not clean. I have found stains on the cover and hair in our bathroom. When we checked up in our Honeymoon room we had 2 beds!!! Happy honeymoon! So we had to change the room. And when we requested to speak with the manager at the front desk, we were denied at that right. During our stay we didn’t have a refill for the shampoo and conditioner. So I had to tip the cleaning lady and ask for extra. (And we were leaving tips every single day for for). The room key never worked, we had to go back to the front desk and activate it every single day. FOOD: The quality and quantity of food disappointed us so much. This was the biggest shock. How come there is no shrimp, no sea food? I understand that they don’t offer steak or meat, but seafood? The quality of food amazed me too. For me it looks like whatever they had left from the previous day dinner, they have mixed it in the salad for the next day lunch, no joking. We ate (corn!) pizza and rise mostly. Not bad for a vacation? RESTAURANTS: The restoraunts: you can only pick three of them for the duration of 7 days, but all of them were booked ahead of time, and I am not mentioning that you have to wait 30-40 minutes for the guest service rep to assist you. Japanese restaurant with the show was the only thing that I was excited about, you kidding, it was booked for 7 days ahead, so if you come for 6 days you have no choice and you got stuck with the buffet. ALCOHOL: Alcohol was ok, nothing special. Plenty of sweet drinks with Rom. No corona, no jack. Only their liquor. STAFF: The main reason why we would never suggest this resort is the staff, the employees of the resort. I have been to the Dominican Republic numerous times before, and I have never felt so mistreated. Bartenders, weigtheresess, front desk personal are very slow, rude, and not caring to help you. I am not even taking about the cart drivers. They are always on the phone while driving around the resort, they stop for you 4 out of 10 times and they are never friendly. We have never felts so disrespected (and we were tipping everyone!). BEACH: The water is very nice and clean and warm. Planning to go to the beach after 10 am, please, there is no space and no chairs to sit on. Plus, locals are bothering you constantly trying to sell stuff. POOL: They have couple of locations. Clean pool. However, very busy, no seats available if you come after 10-11 am. The pool closes at 5:30 and they ask everybody to leave. The most thing that shocked me if you loose a towel, you have to pay $10. And one day we planned to go on the excursion, so after the pool I went to the lady to grab a dry towel but she refused to help us and we had to go next daywith wet towels because there were no dry ones and nobody could help us. Entertainment: Entertainment was nice. You had plenty of options on what to do. Dancing, show, disco. Environment: The resort was overcrowded. So many people were staying at the hotel, that it was hard to find a seat on the beach, by the pool, by the bar, or at the lobby to enjoy some live music. And don’t get me started on the bars. So, I would not recommend this resort for someone who is looking for a quality vacation with good food, nice drinks and exceptional service. I think it’s perfect for the spring breakers or travelers who doesn’t stay at the hotel all of the time.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX