Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    F

    we love the stay so much we'll be going back!!

    Reviewed by First vacation on Jan 08, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    My wife and myself needed to get away from it all and had a great time taking excursions to do some zip lines and to hang out with some very cool monkeys . The people were great very friendly and at the very last night they put together a very romantic bath outside for my wife and me to enjoy.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    W

    A beautiful resort

    Reviewed by Westjet Honeymooners on Aug 14, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: August 2016

    Trip Type: Honeymoon

    Overview: The Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana Resort is fairly close to the airport, about 25 minutes. The staff at the resort were welcoming and always willing to help. The hotel is kept clean and its evident by the amount of staff dedicated to maintenance and cleanliness. The entertainment team truly do their best to entertain, and the evening shows are overall pretty fun and interesting. Throughout the day you can participate in fun activities, however, you have to make the effort to find someone involved with the entertainment team. A couple of times they were on the beach promoting the event, but otherwise they hang around the pool. The beach area is well maintained with two seating areas, one with palm trees and the other with huts. Plenty of space is available at both sections. That being said, people do reserve spots with their towels, since you can get unlimited towels, people tend to take several towels and reserve spots near the pools and spots at the beach. It is not uncommon to see an empty spot reserved for the entire day with nobody using it, the resort needs to rectify this issue. Our experience: The hotel forgot it was our honeymoon so we had no special treatment until I mentioned it to them, they rectified the problem immediately and provided us with breakfast in bed and a banner on our door displaying it was our honeymoon which was torn down by someone likely drunk that night. The hotel replaced everyone's banners in our hall except for ours, at this point we didn't care. For people concerned about mosquitoes and zika, the hotel takes this issue seriously and sprays the grounds every night. We had seen a few mosquitoes, one was in our room on check-in, but overall, its not bad at all. We sprayed repellent only at night. The food was disappointing for a 5 star resort. With all the restaurants and options, the food quality was just not what you would expect from a luxury resort. Overall, good experience and the people are excellent.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 12530 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Friends & Couples Trip

    Reviewed by Hannah H() on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    6 friends and I stayed here for a week this August! We were so blown away by the service of the wait staff by the pool and how we were treated like royalty. - The Spa is soo nice! We took advantage of our hydrotherapy sessions! The Sauna, Steam Room and cycles of water massages were so relaxing and a great detox. - Drinks from the bar all tasted excellent - Service in Oceana was spotty but the other restaurants had great service - Our room was located really near to the pool and that was SO convenient when we spent the days there and could easily access our room from the back door. - Through a friend’s travel membership we got the Preferred Service and personally I think it’s worth it! Our Butler Elvis was excellent in helping us get into restaurants as a large group and giving us helpful tips about things to do and who to talk to. The Preferred breakfast lounge was so quiet and the food was excellent. We also got 3 free hydrotherapy sessions. Well worth it! - We did the Saona Island Excursion through the Now Larimar hotel next door because it was nearly half the price that Secrets offered. That trip was just okay... a 1.5 hour bus ride to the other side of the island followed by a 2 hour boat ride to the island. Once we got to the island it was excellent! But the “snorkeling” wasn’t exactly what we expected and definitely didn’t expect that long of a boat ride. However, since we did book through the other hotel that shouldn’t be a reflection of Secrets. Their excursion was twice as expensive and we probably would’ve had a better experience. - Room Service was timely whenever we asked that something be done. - Would absolutely recommend this resort to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation.

    Kids Secrets 2019

    Reviewed by JoeMaMa2014(Macomb Township, Michigan, United States) on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The resort was very well kept (even while under renovations), associates are very helpful, pleasant and always smiling. Our room was very nice, housekeeping did a great job morning and night! Able to walk around entire grounds, not too big. Entertainment group did a great job and shows were very entertaining. Had dinner in the wine cellar and enjoyed very much, particularly our host Jose R!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Amazing Stay at Secrets

    Reviewed by littletraveller11(Kitchener, Canada) on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was our 5th time to Punta Cana, and the first time staying at this resort. We were upgraded from the Now Larimer to Secrets Royal Beach for our anniversary and we’re given the swim-up pool room, all thanks to Reyes at reception. This resort was beautiful! The grounds were immaculate. The service we received from everyone was top-notch, the best we’ve experienced at a resort. Beach was beautiful with a little seaweed but we were still able to swim in the ocean everyday, it’s just the time of year for it. Always found shade at the beach after 10am. Pool was awesome. The buffet was great, we loved getting to sit outside for breakfast and dinner. The Barefoot Grill was awesome for lunch on the beach, they had fresh meat and fish they would grill for you upon order. Food was very good here. Went to the Hitmitsu, Seaside Grill, and Protofino for dinner. Tried the buffet at the Larimar which had an even bigger selection to choose from. Rooms were massive and clean. Beds very comfortable and the a/c worked great. Entertainment at night was quite good, it’s outside in the middle of the resort which is enjoyable. Special shoutout to Alexis at the Now Larimar for giving us a little tour. He was super friendly and very knowledgeable. Also, our beach waiter Jose who never let the drinks go empty and our pool waiter Omar who was always around to take a drink order with a smile! Israel at the Portofino bar was entertaining and made great drinks! We would definetly return to this resort and look forward to trying other Secrets hotels in other countries as well. Thanks for an amazing stay! Service was 5 stars!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Relaxing vacation

    Reviewed by Hello T() on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    You can ignore the bad news about deaths in the DR. Also avoid Bahia resorts as it would appear they had purchased some tainted alcohol or food from a vendor causing it (in my opinion). Secrets is a beautiful resort and you have access to Now as well. The beachfront is nice and plenty of space to find loungers and umbrellas to lay under. Water activities are a bit pricey. Service is good overall. But certainly not a Ritz Carlton quality. Overall, recommend the location for a relaxing vacation with a spouse. Not a whole lot to do at night.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-5

    Great place to get away!

    Reviewed by achamberlain2015(Bells, Texas) on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We stayed in the Preferred Club. Private pool and beach area for those who stayed at the Preferred Club. We were able to eat at any restaurant in the resort(s), I believe there were 14?? Had good shows every night. If you didn't like 1 show, go to the sister resort, they had one too! We were well taken care of by the employees, never once felt uncomfortable.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX