Barceló Maya Tropical Resort

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    K

    The beach in front of the tropical we found the beach the best, as well the pool area was good ,service around the pool was just ok.

    Reviewed by KD from Calgary on Jan 31, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    would go back,service in the Italian restaurant in the mall was the best and would rate a 5 ,The Japanese was good.Alfredo Bacob was great in the main restaurant for breakfast and lunch

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    M

    We love Barcelo! Been in each section and love them all! Best beach on the Riviera!

    Reviewed by Matt on Aug 31, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    The location is fantastic. The resort is almost perfect, huge, with lots for everyone to do. The buffets are decent and restaurants are wonderful. There are newly renovated sections. The beach is amazing... lots of palm trees for shade, so big that you can have a section all to yourself. A nice pier in the middle for swimming or boat tours. This is our favourite Caribbean location. Having said all that, I have to admit, the front desk services are about as bad as it gets, lol. The cleaning staff, waiters, bartenders, maintenance people and activity coordinators are all great, never an issue and always smiling and helpful.... but the front desk, for whatever reason, and for just about any service, is painfully slow and usually disorganized. It would never stop us from going there, but you asked for an honest review!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    B

    Something for Everyone

    Reviewed by Beckie on Jul 03, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    So many things to do at this resort!! The Hydrotherapy was my favourite for sure!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    s

    The resort is very large. There is so much to do, that you would never be bored or your could just relax. The beach is amazing!

    Reviewed by sr on Jun 30, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    Great Resort, with so much to offer for everyone!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    A

    Loved Hydratherapy water was the best

    Reviewed by A C on Jun 29, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    I had issues trying to get a bathmat, hand towels and beach towels to our room in Tuluum room 11111. They did not replace them after cleaning. Our sink leaked too, but when we called down to have someone come and fix it, someone arrived right away. Same with my calling Housekeeping to have those extra towels added on our first night. I didnt bother trying to call down every day as they were never replaced just taken. We did get bath towels. Just no beach towels, hand towels, nor face cloths

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    K

    THERE IS SO MUCH TO DO AND THE RESORT IS DEFINITELY GRAND! HYDROTHERAPY IS WHAT I WOULD COME BACK FOR!

    Reviewed by K E on Jun 26, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    THE RENOVATED GYM AT THE BARCELO MAYA PALACE WAS STUNNING, I WOULD GO BACK JUST FOR THEIR HYDROTHERAPY, IT WAS REALLY NICE. I ALSO REALLY LIKED THAT THEY HAD A DISCOTHEQUE ON SITE WITH REALLY GOOD MUSIC AND IT WAS ALWAYS BUSY, AND BAR SERVICE WAS QUICK. THE PREMIERE LOUNGE IS SUPPOSEDLY PRIORITY CHECK IN BUT THEY WERE BUSY DOING ESCALATIONS AND RESTAURANT RESERVATIONS SO WE ENDED UP WAITING FOR AN HOUR AND HALF TO GET CHECKED IN...THAT PUT A DAMPER TO THE START OF OUR STAY, BUT ONCE WE GOT IN EVERYTHING WAS GOOD. OUR ROOMS WERE BIG AND SPACIOUS AND HOT TUB WAS AMAZING.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    D

    will recomend to families

    Reviewed by Delia on Jun 23, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    I like the location and amenities in this hotel and now with the new mall is a plus

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    All in all it was a fabulous experience. I loved the free hydromassage pool that came with our premium room!

    Reviewed by Shannon on Jun 23, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    The resort is vast and has many ammenities to offer. There was some issues during check in and our room that was a little frustrating, but considering the room was newly renovated I can give them a pass on those

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Something for everyone.

    Reviewed by Sue W on Jun 23, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    So much to do for everyone. Bowling, shopping, night life, swimming etc. The check in process could use some help but overall a great location and stay.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    c

    Something for everyone!

    Reviewed by christinek on Jun 23, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2017

    Trip Type: Single

    This hotel has so much to do, from a bowling alley to shopping mall to fitness centre (nicest one i have ever seen) spa, spa for kids, the list can go on. Loved the resort, rooms are welcoming, lots of resturants to chose from. Something for everyone. If you are looking for a large resort you wont be dissapointed!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6259 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great Weather-Clean Resort

    Reviewed by NATraveller() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Pros: The resort was very clean and well maintained. Food for the most part was very good. We encountered friendly staff who almost all spoke english. The resort is large in size which allows finding quieter areas away from the crowd, should you need it. There's plenty of activities on the resort, without having to go offsite. Also a very nice gym. Cons: The beach vendors are drug dealers. I counted 7 in our area and their attempt to sell cigars, tattoos, silver, blankets are just decoys to get themselves onto the beaches and sell the bigger ticket items of weed and coke. I watched 4 drug deals go down right in front of me. Later, the 7 beach vendors got together momentarily, then a Kingpin showed up to take large stacks of cash from each one of them. Many of the buying customers were young 19-20 year tourist kids, likely from the likes of Minnesota, Pennsylvania and Canada. Unfortunately, tourists are feeding into the Drug Cartel. Parents, please educate your kids to stop buying drugs in Mexico. The Riviera Maya will be heading in the dangerous direction of Acapulco as the drug cartel will be fighting for the Mayan Riviera turf to get your tourism dollars. Just stay away from the beach vendors.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Avoid the buffets, otherwise it’s incredible.

    Reviewed by Trip52041496911(Buffalo, New York) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Drinks seemed to contain hardly an alcohol and buffet food was strange and not very good. The air conditioning could have been better. However the rest of the resort was gorgeous and we will be returning to the area again sometime.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3

    Warning they have changed -2019 experience

    Reviewed by Discover68122174919(Saint Charles, Illinois) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    This was our 7th time going there. We booked the Colonial and paid extra for this. We were forced to stay at the beach with no compensation. I overheard many other guests in the same situation. The people at the front desk we're not welcoming and seemed beat up from moving people reservations to places they did book. They did not offer a welcome drink like they have in the past. The whole experience was negative and this reflection came from the staff. Looks like upper management made a decision to move people and the front desk people took all the heat from the customers. Overall they have lost the charm that kept us coming back.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-1

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-1

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-1

    Tequila testing at Cantina

    Reviewed by David D(Riviera Maya, Mexico) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Melinda and Marisol at the cantina sample of tequila were the sweetest and helpful on me deciding what was the best tequila to bring back home. I also learned a lot from their knowledge in tequila. I can’t wait to go back!

    Great stay on March break

    Reviewed by Voyager20184357459(Kitchener, Canada) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We had agreaa greatat Barcelo Maya beach during March break. We really enjoyed the natural setting beach and ocean. Food was very good at the buffets. We really enjoyed our a la Cartes of seafood, steakhouse, and Japanese!!!! We highly recommend ceviche marenostrum, the lobster and the salmon. We went twice! We enjoyed snorkeling w turtles and my husband ventured further out to buoy line the rooms were exceptionally clean and comfortable. Enjoyed variety of having access to other resorts... Evening entertainment was good to very good especially enjoyed the circus show. Liked the 24hr sports bar and plaza Mexicana?? pools clean w water features...Lot L to love here...

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX