Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Riviera Maya
    5. Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda
    6. Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    C

    Perfect Place for a relaxing Family Vacation!

    Reviewed by Carlos on Apr 19, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    After a lot of research we decided on Paradisus La Esmeralda and it did not disappoint! The service was superb and all staff went above and beyond to provide the best service especially Joao he helped book restaurants and gave us a fantastic tour of the resort, excellent service. We tried several restaurants and they were great ( only complaint is they need to have more seafood selection without additional charges). We had a fantastic photo shoot and they pictures turned out amazing, a little pricey but well worth it. I also booked Xcaret park through the resort, again a bit pricey, the park it self was mediocre but the dolphin swim was well worth it ( pictures are an additional fee) we booked with Fabiola and she was great. We also went to the 5th avenue markets a few times paradisus will have a taxi ready for you within 5 minutes and it?s a great place to visit, eat good Mexican food and buy Knick knacks. The beach yes it had seaweed but so does the rest of the cancun area but it was cleaned every morning. I would highly recommend booking a Bali bed at least once near the poor for parents to relax and kids to enjoy- also highly recommended a swim up suite. My kids absolutely loved the new water park and pirate ship. I consider myself to be fairly picky and I would highly recommended this resort, food was good customer service was above and beyond and all staff were friendly and helpful ( don?t forget to leave tips!)This is an excellent place to visit with or without children, it?s beautiful and the service is absolutely fantastic!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 10318 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Vacation Magic in Playa Del Carmen!

    Reviewed by wkdudiva(Cherry Hill, New Jersey) on Jun 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    There are not enough words to say how wonderful our vacation was at the Paradisus -Playa. We were just able to be as a family, with no drama! We arrived mid June, and let me just explain the heat.... it's insane.... its HUMID!! So please pack appropriately! We travelled with two kids, 5 and 8 along with my husband and i. I would recommend getting the Family Concierge plan. When you arrive you are taken to a "fast track" entry lobby with all the snacks (gummy worms/sharks ect.) that your kids can gorge... and believe me they do! There are drinks for the adults and sandwiches and pastries. This area is open all day for you to come and go at your leisure while on property. Its a nice perk! One of two downsides and it may just have been a fluke...but we waited almost 3 hours while our room was being readied (not sure why we had to wait that long since check in is at 3 and we were there at 1:00.) Anyway Make sure to pack bathing suits in carry on so kids can get into the pool ASAP! This wait was one of two CONS on our stay. (and honestly it wasn't all that bad.. hey snacks and drinks...!) Once we met our AMAZING COINCERGE BUTLER ALBERTO, we headed to the second floor of the resort to go to our room, overlooking the family pool. We sadly booked our trip too late and were not able to get a SWIM UP room, which my husband bemoaned but i was glad for the better view and more privacy. Our room 2122, had a pull out sofa for the kids and had a bedroom with DOOR and a king bed for us.The room was well appointed, fridge stocked with all manner of drinks and snacks for the taking. Jacuzzi bathtubs inside and out and a double rain shower in the stall with its own sink. boxed and bottled water provided EVERYWHERE! I was shocked that no one got the "Mexican welcome bug" but they keep this resort exceptionally clean! The staff is amazing, they truly go out of their way to provide excellent service. Harbey, the activitvites GURU, when he's not running group activities he gave me a brush up Spanish lesson! It felt good to be able to use my high school Spanish and communicate better and more clearly with his help! Daniel always had a smile on his face and gave a very relaxing and restoring YOGA class to me and my 5 year old, who had to show off his "tree pose" skills. Albert at the pool bar was always in motion, water check! cerveza check! Nachos check! chicken fingers check!! He is as kind and patient with our children as a saint... i mean how many "Superman" drinks does a kid need?! Do not miss out on FAMILY PHOTOS done professionally by OUTDOOR PHOTOS. Don't cheap-out! The price is what you would pay at home and the staff is experienced in making your family look amazing. Marcos was great with our kids, getting them to cuddle and smile!(it wasn't that hard) But the heat was oppressive and he worked patiently but quickly! They know the best places to shoot, so they can do it in under an hour! Alessia is an editing goddess who was able to make my mom bod look its best and helped us choose the best images for our book, that is delivered next day!!! (umm amazing!!) There is not much to spend money on within the resort so honestly just do it... you will NOT regret it! The Spa is beautiful and a delightful retreat. I treated myself to a massage and mini facial on the last day with CRUZ, it was perfect! I have had many treatments in the past and her hands were exceptional! Kids Club- Our boys somehow decided that they would rather be suction cupped to us for almost the entirety of the trip but when we did get them to go to the kids club, so we could have an adults only dinner, it was great! The staff is delightful and multilingual, Paola and Angel and the others truly love what they do, and it shows! I hope they go into early childhood education because i would LOVE for my kids to have them as teachers! (as an educator myself i know when i see the goods!) You will not be sorry about leaving your kids in their capable, warm, friendly hands! The FOOD- We were stuffed to the gills, every meal! Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner are all buffet- if you choose- in the main restaurant. Nachos with breakfast... YES PLEASE! Food for ALL tastes, even picky kids! Chicken fingers and nuggets at breakfast.... kid heaven!!! Plenty of fresh fruit and hot entrees for all tastes. Our Family Concierge Alberto, booked us at restaurants each night with the kids. It was nice to have him do it , instead of having to do it on our own. Poolside bar had great burgers and more chicken fingers! OLIO is family concierge only for all meals! The POOLS- BRING A FLOAT and goggles(for kids) go to Target or 5 below and buy fun float to use on the lazy river and in the pool. SO much fun! We lamented not bringing one for the boys and I was too cheap to buy one in the store. The kids loved the Pirate ship pool and the Family Concierge pool as well as swimming for long stretches in the BIG POOL! Its HUGE! WaterPARK- They have a splash pool for little kids and the big pool with slides and lots of water features for families! Our boys LOVED it!! The BEACH- sigh.... this was the second downer of our trip. The beach would be beautiful if not for the abundance of seaweed... and I mean abundance.... Climate Change has created warmer seawater so that the seaweed is overgrowing at such an incredible pace that there is almost no way to get around it. The staff was shoveling the beaches constantly .. we came before there was to be a wedding and they were working manically to get a section cleared. (Photoshop can edit it out of the pictures) The smell is overpowering. It is all over the Riveria Maya and Puerto Morelos.. and possibly most of the area because of the shape of the land and the water.. but be warned you may not get the beach time you desire. This is not to say that the amenities on the beach were lacking.. they have a smoothie bar, plenty of cabanas and chairs with cover, a private place for Family Concierge members and LA Perla(adults only) guests were far enough away that adults could have privacy from the families.But the beaches were mostly empty, the smell was overwhelming. The Pool does make up for it though... and there are plenty of excursions you can take to other areas to enjoy the cenotes (underground caves with pools) or other local hotspots. SHOPPING IN TOWN Takes about a 8 minute cab ride- As a woman who speaks the language and is very travelled , i would have felt very safe alone... and probably should have gone by myself... The kids were exhausted... but it costs 200 pesos /12 bucks to take a cab into town to shop on 5th Avenue. You can also walk it, but with kids in the heat, we decided to take a hard pass. Worth checking out the murals/ graffiti on the way over, even at a passing glance, local public art is always a joy to see. I wish i had walked it to explore! plenty of touristy crafts and t shirts abound.. as well as Sephora.. and Haggen Daz! Thursday night is the art walk, where local artist come and show thier work. I wish i could have stayed to enjoy it.... but... kids...FRIDA KAHLO abounds on everything! SHE is the patron mother saint artist goddess of MEXICO. Her face is emblazoned on everything. Prices are better in town then in the resort gift shop of course! but the gift shops have some beautiful items if you don't make it off property. Lastly I want to again mention Alberto , our Family Concierge Butler. He truly made our vacation a real vacation. He had strawberries and champagne to help us celebrate our anniversary one night, a kids scavenger hunt in the room the next, and fun balloons in the room another night for the kids. While I was sure that it was my kids who may get sick on vacation.. because that always happens.. this time it was my husband who got an ear infection! Alberto made arrangements to get him the medication sent from the pharmacy. My husband is a doctor so he knew what he needed, and if we had had a serious issue, a local doctor would have been called at a fee of 150US to diagnose and treat him. Which honestly is to be expected at any resort anywhere in the world. DOWNLOAD WHATS APP, so you can communicate easily with your family at home but also we used it to communicate with Alberto during our stay, he was quick to respond and the APP is super easy to use! All in all, we had the best time ever! We needed it! They delivered and then some. Go! you will NOT BE disappointed. We will be back next year! Gracias Para TODOS!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Mrs

    Reviewed by Saskia O() on Jun 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We had a fantastic time at the resort. The food was great, the water park kept my kids entertained and they enjoyed he kids club. Jonathan Vergara made evertyhing extremely easy and fun! He was exceptionally helpful and made our stay go super smoothly.

    Baby Club

    Reviewed by Jonification() on Jun 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I just want to say the baby club at the Paradisus on Playa del Carmen was fabulous! Irina, Yessenia and Yadira were all wonderful with my 19 month old little girl( who had never been in a child care setting). They were all very sweet, attentive and caring! My family and my daughter had a great experience there! Highly recommend!!!

    Vacation

    Reviewed by K7934VYjills() on Jun 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We had a wonderful time. Our FC butler Fernanda made the trip worry free and relaxing. She was detailed and organized, making all our reservations so I could relax and enjoy my 50 bday! I cannot thank her enough. I highly recommend requesting her for your next trip

    Mexican Gem!

    Reviewed by Ginny K(West Palm Beach, Florida) on Jun 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This is the perfect location for a family vacation! The variety of restaurants was incredible and both the food and service was outstanding in each one. The family concierge ensured that all of our children had a special treat every day. The water park and various pools were perfect for the children of all ages.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX