Sandos Playacar Beach Resort

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    N

    Celiac and Gluten-free accoomodating. A wonderful overall experience that will have us going back to Sandos

    Reviewed by Nykol Kroeker on Jan 02, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    This was our first all-inclusive trip following a celiac diagnosis within our family. The food available available at the resort was very accommodating with a specific "gluten-free" section available at the buffet. Whenever asked, the head chef also walked around with my daughter and I to explain what could be consumed at the buffet. The Italian and Mexican a-la-carte restaurants were AMAZING at accommodating all food that was order to be inclusive for my daughter. The resort, pools and beach were also wonderful and we will definitely be back!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    If you are travelling with young children steer clear

    Reviewed by SC on Dec 21, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    If you are travelling with young children steer clear. If you are travelling with adults only, purchase the right class (family blue bands will not give you access to the entire resort only about 1/3). It is really sad what they have done to what sounded like an amazing resort for families pre December 1. Family Section - Section furthest away from the beach/ waterslides. To get to the beach/family section (1.6km), there are carts that can transport you (a bit of a game of chicken with buses travelling the opposite way and pedestrians as it was not built for this) Positives: activities, swim up bar and snacks, Room service available, jetted tubs in rooms Negatives: beach/pool with water slides is 1.6km away from rooms, rooms smell like mold, main buffet is 1.1km away Main Areas: Shows were great, Service was friendly and efficient, Food at the main buffet was the best I have had at a buffet. Tons of choices, sushi, pasta, fresh breads, cheeses, Chinese, salads, fruits, amazing meat, gluten free section, kids food section, great deserts, mimosas for breakfast! Kids club was tons of fun for a 2 year old and 7. They offer free service for 4 and above, for my 2 year old I paid for an extra babysitter in the kids club (20 an hour) Family Beach, waterslides and pool area Positives: Infinity pool, lunch bbq and snacks, beautiful views Negatives: Distance 1.6 km from the rooms, not a lot of shade, Limited seating, no lifeguard stations in the family area (there are 2 in the adults only), bathroom hasn't been built yet, not a ton of waiter service, Waterslides filled to high with water, Adults not allowed on slides - as they are too deep (above your knee) young kids cannot use any of them (including the baby ones), there are stairs to and from ? hasn't been planned for strollers, no pathed area to the pool (lots of exercise pushing a stroller through the sand), Pools are very cold, Construction noise all day long.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    M

    Huge, modern hotel with amazing food!

    Reviewed by Marc on Nov 19, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    This massive hotel has some of the best all-inclusive resort food you will ever eat. Thankfully you will get your steps in to burn off some of the huge meals you'll enjoy! The rooms are fine, the bars, restaurants and pools are great and the beach is MASSIVE. All day time staff speaks perfect English, and they will go out of their way for you. Amazing spot, would go back!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    B

    Loves the resort but hated my room, switching rooms seemed to be out of the question even after several complaints.

    Reviewed by Brian on Feb 15, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Great beach, food and staff. Very disappointed in our room, balcony door wouldn't look, wrist bands wouldn't open door security had to come six times in the first one and a half days to let us in our room. Valuable lost time waiting 30 + min each time they had to come and then wait for them to finish each time to see if it work. Took them 2 days to finally change the lock mechanism. We were on the 4 floor and the elevator stopped working for the last 3 days of our stay. We were never offered another room or any compensation. Very disappointed in a so called 5 star resort as far as my accommodations. In desperate need of renovations in some parts of the resort.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    z

    not coming back

    Reviewed by zeljka on Jan 18, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    location, food and entertainment was great but room was bad, smell bad look bad, definitely needs renovation and update, bad lighting, useless hair dryer...

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    A

    Sandos was great! Would recommend!

    Reviewed by ADay on Jan 04, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    My husband and I were there for a short vacation of 5 nights in early November. What surprised me was the employees. We have not been to Mexico in years and partly due to being treated much better at other destinations than by the hotel staff in Mexico. This was NOT the case on this trip. Great and FRIENDLY service. Kudos to the hotel industry to improve on this point and so well. Sandos was great! The beach was wonderful! Food, good. Drinks, good. Service, great. Loved hearing the howling monkeys! We had a great time even with it raining 1.5 days. Only two little things that we didn't like so much personal opinion and they are just minor. The first is that we did not book the adults only- we did not think we needed it and wanted to be closer to the beach anyway. However, the adults only have a piece of the beach that is away from the daily activities and you have an unobstructed view of the water. I recommend even just for this, to book the upgrade. The second minor point is that we don't often like to enjoy the evening entertainment, but rather have a drink or two in the lobby bar at hotels after dinner. The lobby was so far away from our room and where we usually ate-and the lobby bar was a bit secluded and uninteresting, so we never went there. Very minor points and certainly did not keep us from enjoying this resort. Would return!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    F

    Great beach, large rooms, good location.

    Reviewed by Funinsun on Jan 17, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2014

    Trip Type: Couple

    Location: located in playa car, on the south end of playa del Carmen. 35 minute walk to playa del carmen ferry, or 5 minute $7 cab ride. Playa car is a gated golf course community with a dozen hotels along the beach. Beach: exceptional, wide, long, no rocks. One side is for families, one side is adults only if you chose the 'select clubs adults only' package. The major hotel chains got into the playa car area for the beach. 5 Riu's, 1 sandos, 2 iberostar's, 2 wyndhams , and a handful of others. We go to the area for proximity to playa del carmen's restaurant 's and shopping and the playa car beaches. Have been to two of the other playa car hotels and they were good, we come back to sandos for the large separate adults only pool, the adults only rooms are also large with a jetted two person tub. If we were a family I'd choose this hotel or any of the other larger hotels in the area. It's the pools and separate adult beach that sell us on it. This is a large hotel 800 or so rooms. Families or those with mobility issues may want to stay in the section right on the beach. Adults section I refer to is a 9 minute walk to the beach, there is a golf cart shuttle that runs from the adult section to the beach area every 7 minutes. Food is good, large buffet, with a couple chefs to fry up fish or meat I'd you want fresh. Entertainment and shows are above average, always an early eve kids show. Evening entertainment setup is very good with the major bar, buffet, and mainstage all centrally located. For 300 less a week I would consider the Riu's or others in playa car if your not going for the adults only. But this hotel is priced about right, it's a 4.5 star with lots of amenities good rooms and service. You get what you pay for there's a $400 more a week riu five star in playa car and a $ 400 less riu 3.5 star also in play car.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 17109 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Amazing resort love it!!!!

    Reviewed by Abby Z() on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The hotel was great and the staff especially kimberly and armando!!! They were great entertainers made the beach activities fun! The food was great and the rooms we’re great. The location of the hotel was great and was right on the beach!! Recommend this hotel to everyone!

    The entertainment staff amazing Armando and Kimberly and Rebeca

    Reviewed by Aviva_blu() on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The staff was amazing, super friendly, and ectremely interactive, especially Kimberly, Armando, and Rebeca from the entertainment team! Any questions I had about the resort they were there at the drop of a hat! Plus the food was fantastic!

    First Stamp in Passport

    Reviewed by Nolandog46() on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Am working on my bucket list and traveling outside the USA was next on the list. I was flying solo so very nervous with no one to talk too. Stephanie was working the reception desk when it was my turn to check in. She has so much information to impart! I listened carefully but being tired and nervous didn’t help. When I had questions later in my stay she answered them politely and thoroughly. If you are lucky she will check you in too. My only negative thing to say about the experience was the map they provide. It is fuzzy, small and difficult to read. Thus 4 stars. I spent the first 24 hours wandering. After a four day stay I felt right at home. Ask questions. Everyone is happy to help. If I return to Mexico I will stay here.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Dream Wedding

    Reviewed by twinmommyx2(Salt Lake City, Utah, USA) on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I was married at the Sandos Playacar Beach Resort and it was nothing short of amazing. The weather was gorgeous, the staff was attentive and my guests and I had the best time. We worked with Diana Palomino at the resort to assist me with the wedding planning. She was FANTASTIC and worked her butt off to make sure everything was perfect. She was responsive, attentive, insightful and pulled off my dream wedding without a glitch! We married on the beach, hired a violinist and saxophonist to play before, during and after our ceremony. We hired Romanza for the photography (fantastic!) and videography (only complaint is that the photographer was signing along to our wedding songs while recording in the raw versions of the video). We selected the floral arrangements that are included in the wedding package and they were beautiful. We also arranged to have the string lights line the parameter of our reception (a MUST! This really set the whole tone and was worth every penny). The FOOD!! OMG. The buffett was HUGE and my guests told us afterward they felt that was the best meal they had had yet. The wedding department has this all dialed in. You tell them what your dream wedding looks like and they make it happen. I would get married all over again here and wouldn't change a thing.... other than spend a little more on the wedding photos and videos because I only did the ceremony and wish we would've captured the reception too. *We had 45 total guests that traveled from the USA to participate in our wedding. There were no travel hiccups and all of our guests said (multiple times) it was the best destination wedding (and wedding!) they had ever been to. Thank you again to Diana for pulling off a truly amazing event!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Go to Sandos...Avoid Royal Elite Sales Pitch at all costs!!

    Reviewed by kevinkohler(Kohler, Wisconsin) on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Love Sandos Playacar. Gracious staff, love the restaurants, and the beaches are your best bet to avoid the Sargassum. Without at doubt we will return. However this review is to hopefully prevent someone from ruining their entire morning on a Royal Elite sales pitch. Honestly i've always felt the "Royal Elite" benefits seemed a bit silly and not much of an upgrade, but we wanted to look into the timeshare idea because we like Sandos and would like to return with our 5 kids. We were promised this would be a 90 minutes, low pressure sales pitch. The first rep (can't remember his name) was friendly and explained everything thoroughly and honestly. He actually had us sold on the idea 80-90%. When it came time to really crunch numbers Michael the "Sales Manager" came over and offered up the incentives and laid out the plan. I was still impressed. He was the typical "American high pressure salesman", but at the end of it the deal was very impressive and we were pretty much sold. So now we were 2 hours into a 90 minute presentation and my wife and I basically explained we needed just a few hours to think this over...after all who is stupid enough to fork over thousands of $$ without stepping back just to discuss in case we didn't completely understand everything. This is where everything went south and they put the pressure on. Naturally I understand salesman want to make the sale as quickly as possible, but we were not asking for a better deal. I told him I would even waive the promotional "gift" they offered us because we truly just wanted time to discuss before handing over our credit card. The Sales Manager Michael in the presence of our initial sales rep just kept pressing. Finally I explained to him I was losing my patience a bit because we had plans in the works and we were already 45 minutes over the promised time. I explained that if he couldn't give us time to talk together I would not be buying anything. At this point Michael turned to our sales rep, threw his hands up in the air like we were acting unreasonable, and said "Get them out of here...Show them the door!". He turned on his heels and ran out before either my wife or I could even consider what had just happened. We were completely stunned and could not believe the treatment we had just received. If you truly are ready to spend $9-10k I think the program is worth it. Personally my wife and I were relieved we didn't buy because I didn't trust the sales group. The above story truly does not paint a picture of what a (expletive) Michael the sales manager is. We are both professionals who can handle a high pressure sales pitch, but his treatment truly ruined a good part of our day. Again, we would return to Sandos. If we take the kids we would just rent from a Royal Elite member. Beaches are the best maintained and best location to avoid Sargassum, restaurants are good an any we've received, and staff are truly exceptional. Michael sales guy not so much. The only American in the sales group and he lives up to the reputation of an obnoxious sales guy from his cheap shoes to the bad attitude.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX