Roc Arenas Doradas

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    J

    This place is Awesome.... No shirt, No shoes and Excellent Service!

    Reviewed by Janine Baxter on Mar 03, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    We had a group of 9 so the initial check in, sorting out rooms, safes and exchanging money was a bit trying. Probably because of language barriers but always double check and confirm exchange rate and monies returned. If you need anything, extra- water, toilet paper or towels etc ..talk to your maid directly - they are very willing and can make it happen! Front lobby bartenders and the coffee barristas made our trip. Mulatas are to die for -hot or cold. Friendly and attentive always with a smile. It is an all inclusive so the younger crowd liked to indulge, they were rowdy and having fun, some older people did not seem impressed but we had no problem... it is everyone's vacation. Good times and let loose! Definitely try the Italian restaurant across from coffee bar it was the best food there with 5 courses and good music. The free shuttle to Varedero was convenient for shopping and The Beatles bar rocks. Sadly, my only complaint was the beach, littered with cigarette butts and cups. Not any fault of the resort or staff, just guests being ignorant. We did the katamarand -make sure it's hot and not windy, the Havana day tour -a cooler temps best, comfortable shoes are a must, lots of walking and don't go on a Sunday, and the Jeep tour was great. We would definitely do it all again. Special thanks to Roly, Annens and Maria, you are good people.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    Great family experience!

    Reviewed by Luv2trvl on Jan 24, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    This was our first Westjet Vacations experience and also our first visit to Cuba and the Arenas Doradas resort. Although this resort is listed as a 3.5 star, I picked this resort because of my budget and most of all the reviews. My family and I were SO PLEASANTLY surprised by this resort. Proximity from the airport - A! You just want to start your vacation. You don't want to have to travel another 45 - 1 hour after getting off the plane. The WS transfer from the airport was so convenient. Well organized by WS. It's a guided tour along the way. Staff were great! The resort itself - A! Come with an open mind and you'll find the value. Rooms were spacious and clean - A! We brought our two kids age 7 & 3. Lots of activities for them. Mini club and its staff were so awesome. Kids pool - great! Lots of food options for them. Food was decent. Just get creative with condiments. The coffee bar - A+!!! It's Starbucks on Cuban coffee. We stayed in Block 5 and it was such a great room. Ground floor - easy access. Quiet AC. Spacious Room. Love the Villa Style resort so that you don't have to keep waiting for an elevator to get to your room. Beach access was so easy and beautiful! WS staff meets you the following day to help you plan your stay and confirm your return to the airport. Honestly, such great value! Thank you WS. Always a loyal customer.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    H

    Perfect

    Reviewed by Hogie on Apr 03, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    The hotel was great. The staff was very accommodating. We would go back in a heart beat. When we first got there the first 2 days were a bit overcast so we went to Varadero the first day then Havana the 2nd. After that the days were beautiful. Town of Varadero fun to walk around. Havana tour was great to learn about the history of Cuba. We would recommend this hotel. Special thanks to Rocio at the front desk who kept her composure even when customers around her are sometimes rude & hi to Jesus at the pool bar. He makes everyone feel very welcomed. We found the food at the buffet good. Good selection, no complaints. We celebrated our 40th anniversary while there. For our anniversary supper we took in the international al a carte, it was perfect. Thanks again Paul & Sandra

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Westjet shouldn't be offering this resort.

    Reviewed by Scott on Feb 02, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    First of all let me say that our stay was ruined by weather. It was cool and rainy and windy most days of the two weeks we were there from Jan 16-30 2016. The water and beach were truly beautiful but it was a rare occasion to see people braving the often impressive waves. Beach walking was the only way to be close to the water but it was depressing to see people in sweaters and heavy jackets trying to enjoy a walk. It wasn’t that bad every day but the wind was relentless. What I can blame the resort for is the very frustrating time we had in the buffet restaurant. The coffee machine rarely worked properly and the famous Cuban coffee we so looked forward to never happened. Coffee cups were usually absent. We resorted to soup bowls for coffee, until they also were all gone. We had to scrounge up our own glasses, silverware etc on a daily basis. Sometimes we just couldn’t find any. The frustration level rose daily. The staff were overworked and barely had time for a smile. I realize that Cuba doesn’t have access to food we take for granted, but at least it could be hot! The bread and toast were great. The breakfasts were good if you went for fresh cooked eggs. Bacon was nearly raw. If you don’t like cigarette or cigar smoke, stay away from Cuba. Because of the inclement weather most people gathered in the one big bar/lobby area, but unless you went outside to look for a table cool , it was way too smoky for non-smokers. Our room:…..in bldg. 500, top floor…nice sound of waves, very close to beach. No hot water, ever. Water barely trickled out of the sink tap. Very old ugly room. Bathtub was so gross I took pictures to prove it to people. After a week of cold showers I asked for a different room. Got one in 100 bldg. Right close to lobby and ‘mess hall’. It was beautiful in comparison! Like a Mexican 5 star! It was recently renovated. Then evening came and we found out why it was available. We were the closest to the night club and the show stage.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3753 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-3.5

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Exceptional Vacation in Paradise!!

    Reviewed by Sunset1962() on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My daughter and I just returned from a glorious week in Cuba at the Roc Arenas Doradas. It was absolutely lovely. Laid out like a village it was so pretty and not too large. All amenities were a quick walk through pristine gardens and pathways lined with palms and flowering bushes, etc. Everyone worked so hard at this resort to make sure you were enjoying your stay. The beach was the most beautiful we have ever seen. The staff the most friendly and helpful. We arrived late in the evening and were given an older room that was clean but unfortunately had a very old worn bed. The next morning I asked if we could possibly get a newer renovated room in the hopes of having a comfortable bed. They were so nice about it and we moved into another room the next day. It was an excellent room with comfy beds and a fresh new decor and great bathroom. The view from our balcony was beautiful! The entertainment was always different and a lot of fun. I rounded a corner one evening to find the most amazing talented man playing his guitar. He was so exceptional and passionate that he brought tears to my eyes. The day we left on Friday afternoon they set up a Cuban party next to the beach. So much effort to entertain. BBQ, live band, decorations. So much fun! I wish I could name all the amazing staff we met. Too many to remember. So I would like to give a huge shout out to the entire team there who worked tirelessly for all the tourists and always with a friendly greeting or smile or chat! We felt blessed to be there!

    Great family resort

    Reviewed by Berryp(St Thomas) on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was our second stay at the Arenas Doradas with our grand children age 4 and 10 .I can't say enough about how great of a family resort this is. Our grandchildren loved the slushy machines at both the pool and lobby bars and they loved interacting with the bartenders . The bartenders were very patient with children patrons .Food was great and buffet service was very good. There were always 2 or 3 grill stations open at supper.we also had an exceptional meal at the Italian alacarte one evening . We got a family room in the recently renovated 800 block and this was really nice with close proximity to both the ocean and pool area.Maid service was good.and room was always clean and tidy. The animation team is heavily involved in this resort with both adult and kids activity thru the day and evening . The evening shows were really enjoyable and our grand daughter enjoyed participating on stage. My wife would not forgive me if I didn't mention the coffee bar with wonderful smiling service and great varieties of coffee. Overall a great stay. See you all next year.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    "Par for the course", with a top notch beach thrown in.

    Reviewed by Doug R(Ottawa) on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I have been to Cuba six times before, always to a different hotel, and would say that Arenas Doradas is "par for the course", with a top notch beach thrown in. The great: The hotel is on one of the nicest stretches of Varadero beach, with a very wide sandy area and no rocks in the water. There were always umbrellas and lounge chairs available. The ambience was quiet (rather than raunchy), and both the beach grill restaurant and bar were pleasant experiences. The good: The food in the buffet was generally well prepared and the variety was adequate. The fresh vegetables and salads were good, but the fresh fruit was just okay. The coffee bar served very good lattes, but they could use a bit more milk (I would bring them to the buffet and add milk). The evening shows were of good quality and variety, but some were a bit short in length and relied too much on the emcee to fill time. Overall, the staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful. The okay: The room was just passable. Everything worked, but it had a tired look. The bathroom was dated; the shower was in an elevated bathtub without a rubber mat and had low water pressure. The bed was reasonably comfortable. The bad: Upon arrival at night, the pool restaurant served us a hamburger that had a piece of plastic bag cooked into the middle. Shouldn't the staff pay enough attention to detail to avoid nightmares like that? For some reason, my travel companion came back a few days later and ordered a second hamburger, which contained no plastic bag, but was "extremely salty".

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Another Two Weeks in Paradise????

    Reviewed by Mary M(Canada) on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was our fourth trip to this resort and every year it gets better! Upon arrival I was greeted by Lisandra at the piano bar who recognize us right away! Already made us feel at home! We were met with smiles at reception and taken to our room.Thanks Omar! The room was clean with new air conditioner units. I must say much improvement with the buffet and el a carts were excellent the best was the restaurant Natura! Please let Roxanna and Leo know their customer service is excellent and they are the best! Orlando at the beach was super and always had chairs cleaned and ready to use! The beach here is a ten plus! Aida you were super at the beach lunch restaurant always smiling and bringing us a cold beer! The staff here go out of their way to make you feel like family! Want to mention one evening they were out of white wine and Yalilis went to the restaurant to get a glass for me! The drinks at the beach bar and piano bar are excellent! Yoly in customer service you are great! I want to acknowledge some staff that made our stay there super! Yenisleidy you are super at your job! Isaac the head chef what a remarkable change in the menus! Roberto and Sureimi in the buffet. Alina and TT housekeeping hard working girls! Daniel,Pepe,Milady we miss your drinks already! See you all again next year!???? Just to let travellers know please don’t tip staff with loonies or toonies,or euro coins as the can not use them or exchange them.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Friendly staff made our stay fantastic

    Reviewed by Kathy L() on Mar 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Our 2nd trip was even better than the 1st last year. I really enjoyed snorkeling with the tropical fish just off the resort. Our guide was informative and friendly. In fact all the staff were great. They went out of their way to make our stay awesome. I love this resort particularly because everything is close by no matter where your room is. It's never a long walk to either the beach, pool or dining area. We noticed that they made numerous improvements at the resort and it certainly shows! Great job! I have to say that we come for the beach #1 but 2nd are the staff at the Roc Arenas Doradas who are friendly and very willing to help you out! Love you all!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX