Meliá Varadero

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    D

    NOT A 5 STAR Hotel - Best Western Equivalent

    Reviewed by DrNick on Apr 22, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    We recently returned after 7 days at the Melia. In no way can it be compared to true 5 star resorts\hotels in Europe of North America. It is more equivalent to a Best Western one finds in the US. Shame on WestJet for ranking it as a 5 star. The rooms are average, quite run down and need renovation. The exterior of the property is in terrible shape (which most of the photos dont show). Cleaning of our room was hit and miss. We constantly ran out of items, which we had to ask to be replaced. The food - ah the food. We tried the Tex-Mex at night and the food was uneatable. The steak was the worst piece of meat I have ever seen. Hands down the worst restaurant we have ever been to. We ate nothing after arriving on a 6 hour flight. Next say we tried the Trinidad at lunch. The only thing we could find appetizing was the chicken. It was passable. Then we tried the Grill or whatever it is called by the pool. Again the worst steak we have ever seen. It was as tough as leather. We hardly touched the food. So we gave up on the al la carte restaurants and ate at the buffet. At least out of all the items (most were unappetizing) we could find something to eat. However the food is not kept clean and the items that need to be cold (raw fish) are not kept cold only in cups on the counter. So we had to be careful. At the desert buffet I watched a little girl about 6 years old pick up a piece of cake, lick the top and then return it to the counter. Horrifying. No one noticed. I had to take it off the counter and give it to the cook. Yes of course the beach is nice, but it is not heads and shoulders above other beaches we have been to in the Caribbean and Mexico, which have far superior all inclusives.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    D

    I have been to cuba three times and this was the best overall experience.

    Reviewed by Derek on Nov 22, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    I went here with my girlfriend for our anniversary and we were very impressed. The hotel was beautiful and very modern and clean. The service staff was great, although the degree of service was sometimes relative to whether or not we left a good tip, buy overall I would say the service was excellent. The food was great and generous as were the drinks and cocktails. We went with Westjet and their representatives were extremely friendly and helpful, the excursions offered were also great with professional and friendly staff. I have been to cuba three times and this was the best overall experience. The only negative was that one of the life guards on the beach kept coming up to me to try and sell me cigars. Eventually after a couple of days I gave in because they looked extremely authentic, but it turned out too good to be true, so in the end I was conned. This would be one thing if I was on the streets of Havanna, but a life guard at the resort? I really felt taken advantage of, so be warned NEVER buy cigars from anyone other than an authentic cigar dealer in Cuba. It is always a con.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6407 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Excellent Experience

    Reviewed by Climber38712264770(Miami Beach, Florida) on Mar 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We had a great stay at the Melia Varadero. I can recommend this hotel to everybody. The good was excellent, there was a great variety of food to choose, the service exceptional, nice view from out room to the ocean..

    Wonderful stay at Melia Varadero

    Reviewed by Grace L() on Mar 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    What a great time. As a retired couple I didn't think we could get anymore relaxed but Cuba is the place to be. This resort had everything we could ask for. Good selection of a la cartes, Great entertainment, great beach activities, beautiful beach and pool area. The people at the resort are so friendly and accommodating. We had such a safe feeling going of the resort area too. Our room was great too. Thank you Cuba.....we will be back!

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Wonderful time at Melia Varadero

    Reviewed by CarrieVan68() on Mar 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My family of 6 just returned from spending a week at the Melia Varadero, and we had a wonderful vacation and would definitely return! We did not upgrade to the Level, and we had no issues. We arrived in the middle of the night and check in was fine. We had requested 3 rooms close to each other but were given 2 close together on one floor and 1 on another floor. When we questioned that, she apologized and said that was the only spot they had but to return in the morning and see if we could change it. After a few hours of sleep we returned to the front desk and had no problem getting moved to have all rooms on the same floor and wing. The resort is well set up, the pool area is great, and no problem getting loungers at any time. The beach is amazing, the water is warm and so clear blue. Loungers are a little harder to get on the beach as it seems to be the most popular spot to go. Our rooms were basic (need updating soon) but always very clean. Our cleaning lady was Blanca, and she was very sweet, always left the towels in beautiful shapes on the bed. Service in the buffet and a la carte restaurants was great. We often were in the section where Katty, Ulises and Jose Javier worked and were treated so well. Food was decent, not always as hot as I would have liked, but you could always find something to eat. The croissants in the morning were so good, and there was always a great selection of cheeses!! The bartenders in the Piano Bar and Pool bar were friendly and served great drinks. Luis often served us in the Piano bar area and he was amazing. The evening entertainment in the Piano Bar was great, although the fashion shows got a little old. Entertainment staff Aldo was so friendly and engaging. The nightly shows were quite repetitive, same singers and dancers each night, but were ok. All in all in was a fantastic week spent in Varadero and I would recommend giving it a try!!

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Sunfilled, alcohol filled and relaxation in Varadero.

    Reviewed by Andy L(Calgary, Canada) on Mar 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Was at this resort on an all-inclusive. Resort is fairly nicely laid out. The pool area is nice and from there is access to Varadero beach. Room was decent, we just booked the standard room and not the Level. We stayed in room 2212 which faces the pool and partial sea view. The food at the buffet was decent but after a few days seemed repetitive. The service at the restaurants, buffet and bar are very good. Special shoutout to bartenders at the Lobby bar....Luis and Tony (Dayan)...make awesome drinks and are very personable. The food at the a la carte restaurants is average but considering how the quality of the food has vastly improved since my first visit to Varadero, I'm not going to complain too much. The nightly entertainment was ok as I imagine it's hard to keep the same people entertained on a nightly basis. There is a hop on/ hop off double decker bus that goes into Varadero which does a loop through the resorts. Varadero is quite close to this resort but it's also worth taking a taxi ride in one of the vintage cars.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Hotel

    Reviewed by gtout(Tourcoing, France) on Mar 06, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Good hotel is very nice entertainer staff thé are Maylin pompa d’à au bobom the boys Alex Aldo Juan Manuel Jose Carlos good activities for adult and for children enjoy my holiday very nice restaurant and bars with nice cocktails. The sea and beach are marvellous.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX