Meliá Varadero

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    D

    NOT A 5 STAR Hotel - Best Western Equivalent

    Reviewed by DrNick on Apr 22, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    We recently returned after 7 days at the Melia. In no way can it be compared to true 5 star resorts\hotels in Europe of North America. It is more equivalent to a Best Western one finds in the US. Shame on WestJet for ranking it as a 5 star. The rooms are average, quite run down and need renovation. The exterior of the property is in terrible shape (which most of the photos dont show). Cleaning of our room was hit and miss. We constantly ran out of items, which we had to ask to be replaced. The food - ah the food. We tried the Tex-Mex at night and the food was uneatable. The steak was the worst piece of meat I have ever seen. Hands down the worst restaurant we have ever been to. We ate nothing after arriving on a 6 hour flight. Next say we tried the Trinidad at lunch. The only thing we could find appetizing was the chicken. It was passable. Then we tried the Grill or whatever it is called by the pool. Again the worst steak we have ever seen. It was as tough as leather. We hardly touched the food. So we gave up on the al la carte restaurants and ate at the buffet. At least out of all the items (most were unappetizing) we could find something to eat. However the food is not kept clean and the items that need to be cold (raw fish) are not kept cold only in cups on the counter. So we had to be careful. At the desert buffet I watched a little girl about 6 years old pick up a piece of cake, lick the top and then return it to the counter. Horrifying. No one noticed. I had to take it off the counter and give it to the cook. Yes of course the beach is nice, but it is not heads and shoulders above other beaches we have been to in the Caribbean and Mexico, which have far superior all inclusives.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    D

    I have been to cuba three times and this was the best overall experience.

    Reviewed by Derek on Nov 22, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    I went here with my girlfriend for our anniversary and we were very impressed. The hotel was beautiful and very modern and clean. The service staff was great, although the degree of service was sometimes relative to whether or not we left a good tip, buy overall I would say the service was excellent. The food was great and generous as were the drinks and cocktails. We went with Westjet and their representatives were extremely friendly and helpful, the excursions offered were also great with professional and friendly staff. I have been to cuba three times and this was the best overall experience. The only negative was that one of the life guards on the beach kept coming up to me to try and sell me cigars. Eventually after a couple of days I gave in because they looked extremely authentic, but it turned out too good to be true, so in the end I was conned. This would be one thing if I was on the streets of Havanna, but a life guard at the resort? I really felt taken advantage of, so be warned NEVER buy cigars from anyone other than an authentic cigar dealer in Cuba. It is always a con.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6729 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Hotel Issues and Got Sick

    Reviewed by techy9() on Jul 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Cons: -Pool had no chlorine smell at all so probably no chlorine. Most likely where I got the diarrhea. Friends we met had same food as me and were fine. -bed mattress was hard. -Air condition very cold because vent directed at the bed and at your face. Even at low fan and set to 30 C. -Patio door would not lock. Had to go to 5 different rooms before found a patio door that locked. -Woman doing the A LaCarte booking rude and had attitude. While we were asking her questions she kept talking to other worker beside her. Should not be in the hospitality business. -Tex Mex a la carte meat very chewy. Pros: -Beach right behind the hotel so no need to walk along any long path like other resorts. -Some of the staff super friendly like Aldo the entertainment MC. I gave him my Blue Jay hat. Also the bar staff very friendly.

    Cuba 2019

    Reviewed by Rosie315(Toronto, Ontario, Canada) on Jul 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My daughter and I stayed at the Melia Varadero Hotel. Being in an underdeveloped country you can't compare to how things are back home. The room was ok cleaned well had an issue with ants. the food was quite a selection but very bland in need of seasoning. But the beach was very beautiful not rough at all, the weather a beautiful 33 degrees celsius every day if you like the heat, (we do). We took a trip into Havanna see the history and different people overall had good time.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-3

    Family Vacation at beautiful Melia

    Reviewed by amybH8578DD() on Jul 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    4th time to Cuba and 1st to Melia Varadero for a family vacation and all 11 of us were very happy with this Resort. The resort grounds are very clean and easy to get around as it's a smaller resort so everything is nice and close. The outdoor terrace / bar overlooking the ocean was our favorite evening hangout with above & beyond service from Matie, every evening she took care of our group never a wait for drinks. We found the food to be very good with lots of selection and freshly made for you at the buffet the outdoor bbq with Lobster (14cuc) and chicken was amazing! We chose to book the standard room as we only use the room for sleep , shower and changing. Rooms are dated but very clean, cozy and quaint we had no complaints with our room choice. Lots of elevators around the resort to easily get to our rooms. The beach area and ocean is beautiful with lots of chairs in the sun or shade under huts never a issue finding a good spot. Lots of activities going on throught the day at the beach thanks to Alex and great service at the beach bar! Only issue was no washrooms unless you go into the mall which is a pain. The pool area was our biggest disappointment it's a smaller pool with no swim up bar. They do have stools in the water around the bar edge but no one servicing you there so getting out and walking around was a BIG PAIN especially when we enjoy our pool drinks! The drink options are also limited which was annoying at times. The pool also had a large leak as the water level was always low which resulted in a warm and murkey pool. We made the best of it as some in our group are pool people but it was a big disappointment and again no washrooms & no service around pool area. I would not return to this resort only because of the pool area. The entertainment was ok lots during the day around the pool and beach as far as music etc. In the evenings the entertainment shows didn't start till 9:45 which seemed late. They had entertainers in the lobby area some evenings which was enjoyable but we have had much better live entertainment shows & music at other Cuba resorts. All in all we had amazing weather, great service and enjoyed the resort with our family i would return if the pool area is updated & they bring in more lively entertainment!

    BEST STAFF EVER

    Reviewed by ameddy8959(Edmonton, Canada) on Jul 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My husband and I stayed at the Melia Marina for 2 weeks (May 26-June 09) and would definitely recommend it to anyone who is looking for a relaxing, stress free vacation. We typically go to Mexico but will definitely return Cuba. It was such refreshing change to not be constantly harassed by people trying to sell you things. We have travelled to many all-inclusive resorts over the years and have never come across such an amazing, warm, welcoming group of hard working staff ever. The hotel management was present, available and very interested in feedback, especially the manager from Spain who was everywhere and seemed to work 18 hours a day. We had upgraded to the Level and WOW, we feel it was totally worth it. The staff up there took such good care of us and seemed to genuinely care about whether we were enjoying ourselves and would ask everytime we saw them if there was anything they could do to make our stay better. We were greeted within moments of our arrival by Yanet (Level concierge) who gave us an orientation, saw us to our room to make sure were satisfied and then continued to go above and beyond for the next 2 weeks to make sure we had excellent service. We had a concern about the air conditioner our first night and it was addressed immediately, rectified and followed up on by Maykel (Level concierge) whose motto was “if you’re not happy I’m not happy”. Elaine and Arasay were so terrific and helpful as well as were many others whose names I neglected to get.

    Lot of food, loud music

    Reviewed by leavetheuniverse(Budapest, Hungary) on Jul 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Büfé reggeli ebéd és vacsora, igen nagy választékkal, ami azonban állandó. Rettenet hangosan szól a zene a medencénél és az esti discóban, is, annyira, hogy felébred rá az ember. Buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner, you will eat a lot... Very loud music at the pool and at night in the disco (you can hear it in your room with closed windows.)

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-3

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX