Ocean Vista Azul

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    C

    We enjoyed our family vacation here !!

    Reviewed by Celestino7703 on Mar 27, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    We just got back from our vacation to Varadero Cuba at Ocean Vista Mar 21 to 26. I searched this resort based on cleanliness of rooms and location. We were impressed!!! The front desk Rachel was very helpful in accommodating our rooms together for my family, she helped out a lot!!!! The rooms were very clean, bathrooms were very nice a phone in the washroom which was a bonus :), no bugs whatsoever. These rooms were the best I have experienced in Cuba being there a few times already. Thanks to Yainovys who was our Chambermaid, she was very friendly :) The beach is small in one section and split to another larger one on the other side, but that didn't effect much as many chairs were available. The pool was nice, snack bar food was great and pool bar staff were nice too! This resort is easy to get around. A very special thank you to David Cortina and Jessica Garcia at the Buffet restaurant, they made our trip extra special. Always smiling and always at our table if we needed anything. My birthday was March 25 and they gave me a nice surprise birthday sign and delicious cake with singing in the mix :) That birthday surprise I will never forget that surprise was the bonus of our trip!! :) Abel who brought our luggage to our room was also very helpful!! I highly recommend this resort and hope to be back next year!!! Thanks again to everyone at Ocean Vista Azul. A great hotel indeed!! :) Celestino

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    D

    I loved my stay and the bellmen helpped me with my bags from shopping to when I left.

    Reviewed by Donna on Jan 03, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Single

    I would go back to this hotel the staff was very friendly and very helpful. There were great selection of food and the room was very clean.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    K

    WILL NOT RETURN!

    Reviewed by Karen C. on Jan 02, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    We booked a 10 day stay and ended up coming back after 3 days. Although the resort was clean, the food was disgusting (entire cows on a grill-including head, feet, tail), blood pudding sausage balls, awful poached eggs, a "not Italian" Italian restaurant, very limited bar, unreliable restaurant hours, etc. We have traveled extensively and this is NOT a 4 1/2 or 5-star resort. Westjet needs to reconsider this selection.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    K

    Not worth the trip. A true disappointment for a Westjet vacation.

    Reviewed by Karen C. on Dec 28, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    We were scheduled to stay for 10 days and returned home after 3. We've traveled extensively and never experienced such disgusting food and rude staff (with exception of the room maids). Although we appreciate the fact we were in another country and culture, some things are simply unacceptable. Also, an all-inclusive should have a wide range of alcohol and not require you to be a privilege member to get it. Not a chance we'll go back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    K

    Stayed for our 40th wedding anniversary, treated to wonderful breakfast in our room with a beautiful cake & wine

    Reviewed by Kurian on Sep 07, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Staff was wonderful will return

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3071 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    I'm Impressed - You got me forever!!!

    Reviewed by CubaMomma93(St. Catharines, Canada) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    To be honest, I don't want to tell anyone about this resort cause I loved it that much - But I just can't do that. The Ocean Vista Azul is a must!!! Truly an amazing hotel from the time we arrived starting with the ladies at the front Desk, Didayna & Yelainy who made our check-in simple and very accommodating. We had Deluxe Pool view rooms and it was worth the little extra that we paid. Had the pleasure of meeting and speaking with the General Manager, Jorge Alberto who was a class act -Very Professional and Classy and made us feel like he cared about how we enjoyed our stay. The Buffet Staff, David, Lizandra and the others in photos that I can't remember their names (I'm sorry) were the most polite & genuine crew I've ever met. Truly Remarkable individuals that made our experience at the buffet fun and welcoming. Victor @ the Beach Bar was quite the funny character...just a special young man! POOL BAR, Livia, Yos, Henry & Univer were the highlight of our vacation. Love you Livia!!! The list can go on but too many great people to appreciate and recognize, but a huge thank you to all f the Ocean Vista Azul Staffn - Ohh and Abel our bell boy, we miss you already funny guy! I would never leave out our maid Sandra ... Room always cleaned early and she had the brightest smile on such a little lady - thank you! There are 2 beaches (big and small). Both are beautiful and just simply stunning! The sunset was like one I have never seen before. You can view that beauty from the Lobby approx 7:30pm. I very rarely do the same resort twice as I like to check others, but I will definitely come back here, maybe in late fall because we were truly treated like royalty! Well done Jorge, you lead a great team of the best Cuba individuals I've had the pleasure of meeting. See you soon my friends!!! Love Char Wilson and Mark Koritko

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Fantastic!

    Reviewed by kjmackintosh() on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We just got back and loved it Here, It was very spread out with tons of different buildings which made for nice walking paths. The pools were fantastic I loved that there was one that was a circle so you could just walk laps with your drink. It wasn't just some boring square. The staff were fantastic, very helpful, our safe stopped working and someone came up and immediately fixed it. Food was good, there's a bit of everything for everyone. I'd say the one downfall is the sitting area by the beach and pool, there isn't a ton of shade, which might be okay for some, but being pale I need shade. We didn't have any major issues though, just get there earlier (warning some people will be out there at 5 am waiting to claim spots). But we got there around 10-11am every morning and didn't have any issues.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Ocean Vista

    Reviewed by bigjam1980(Moncton, Canada) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Just got back from a wonderful week in the sun. We travelled in a group of 11 and had a fantastic time. Resort was nice, drinks were spot on. There is a lack of shade on the bigger beach however they are building more palapas everyday. Food was Good only complaint is sometimes the buffet was slow but did not really bother us as we were not in a hurry we were on vacation. This is our 3rd time in Varadero and 3rd resort and I would say this is the best one I have been to so far. Beds are a little hard however we slept fine all week. I would recommend this resort whether you are travelling as a family or with friends. Make sure to check out Yosi and Livida at the pool bar sorry if the spelling is off. can not wait for our next trip.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Nice Modern Resort

    Reviewed by Johannegou(Montreal, Canada) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My overall experience was good and I do recommend this resort. The resort was well thought out. Whether you are in Bungalow 3-7 you have easy and quick access to the pool, small beach, buffets, à la carte restaurants and the lobby. I was in Bungalow 6 room 6310. From my balcony I could hear and somewhat see the evening shows from the Iberostar resort next door. When my patio door was closed I could hear anything at all inside the room. I can’t speak for the rooms that were closer to the Iberostar or even the rooms that were on the ground or second floor. Bungalow 7 was directly in front of the theatre so they absolutely will hear the show at least from their balconies. Beach:There are 2 beaches a small beach that has many newly installed Palapas and larger beach with very few Palapas. I heard that there was going to be Palapas added to the big beach and I did see Palapas being put together. Considering where my room was I was very close to the small beach and so spent my time there. The smaller beach had a rocky area on the far right but nothing that ruined by beach experience. The beachfront of the resort has a cliff which caused the beach to be divided to a small (right side of resort) and big beach (left side of the resort) which is the only thing I really did not like about this resort. Food: There is a main buffet that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. A smaller beach buffet that is by the small beach and a snack bar that is located near the pool. I found the food to be good not just «good for Cuba ». There was not a great variety but enough for me to be tempted by more than one item and overfill my plate during the lunch and supper buffets. Breakfast was the usual egg stations where you can get eggs made just the way you want them. There was always a few choices of fresh fruit. Lunch and supper always included grilling stations where you chose your type of fish (about 3 choices) or meat (chicken, beef or pork). The snack bar served hot-dogs, hamburgers and fries. While I was there we had a big BBQ (an entire veal was slow cooked all day and served for supper) this was a hit and I confirm that it was delicious. There was at least one little BBQ for lunch. There may have been more but I spent most of my time at the beach. During this BBQ you chose your meat and it was cooked over charcoal. There are 3 à la carte restaurants: Italian (Limoncello), Caribbean (Boca Marina ) and Gourmet (BlueMoon). During my stay I had most of my suppers at the à la carte restaurants. I returned to all the restaurants and found one or two things I really liked in each. My favourite was the Caribbean restaurant, a huge shout out to Mayelin, Sandra, Doxana and Yaima. They were courteous and did everything they could to meet our wishes. At the Caribbean restaurant I recommend the roasted pork and the Torrejas for dessert. They request that men wear long pants and shirts with sleeves and closed shoes but they don’t enforce this at all. There is the traditional Ocean coffee shop « Mikes ». I had been an Ocean resort before and really enjoyed having a specialty coffee shop available. The coffee was OK but the service was not… The ladies always seemed pissed off and annoyed. The coffee at the lobby was just as good if not better, so I started going there. The reception staff, most if not all the Main buffet staff, the lobby bartenders, the à la carte wait staff and the maids were friendly and client focused. The beach buffet bar and wait staff were stone faced and often gave me the impression that I was bothering them with by drink orders. There was a small makeshift bar at the edge of the small beach where Fidel made a few drinks including the best Rum Punch I have ever had. Rooms: The rooms are nice. The only "interesting" thing I would like to point out is there there is a window between the bedroom and the shower. This is not an issue for couples but can be a bit more delicate for families. I recommend bring your own drink cups/thermoses. They serve all take-out drinks (including coffee) in small plastic cups.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Amazing vacation happens only at wonderful places!

    Reviewed by Kerzeleng() on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Friendly and warm staff, good food, clean rooms, the best view of the ocean, tasty cocktails, amazing nightly live music. Booked a pool view room but had both pool and ocean views. To get that room you should ask for a room on a high floor.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX