Hotel Playa Paraiso

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    M

    Beautiful Beach, Great Weather & Fabulous Drinks!! Definitely going back to Cuba!

    Reviewed by M&M, Chatham, ON on Jan 14, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: August 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Already wrote full review "Beautiful Beach, Great Weather & Fabulous Drinks!! Definitely going back to Cuba!" but wasn't able to upload photos.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    H

    I love my CUban neighbours And they love Canadians!

    Reviewed by Henn to Cuba 5x im the la on Nov 19, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: September 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Love my Cuban friends'= Service and food and drink was accomplished impeccably

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    c

    The beach the people but the food is terrible

    Reviewed by cnaps on Apr 27, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    I stayed at the Pestana hotel april 19-26 2015 the hotel does not look 2 years old more like ten years old and needs work even the lights outside walking to the room where all out for the first two days which made it dark walking back to room but the staff where the best part of the hotel the bar staff cleaning staff and grounds keepers where all very nice and friendly. The beach is very nice a little rocky in shallow parts but once you past the rocks its sandy.people wake up before 6 am to get the shady covers so if you don't get up early your in the direct sun all day.the only problem is the food it's terrible for real there is lots of it but very blan for me and my family. I love CUBA and the people they make CUBA a wonderful experience but the food needs improvement or least at the Pestana hotel

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    D

    Goûtez le poisson frit de la cantine de la plage

    Reviewed by Daniel Pouliot on Mar 15, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Bonjour, Mon épouse et moi-même avons séjourné à l’hôtel Pestana en février dernier. Le site est merveilleux, et de bonne grosseur, tout est bien aménagé. Le poisson frit du de la cantine de la plage est à ne pas manquer. Yosbani, le chef cuisinier de la cantine de la plage vous servira avec le sourire à tous les jours. Que de belles journées nous avons eues. Merci pour l’accueil généreux de tous les cubains pendant nos vacances.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3500 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Ruined in the last hour!

    Reviewed by mas79Uk(uk) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Visited 27th Feb- 13th March. All good on arrival, as repeat customers we had been given the rooms we requested. Food was not as good as on previous visit. All the bar and waiting staff were absolute diamonds. Entertainment was mediocre (too much dancing). Whilst waiting for our coach to the airport an ashtray in reception was broken by accident. A very rude, horrid little man blamed me and demanded 45 peso before I left(pointing his finger in my face in a very aggressive manner). After I told him it wasn't me he then went on to blame and demand money from other families. There was a young couple that we had got to know that got the last coach to the airport and he threatened them with the police saying he had seen them break the ashtray. He wouldn't let them on the coach until they paid, they were extremely upset by this as they had done nothing!! I will never return to this hotel again as a result of this incident.

    good price for what you get

    Reviewed by Natalie M(Dryden, Ontario, Canada) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I was excited to go to this resort after reading such great reviews, however kept telling myself it could be to good to be true. It sure was. Don't get me wrong, this is a very nice resort. It just didn't have the Cuban feel like resorts do in Varadero. Check in was quick and easy. We paid for priority; bottle of rhum and towels were in the room. The following morning as we headed to buffet for breakfast at around 8ish we noticed all chairs at the pool were already taken, not with people sitting there that early but reserved with towels. All of them. We have never seen this before and this was our 4th time in Cuba. Every morning was the same, all chairs reserved by 7:30 and no one was there. This was quite discouraging, we did not once get to swim in the pool which was a first. Not a fan of this system. We would head to beach no later than 10 and find a great spot in priority area without having to reserve a spot. The chair boys were great, found us a spot, got us chairs and cleaned them and then got us a table which we appreciated. We quite enjoyed the beach and water. Priority was great up 'til then, waiter available only now and then. We made due and went up to bar. Beach grill had same thing day after day no variety just fish, rice, cucumber. Our room in building 10 was well kept. Only problem we had was that our card did not work 3 days in a row. was quite a pain to walk to front desk and back to our room to find it was still not working. then technician was too busy chatting up a pretty girl as we waited 45 mins for him to come and help us which was a 30 second fix. Buffet was good but pretty much the same each day. Bread only for breakfast. A la carte..... Italian was great and we enjoyed having George as our waiter. Cuban was awesome! we were then invited to the cuban restaurant for a special dinner, welcomed with champagne, canapes were good, soup was great, principal meal was awesome except that I do not like salmon, however the pork tenderloin was so good, my husband loved the whole meal. Cuban restaurant was the best food for us. the snack bar had amazing fries but took forever to get your meal. I think they would forget who ordered what when. Best part for us was Yoan's bar team. He was so busy being only bartender at his bar but yet kept up with all the orders and made you feel important. Loved Miguel one of the lobby waiters and Youan's sister (sorry did not get your name but loved you) This team work well together. They could use more help. Best part of our day was seeing them. Kids night show same night after night. Salsa lessons in lobby night after night. Night shows? Good if you like watching only dancing. Best night was Tuesday night with pianonist and then Back in Time Show. Rest of shows do not compare to the ones on Varadero resorts. Nice resort, short on service and on cuban authenticity, great beach, who knows about pool area..... had an ok time.....would recommend, but will not go back

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-3

    Cayo Coco Cuba paradise under new management

    Reviewed by Reese A(Ottawa, Canada) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Cayo Coco was hit very hard by Hurricane Irma in 2017. However, the Cuban people are very resilient, proud, and resourceful. The vegetation was levelled on the islands, but it is quickly growing back. The resort itself is in great condition, open fully, with their spectacular beach. The beach truly is world class. The Hurricane brought more while sand and the entire cove now has so many sandbars, I have no idea how far one could walk out into the ocean. As expected, the Cuban people are what sets Cuba apart from many places in the world. There is a culture of tipping on the resort and on the island. Bring some coins and smaller bills, convert your currency to the local CUC, and again, offer some generosity. It is greatly appreciated. The food is decent. It is a buffet with a few a la carte restaurants. The staff does the best they can with what they are given. In Cuba, one must accept what is offered. If the resort is not given bananas that day, then try to not be disappointed at the lack of bananas. Plenty of food on offer. I suggest bringing some favourite spices from home, hot sauce, anything that will bring to life buffet fare. The pool was wonderful, clean and well kept. A swim-up bar in the water, with another bar on the other side meant never waiting for a drink. There is also a 24 hour snack bar, and 2 other bars within seconds walking at the pool. Down by the beach there was a beach bar, as well as a ranchero buffet with a bar. So many waiters/waitresses walking around that one could simply wait and someone would take your drink order. Many people have discovered the secret of bringing one's own "Bubba". Yes, having a giant insulated mug sure had advantages. One trip to the bar, and get anything you want in mega-size. If your drink of choice has ice in it, then you are set for a while. Yes, they also will do your morning spiked coffee that way. Many travellers are frequent guests at this resort!! That says a lot, and is one big reason for our choice.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Ok for the price we paid

    Reviewed by miche849(Canada) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    This will be a short review. Been to Cuba many, many times, and have experienced good and bad and I would say this resort is average. I know lots of people love it, I also see horrible reviews. I would say don’t believe the horrible reviews, it’s fine but...there are some issues that would stop me from going again. The mixed drinks were just bad, watered down and after a couple of days, I just didn’t bother. Getting shade on the beach was the worst I’ve experienced, You have to be there by no later than 6:20 to even get the furthest one. We found this resort to have the longest lines of any resort we’ve been to. The beach is my favorite beach in all of Cuba, so that is all I really cared about. You can walk for miles! Other than that, nothing really stands out. Still had a good time. If you go, just go with realistic expectations.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-3

    Great Family vacation, we loved it

    Reviewed by BradJCanada(Toronto, Canada) on Mar 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Just got back from Playa Parisio after spending march break there, amazing family vacation. Traveled with another couple with kids (13 and 11) and this resort was perfect for them to enjoy the sights of Cuba in a safe and action packed resort. It's our 8th time in Cuba, first time in Cayo Coco and certainly our favourite resort. Compared to other destinations, very close to the airport (20 mins without stops) Pros - -Lots of activities for the kids to do on their own and feel like they are at camp, basket ball, tennis, beach, pool, etc. -Best entertainment we have seen at any resort -Friendly staff, that were always willing to help -Our favourite restaurant was the Italian; George and the entire staff were amazing! very nice and above and beyond with the service...thanks to the whole team at the Italian restaurant. - All Bar staff were friendly and worked very fast...lines were always moving quickly. -Beach is the best we have ever seen, very clean, warm and shallow. Get up early to reserve a spot (7am) -We did the dolphin trip, a must for the kids and only 35 minutes from the hotel - Cleaning staff worked hard to keep everything very clean; hard to do with so many people but they did an amazing job. -Grounds were very well kept, and very lush compared to many other resorts. Improvements: - Food is typical Cuban; if you like seafood there is a lot to choose from. We are a bit picky so found the Snack bar and Italian our favourites - For some reason they only have bread out for breakfast causing many people to take loaves with them. If the resort reads this, bread at every meal would be a great idea for the kids or bread addicts like us. Thanks to the resort, wonderful time and we will certainly go back!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX