Sol Cayo Guillermo

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 4624 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Summer vacation/ Beautiful location

    Reviewed by Trevor C() on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Was upgraded to ocean view room at no extra charge, that's a great way to start my vacation . Resort was super chill and amazing beach , exactly what I needed of this particular vacation. Delicious cocktails with skilled bartenders. Went deep sea fishing , caught 9 Barracudas , kick ass awesome in my opinion. Very gorgeous Cuban women on site , which never really hurts a vacation either. The chefs were making custom pasta dishes for me that were so tasty. Believe me, that's not my last visit to the resort.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Excellent Holiday

    Reviewed by 961LarryC(Thornbury, United Kingdom) on Jul 02, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We were a party of 8 Brits who originally booked the Sol Cayo but before arriving were moved to the Melia Cayo as the Sol planned to close for refurbishment. However one night at the Melia was one night too many with very poor rooms, food and pool. Luckily we found the Sol was actually still open so we were able to transfer there on day 2 and we never looked back and enjoyed a fantastic holiday. Firstly the staff from the General manager Robert down to all of the staff were so welcoming, friendly and always ready to help. People are the best tool in any business and the Sol has an excellent tool kit??. The rooms were comfortable and clean, the food was good and we enjoyed our dinners in the a la carte. The Hemingway bar was an oasis of great coffee and cocktails. The pool area is well kept by Norbert who is adept at rescuing crabs who sometimes fall in at night. Julio and the hut team looked after everything from beach towels to games and arranging as hoc transport. There was excellent entertainment day and night for adults and children and a great friendly atmosphere amongst the guest of which we were the only 8 Brits. If you go make sure to see Ozzy and go out on the catamarans and snorkel the coral reefs for some amazing fish life. All in all it was a brilliant holiday and the honour to meet such lovely staff and learn a little about Cuba

    WOW !!!! SCG what a great time (again).

    Reviewed by KimberleyC157(Braintree, United Kingdom) on Jun 28, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We have just returned from our 3rd trip to Sol Cayo Guillermo, (10/6 - 23/6) it was still as good as we remember from our last visit 6 years ago. On arrival at the hotel we were met by the Manager Nelios, we were made very welcome. We bumped into a couple of staff members who remember us from our last visit - Anita & Joni in the Hemmingway who made delicious cocktails and decorated coffee. Our room (802) a single storey with a sea view, it was clean and did what it said on the tin! we were surrounded by the lovely garden that are very well maintained by the ‘Kestrel' Gardner. The food was very good, there were choices, but not as many as previously experienced - but it was the low season - there were salads / freshly cooked chicken / beef / steak, there was always a fresh pasta bar with choices of ingredients and sauce, the Chef there was fantastic - he was very polite and would always bring your dish to the table once cooked. At breakfast, there were fresh omelettes (with interesting additions - peas / broccoli :-) ) & the pancake bar where you could also get ‘french toast’. Not forgetting the Banana Man – who flambéed them in butter and rum – topped off with caramel or chocolate sauce & ice cream. The Al a carte restaurant (air conditioned) was very good – a set menu (4 courses) but 2 / 3 choices for each course & the finest table service. As other reviewers have stated ‘You would think you were in a very pricey restaurant here to get service like that’. The staff stood back and they were not intrusive, but would always be on hand to refill your drink. We spent many an hour laying round the pool which was just so relaxing, we took part in the many daily activities including lazy darts / aqua aerobics / air rifle shooting & volleyball (pool) which were run / organised by the entertainment team - special mention to Yaniel / Yosvany / Yary / Sanima / Marvelis and Leyanet (apologies for not remembering the other names) but all in all the team were enthusiastic. I would also like to pay tribute to Julio, the towel man / bongo drum player extraordinaire / Entertainer - outstanding performance as Pinocchio in the show on our last night - he was very helpful and always had a huge smile on his face. Then there was Norbet the pool guy - what a lovely guy, again always had a smile on his face with fantastic energy when dancing !! We did the ‘Speedboat Trip’, which is a dash through the mangroves driving your own speedboat - 007 style! Halfway through the trip you moor up and go snorkelling in a channel where there are a variety of fish – Snapper / Parrot fish / Puffer fish / Angel fish / Lobster to name a few which will happily take bread from your fingers!! Then it’s back in the boats and back to the marina – the staff are friendly / funny – highly recommended trip. We had a fantastic fortnight and we cannot express our thanks & gratitude enough to Robert (GM), Nelios (Mgr) and their fantastic team for making our stay full of memories. Bearing in mind the hurricane that ripped through the resort 2 years ago, the staff have done a fantastic job in making good the damaged caused - thank you Cuba, we will be back. Neil & Kimberley

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Old hotel with reconstruction in progress, 3* max

    Reviewed by Dmitry195(Laval, Canada) on Jun 28, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    When i bought the tour, the hotel was rated as 4*. This is not true, it's barely 3. May be 5-6 years ago it was a good hotel, but now it's not. When we arrived, lobby was dirty, with garbage on the floor, plastic cups etc. Room was big and spacey, but looked abandoned, furniture was like found on Salvation Army backyard. Dining room (buffet) was the same, ancient flaked chairs, tables and room itself. In the middle of our stay they decided to make renovation there, so lunches were moved to the small cafe near the beach. Bad move - lack of tables, hot sun etc. After all, all meals were moved to another building. Reconstruction is in progress, as i said The beach and the sea were nice (as usual), but shades were without regular palm leaves - we had to stretch out beach towels on them. There weren't a lot of people in the hotel, so management decreased the number of workers. Sometimes there were no animation, sometimes aqua club didn't work, lack of cleaners and so on. Most of the visitors were either locals or south american people, and it looked like it was OK for them. But one German couple stayed there just half of the day, and then they fled from there to another hotel. Weaklings. Resuming: fellow Canadians, stay away - this hotel doesn't worth the money ps Ah, Couple of good things. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the food was a bit better then in other hotels we've been before.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-4

    Not a bad place

    Reviewed by Shamus1007() on Jun 26, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Stayed 2 weeks I June. Was very suprised by the service and food. Definitely good. I would say this is the best resort I have been to in Cuba. Probably 10 others. Check in: it was fine. Nothing special. Did my own paperwork. Room was not ready on arrival. But lunch was being served Room : #919. Nice room. King size bed and second floor as requested. First night. Needed to return to the front desk many ( over 5 times ) because the key card did not work. The housekeeper was excellent. One night there was a very big rain storm. Roof leaked on my luggage. Reported it to the front desk. Heard nothing. The last day. The air conditioning stopped working. Asked for a technician to check it out. He said it was fine. ( Room was 28 a/c set at 16). Talked to customer service. Nothing happened. Bars and snack bar: very helpful and friendly servers. Coffee was horrible. I don't understand how you can do that with Cuban coffee. But never was able to get a drinkable cup of coffee. The servers were very short staffed during the weekend invasion. Ran out of most thing on the weekend. Beach: excellent!!!! Restaurant: the food was very good for Cuba. Good variety. The older pasta chef was definitely a star. ( Sorry I don't remember his name ). I found if you were not Cuban it was difficult to get drinks. During lunch or dinner. The invasion: in weekend many locals cone to the resort. Some people were not happy. But they were very friendly with me. I had no problem with them. But they did seem to disrupt things at the resort. Probably because of under staffing. When waiting at the snack bar for a sandwich. Someone would be picking up an order of 12 sandwiches. Then no bread left. This happen a few times. I again blame the management. Over all. I would say it was a 4.5* for me until the final night. Then very fast dropped to a 3* because no one took the a/c problem seriously. Y suggestions #1 have more staff and supplies available when you know your capacity will double #2 even if your staff does not believe there's a problem. If a customer has a concern it should be addressed

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX