Angsana Cayo Santa Maria

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 202 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Travel Cuba

    Reviewed by rogerdiazp() on Apr 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    It's a great place with great workers and good service but it needs to get better nigth recreation, the music in all places in the Hotel is just to 10 or 10:30 pm, even on weekend and all cutomers are adults. Also I don't recommend the Asian restaurant, the service and food aren't good, the buffet is better.

    Excellent time with family and friends

    Reviewed by altruta(Toronto, Canada) on Apr 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I would like to thank the management, for all the good conditions offered to us to have a great vacation! Especially to :Hany Morain, who made the arrangements for my wife birthday ; bartenders staff: Pocurull, Louis, Eduardo, Lisa,; Entertaiment staff; Adriel, Yulian, Aynel; Yurkuemy, Lazar, Frank, Daniela , all staff from the buffet and snack Barr, and also for the grill chef, Ayleen and people who work at the grill bar, for all the cleaning staff, (Mayleen) the gardeners (Don Jose Luis) ,who are professional and dedicated to make us happy!! The beach is very nice, with white sand and corals, not to deep, with good opportunities for snorkel. When the resort is at full occupancy, there are not enough palapas. For the fishing lovers, very good place to practice fishing in the flats, to the canal area( best to catch is using sardines) The problem witch I noticed is the schedule for applying the bugs and mosquito repellent. Morning ( 7-7.15 am ) at coffee time and evening (7-7-30 pm)when the diner starts .We had this unpleasant experience on the night of my wife birthday ,beside snack Barr at the diner table; not pleased and not healthy for anyone!! The food and drinks are good quality and variety, presentation and servings! I'm looking forward returning to Angsana soon!! Keep the quality of services and provide the food and drinks like now and all the tourists will love It!!! Alexandru Truta

    A quite resort for adults

    Reviewed by TropicalSerenity(Windsor ON) on Apr 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This resort is a good choice for older adults looking for a low active, low noise vacation. Young adults looking to party should book elsewhere. However there is a price to pay for this non child quietness; up to $300 more for a comparable room in resorts near this one. I am not convinced it is worth it. For the non cabana people this is a 4.5 star resort. Maybe the cabana people would consider this a 5 star resort. The resort has 4.5 star quality in most areas including room, pool, beach, bars, service and a la carte food. It fails in hot buffet food quality/variety and for having only one premium a la carte restaurant (which itself has bad ambience ) . The nighttime entertainment of musicians was a good idea rather then having 'animation' shows. Although the Jazz bar should have been called the Piano bar. The last feature I would like to point out is that this resort is sitting next to a very good coral reef with plenty of fish variety to look at when snorkeling. In conclusion I would return to this resort but only if a good discount is offered.

    Great week at the Angsana

    Reviewed by Laurie M(London, Canada) on Apr 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Just returned home, after spending a great week at the Angsana. My thoughts: - Arrival....received a warm welcome on arrival from reception. Was given our room, exactly what I requested, Block 6, Room 0665, at first glance room looked perfect, bottle of rum waiting for us and a welcome note. - Room.... beach towels in closet, they were huge, thick and soft, as well as bathrobes and slippers. Bath supplies, lotion, shampoo, soap, bath gel, never used them, fair size bottles in case someone didn't bring their own. The maid did a great job, room was cleaned every day, fresh towels daily, even had wash cloths. Had sheets changed when wanted, just put a notice on bed, done...no complaints....bed was so comfortable, pillows (4) very long and soft, also found these comfortable, slept very well. Woke up the next morning and saw that beautiful view.....can't get any better than that. Took a walk around the resort, grounds are beautiful, and well kept, one thing, photos don't do the cabanas justice, they are beautiful. - Beach and Pools.....only walked the main beach, never used it, but was lovely. Quiet beach, loved that beach, had no problem getting shade....wish we were on that beach right now. There is also a bar there, service was great. Pools, beautiful, clear and blue, maybe time of year, water temperature was just right. The only problem here was, not enough shade. - Food, breakfast, the usual, yohart, cereal, eggs, ham (no bacon), cheeses, crepes, I think could have been cooked a little longer, and tons of other stuff I don't eat, but looked great. If someone wants a lot of fruit, I think it's best to have a fruit smoothie, they were good, they even had little jars of marmalade for your toast. Lunch, had it at the buffet, great variety, or snack bar....excellent fish fingers, and shrimp. Dinner, first night, ate at the Asian restaurant, we found it too noisy, and was not our cup of tea, all other nights ate at the buffet. Found our perfect table, waitress/waiter they were the best, great variety, loved the chicken and rice, salmon, delicious, beef chunks, to my surprise, very tender, variety of vegetables, and found my favourite dessert, rice pudding...that was so good, as well as other desserts. There was nothing negative to say about the buffet, ever. Even liked the house white wine. To be picky, buns were a little dense, but just put more butter on them. The service at these restaurants was outstanding. - Drinks....never been to a resort that had such great drinks, and in the evening, was amazed the drinks that kept coming out from the bar...all I can say is wow. Only one negative, never cared for their cappuccinos - Entertainment..... couple nights, female singers, in the bar, had a fantastic guitar player a couple of nights, we could of listened to him every night...he was very talented, wish I had my Cuban music list, he could have played a couple. - Overall..... really enjoyed our week, thought the resort was beautiful, staff was great, very friendly, food/drinks, no complaints here, except wifi was down a few days, maybe that's a good thing.... the only biggie, was the bugs, not the resorts fault, the whole island had this problem, as I found out on the flight home, maybe time of year, they were out in full force, so definitely bring bug spray. Must mention, resort was at about half capacity. Would love to return.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Amazing time at Angsana

    Reviewed by 2Boss(Toronto) on Apr 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    An absolutely perfect stay. Special thanks to Tailuma for making our stay extraordinary. The beaches and grounds were gorgeous, the room was spotless and comfortable (special thanks to Alberto). Food, drinks and service staff were amazing. Would return in a heartbeat and will recommend to all our friends.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX