Meliá Las Dunas

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    I

    Great resort with lots of added value.

    Reviewed by IW on Aug 05, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    The staff were very friendly and lots to do on the resort. The Pueblo next door was fun to walk to, and surprisingly, there was a bowling alley there. Very retro and a must try. Getting onto the beach was very steep and the boards on the bridge were a bit rickety. At times, there was not much food coming out of the snack bar and a lot of items on the small menu were not available. Wi-fi is a bit expensive but it is the same rate at all hotels. 4.5 cuban convertible pesos for 1 hour.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    P

    Adult friendly and family friendly, great for both!

    Reviewed by Phil C on Aug 01, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    This resort although large has an excellent layout. The lobby and restaurants are in the middle and then they have the family section on one side and the adult section on the other. When travelling without kids it's nice to have a large pool that isn't overrun with children without having to pay extra for an "adults only" resort. The staff were very friendly and the resort seems to run like a well oiled machine as it's one of the more established hotels in the area. The food at the buffet was decent for the most part, but food in Cuba in general leaves a lot to be desired so it's not a knock on the hotel. The beach in Cayo Santa Maria is beautiful and the hotel has plenty of palapas and beach chairs available. I stayed in a Premium room and it was spacious, quiet, had a large walk in closet, steam iron, tub with shower, bidet. Only gripe would be that the mini fridge was practically room temperature so had to settle for warm beer a few times. With the exception of those with really high standards/expectations I would recommend this hotel to just about everyone else.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    C

    Beautiful grounds and direct access to large white sandy beach

    Reviewed by Colleen on Jul 31, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Large resort with great staff and wonderful food. The rooms are very spacious with either patio or balcony. Housekeeping was amazing as couldn't get the key to work and she let us in twice with our registration approved. Several buildings surround the lobby area and there was a lot of walking but could call for a golf cart and driver to take you from place to place if legs get tired. Currency exchange counter in lobby and open from 9-6pm Monday to Friday. Loved it!!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    j

    excellent getaway for families and adults

    Reviewed by jstevens on Jul 27, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    The hotel was very accomodating, fast check in. The rooms were cleaned daily and mini bar restocked every other day. The pools were cleaning in the morning and kept clean daily.They did spray in the evenings to keep the mosquitoes at bay. There is lots of available seating for the buffet. Great selection of foods. They do also have golf carts driving around the resort as it is quiet large and spread out.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    Enjoyed my stay at the Melia Las Dunas.

    Reviewed by MP on Jul 27, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    The staff was great, the food was good and the pool had plenty of lounge chairs.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    N

    Large property with something for everyone!

    Reviewed by Nina W on Jul 26, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    I really enjoyed Melia Las Dunas. It's a Huge property with lots to see and do! One side is more adult oriented and the other is more geared for families, with baby & kid's club. We also noticed a games area that even had archery. The rooms were in two story villas no elevators , are spacious and clean. I read some previous reviews that complained about bugs. The only time we noticed them in the room was when we left our patio door open one afternoon when we went out. On property, we saw that they treat 2x/day, which we found out is common in the area. We had bug spray and didn't have a problem. There was a short boardwalk over to the beach, which had lovely white sand and covered areas. It was a narrow beach with a bit of an incline and the ocean depth increased gradually with soft sand. I enjoyed body surfing and shell seeking. The pools had easy access and the swim up bar was popular. Good water temperature and clean, even with the wind blowing empty drink cups around. The buffet was nice with good variety and there was a quieter side, which was smaller no line for omelets in the morning and the larger side, which had more variety. I didn't love the Oriental restaurant, but there were lots of other options. There were three weddings while we were there and it has several romantic settings for the ceremony. They have a theatre and the evening music was great! The Spa and Fitness center is distance away in Pueblo Las Dunas which is between this property and Melia Cayo Santa Maria. Although I didn't use those, we enjoyed a night of bowling in this little off site area. I'd recommend bringing comfy shoes for getting around the property and visiting Pueblo Las Dunas. They have a golf cart service that goes around, so you don't have to walk everywhere, but I like being able to explore. The staff are friendly and helpful and I wouldn't hesitate to return!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 9802 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    READ before travelling here!!!

    Reviewed by angiedalios(Montreal, Canada) on Aug 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    We travelled here from Aug 13 to 22 (9 days) Family of 5 ( 2 kids 7 years old) I'm going to keep this review very objective ( as much as I could).. and talk about the actual problems we had starting from the worst; NO CUPS, NO ICE IN THE WHOLE RESORT! You read correctly! by 2 pm EVERY DAY the beach bars had no more cups and no more ice! no more softdrinks for kids, the pool bars had no more cups and no more ice!!!!. UNACCEPTABLE for an all inclusive resort!! to not be able TO HAVE A DRINK?? LET ALONE A COLD DRINK!!!!! UNACCEPTABLE UNACCEPTABLE UNACCEPTABLE. Imagine spending 10 days with your family in these conditions? day in and day out. Extremely frustrating and UNACCEPTABLE. LIMMITED NUMBER OF PLATES IN THE BUFFET Every single breakfast and dinner, it was the same problem, you could NOT find any plates. Waiting around, asking for plates numerous times from different waiters. It was a constant battle to get any plates! The actual plates are HUGE, abnormally huge, which psychologically it's human nature to want to fill your plate. This resulted in an abundance of waisted food sitting at tables. NO WORKING PHONES IN HALF THE RESORT: Guess what? if you had an emergency in your room (like we did), you could not use your phone as MOST of the phones in the rooms DO NOT WORK!!! This is a HUGE safety concern ---------------------------- We enjoyed the beach period!, the staff (Barbara the waitress, at the beach lunch resto) and Ricardo the entertainment kept us sain! LUIS at the main lobby bar was great! Everything else, is a BIG FAT ZERO To the management: Hire a Director of Operation and fix all these issues that can be fixed as these are all a result of poor operations and human error. 1) Invest in more and smaller size plates, less wasted food and all your guests will eat! 2) Conduct proper average calculations on ice consumption and cup usage and purchase accordingly for your guests!! 3) Network with your surrounding counterparts and brainstorm for solutions as oter hotels did not have these issues! 5) When I voiced my opinion to the manager on the 5th day, he had no answers for me except "i'm sorry" I'm sorry wont fix these HUGE issues!. He offered me 2 extra reservations for restaurants and a late checkout, IN EXCHANGE, I had to sign a waver not to pursue them in court!! 4) We spoke to other travellers on the bus on the ride home and nobody else had these issues at the different resorts. Melia Las Dunas is a 3* at most. I URGE everyone to speak up!! thank you

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-3

    vacancies

    Reviewed by Thebest c() on Aug 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Great staff and hotel, had a fun time especially at the beach Entertainment is the best here never a boring moment if you are with Carlos and Ricardo! The beach is definitely one of the best beaches in all of Cuba Come see

    PLEASE READ : VERY DISAPPOINTED

    Reviewed by le8035(Toronto, Canada) on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Cuba 31 July 2019 The first night in the hotel Melia Las Dunas It is posted as a 4.5 star hotel. I had a very bad experience in this hotel, we are a group of 4 families, therefore a total of 11 people. There are 3 members in my family and I booked the room with 2 double beds Look at the picture the room they provided , it’s terrible, there is only 1 bed and the shower is for handicap person . There are lots of insects in and around the room . We can not accept the room and we decided to go to the front desk to get a room change .there is no manager present and they can’t change the rooms for us ( this way, they are able to scam us and make money) , we have to stay with that room over night. The next morning , I go to the front desk again , and still there is no manager there. The receiptionist is very rude and is not able to help me with anything . She told me just wait , that is the way to treat guests. After several arguments , they change the rooms for us . But I still not happy with that room with that smells of mild and sewer . There was only one buffet open , the other was closed because there are not enough guests at the hotel. This hotel is not worth to stay in, if you like to go Santa Clara.

    Vacancies

    Reviewed by Kevin E() on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Stayed here for a week with my father and had an incredible stay. Service was fantastic, staff was super friendly! Annabella was the maid assigned to our room and never disappointed, room was clean & fridge was stocked daily *good thing because it’s always incredibly hot. Entertainment staff always had something for us to do! Ricardo always had us dancing or nah laying soccer on the beach & Jaylene was our guide to the nightlife in the city and at the clubs. Overall had a great stay and really recommend this resort.

    vacancies

    Reviewed by jswjjexna() on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I visited Melia Las Dunas for two weeks and the beach was amazing, every single day there were so many activities to participate in and the fun never ended. The people at Melia Las Dunas are very friendly and always try and make your visit the best it can be

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX