Ocean Casa del Mar

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    d

    So much potential but horribly serviced

    Reviewed by dctraveller on Apr 27, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    The good…Excellent location, very private, secluded from other resorts. Feels like you’re in true Cuba natural landscape. Beautiful white sandy beach where you can walk in many directions for miles. Grounds are well landscaped but not matured yet. Buildings and grounds very well maintained. Pools areas are beautiful. Easy walk everywhere on the resort thru concrete sidewalks. Really friendly and courteous staff. We could get into any and all A la Carte restaurants as long as we were there right at 7pm. The bad…Minimal entertainment. No welcome drinks in the lobby and nobody at the front entrance to welcome you. You have to take your own bags/suitcases and lug them around everywhere. Upon check in we asked for a trolley to bring us to our room and when we arrived at our building, we had to carry our own luggage up to the 3rd floor to our rooms. Not a lot of lights at night and can get tricky to walk from one end of the resort to the other. Beach towel supply was very low and rare. Buffet area/food supply was too low for the amount of people that are at the resort so trays were often empty and VERY long lineups at the 3 grills meat, pasta and fish grills . Very long lineup at all areas. Food in restaurants was of the same quality as the buffet, i.e. not bad but sometimes tough meats Asian meat was horrible , cold food and took HOURS to be served. Privilege restaurant was very good with service and quality of food… we had to tip big time to get in there… we just wanted to see the difference in restaurants…like night and day… that kind of frustrated us when we realized that everything/everyone else was treated 2nd class… not right in my opinion. The ugly…Bath towels in the room were grey and very stained. In the shower in the room,, there was no water nightly between 6-7pm. Shower drain worked minimally so water stayed in the shower for 10 mins and often flooded bathroom floor. Air condition not working.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    C

    Wonderful vacation at a beautiful resort!

    Reviewed by Careylw on Aug 22, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: August 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    We spent a week, mid August, at this resort and loved it. Everything looks exactly like it does in the pictures. The staff could not have been nicer and nearly everyone speaks excellent English and French. The food was acceptable, remember Cuba is not known for having great food. There wasn't much that we tried that we couldn't eat. It may not all be to one persons taste but finding something good is not at all hard. The portions at the al a cartes are quite small but you can order multiples of anything if you want to. Our room was clean and well attended by the housekeeper. Massages at the pool are inexpensive and very good. The only negative we had was that there is no food served at the beach. You have to go to either the buffet or snack bar to get lunch. It's not that far though. I have a feeling that this will change in time as the resort is still building and there appears to be a space for a snack bar at one of the beach bars. I wanted to mention the staff again. They are worth a second mention. They really bend over backwards for you and always with a smile. The staff really pushed this trip over the top for us. They take the time to learn your name and treat you like an old friend. It felt very genuine.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 2582 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Perfect summer vacation

    Reviewed by Carole V() on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Just returned from 7 glorious days at Casa del Mar. Great accomodations, good food and a beautiful beach including decent snorkeling opportunities right from the beach. Thank you Adrian and Felix, our butlers who went over and above the call of duty to make our vacation a memorable one. Dayana our maid who made our return from the beach something to look foward to, Elazabeth and Cynthia for waiting on us so attentively at the main bar, Yulien, Yaldrei and Erridannys for making our dining experience such a pleasure and to Osmany for safekeeping and making the return of my wife's lost prescription glasses a reality. Gracias, Carole & Vincent

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Amazing Vacation

    Reviewed by Cherylgenik(Dauphin, Canada) on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    2nd trip to this resort - this is a beautiful resort, with amazing beaches and most attentive staff. The best part of my vacation was the Animation Team, one particular person, his name is Reidy. He is so energetic and really gets all vacationers involved. From dance lessons, pool exercises, beach activities to of course fun games. Reidy works very hard with his team to make everyone’s vacation a memorable one. I would highly recommend this resort as you won’t be disappointed- I can’t wait to return to Ocean Casa del Mar. See you soon ??

    ******DONT GO HERE ******

    Reviewed by Keke B(Laval, Canada) on Aug 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    this hotel is totaly garbage will not recommend no one here i feel like im in jail in here plus when you try to fill a complaint they tell you we will call police and immigration to send you back home even if you paid big money to have what you deserve .they have a snack bar 24/7 that offers you nothing only cheese slices and hotdog this is very discusting also a/c in the rooms wont work i called to tell them they told me we will send technician right away never did and they stoped awsering its been 8 days they dont have fries in the resort what kind of 5 star hotel dosent have fries staff like Edgar are very disrespectful of tourists and security Carlos even worst they think they can send you back yo your country because you want to fill a complain on there garbage hotel very disappointed i cant stay here any longer i honestly don’t recommend no one here if you want to be in jail your welcome to go or else spend couple hundred more and get all your service your paying for shame on you OCEAN CASA DEL MAR i will be posting pictures and videos of everything in couple days

    awesome

    Reviewed by Yenery A() on Aug 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    beautiful hotel, very nice staff especially at the buffet Magdiel's team they are awesome, they will make sure you feel very comfy and helped, the bartenders are the best Omar is pretty cool and the best service, so far the best service I have experienced in Cuba

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    I love Ocean casa del mar

    Reviewed by Nichyca() on Aug 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    As we take our yearly vacations to Cuba we like to always try something new this year we chose ocean casa del mar as our resort ... we were very happy with what we received as the staff was polite especially the manager Edgar who has helped us a lot during our vacation and was very generous with the accommodations. The resort is beautiful and clean and the restaurants a la carte are very tasty. Highly recommend the deluxe sweet, you have an amazing view of the ocean with the sunrise and sunset. The beach is very clean, water is phenomenal especially for snorkeling as there is beautiful coral reef meters away from the shore as well as clean sand to walk and swim in. Definitely will be coming back with my family.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX