Playa Vista Mar

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    L

    Buyer beware!

    Reviewed by Love on Mar 04, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Single

    BUYER BEWARE! Horrible hotel for Young girls to travel, Staff is unprofessional and inappropriate. Hotel is in the middle of no where, keep in mind there is no nearby hospital in case of emergency. The rooms :had big beetles that would creep in and the bathroom smelt like sewer and poor plumbing, sheets were stained and dirty, the double lock on the room can be opened by the key and hotel staff.The Food: The buffet food was always the same, a mystery meat that they would have each day and a recycled salad bar filled with little fruit flies. Only good thing was breakfast. Drinks: Tasted like dirty water. Go to any other resort but this one

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    J

    Nice modern hotel.. terrible service

    Reviewed by Jhanson on Jan 07, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    Very modern beautiful place amazing beaches. Now the downside. We stayed from dec 26-to Jan 2nd. First few days we good..then took a turn for the worse.. if u dont speak Spanish ur ignored. I speak a little enough to get by and still was ignored. Getting food at the buffet was a struggle my 3 year was push knocked to the grown and had her plate knocked out of her had numerous times. Buffet is insane we basically lived at the snack bar which was supposed to be 24/7.. but ran out of everything and half the time they would just tell u sorry no food come back in half hour to an hour. But yet watched them hand out food to Cubans and other guest they favored. The Cubans are allowed on the resort and it got insane they got into the restaurants with out reservations, they hired to the beginning on the lines . They just go around behind the counters and talk to the chefs and they get served first. 50 mons in line for pasta which is already cooked!! We went at 8 and it open at 7 and all the stations were shut down. Sorry no more food.. it's open till 10. Getting service to get drinks were a nightmare we ended up buying our own and drinking in the room or making bbn our own drinks. The staff ignore you. We are tippers and they still dont come back around. I've been to Cuba 6 times and it's the worst service I've ever experienced. And talking with other Canadians they were having the same problems we were.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 430 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Very Disappointing

    Reviewed by burystone() on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Why take an outstanding modern hotel with great facilities and a beautiful beach and great food then mismanage it to the point that it becomes a nightmare for the guests. That was exactly our experience at the Sercotel Experience/Playa Vista Mar in Cayo Santa Maria Cuba. We arrived on January 8th after reading amazing reviews on trip advisor. Looking back at these reviews now just makes me think that they were written by a copywriter and not a genuine client. The reviews that followed I could have written myself as they exactly reflected our experience.. Cold food, bad service, poor cleanliness standards. We experienced them all often on our stay. We paid a little extra to stay in a the adult section with a sea view. When we got there the staff explained that we didn’t pay for a sea view. When we produced our documentation they realized their mistake but this meant that they had to change our room. After about 30 minutes they did find us a room. But it was obvious they didn’t have one. Rather that say have this room till we sort this out. They gave us a room on the second floor of building 10. But sea view was a bit of a stretch. It was a view of another building where you could get a sea view out on the balcony looking left. We decided to stay here for now and see what worked out later and we needed to rest a while due to early flight times. I was just falling asleep when there was a bang on the door. I asked whoever it was to come back later, but he continued to bang shouting “open up, this is the police” I eventually got dressed and answered the door. It was the guy who fills the fridges. Just a joke he said. Not funny and very unprofessional. We decided to have a snack then and made our way to the adult section snack bar. We ordered pizza and were told there was no flour. The staff were friendly but the French fries were obviously reheated and were too burned and hard to crunch. That night we ate at the Mediterranean restaurant. The food and service were good but there was no butter for the bread. Just bad mayonnaise again We had breakfast at the snack bar next morning. Again no butter, Just mayonnaise to spread on our toast. We decided to sit at the pool but some pool guy turned up and started to play loud club music so we decided to go to our room and read. This didn’t work either. The whole morning the cleaning staff shouted at each other at the tops of their voices. Simply carrying on a conversation. It seemed that we couldn’t get away from the noise. This shouting to each other all day went on for the whole week. It was infuriating. If the snack bar wanted a drink from the bar, they shouted to one another and carried on lengthy conversations By this time the beach had struck up more loud club music and we ended the day walking along the beach to get away from it all. We had come to relax, we expected music but not music you had to shout to be heard above. Next day we decided to try the buffet at breakfast. Again no butter. The food was for the most part cold. And the heated try baths the food were off. Even the fresh stuff coming out was cold was already cold. It was obviously prepared hours before then left to cool. What a waste of good food. There was one poor girl on the omelet station at each side and a queue of 10 people long on each side. They obviously were inexperienced and were cooking one omelet at a time taking about 3mins an omelet. We were not going to wait 30 mins for fresh food. We decided to eat what we could and leave. The restaurant was fairly clean but the windows were filthy. I saw this in a review when I was there but nothing got done. This was the same in our building (building 10). I wrote a message in the dirt with my finger on the landing window. It was still there when I left. The noise was still an issue as the week went on. We decided to see if the hotel across the road The Dhawa was having any better service, It is owned by the same company. The place is beautiful and to our surprise fresh pizza was being served in the snack bar and they had real butter available. Yet our hotel snack bars had no flour for Pizza all week. To me it was obvious the decision to take pizza and butter off the menu and serve bad mayonnaise instead of butter was not a supply issue but a commercial decision. Because this hotel is built on a relatively remote part of Cuba there is nowhere to walk to a village to see some local culture. All the staff are bussed in and out. There is one bus that comes to the hotel and travels around all the other hotels on the island but why would you want to do that? There were no cars for rent at the car hire vendor all week and no scooters either. The only way out is to take a paid tour. We made the best of the situation but we were very disappointed. This was especially true at the weekend when Cuban nationals turn up to stay at the resort and are there to party. The swimming pool is party central with extremely loud party music and entertainment staff shouting for hours over the loudspeakers as they organize party activities. The last night we paid to eat at the Cuban restaurant. We expected to get freshy cooked food but again it was all very cold. We could have picked it up cold at the buffet ourselves. The waiter spoke little English so we left out dinner and walked out as did a couple of other tables beside us. We went straight to guest services and complained. The girl said she would tell the manager so I waited around but nobody came. There was no effort made to find us another restaurant or to offer us a refund so we just fended for ourselves. On the morning we left, the 15th January we woke up to a very different hotel. Suddenly everyone looked alive. At the breakfast buffet the entertainment staff were all dressed up with big smiles they high fived us as we went into the restaurant. The food choice and presentation was first class and the heated baths under the food steamed in the bright lights. The food was fresh hot and tasty. Two chefs in high hats were multi tasking serving super fast omelets. Outside the restaurant were well dressed managerial looking staff wishing us a great day. I can only guess they had executive visitors checking on the hotel. But it struck me that the hotel management knew exactly how to give a special experience. They simply chose not to. So the hotel was run by the staff for the staff. So here we are. A great hotel with good food spoiled and cold and badly managed staff. I won’t be back and advise you to take the good reviews with a certain degree of skepticism. It was a horrible week. I expect there will be comment apologizing for our experience when we post this, but the truth is most of these comments were in the reviews while we were there. There were apologies from the management after these reviews too. But nothing changed. It may make the hotel sound as if they care but I doubt it.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-2

    April 5 - 12 food poisoning on last day!

    Reviewed by Wingnuty(Montreal, Canada) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Overview: Hotel seems to have changed hands several times - We booked under Playa Vista Mar, also was Sercotel, now apparently grand aston - go figure, they use melia serviettes. Tried to get us to upgrade at check-in and glad we didn't. Got food poisoning on the last day (see below for details). Rooms were nice, AC worked very well. Hotel lobby was quite grand with 2 water features in the center of the lobby surrounded by ~12’ tripping hazard in the form of a 1 inch raised marble/granite surround that extended around the water feature. Not sure what they were thinking when they put that feature in. Pre-entertainment in lobby was good, the main evening entertainment not so much. Lack of staples (bread, french fries and some choices on ala cart menu’s). Great beach, although will not be returning to this hotel. Beach Pros: Great beach, ideal for children given the shallow water. Transport available to beach if you want. Plenty of shade, didn’t have to play the towel game although some did. Clear water, easy snorkeling – although limited variety of fish. Did see a stingray, a pipe-fish and some different sized barracuda. Chicken from the beach barbecue was good. Cons: No utensils to eat barbecue on the beach, bar ran out of draft beer for the last 2 days I was there – poured cans of crystal as a work around once they were cooled. No water in showers on beach walkway closest to resort – shower near beach bar did work. No washrooms in immediate beach area. Note: ~4 cranes as a backdrop to beach supporting new hotel construction around the bay. Room Pro’s: Stayed on 3rd floor in block 2, which is close to the lobby. Modern, updated rooms, AC worked great - best we have had in cuba. Safe is included, although did not display numbers when being set. Flat screen TV (although some channels would cease to play until someone somewhere re-set the satellite feed) Cons: Shower drain was very slow to drain, overflowed into toilet area, no hot water – maintenance did fix problems quickly after I reported it. Low quality towels, only one garbage can in bathroom. If you want late check out it will cost 8.80 cuc per hour. Food Pros: Limited variety, although you could normally find something. Buffet had 2 egg/omelet stations for breakfast and a meat, pasta and fish station for lunch and evening meals. Snack bar was open 24 hours, also barbecue station near pool. Cons: if you want a spoon to eat ice cream, you will have to get one from the waiter - often finished eating it with fork before the spoon showed up. Not sure why they cannot be left out at the desert station. The only day i saw a self serve roast pork you were expected to cut it with a regular knife. they refused to provide a sharp knife, nor did they offer to cut the meat.... The other option was to use the serving spoon/fork to try and pull the meat off. Bread was in very short supply, menu’s in ala cart restaurants very limited in choices which were further limited by lack of listed items. Line-ups at the meat, fish, pasta and omelet stations. No French fries (even at 24 Hr snack bar), no fried eggs prepared at self-serve buffet area, bacon seemed in short supply some mornings and was also swimming in liquid grease. Pre-made b'fast dishes such as scrambled eggs had dry layer on top. Food poisoning: Unfortunately, we got food poisoning on our last day (Friday), strongly suspect the RH omelet /egg station, both of us had a ham and cheese omelet on the last day at breakfast. We left late in the afternoon for a ~10:15 pm flight. My partner started throwing up on flight back, I started once we were home in the early hours of the Saturday morning. This was followed by many bouts of diarrhea – both of us are still sick at the time of writing this review, although now in recovery 2 days later. We did not eat at the airport and the third person traveling with us did not get sick, we all ate the same food the day we left with the exception of the ham and cheese omelet - hence why the ham and cheese omelet is suspect.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-3

    Nice resort!

    Reviewed by tyannaxx(Corner Brook, Canada) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Just returned home to Canada after spending a week at this resort with a group of friends. We overall enjoyed our stay, the rooms were beautiful, the resort itself was beautiful. We were not a big fan of the beach, but we made it work! We spent a lot of time at the pool, which was great, the pools were nice and clean, the entertainment team was amazing! Shout out to Rafael, who is apart of the entertainment team and he was nothing but good to us the whole week, he’s super sweet and we loved him! We struggled with the buffet, as there was very little to choose from, there wasn’t a lot of variety, and found it very repetitive. The servers were great, Miguel was our server for most of our stay and he was incredible and made sure we had everything we needed! But the food has lots of room for improvement. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely consider returning in the future!

    A Very Nice Modern Hotel

    Reviewed by kingheff(Innisfil, Canada) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    March 18-25, 2019 I wanna start by saying, this is my 7th time to Cuba, 4th time to Cayo Santa Maria. Also we have traveled to Mexico, Jamaica, DM, & Panama. Just wanted to point that out so you know we know the difference between countries and their amenities. Pre-Trip I want to let people know, there is a Facebook group page where you can leave messages to the resort and they will respond in a few days. Pretty helpful. Just search Hotel Playa Vista Mar. Also there is a forum on Facebook under the the resort's original name, Sercotel experience, which is run by people actually there, or some that have been there, very nice to have prior to arriving. Food. 7/10 ----------- Ok so the saying goes as so, "You don't go to Cuba for the food", Well I will start by saying the snack bar is great, probably the best fries we've ever had at any resort, and ice cream daily was our kids favorite. The burgers were pretty good, hot dogs weren't neon inside like we've seen in other locations. Overall a good snack bar. And it is open 24hrs. The buffet was ok, the rice station was out twice during our week, and it was amazing, definitely the highlight, the pasta station was good, but sometimes out of certain sauces, but good. Breakfast was good, omelettes were great, if you get bacon that is clearly undercooked compared to what we are used to, bring it to the staff at the omelette station and they will cook it more for you. Dinners were ok, alot of repetitive items forsure, but never went hungry. A la cartes This is where they need work. So we pre-booked our 2 a la cartes on the Facebook page, and as we were told, the slips were in our room envelopes. They were scheduled for our last two nights, but we were happy we were able to pre-book them without any early morning line ups, so we kept those reservations given. So we wanted Mediterranean, but it's located in the adult section, and we had kids, so we couldn't have that one, so we booked French & Italian. So we showed up for our first "French", a la carte, when we arrived we were told it's actually seafood, we said ok can we see the menu? Usually they have a chicken or other alternative for those that didn't like seafood, well there was none, Infact, they didn't have half of the things on the seafood menu, so we ended up at the buffet. We were then told our next a la carte that was scheduled to be Italian, will be French menu, in both a la cartes, lol so we showed up for that a la carte, and ordered, we had a soup, it was great, wine was nice, so about a half an hour in, we were waiting for our entrees to arrive, and the waiter told me he has bad news, they were out of chicken, lol I said, well we ordered over a half hour ago? and he said because both a la cartes were using the same menu, someone else got our chicken, so we switched to the beef, it was basically a stew and was very good. So I think it's a lack of organization, once we ordered chicken, it should have been put aside, so other servers know exactly how many there are available, but again we changed our order and it was good, a small thing to us lucky vacationers. But the deal with not being aloud to go to the Mediterranean because it's location is in the adult section is odd, it was advertised to all, but only some could take advantage. Just a little organization would make a world of difference, but it went from Sercotel, to Playa Vista Mar, and now Grand Aston, in the first year. So with all these changes, kinda hard to know what's what. Overall food was ok, typical of Cuban cuisine, but a pretty major shortage of bread product, which we heard ahead of time, and again, didn't go hungry. The Pools. 10/10 ----------------- We were at the pool with the swim up bar, it overlooked a lower pool, both very nice, good temperature, very clean everyday, animation tem were great, especially Rafael, he was 6 mornings first thing, running morning stretches, whether there was anyone participating or not, then opened nightly theatre show, then ran Karaoke in the Jazz bar until 11:30pm everyday, all are very hard workers. Chino at the swim up bar is amazing, a genuine good guy, always helped our kids making fun slushy drinks always with a smile, I saw people's comments prior to going about him, well he is as advertised, a good guy, and a new friend. The Rooms. 10/10 ----------------------------- We asked for a building close to lobby, pools, food, as we brought 4 kids, we booked two rooms, they gave us two rooms on the second floor in Building #3, which was perfect, close to everything, and the rooms were adjoining so we felt like we were all together. Rooms were really nice, very modern, both ocean views, (didn't pay extra), just given, beds were nice, air was a little tricky to figure out, I think I figured it out about day #5 lol. Balcony was huge, biggest we've seen in a resort. Maids were great, very clean, fridge stocked daily, pop, beer & water, shower was awesome, a rain shower and big. Couldn't ask for a nicer room. The Beach 9/10 ----------------- The Beach is typical of Cayo Santa Maria, georgious, they offer mini catamarans, & paddle boats free to use, which is pretty rare, didn't eat at the ocean snack bar, but heard people rave, lots of chairs, both in sun or shade, bar serves lots of cold drinks, beach volleyball, aerobics & activities were available. I'm a pool guy, usually get dragged out for a half day to the beach, but I had no problem spending a big chunk of a day at this beach. It was a bit of a walk from our rooms to the beach, but there are lots of golf carts shuttles to take you anywhere you need to go. And the golf cartes are nice, stereos, not noisy and about to fall apart like some places lol. The Night Shows. 7/10 --------------------------- We saw 4 shows, they work very hard to entertain everyone. The only suggestion, is the resort has a adult section, but is also a family resort. A few of the shows might be a little much for kids, I mean my kids were 12, 13, 14 & 10, but all the girls were wearing thongs and shaking what there mam have them alot, lol, I'm definitely not a prude, and I get it's not just for kids, but maybe a mix, like a Grease show, or MJ show would be ok to mix in, the magic show was good. And me or my boys didn't mind the others, lol. The Drinks. 9/10 ------------------ So I'm a Rye guy, the do have Crown Royal in the lobby bar, but it's a extra cost. So I found a few Canadian whiskey options that we're good, Glen Back Whiskey at the swim up bar, & theatre bar, and there was an American whiskey in a bottle that looks like JD in a few other bars that was good. Beer was Crystal, which seemed comparable to a Coors light, and Pina coladas, Strawberry Daquaries were also great. Overall. 8.5/10 ----------- We will definitely return to this resort, staff were amazing, resort very clean and well kept, drinks were good, there's also a bowling alley attached to the resort that was a fun time for pretty cheap. Now this resort has changed names yet again, I am hopeful the a la cartes become more organized, and improves. Also note, they give you a hour a day per adult free wifi, which we used from our room, or pool area, and it was good, Hope this is helpful! Hope to return in The near future.

    Okay, but wouldn't go back

    Reviewed by DwightJo(Fergus, Canada) on Apr 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The good- everything new and clean and Shiney, 6hrs of free internet, a-la-cartes, the people who work there,( especially Cookie in the lobby area) The not so good- beach is pretty has quite a bit of coral and is quite a walk from the family side,(I was in building 2), bugs at night last week we're awful so bring bug spray and afterbite it is a must The Ugly- buffet was out of bread for 2.5 days, no eggs one day and long waits for the grill stations

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX