Sunscape Sabor Cozumel Resort & Spa

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Cozumel
    5. Sunscape Sabor Cozumel Resort & Spa
    6. Sunscape Sabor Cozumel Resort & Spa review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    I

    Great Location. Great staff. Hotel is 2.5 *. Food nothing special. Extremely aggressive and annoying pushy sales staff all over the lobby.

    Reviewed by IS on Jan 02, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Extremely painful long wait at Cozumel airport. Entering Cozumel almost 2 hours wait at customs. Only 2 customs agents working, they constantly took breaks. The economy of Cozumel is based on tourism. Why treat tourists that way? Leaving the island by air was the same thing. Long line ups, slow customs clearance. Close to 2 hours again. Hotel is nice maintained on the outside. Pleasant to the eyes. Rooms inside not so much. Rooms are dated. Bathrooms not in good shape. Hotel staff is great and friendly. In the lobby area is full of sales people who were quite annoying, trying to push travel deals a little similar to time shares. Their sales pitch is that if you pay for their membership you will be paying 25% to 75% lass for travel accommodations wherever you want, whenever you want (thus a bit similar to time share). Food great in Mexican restaurant (El Patio). Food good in second restaurant (Sunny Side Grill). Italian restaurant (Da Mario) horrible. Horrible pizza, horrible pasta. My son got sick from the chicken pasta and spent the night in the bathroom. Next day he was fine. Buffet restaurant (Portofino) 3 out of 5 at best. The only place opened 24\7 is the bar by main lobby (Starboard). Javier Ventura, bartender who worked at that bar was great. Super friendly, very fast. Mixes great drinks. Was my favorite place to get a drink thanks to Javier. Great snorkeling just off the hotel?s beach. Find a bigger rock in the shallow water and is surrounded by tons of marine life and large number of different fish. Awesome. However tons of rocks as soon as you go in the ocean. Water shoes are absolutely necessary. Came home with cut up feet. There are few better resorts for better price near this resort. Do your homework. Occidental Cozumel, Iberostar Cozumel, Allegro Cozumel are all better resorts.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    F

    Great Place to Unwind

    Reviewed by Frank on Nov 20, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    The staff works very hard to please everyone. I love the Mexican people. The are friendly and very much family oriented. This hotel is not 5 star but has everything you need for a wonderful vacation. snorkelling off beach-free kayaks and sailboats-paddle boards I was surprised that They even supplied free transfer from the airport saving $133.00 We were never bothered by timeshare people. I would come here again.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3034 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Home Away from Home

    Reviewed by Liz_Heart(Bloomington) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We have stayed here 3 years in a row. I come with my 2 college daughters and it feels like our 2nd home. This year as we got out of the cab our favorite bell man Juan Carlos welcomed us with a hug and a huge "Welcome Home". Juan Carlos was so patient with us as we decided to switch rooms from a smaller room to a larger one with an ocean view. The staff are all very friendly with big smiles and a Buenos Dias when you see them. The restaurants are wonderful but our favorite was El Patio. Mario and Angel are so helpful in choosing the right food and drinks. They always wanted to make sure your experience is wonderful. Christian the bartender was kind and made the best drinks! Big hugs were given to Juan Carlos before we left and all were sad to leave thinking it would be a whole year before we saw him again!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Excellent Family Fun Resort

    Reviewed by madcitytravel() on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Our family of 4 (kids aged 10 & 13) had a fantastic experience at Sunscape Sabor! We received a free room upgrade upon arrival. Room was big, cleaned every day and the mini fridge restocked everyday. We felt safe at all times. The pools were great. The beach was beautiful, although a bit rocky the deeper you went but we all understood that this area is a coral reef! We went snorkeling one day, don't overpay with the excursions being offered. Book directly through the hotel (located next to El Patio restaurant by the towel area). They take your to the same three reefs for half the cost. The water sports were fun and the kids loved it all. The activities, daily and nightly, were fantastic. Our family esp loved the beach volleyball twice a day. Arbey and Israel were the best activities directors and took a personal interest in involving the kids. The foam party was awesome! The food was pretty good. We ate most of the meals in the buffet, Isabel was a fabulous server and always made sure our drinks were full. Breakfast was the best. The drinks were delicious, ask for top shelf liquor. Alfredo was our favorite bartender at Coconuts bar. We never had to wait for a table or a drink. We had a fantastic experience and would absolutely come back. The sunsets were breathtaking, every night. This was one trip we will never forget.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    El Patio

    Reviewed by lisahR809AT(Shawnee, Kansas) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My friends and I recently stayed at Sunscape Sabor. We had a fantastic dinner at El Patio. The food was good and our server Max (Maximiliano) was the best. He not only gave us great service for the evening, he made other recommendations and went out of he’s way to obtain menus for the places he recommended. We took his advise and had our best and most memorable dinner thanks to Max for being more than a server. He loves his job and it shows.

    Great value for those traveling on a budget!

    Reviewed by Josh H() on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The ocean and sunset views were phenomenal at Sunscape! The entire staff was extremely friendly and welcoming, highlighted by our favorite bartender, Alfredo. Alfredo was working Coconuts Beach Bar and was very outgoing and terrifically skilled!

    Vacation

    Reviewed by dankQ399MQ() on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We over paid for this resort. Very basic resort compared to others. Not much for amenities. Check in was slow. We were suppose to have a room with two beds. Ended up with a King and a futon type couch. Didn't recieve any compensation for the room mishap. Service was slow at the restaurants and pool side. No service on the beach. No swim up bar. Overall they didn't have enough service staff or bar staff. We had great service once on the last day at the pool side after tipping heavily. The booze was watered down to say the least. The food at the restaurants was just ok. Anything that was served with "sausage" including pizza had cut up hot dogs for sausages..LOL but I'm serious. Same menu every day at all three restaurants. Nightly entertainment was minimal. Basically the resort was just OK.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX