Brisas Guardalavaca

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 4939 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Jerry

    Reviewed by Jerry K() on Feb 19, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    We recently returned from a week stay at the Brisas Guardalavaca. Never again. There was no bottled water provided in the room or non available to buy in the hotel. Result was filling up of bottles at the bar. This resulted in both my wife and I getting very sick and still recovering. No refreshments are provided in the rooms mini fridges. On top of that we had no hot water all week. It was hit and miss with Luke warm water and very low pressure at all times. The hotel and area had no diet drinks for mixes for my prediabetic wife. The food selections were bad with no chicken breasts at any time and no potato dishes. The location was ideal with a wonderful beach. I am asking for my money back because of the lack of potable water which is a dangerous situation for elderly and young people.

    Brisas Guardalavaca Jan 2020

    Reviewed by VBLover123() on Feb 16, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I believe this was our 10th time. After reading some disappointments from return guests on Trip Advisor, we were braced for disappointment ourselves. Actually, we were quite pleased. A number of good things since our last appearance 2 years ago: 1) All the hard resin lounge chairs have been replaced with the fabric ones. 2) The blue beach towels are already in your room on arrival, and also, you don’t have to return them to the towel hut at the end. Just leave them in the room. 3) The beach is the cleanest I’ve ever seen it. Also, those potentially nasty sea urchins by the pier are gone. (Not sure what the story is there.) 4) The hotel staff are still the best! Extremely pleasant and engaging. 5) Some additional VIP activities for returning Canadians including a breakfast and a karaoke night. 6) The bathroom upgrades continue, with I believe the new shower stall installations are completed on both the 2nd and 3rd floors, with intention to replace those on the 4th and 5th floors in progress. 7) For the bedroom, we noticed new beds, mattresses and curtains. 8) The increased use of colorful LED lights added to the ambiance of the Resort. (The festive Xmas lighting came down in our 2nd week.) While the demise of Thomas Cook has certainly hurt the patronage of British tourists to Cuba, the vacuum has been filled with Russian ones. Despite what one might feel about the Russians, they certainly have better volleyball skills than the British. Speaking of VB, a previous group of Italian tourists left a beautiful net behind, cables top and bottom. I brought a set of lines, so the court was certainly in great shape. For food and drink, there was no lobster for the 2 weeks we were there. Plus, no hint of those world famous French fries from Roberto’s kitchen. No tonic water, but Sprite did suffice. Also there was no mint for those mojitos. I talked to Public Relations, and the response was that there is a problem with the supplier. (Maybe related to the increased embargo). BTW, some items that tourists might not think of as gifts to take to Cuba include instant coffee and powdered milk. We look forward to returning to Brisas (aka “Guard the Cow”) next year.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    best resort

    Reviewed by sundrop(kentville) on Feb 14, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We love going to brisas everything is so close to walk to. Staff is great, food is good, rooms are always clean. You can go for walks and see the cubain life. We have been there 17 times going back March 29.

    4th Visit

    Reviewed by Bob F(Feversham Ontario) on Feb 11, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The Resort has been down graded a little. The Staff is still a 5 rating. The maintenance staff are very busy painting and repairing. I think trying to improve the rating. There where very few British Guests. Thomas Cook going under is the cause and I think this is why the cash flow isn't there and cuts had to be made. This is just my guess. I still prefer it over a higher rated resort I tried last year and will return again for the 5th time next winter.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Resort has went downhill

    Reviewed by christinel640(Midland, Canada) on Feb 10, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    I generally don't like to complain but we visited this hotel in 2015 and then now in 2020. There is no comparision to the service we received. In 2015 we received water, pop and beer every day in our fridge and really good service. We just got back from a week at this hotel on Feb 8, 2020. From broken showers, no hot water, brown water, refrigerator did not work, you had to buy your own bottled water, leak in bathroom ceiling. We had to pay for a safe key when others in our group had a new safe with a keypad. Would not return our deposit for the safe key. Very poor service at the pool restaurant, we were basically ignored.