Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Huatulco
    5. Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club
    6. Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    M

    Loved every single detail of our holiday! Perfect getaway to the sun!

    Reviewed by M on Jan 16, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Would go back to this hotel in an instant! It wasn't your typical all-inclusive, but was much better and exactly what we were looking for. Our room and hotel were incredibly clean, we enjoyed the traditional Mexican food, and never felt like there wasn't something we couldn't eat. The shuttle to the beach club was constant so the longest we ever had to wait was 10 min. We loved being right in the town, and would walk around every night. There weren't many other Canadians staying here, which didn't bother us at all, but loved how the staff were constantly trying to make us feel at home. The beach is beautiful and we loved swimming here every day. Its not the greatest for walking, but its not that busy and we always had an umbrella and beach chairs. Bernice was our WestJet rep/contact at the hotel and she was so helpful and lovely. Alex was our guide while out on our snorkelling/sailing excursion and he was also so fantastic. It is a smaller hotel but has everything you need....Best winter escape we have ever been on!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    G

    Good location, awful food, same thing for 14 days. Only book the room. Not the all inclusive option.

    Reviewed by Grace of God on Dec 24, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    Very basic room. Beach and pool area nice. Food awful. We had the same thing every day for breakfast, same thing every day for lunch. Pretty much the same for supper, with a few adjustments, but the food was not good. I would only book the room, not the all inclusive option. Talked to several people across at the the Holiday Inn. They said their food was fantastic and different every day.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    K

    We loved our vacation and the staff are truly incredible!!

    Reviewed by Kelly & Ken on Mar 08, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    The hotel is a little dated but extremely clean. Very Mexican. The staff are better than 5 star! Can always find something to eat. The only negative review would be the beach chairs. They need to be upgraded. Excellent value for the $.

    What to expect (based on 566 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Right size Hotel

    Reviewed by alacran(25 miles north of the deep freeze, Winnipeg,Manitoba) on Mar 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was our 6th time to the Huatulco area since 2006. We have tried a different hotel or condo each time. We picked hotel Castillo first for its location in Santa Cruz and second for all the good reveiws posted. This hotel was surpassed all our expectations and we would have no problem coming back . Staff friendly,hard working gentle people. Very clean hotel and not over crowded. My wife and I were there for 2 weeks and always found something good to eat at the buffet and never had any stomach issues . Some people say the buffet gets too repetitive but I always think when we are all at home we eat the same things weekly. There are lots of eating choices within a 5 or 10 minute walk of the hotel if you want a change. The beach club at playa Chahue we loved and walked there and back every day, not using the hotel shuttle once in our 2 week stay. A special thank you to the life guard Alejandro at the beach club for being such a hard working individual who takes his job seriously . He always made sure everybody got chairs or umbrellas and was quick to inform everyone when the ocean was safe to swim or not with changing conditions. So in closing if you want a clean, safe not over crowded hotel located within walking distance to shopping and restaurants with a great beach club consider the Castillo .

    We will be back!

    Reviewed by Patricia S(Calgary, Canada) on Mar 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We were welcomed with some refreshing punch and chocolate dipped strawberries in our room. Rooms are super clean. and we had a lovely terrace. The hotel pool is lovely for breakfast but the star of this hotel is the staff and beach club. I loved that the hotel served many Mexican families but we're also welcoming of English speakers. They sang Happy Birthday for my husband and went out of their way to always be helpful. The buffet had something for everyone. The location is great too! Thank you Raquel, Fredrico, Aseas and Edgar and the young man at the front desk (just 18) with the great smile. Thank you to the maid who made sure my husband didn't leave his iPad behind. Thank you to our two great waiters at the beach club. We miss you and wish you and your families all the best.

    Vacation at Hotel Castillo = Not Good

    Reviewed by TerriB1962(Edmonton, Canada) on Feb 28, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    We arrived at the hotel Tuesday February 19/19 for our 8 day vacation. Was told at the front desk they exchange currency, told it was an all inclusive resort and they placed a bracelet on our wrists. We were given our room key, safe lock with key and that was it. We took our own suitcases after finding our room. We did receive a terrace room which is what we requested. We have stayed at 2 star resorts to 5+ star resorts, we are not picky vacationers but we do like to receive what a resort advertises. *PROS* Beach Club - which is located in Chahue Bay. It is opened from 10:00 am to 5:00 pm. Food is available from noon until 5:00 pm. They have a shuttle bus from the resort that we were told runs regularly but they have a sign saying it runs every 1/2 hour. Sometimes I had to wait 45 minutes to go to the beach, and most times had to wait an hour to return back to the resort. The staff and the food are great at the club, they allow smoking at the club which didn't bother anyone because of the nice breeze that comes from the ocean. Alejandro the Lifeguard is an absolute godsend for this beach club. The whole week we were down at the club and actually witnessed him rescuing an oyster diver from drowning. We saw something bobbing in the water thought it was a seal, but it was in fact a man, and Alejandro saw from his perch, swam to the rocks with his broken board that he pieced together. Then jumped from rock to rock to check on the man, saw he was getting very tired and going under the water a lot. He ran back to his board, battled the waves and grabbed the man, pulled him onto his board and brought him to shore safely. We asked to see him, met him, thanked him for what he did for that man, gave him a gift of pesos for his hard work. Two days late saw him help a senior lady out of the water after she was being rolled by the waves. He is an extraordinary person. Staff - There are a few staff at the resort that went above and beyond and that was Frederico and Juan in the dining room. They brought me coffee at 6:00 am even though the breakfast wasn't open until 7:00 am. Frederico was my main guy and he was the only person that made this resort enjoyable. *CONS* - Resort - Almost all-inclusive - They do not have the one and only bar open until noon, which also means no pop, no clamato juice, no beer, no kalhua or baileys with your coffee, and no mimosa in the morning. The dining room has the same breakfast food every day for the 8 days we were there. There is no ice for the warm juice because that would be at the bar that doesn't open until noon. No lunch served at the resort, you have to go to the beach club if you are hungry. Supper starts at the resort at 7:00 pm. Unfortunately not much of a selection, so we ate out every night after checking what the buffet was at the Hotel. Pop for drinks come from the big bottles that is not kept chilled but if you want a can of pop then you have to pay 30 pesos, again not all inclusive. Rooms - TV stations are all spanish except one english speaking channel. No mini fridge in the rooms. There are two towels in the room for your showers. Linen was changed once in 8 days, (my lipgloss was on the pillowcase and sheets). Manager - I am not sure if this is the manager or the owner that has his office on the second floor by the elevator, but that man smokes cigars in there all day long, even when there is no smoking signs through out the halls of the hotel. Front Desk - I made a point of going to the front desk 2 to 3 times a day asking for change eg. 100 pesos to 20's or even 50's but was told repeatedly that they did not have change. Again we are not picky vacationers, but when you advertise as all-inclusive then you should stand by that. Don't charge for cold pop cans, have change on hand so your guests can tip the staff that deserve the tips, have some type of lunch for any guests that can not physically go to the beach club every day just to eat, have the bar open earlier so you can enjoy a specialty coffee or mimosa, put mini fridges in the rooms, and maybe up-grade your satellite to offer a few more english speaking channels for any guests that might have to hang around their rooms for whatever reason. These suggestions are usually just the basics that guests like to enjoy, this would improve your resort.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Friendly, Clean, Basic

    Reviewed by heeter_lyn23(British Columbia, Canada) on Feb 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    A clean basic hotel. Staff were always friendly and accommodating. The beds were "authentic" Mexican (hard) and not the most comfortable. Our room overlooked the street, which was quite noisy and unfortunately the balconies were so small that you couldn't sit outside anyhow. Bottled water was brought to our room daily, but it would have been a much "greener" alternative to have a water cooler that we could refill our bottles as needed. There was no refrigerator, so we bought a small cooler for our beverages. Hot water was never an issue, but you'll have to ask for extra towels. The grounds of the hotel were well kept, and everything was always clean. Breakfast was simple, hot and cold selections, including made to order eggs/omelettes. It was a short walk to the waterfront..with many little shops to explore and restaurants eager for business. It's a 20 minute walk to town (taxis were cheap too). The boardwalk (to the left as you exit the hotel) has security guards at night and is well lit. I felt totally safe putting in my headphones and going for my nightly powerwalk. Overall, a pleasant stay.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Great hotel!

    Reviewed by RandySven(Toronto, Canada) on Feb 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Returned to Castillo for 2 weeks in Feb/19 after skipping 2 years. This was our 5th vacation to Huatulco, all at Castillo. We love Huatulco for many reasons. The weather, the people, able to walk so many places and always feel safe! Castillo is a great little hotel. The rooms are always spotless and the staff are always friendly and do their best to make your stay everything you could ask for. The food may be limited and repetitive, but you can always find something good to eat. We did notice that the area has become busier since our last visit. The beach club in particular seems to be trending in a direction that does not appeal to us so much. They sell passes to people who are not staying at the hotel. The beach club is quite small and we found it busier and more crowded than our previous stays. People with day passes tend to gather in groups and overtake the loungers and palapas. We are early risers, so always got chairs and shade, but many others from the hotel would not if they came down a little later. With the additional 48 rooms being added to the hotel, I am not sure how the beach club will handle the additional people. Hopefully management has a plan. I don't usually mention staff, because they were all great and I don't like to miss anyone, but here goes. Alejandro, life guard at the beach club. Always went above and beyond. He deserves a raise in pay, many tips, and the opportunity to advance if he chooses. Fredrico in the restaurant, same thing. And Omar and Samuel at the front desk. We loved chatting with them every time we passed by. The hotel could not have any better people to great their guests. Hopefully, we will be back!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX