Royal Kahana Maui by Outrigger Condo

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    K

    In love with Maui!

    Reviewed by KMyers2014 on May 14, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Honeymoon

    We stayed in room 816 for our honeymoon. The view was wonderful; we enjoyed watching the humpback whales perform in the distance even though it was the end of the season there were a few remaining in the area , watched beautiful sunsets, watched turtles swim near the shore and even take a rest on the beach. The beach was quiet, which we liked as most of the others had 100's of people on them, but not this beach - maybe 5 people; very private. The view from the beach was amazing; could see Lanai and Molokai. This hotel is not far from amenities and has a fun pub near by called Dollies. Cab rides into Lanaia are reasonable. The only downside was that our hotel room was not ready for when we checked in and had to wait a few hours, which was exhausting considering we had been up since 4AM. Staff were friendly and the concierge were helpful, sometimes they worked a little too fast at booking you in on excursions, without letting you ask many questions, but in the end they were helpful. Would highly recommend this place. In Maui you must rent a vehicle; there are so many natural wonders to see of this island.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1188 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Incredible Lanai

    Reviewed by LahFam(Spokane Valley) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The views were exceptional and the location for local entertainment and fun couldn't be beat! Select a room on the ocean side. The water is right there close and the crashing waves are so fun to enjoy. We watched whales and turtles from our lanai. The beach is a tad of a walk, but well worth it. The beach here is washed away, but it's our understanding that it will return.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Oh the views! Lanai was amazing!

    Reviewed by MinnesotaWT(Minnesota) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed in 1110 which is a 2 bed 2 bath and updated in the last 5 years. Like others have stated, there is no way for the price, you would get something this large and comfortable at any of the resort hotels in the area. The property is nothing fancy, and no access to the beach. Who cares, as you are in Maui and hopefully not sitting by a pool all day in an island that has so much to offer. Sleep quality was awesome with comfy beds and being lulled to sleep each night with the sound of the ocean crashing on shore. Showers were great, kitchen had all the stuff you needed to eat and drink, the full size washer and dryer allowed us to do our own towels, and only pay for the cleaning at the end of the stay. Each morning picture sitting on your lanai with a hot cup of Kona coffee, ocean breezes, turtles below you in the water, whales breaching in the distance, and a misty Molokai and Lanai islands looming out of the ocean to greet you. Is the unit perfect, no, there is some doors with water damage, the shower is missing some grout, and some of the furniture could use a shampoo. It is what I would call very good, just not excellent.

    Good hotel, aging, but served its purpose

    Reviewed by Brian E(Toronto, Canada) on Apr 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    On this trip we decided to use hotel suites rather than hotels because we found we were not using the facilities we were paying for. In particular we decided on Outrigger because of their varies portfolio. We were not disappointed based upon the whole picture as the room was fully equipped and fairly modern and out ocean view room overlooked the pool, Lanai Island and offered up glorious sunsets. Definitely the better side. The pool was dated and there is no beach; inf act it was sandbagged so don't expect one any time soon and we have climate change to thanks for that. So while a nice addition, not ideal bathing. The Touring Concierge is a private company and despite the hard sell over lukewarm coffee and buns, was actually quite good and delivered a quality product from reputable vendors. We arrived after closing time and found the check in procedures quite tedious especially with the only phone hardly working. On the whole a good experience as long as you are not expecting a deluxe offering, but after all that is why you choose a hotel such as this in the first place.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-3

    Great location, clean and well equipped condo.

    Reviewed by middletown07701() on Apr 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The condo was a one bedroom on the 5th floor. Outstanding views of the ocean and sunset. Condo was clean and well equipped with all the basics you need. The knives are especially good for cooking, strange thing to comment on but worthy of a mention. We grilled int he pool area one night and that was fun. Pool was clean and well maintained. Fitness room is very basic but clean. Coffee in lobby until 8am so get up early if you want a complimentary coffee.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-3

    The best!

    Reviewed by Oilsandsgal(Leduc, Canada) on Apr 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I rented unit 815. The owners are very responsive and the condo building itself very maintained. I was impressed with watching the staff clean the BBQs every morning including removing all racks. The pool was also cleaned every morning. There are 3 elevators so you never have to wait long. The underground parking was the best! 815 is air conditioned so that was a huge bonus. The views omg how can you not fall in love with the views. There is no beach only sand bags to keep the ocean waters from flooding the pool area. most condos are privately owned. I will return to 815!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX