Sunscape Cove Montego Bay

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    C

    Would definitely return in the future! Had a fantastic week!

    Reviewed by Courtney on Apr 06, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    all in all, it is a great well rounded resort, especially when traveling with kids! Would I go back to this resort with just me and my husband looking for a kid free vacation? I am unsure, it would really depend on how badly I wanted to get away from kids LOL They do a great job of catering to kids and have tons of activities happening throughout the day and evening for kids. And since this was a vacation more so for my daughter, it hit every check point that we were looking for. But this should be something to keep in mind if you are looking for a kid free vacation and thinking about this resort. I have been to the Caribbean multiple times, on resorts as well as cruises, and Jamaica is for sure on my top list of destinations to revisit. And at Sunscape Cove you definitely get very good value for your money!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    k

    Wonderful family resort

    Reviewed by kr on Aug 05, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    This is a great family resort, great beach, lots of activities. The waterpark was awesome.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    T

    A great hotel for families with a budget. The waterpark and pools for kids are fantastic.

    Reviewed by Travlgurl on Jul 28, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    The resort was well kept and rooms are very spacious. Really enjoyed the beach front room. The staff were very kind and did their best to accomodate.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    D

    Really liked it

    Reviewed by Diane on Jul 26, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    Wow I have to say that for a value property it was awesome especially for family I would definitely good back for sure

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    D

    Ocean View was Fantastic!

    Reviewed by Di on Jul 22, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    I loved this resort, it was very picturesque, there is something for everyone in a family, food was great, and the service was amazing.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    G

    Fun for the whole family!

    Reviewed by Globetrotter on Jul 22, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    Wonderful family friendly resort. Great waterpark for kids. Clean and spacious room. Welcoming staff. Overall, great property.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    J

    Great value for families

    Reviewed by Jen on Jul 21, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    beautiful calm beach - great for young children to play in - access to the water park but can also have the quiet area as well-

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    K

    Would stay here again

    Reviewed by Kelly Anderson on Jul 20, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    Great Value Hotel

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Family fun for all!

    Reviewed by Sue on Jul 19, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    This hotel was fun and friendly. Something for everyone.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1763 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Arie Vacation

    Reviewed by lainsworth2015(Minneapolis, Minnesota) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The staff are very welcoming and work hard to make your stay great. Our Ocean front room was wonderful. It came with a butler who made sure w had all we needed to enjoy all the time we spent in Jamaica.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-3

    Excellent Location

    Reviewed by Scenic03334552651(Scranton, Pennsylvania) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Tremendously welcoming staff, beautiful location, many activities available - I would highly recommend as Sunscape Cove offers entertainment or solitude depending on your preferences; truly the perfect vacation!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Sunscape Cove Montego Bay - Pack your patience and your expectations....

    Reviewed by MREngineerjohn(Flowery Branch, Georgia) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    There are two resorts at the Sunscape Montego Bay, Sunscape Cove and Sunscape Splash, we stayed at the Sunscape Cove resort. I pre-arranged transportation with Amstar and that was seamless once we got through security and a short ride to the resort. When I made the reservation and pre-paid I made sure to tell them two adults and a child, we'll need a rollaway. Called two days prior to make sure, no problem. Got to the resort and it was a scramble, then they found the smallest possible room to put us in with a view of the roof (it was supposed to be a garden view) and no real room for a rollaway. They finally squeezed a rollaway in, now no room for three people to move about without tripping over each other. Truly this wasn’t just an inconvenience, but really was a fire hazard, they should be ashamed and corporate should be concerned about practices like this. Then the card key lock broke, not a demagnetized key, the electronic lock just plain shut down. The fridge was completely broken keeping everything inside it warm. At that point I had had enough, I had not paid for this subpar level of quality and nor did I feel we needed to be on top of each other almost literally and in an unsafe situation. The front desk promised they could resolve it, but not that day, wait till the next day, therefore we were told not to bother even unpacking, so that's not very relaxing. So far at this point everybody is not really in vacation mode, but quite tense. We could have done without the 0700 fire alarm wake-up as well the first morning, that wasn't pleasant, it obviously wasn't real as no one seemed concerned, even when it went off again 15 minutes later. No one indicated to the guests it was nothing to be concerned about either they just casually went about their business. We are a family that travels a great deal, globally including the Caribbean and Europe, so yes, we don’t always expect palatial “American” style rooms. I travel for work 180+ nights a year in a hotel and over 300K miles a year flying. So, my expectations for a decent room, having stayed for work and pleasure all over the world are not unrealistic. We were told to have our stuff ready to vacate the current room promptly at noon and they would have another room ready. Not wanting to inconvenience the lucky incoming winner of my current room, I checked with the front desk at 11:45, nope, not ready, back at 12:30, still not ready…back at 1ish, still not ready. At this point I am wasting both family and beach time and getting more irate. At this point (about 3PM) I asked for the GM Ms. Perry, who did come over quite promptly. We looked into the swap and it looks like they were going to move us to two double beds which wasn't the expectation when I originally booked a room with a king (what I wanted) and was told there was a place for the child to sleep (there is not unless you get a rollaway). Ms. Perry then did take the time to show me a couple of options of rooms, we ended up with a king with the proper space for a rollaway. I appreciate her effort, but the GM should not have to get involved as much as she did, I was not the only one it seemed to be a regular occurrence for the GM to get involved from what the staff indicated and from what other guests told us. People airing their disappointment after tough first days at the restaurants, the bar, the beach and pool almost became a way for people to introduce each other, so what was your issue? The rooms were ok, the AC worked, the fridge worked in the new room we were given, and all of the lights and outlets were operational. The bed on the other hand was rough, and what I mean by that is completely uncomfortable, drink a lot, it’s the only way you will sleep on this thing. Schedule a visit with a masseuse and a chiropractor immediately after your return to put you back to normal after a week on this mattress. We had a king bed, and got two pillows, I asked for two more. I called twice they said right away no problem, waited for hours, asked multiple uniformed people near my room who said they couldn’t help and finally relented by having to put the request in again the next day at the front desk. My daughter said her rollaway was like sleeping on a board, but no one expects those to be a pillowtop, so just take that as a warning you may want to opt for two doubles if you choose to come. Our rooms were included in what they referred to as the renovated side. Meaning they had “new” bathrooms. They were reasonably appointed. Unfortunately, they don’t check their units themselves often otherwise they would have noticed the rainfall showerhead in mine was probably 50% clogged so it was more of a strong mist (common complaint heard from other guests too). Oddly the hand-held unit was the equivalent of a power sprayer, so it at least it had that going for it, so you could use that to remove the sand and sunscreen from a day at the beach. The shower unit itself as we joked with other guests had two settings; “iced latte” and “I’m making ramen noodle soup.” In other words, you either froze or burned, the units were made to be fully adjustable hot/cold but no matter what you did it resulted in one extreme or the other. Again, this was consistent with what we heard from other guests as we traded notes at the beach. As far as food and beverage goes, you won’t starve nor be thirsty. Just don’t expect quality or variety most of the time. Breakfast at the Cove side is probably one of the nicer meals, a great mimosa, screwdriver and bloody bar when you walk in, a nice selection of a la carte breakfast choices and a reasonable selection of breads pastries, fruits and yogurts. We did elect to try the buffet breakfast one morning, that was an absolute disaster, they were running out of most items, they were not promptly replenishing the missing items, and the omelette bar needed two cooks for that many people. The beach bar had two working frozen drink machines the first day and a full selection of sodas (mixers). By the second day one of the frozen drink machines was broken and they were out of Diet Coke, this remained this way for the next seven days. Are you telling me you could fix the machine and order some Diet Coke for the bar? We tried the different evening restaurants, they were all OK, except for the Asian, that was probably the worst. One thing that we kept asking ourselves while at this resort was, where is the Jamaican food and where is the seafood? We are in Jamaica, an island in the Caribbean, local food and seafood should be plentiful and relatively cheap to source and provide. The most Jamaican food you will find is the jerk chicken bar available from noon to 4PM each day. Occasionally there were a few seafood & local choices on the buffet if you wanted to brave (suffer) that restaurant. The largest selection of Jamaican food I had was at the Mobay airport lounge when we left, not what I expected when we booked the trip. The salad bar at the Cove Terrace restaurant was probably one of our favorite meal items, great selection and lots of choices. The pools are tired, by that I mean they need a good facelift. Loads of areas needing paint, filling in missing concrete, even cleaning up a large blood spot that was there the whole time we were there. One of the friends we met alerted the staff to broken glass on the pool deck, they just swept it into the corner rather than clean it up, we all walked by it still there 36 hours later. The pirate ship is made out to be a big attraction, but they really don’t do anything with it but a photo shoot once a week. The pool towel folks ran out of fresh towel multiple times during our visit, so we were left drying them ourselves on the patio. Enforcement of the site rules was a bit comical at times, but also frustrating. At the restaurants in the evening men were being turned away when they were in tank tops and not a proper shirt, but a woman could walk in barely clothed. Smoking areas, forget about it, there was little to no enforcement. While they did have designated smoking areas, this was not enforced. People often lit right up on the beach or the pool deck even though the resort specifically forbid it. This was an issue for many families including ours that have an asthmatic who can’t be around it. I shouldn’t be the one policing the resorts policy, they should be. When I brought it up to the staff they didn’t really care. The entertainment was probably their shining star, the staff worked hard to keep everyone happy and the evening shows were pretty good. The entertainment staff did work some pretty crazy hours, from early morning to late at night six days a week. They did tell us at this resort compared to others that they had little ability to step in and help from a customer service standpoint. They indicated at other resorts they might hear a customer complain and have easy access to a bottle of Appleton’s to perk them up or help start the process of a room change, or other little perks, at Sunscape they are not allowed to do any of that they said. It’s a shame as it would effectively broaden their on-site customer service team, potentially diffuse problems quicker and not have everything escalate to upper management. Overall The staff seem to be trying hard and doing what they can, but without the right support. As my wife and I agreed and as many other guests commented to us we won’t be back to this resort. It was a nice week, but that was mainly due to the other guests that became friends during our visit. This does leave me concerned as we do have another trip planned in June to Costa Rica with another AMResort property, one data point can be an anomaly two is a trend, so we are hoping for a much better time and quality all around from this next resort.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-3

    Disappointing for the price

    Reviewed by rcrkelly(Calgary, Canada) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We stayed at Sunscape Cove. We upgraded for an additional cost to an oceanfront room because our assigned room overlooked the restaurant roof (known as garden view!). Every day we had to ask for amenities, coffee, glasses,etc even though they came in and made the bed daily. We stayed in a renovated room, which had great climate control and had newer furnishings. But in both rooms we had difficulties with our showers. The temperature changed from comfortable to scalding and then eventually back to comfortable. We spent more time out of the shower than showering! Some staff were very friendly, most only said hi, and others ignored our existence. The pools always had sand in them and it appeared the filtration system wasn’t working. Not to mention, all of the tiles missing in the pools! 4 restaurants provided the same menu of 5 entrees each night, but the indoor restaurant at the Cove was only open some evenings. Buffet was buffet. Hit and miss. Keep your eyes open for the Jerk Shack only available during the day behind the Ocean Grill. We heard about Jamaican patties but couldn’t track them down. We think they’re only available on Mondays and possibly near the buffet. (Or, you can buy them by the staff entrance!) Evening entertainment was for the kids; bars for the adults. We could only walk on the beach on Seascape property as the neighbors were fenced off. Even though 2 more sister properties were 1 resort away. Beach area was nice with lounge chairs and palapas. But the water mainly consisted of seaweeds. The sunsets were amazing and the weather was hot! Overall great trip! But we won’t be returning to Sunscapes.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-2

    Nice getaway

    Reviewed by Scott R(Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania) on Apr 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We are currently at sunscape cove in Jamaica. Nice, clean rooms. A smaller all inclusive resort. We have been to numerous all inclusive resorts in Jamaica and Punta cana and the food here was the best. Staff was mostly friendly. If you are looking for an active night life this is not your place. It is on the quiet side which we like. We will come back again.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX