Sandals Montego Bay

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    S

    Nice Spacious Property

    Reviewed by Sandy on May 21, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    This is a nice property that has great food options and friendly staff. This property has a nice beach and is located a short distance from the airport so there are times when you can hear planes. This is a no tipping property

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    M

    A Sure Thing

    Reviewed by MJ on May 09, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    This property has something for everyone. Great food options, entertainment, lovely accommodations and a great beach.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    t

    Loved the food and the staff was so friendly.

    Reviewed by tessa on May 04, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    Beautiful resort. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. It's also great that there is a no-tipping policy to make things simpler. The food was amazing with a great selection of vegetarian food items. The location was very close to the airport and when the flights went by the staff would wave up at the plane. The amenities in the bathroom was of excellent quality. Thoroughly had a great time.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    B

    Lively resort!

    Reviewed by Basia M on May 02, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    A very lively resort with a lot of activities offered. It's geared more towards a social crowd, yet you can still get away from it if you would like some romantic time. The swim up rooms are amazing as they offer you access to a nice pool in a quiet location. The hotel has a wonderful beach. Hotel has a modern decor and the grounds beautifully landscaped.The food is delicious. Keep in mind this resort is the closest of all the other Sandals to the airport and you will hear the planes taking off, but the location is really convenient and close to the hip strip.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    Great Beach!

    Reviewed by Mel Dawe on May 01, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Friends

    Beautiful resort with an amazing beach. service was great - never had to tip which was quite nice! Food was good, resort had lots of open areas near the water which I like . The only major downfall for this resort is the location directly across from the airport runway - not alot of flights that leave and arrive daily into Montego Bay , but when they do it is really quite loud

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    N

    I loved our stay at this resort! Great food options. Spacious resort. Truly enjoyed staying in a swim-up club level room with patio.

    Reviewed by Nada on May 01, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    An upbeat vibe and energy at this resort. Staff are very accommodating and are always smiling. Conveniently, situated 4km from the airport.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Beach for days!

    Reviewed by Sam on Apr 30, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    Amazing service! The beach is amazing as the property is well layed out and the beach is very long, lots of room to find a beach chair! The airport is very close so when the planes take off you can see them (and hear them!) from the beach! Didn't bother me however can be startling if you aren't expecting it. The service and food was amazing - if you go here try Tokyo Jo's restaurant!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Only go to resort if you have no other choices available

    Reviewed by SandS on Jun 18, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Rooms very nice. States 15 minutes from airport, property is on other side of airport about 100m away from fence of airport property. Seats on transfer bus were covered in duct tape to keep them together, and driver fully expected/demanded a tip. Check in awful, room was not ready, couldn’t get any info from staff and finally told maintenance issue and will have to have another room for a night. Arrived at 10:30am, no room/access to luggage until 4pm. Had to give flight info just before leaving as iPad check in doesn’t work. Annoying that their technology at check-in to "simplify" stay doesn't work. Hot tub did not function for whole vacation, pool closed at 5:3pm. Food was of average quality, no complaints, and not spectacular. Staff were generally expecting gratuities for their services, even for a tip-included vacation. Noisy construction currently on the site, no warning at time of booking. Knew about noisy planes bring ear plugs if you want an afternoon nap . This resort not recommended, may consider different Sandals.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    F

    tennis and water sports need more staff

    Reviewed by Falco79AD on Feb 24, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    We just returned from our first vacation at Sandals Montego Bay. We enjoyed our 10 days. Overall we give this resort 7/10. The staff are very helpful and pleasant. We give them 8/10. We enjoyed the beach, water and land activities, shows and food. Rooms are kept clean and appear to be recently upgraded Sea Grapes block . Showering is awkward because they have Arc shower curtains but not the curved Arc shower rods. Fitness centre is very well kept with variety of quality durable equipment and free weights. However, the treadmill touch screens have issues. The tennis courts need improving. Only 1/4 was okay not great . Surfaces are cracked water-sun damage . Nets are kept too tight with no way to slacken the tension. They need to keep cleaning tools on hand at the courts brooms and squeegee . The water sports are well run by knowledgable staff with whom safety comes first. We like that! But they are under staffed because they close every day for 2 hours from noon to 2 pm. This takes away the best time for sailing - limits sailing time for the day to maybe 3 hours in morning. At noon they call you back to beach for their 2 hour lunch break. By time they re-open at 2 pm it is often too windy to sail anymore for the rest of the day! The water sports group needs more staff and they need to stagger their lunch breaks to ensure they are well staffed at all times. This needs to change. This is a game breaker! For these reasons we will likely not return unless they fix these issues. We may recommend this resort to our friends, but with mixed reservations.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6366 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    No problem!

    Reviewed by pattimac31(Folsom, Pennsylvania) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Great time. Friendly staff. Beautiful grounds. Food and drinks were good. Entertainment was ok. Very convenient to airport, 7 minutes. Bus from sandals take you to hotel and to airport. They do everything for you at checkout. They get your luggage , and have bus waiting for you. Water sports were good. 2 of the restaurants men must wear long pants and collared shirts. Will definitely return

    Disappointed this time around...

    Reviewed by Kristin S(Gardners, Pennsylvania) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    This was our 8th trip to a Sandals Resort. The resort itself is beautiful and should receive a high rating for the beauty; however, the staff this time was lacking something. It seemed that the usual attentiveness and accuracy was missing. First, we are return guests and Rewards Members. We should receive our Return Guest dinner invitation, as well as a few other 'perks' upon arrival in our room. None of those were there. When we questioned the staff in the Club Level Lounge, they told us those items would arrive sometime on Monday. We arrived at the resort on Saturday and NEVER waited for those things. We also asked when the return dinner was, and they were not sure. We finally asked at the front desk, where they sent us to the Loyalty Desk. The staff there told us that the information should have been in our room, and basically made us feel like we were not seeing it. We told them it was not there. After several minutes of convincing them that we were not blind and missing the packet, they contacted the cleaning staff, who threw the packet away because it was put in the room BEFORE the room was cleaned for our arrival. Why would you put information for new arriving guests in a dirty room? That was not the fault of the cleaning staff, but rather the Loyalty Staff that put the packet in a dirty room. The invite for the dinner stated Wednesday, the staff we spoke with told us Wednesday. We called the front desk to verify, and someone there told us Friday. The dinner was on Tuesday, but it took four people to finally give us that information. We have always celebrated our anniversary there, and always received something. We took two couples with us this year, one also celebrating an anniversary. We put that information on our reservation, as well as mentioned at front desk upon arrival. Neither of us received anything and had to remind them three times. We got something three days AFTER our actual anniversary. Our friends were moved three times before they got the correct room. It just seemed to be one thing after another, and it was frustrating. It seems the staff does not communicate very well at all between departments. We spoke with the GM who wanted to know how to get us to return another year and to make things right. All in all...we ended up with three free 5x7 photos to make up for all the mess-ups. Not sure an almost $5000 trip is 'made better' with a photo. Probably will not return to Montego Bay.

    When you REALLY NEED TO GET AWAY, you go to MOBAY

    Reviewed by IreneSellsHouses(Long Island, New York) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    From great restaurants, amazing service from room service, restaurants, to beach chair service Sandals Montego Bay ( The flagship of Sandals ) has all you could ask for in a vacation that DOES include water sports. The rooms are kept immaculate, the swim up pool bar is fun, the beach is nice. (daily the seaweed washes up and there is a crew that cleans it up.) This was our 2nd trip back to this exact resort and will not be out last trip here. We have purchased 2 additional Sandals trips ( do this while on property to get amazing deals and discounts) but already know we want to go back to Montego Bay... the workers there really make you feel at home Room attendant Patricia ( the REASON for the 2nd booking) Bulters Marvin and Stefan are absolutely INCREDIBLE Danesha always passes by the beach chairs with music and an upbeat way about her that makes you want to get up out of your chair and dance Paula ensures the food at the Bayside cafe is always full, fresh, and frequently changing

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Great week

    Reviewed by Roving34000359346() on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Wonderful dedicated staff. The grounds are impeccable. We had a butler suite and Dwayne and Wilson were great. Nice selection of eating options. The beach pizza was the best. Definitely will be returning.

    Sandals Montego Bay

    Reviewed by lovethebeach29(Illinois) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Arrival- We used Club MoBay and breezed thru customs and immigration. It really was not needed since there was no one in line but it was a good safety net since we traveled during Spring Break. We were escorted to the Sandals Lounge and waited about 10 minutes before we were taken to the car. The private driver is a nice perk! We arrived at Sandals and were taken Club Sandals where we finished our check in. Our room was not ready so we headed to lunch at the buffet. Once we were done we headed back to Club Sandals and were escorted to our room in the Palms building. Room- The room was nice and spacious but the best part was the view for sure! We were on the 3rd floor and looked right at the beach and the ocean. The room was a little hard to regulate as far as the air conditioning but we managed. The only complaint is they really need to have fans in the bathrooms- they do NOT cool down at all. Resort- This was our 7th Sandals trip and 1st to Mobay. First impression was - we were not very impressed. We definitely missed the large Sandals pool that the other Sandals have. As the week went on we began to enjoy resort more and more. We were able to find chairs every day at the beach but the chair saving by Butler's is out of hand. There were chairs saved the night before hand - we would walk around the resort at night and see random books all over "prime" spots. We would get to our chairs early and the Butler guests would arrive mid afternoon or not at all. I understand you pay for that service but it is a little much at Sandals MoBay. Food- The food was really good. Butches is amazing and everyone we talked to had the same reservations- the night before you were scheduled to leave. Tokoyo Joes is really good but if you do not get there early there will be a wait. The only issue we had was at Cucina Romano- it is WAY to hot up there to require men to wear pants ( and it is not enforced). My husband went and changed during dinner into golf shorts and even with that we didn't stay for desert because he was dripping in sweat. Breakfast was great every morning. The omelet station is a must. I did miss that fact that they did not have hashbrowns at all- but that is minor!!! Sandals Select dinner was outside and luckily the weather was beautiful. We were awarded Emerald Status but were not given our pins ( apparently they are being mailed, have not received them yet) . Overall, we would return for a shorter trip since MoBay is so close to the airport.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX