VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    M

    Concierge, bell men, and Juan were wonderful. A truely enjoyable holiday. We recommend the quiet residence and pool there.

    Reviewed by Michelle on Mar 17, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    We spent 2 weeks at the VH Gran Ventana and had a relaxing holiday. I would definitely go back. We met so many repeaters visitors there.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    F

    Fantastic!

    Reviewed by Fe on Sep 30, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: September 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    We went back there for my son's birthday on Sept, 2016. It was even better than the last lime we were there in May, 2015. The place was renovated. The entertainment was improved. I loved the nightly display of bright costumes of the dancers. The pool exercises, the food, the rooms, the staff were all fantastic. We even went to the Paradise Island this time. What a wonderful experience it was! We are planning to go back this January.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Loved our stay!! would go back in a heartbeat!

    Reviewed by Sandy on Feb 08, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    This was a fantastic place! I always said I didn't think I would go back to the same resort twice but I definitely would go back here. People were great, food was great and the a la carte's were fabulous. The Italian a la carte is a definite must!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    Very good time for the dollar value

    Reviewed by Mark and Karen on Jan 08, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    We enjoyed our stay here.. The A la carts were great, and the buffet was average. The buffet did have a lot of repetition, but they have some healthier food choices and good salad bar which we liked. The animation team always had something on the go and were very friendly. Our rep. super Juio, was great... he was wonderful to deal with. We did the VIP Paradise Island trip and was a day to remember - the staff was top notch and we had a blast!!! The beach was nice, but not always calm. There were lots of merchants on the beach that we found very annoying, even when trying to relax. Juan is the BEST bartender - order once and he remembers - always a smile!!! Maid service for rooms was great - no complaints there. Overall, we had a good time and would recommend it and return ourselves.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    P

    Never a Dissappointment.

    Reviewed by Papa Stan and Mama Carol on Mar 19, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    This was our 5th time to the Gran Ventana. What keeps us going back is the Wonderful People. The cleanliness of the hotel and the Great food. It was a little different this year with the new services that were offered for more money but I did not see a whole lot of people really going for the extras. The Fidelity Club supper at the quiet pool was absolutely excellent. Blondy, Carlos,Shorty,Delphi, Chupi Chupi,Cocoa and Allan. Chakalaka who is no longer there. So glad we were part of your last evening there. Miss you all and the resort is very lucky to have wonderful entertainers as yourself. Hugs to all of you. Franklin and Louis who are great Bar tenders at the pool. Wally, Awesome waiter. And Our dear Friend Franchesca who is now waitressing. The Lion King show was Really Really good. We had the opportunity to be judges for the Grammies. I have not laughed that hard in ages. Chupi and Delphi as Women. Hilarious. As to whether we are going back ? Good chance.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6287 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great service

    Reviewed by Shanna0386() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My very 1st time visiting D.R. Beautiful scenery, great service. This is a great all-inclusive resort the only thing I found was missing is a late-night snack bar, well needed when 11pm-12am hits. Otherwise food pretty good, the service soo amazing, fantastic service and entertainment. Shout-out to my boy Felix Martinez and livest DJ ever.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Great March break vacation

    Reviewed by Mario N() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Back to Dominican with the family and for first time to Gran Ventana resort. Pros: it's a smaller resort than the ones visited prior, though cozier, with clean rooms with AC, fridge (big bottles of water available with no problems), clean beach (every morning they clean it) and nice for a long walks/runs (20 min walk to the market on the beach), good food with lots of options, great beach (options to snorkel or swim) and pool; day and night entertainment for the young and old too. We've love the resort layout, everything within reach, in special the bar and restaurant beside the beach. Cons: I don't have any as I was busy enjoying every moment of my vacation.

    Gran Ventana, DR

    Reviewed by Shannon G() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Great resort! Smaller then any other resort I’ve stayed at and I loved the more intimate feeling. You really got to know the staff and fellow visitors! The buffet was exceptionally clean and the food options were plentiful. Helpful hint to anyone visiting soon is book your a la cartel as soon as you get there. Games at the pool were fun and we enjoyed the water aerobics with Choco Loco! Special shout out to Randolph on the Entertainment team, he felt like a friend by the end of the week! And of course Mini Mi, Juan Carlos, Rayson, Lola were great as well. Definitely will visit again!

    Great all-inclusive resort!

    Reviewed by Gerald_Chouinard(Gatineau, Canada) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This is a great all-inclusive resort. We spent two nice and relaxing weeks at the beginning of March. It is only some 20 minutes bus ride from the airport. The rooms are nice, the staff was great and the food was diversified and very good. In the restaurants, the staff were very attentive in bringing us coffee, wine, beer. The hotel was clean and cozy and all within easy walking distance. The beach was beautiful and we could take advantage of water sports such as kayaking and sailing. The animation team was also very good, especially Randolph who was very helpful and dedicated in teaching us 'Español', even going beyond the normal assigned time periods to help us learn more. We had some dificulty on our arrival at the front desk to have our room changed since the window at ground level was facing a fence some 15 feet high. We finally were able to move to another room after some arguing and change of the front desk person. It is unfortunate that we cannot reserve a room according to our liking. They seem to be distributed arbitrarily with no consideration for the customers' preferences. The access to the Internet was unfortunately awful. Although the WiFi coverage was reasonable, the problem seemed to be with the capability of the gateway to the Internet. Many people wanted to access the Internet and had to try and re-try many times, sometime up to 45 minutes to get on-line and then lose it after only a few minutes. This access would need a major overhaul considering the increasing need for people to stay connected. Overall, this is a great place to spend some warm winter holidays.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Mr Nick

    Reviewed by NickhatesVH() on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    What a wonderful hotel. The rooms are nice the food was good, But there was a few things you have to watch out for. My friends and my sister were with me. I found that the animation team was horrible. One infact was so busy trying to hook up with my sister and he wouldn't stop. At the club that night he again tried. He spoke to her about going off alone. It wouldn't be right to say his name but it starts with an H. Watch out ladies hes an animator predator. I sent an email to the hotel to tell them but they seem to brush it off. Watch out if you book this place.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX